Training 2026 Training Reports

FWIW mid group is down today practicing on the field. I think they are doing alot more work then is shown to the public. Seems mostly about tackle breaking and contest work

And some would have you believe what we see on 30 sec grabs is all we do...

FWIW mid group is down today practicing on the field. I think they are doing alot more work then is shown to the public. Seems mostly about tackle breaking and contest work
Nice, any standouts?

One of the biggest pain in the arse that us North Melbournites face is that the following players are the only ones that we can be confident will be available for selection each week:-

Sheezel
Pink
Dylan Stephens
Caleb
Curtis (except when he’s suspended)
Konstanty
Bailey

Really, I’m only excited about Sheezel and Curtis in that bunch. The rest are very much meh. Two players!!!! On top of that, the AFL judiciary go out of their way to prevent Curtis from lining up.

Edit Hopefully, Trembath & McKercher will be added to the above list soon.

One of the biggest pain in the arse that us North Melbournites face is that the following players are the only ones that we can be confident will be available for selection each week:-

Sheezel
Pink
Dylan Stephens
Caleb
Konstanty
Bailey

Really, I’m only excited about Sheezel and Curtis in that bunch. The rest are very much meh. Two players!!!! On top of that, the AFL judiciary go out of their way to prevent Curtis from lining up.

In the last 2 years LDU has missed one game, X missed 3 with suspension, FOS missed one game last year, Kerch played every game. Its not that bad, altho two of those players are very young.

Not counting his first year Jy Simpkin misses less than 2 games a year on average. Larkey has missed only eight in 5 years, Hardeman has barely looked back since he came into the sidebefore last year Luke McDonald barely missed a game this decade (some might be disappointed in that lol,) even Chom only missed three games last year and four in 2024 which is way better than I'd have hoped for him.

We do have a bunch of good players who regularly get on the park.

Christ.

Mods please sort this out.
95% of the posts in the pre-season & training thread have nothing to do with footy.

At a time of year when many posters take a break, or perhaps just jump on here a bit less frequently, it’s exhausting having to wade through the pages of childish arguing & bullshit, when you just want to check in & see how the players are tracking.
Couldn't agree more. It's so tedious having to wade through all the childish arguing and bullshit in order to find the grown up arguing and bullshit that we all love.

Yeah I do actually. The others have been fit and injury free and are still shit.

Not sure we really got to the bottom of Ford.

There's more than a few players currently on our list I'd happily part with to keep the likes of him.

I was just wondering if anyone who won't be able to attend the pre season game in Ballarat would be willing to give me their code. I have done this before for supporters wanting extra tickets for Gather Round so I am hoping someone can help me out.

In the last 2 years LDU has missed one game, X missed 3 with suspension, FOS missed one game last year, Kerch played every game. Its not that bad, altho two of those players are very young.

Not counting his first year Jy Simpkin misses less than 2 games a year on average. Larkey has missed only eight in 5 years, Hardeman has barely looked back since he came into the sidebefore last year Luke McDonald barely missed a game this decade (some might be disappointed in that lol,) even Chom only missed three games last year and four in 2024 which is way better than I'd have hoped for him.

We do have a bunch of good players who regularly get on the park.
Jeez, is that true, Ferbs? The relentless bad news must be affecting me. That sounds a lot better. I was going to include Xerri. However, that long injury break a couple of years ago clouded my judgement. As for Comben, LDU and Jy, I’m gobsmacked (in a good way) that their availability stats are so good. I always had the impression that one of them was missing every second game.

I was just wondering if anyone who won't be able to attend the pre season game in Ballarat would be willing to give me their code. I have done this before for supporters wanting extra tickets for Gather Round so I am hoping someone can help me out.
DM'd you.

isn't 9 uphill? Jeez, 17 is the downhill par 5, know you can see water off tee at 7. 8 is the Par 5 I have to hit 3-wood on as I run out of fairway.

**** sake Ichy, you're killing me lol
You’re spot on with your hole descriptions there mate.

9th black tee is back in the trees a bit, but I reckon blue tee is forward here and he’s hitting to the left of the photo.

Course looks in good nick.

Sheezel
Pink
Dylan Stephens
Caleb
Konstanty
Bailey

Bookmarked and saved for the future. Good take, but there's something to work with:

B: Hardeman-Dawson-Logue
HB:Goater-Thredgold-Hugo
C:Hardeman-Sheezel-Zurhaar*
HF: FBGZ-Comben*-Trembath
F: Curtis - Larkey* - Wardlaw
R: Xerri*- LDU* - McKercher
IC: Parker* - Goad - Powell* - FOS - Dovaston

Em: (Archer), Konstantys, Banch, Whitlock, Simpkins, Stephen, CCJs, Fishers.

We're actually mega-stacked, just need to put in the running, the will and want to get from contest to contest, as we'll probably ****ing win that. Only Brisbane and GC could be confident against our mids.

Sheezel, Xerri, LDU, McKecher, Wardlaw & FOS: How many potential/actual zuperstars do we need?

We just need a bit of luck with continuity for Duursma, George and Goater.

I'm putting it all on them.
You’re spot on with your hole descriptions there mate.

9th black tee is back in the trees a bit, but I reckon blue tee is forward here and he’s hitting to the left of the photo.

Course looks in good nick.
Showing my age a bit but I remember (sorta) the old routing.

Always a bit confusing. Wonderful course, pound for pound - the best. Electric.

Ohh Ichy, my whole fam booked their tickets to Osaka yesterday... I have to go back to Colombia to pick up my Rosi's (left them and my boots there). Couldn't do it without them.

Where would you go if you were sick of Hakuba? Thanks mate.

Ohh Ichy, my whole fam booked their tickets to Osaka yesterday... I have to go back to Colombia to pick up my Rosi's (left them and my boots there). Couldn't do it without them.

National old is one of my favorite places on the planet. I would have first gone there just after opening, one of my friend’s old man was a part of the first shareholder group.

Can’t help with the skiing stuff I’m afraid. I’ve only been skiing once in my lifetime and that was to the most prestigious Lake Mountain circa 1990!

Jeez, is that true, Ferbs? The relentless bad news must be affecting me. That sounds a lot better. I was going to include Xerri. However, that long injury break a couple of years ago clouded my judgement. As for Comben, LDU and Jy, I’m gobsmacked (in a good way) that their availability stats are so good. I always had the impression that one of them was missing every second game.
If anything Jy has been the worst with only 18 games over the last two seasons. But everyone hates him so that's ok.

Bookmarked and saved for the future. Good take, but there's something to work with:

B: Hardeman-Dawson-Logue
HB:Goater-Thredgold-Hugo
C:Hardeman-Sheezel-Zurhaar*
HF: FBGZ-Comben*-Trembath
F: Curtis - Larkey* - Wardlaw
R: Xerri*- LDU* - McKercher
IC: Parker* - Goad - Powell* - FOS - Dovaston

Em: (Archer), Konstantys, Banch, Whitlock, Simpkins, Stephen, CCJs, Fishers.

We're actually mega-stacked, just need to put in the running, the will and want to get from contest to contest, as we'll probably ****ing win that. Only Brisbane and GC could be confident against our mids.

Sheezel, Xerri, LDU, McKecher, Wardlaw & FOS: How many potential/actual zuperstars do we need?

We just need a bit of luck with continuity for Duursma, George and Goater.

I'm putting it all on them.

Great team

Can’t wait till the hardeman brothers rip it up

Might not be as far out an idea as some might think.
If he is playing, we are having a stinker.

If any if our debutants other than Dellavedova play, it means our season has fallen apart and blooding youth for experience.

Goad is miles away.