List Mgmt. 2026 - What do we need?

IMO assists are more valuable than goals that he personally kicks. The hardest kick in football is the one going inside 50, not the kicking for goal itself, so your best kicks should be given the task of kicking into 50 or setting up the play two kicks from 50.
Yeah agreed, but we’re already talking about how our forward line needs more, and then talking about moving Reid out of it….

We really need to settle on our wings. It was inconsistent and subsequently impotent all season. I don't think we really have the players on our list.

Could really improve our midsized/small defenders. Worner had some shocking games, but at least as some scope, given how new he is in the position. There has to be better options than Banfield out there, I mean, there's two on our list in Walker & Simpson.

I'd be happy if O'Meara never played again. Recruited as a leader to guide a young team, but no one looks more confused and haunted by the opponents pressure than he does.

We need Young and Darcy to get a clean preseason. Young struggled for a lot of that game I thought.

We need a defender who can help with ball movement and actually defend ground ball. Worner and Banfield are AFL defenders but both of them is one too many IMO.

We need another ground ball threat up front so Murphy can move up field with no issues and/or losing Switta doesn't hurt so much.

We need a couple of mature bodies as depth at Peel.
Agree with most of that, especially the Young bit.

Would love another half back flanker that can run and carry or at least have a laser kick. A Jack Sinclair or a young Zorko would make me giddy. Not Lachie Ash though, he’s overrated.

We all know Walls recruiting track record, what say we just go to the draft and let him do his thing.
We got Cooper Simpson at pick 35 Reid at pick 17. I'm sure he could find players of that ilk again, we need really fast players that can kick both feet and most importantly have accurate laser passes. More of Cooper Simpson please.
Another gem like Reid would be a bonus

We need Dudley to have the preseason of his life. He’s not tall enough to not be quicker, stronger and faster. I really like what I’ve seen, I just want him to have more impact.

We need to stop rewarding Frederick for running around with his arms out like a zombie and not tackling. It might work during the season (Urgh) but finals he’ll be exposed. Put your head over the ball son!

We need Banfield. He’s adapted really well to the backline in a short period of time. Makes mistakes but does many important pressure acts. Not our worst. There’s more important areas to correct.

Forwards need to stay out of each others way more often.

A small Lauchie Schultz type forward. Somebody that brings high pressure and tackles hard and crashes packs. We miss him. Surely the WAFL has a few floating around.

We need to move NOD on. A typical left footer that prefers his dominant foot but can’t even kick with his right, even a little. So many deficiencies in his game. See ball get ball type of player but not even good at that.

We need to sign Erasmus. He started to look really good midway through the season.

We need a fit Switta.

We need to Trade and draft well. Let’s throw a couple more mature age recruits (like Voss) into the mix.
Talor Byrne could be an option a little down the draft. Hard nut that can roam up the ground, puts on good pressure and can kick multiple goals in games games

Now the season has ended it’s time to makes some fixes.feel free to post yours below 👇 will be interested to see yours

1. Positioning at center bounces. We always leave too much space for opposing player which gives the other team all the room in the world for clearance work. Clearances was one of the biggest issues of the year

2. Need to be more attacking out of defense half. Slow footy chipping around is a brand of football that won’t win games all year. Take the mark if there is someone running past handball to them and keep the attacking brand going.

3. Pressure work. When on we were one of the best teams at pressure. We missed swita in the final arguably one of the best.

4. This is for jlo if the team is down at half time done wait until the end of the 3rd to make sure move. Throw a few magnets around before it’s out of hand.
I think our positioning in the back and forward lines is even worse. Loose oppo players facing goal out inspace. Noone at the feet of talls in the forward line. Ball just bouncing out of the forward fifty easily.

What we needED !!!
Someone to stand in the hole inside 50 when the rampaging twig comes storming out and takes a chest mark….
Looking at everyone in front of the ball , take the contact!!!

The Luke Ryan melts are valid, that kick to the wing in the last minutes of the game killed us, closer to the boundary line and we spoil over the line and force another stoppage.
Poor decisions and execution at huge moments.

We need a better ball users in the back 6, and Worner is upgradable in my opinion…. Over the season he has had some horrible moments… maybe he can get better with that full season and final under his belt.

Luke Ryan, just get dinkum and lay off the piss and pies !!!
Get fit ffs !!

If ever there was a game where getting front and centre mattered, it was that one. The Suns were doing that Collingwood thing of killing the ball in a defensive 50 contest, punching it down and back - gaining 5 or more and immediately setting up a counterattack. If we had some ****ing crumbers, that would be good.

Luckily most of our required improvements we have in the sheds. Except for someone to help throw the magnets around on match day when not all of the planning has worked.

We really need to settle on our wings. It was inconsistent and subsequently impotent all season. I don't think we really have the players on our list.

Could really improve our midsized/small defenders. Worner had some shocking games, but at least as some scope, given how new he is in the position. There has to be better options than Banfield out there, I mean, there's two on our list in Walker & Simpson.

I'd be happy if O'Meara never played again. Recruited as a leader to guide a young team, but no one looks more confused and haunted by the opponents pressure than he does.
Agree. We tried Sharp and it hasn't worked. I've watched Noddy for 4 years and have come to the conclusion he's just one of those guys that's too good for WAFL and not good enough for AFL. Let Wallsy loose on the state leagues to find the best mature ager. Kind of like a Luke Ryan, but a wingman. He's got to be out there. It's not Freddy either.

We all know Walls recruiting track record, what say we just go to the draft and let him do his thing.
We got Cooper Simpson at pick 35 Reid at pick 17. I'm sure he could find players of that ilk again, we need really fast players that can kick both feet and most importantly have accurate laser passes. More of Cooper Simpson please.
Another gem like Reid would be a bonus
You've kind of got to wonder what, or where, Wallsy has been during the year to keep tabs on the best mature age talent out there. Desperately need another Luke Ryan, Patrick Voss find.

Essentially, we just need to replace our bottom four or five guys with players who are better.
Who is the best replacement for Banfield, Worner, Dudley, JOM and Noddy?
I don't reckon Freddy is getting replaced.

Why would you just choose a random numbers? It’s 2.3 not 1.8 tackles. So basically the same as Bolton. And Pressure acts Switta has 16 per game not 19.7. And tackles inside 50 Switta has 0.8 vs Freddy 0.8…

You don’t wanna post the actual stats because it doesn’t suit your narrative?
View attachment 2420417

My stats were career, not current year. (Not intentionally, just did not pay that much attention

Frederick on the left, Bolton on the right. Change to 2025 stats only.

1757313501369.png

Frederick vs Switta
IMG_1883.jpeg

Bolton v Frederick IMG_1884.jpeg

The gap between him and our other forwards this year is really not big enough to justify this reaction to him. Added to that he kicked more goals than either of them.

Frederick vs Switta
View attachment 2420435

Bolton v Frederick View attachment 2420436

The gap between him and our other forwards this year is really not big enough to justify this reaction to him. Added to that he kicked more goals than either of them.
You saw his game against the Suns. Did you find it acceptable? I wasn't happy with Bolton either.

No I didn’t. It was the worst game I’ve seen by a player since Walker 2022 v Pies.

But I also saw him be one of our best on ground a few weeks earlier vs Port and saw him be among our best in the 5 other games he polled coaches votes in.

His pressure needs to improve there’s no questions about it. But this talk of getting rid of him is an insane overreaction for a guy who’s been among our teams top 5 players for multiple games this year. That’s more games than Switta has ever polled in in a season. Even more than Schultz in his best year here.

Not to mention he’s only behind Amiss as our leading goal kicker over there last 4 years.

You just know that if Sturt had a season like this where he went at 1.3 goals and 2.3 tackles a game (more than he’s ever averaged btw) and got coaches votes in 5 games people would be praising him and you’d be called insane for wanting him gone.

No I didn’t. It was the worst game I’ve seen by a player since Walker 2022 v Pies.

But I also saw him be one of our best on ground a few weeks earlier vs Port and saw him be among our best in the five other games he polled coaches votes in.

His pressure needs to improve there’s no questions about it. But this talk of getting rid of him is an insane overreaction for a guy who’s been among our teams top 5 players for multiple games this year. That’s more games than Switta has ever polled in in a season. Even more than Schultz in his best year here.

Not to mention he’s only behind Amiss as our leading goal kicker over there last 4 years.
I don't want him traded, but he needs to know that, that type of extreme squibbing is not going to be rewarded. He needs to bring more consistent performance than just the odd good very good game every so often. I have always been a supporter of his, but he is making it difficult to keep defending him. For me at least.

What we needED !!!
Someone to stand in the hole inside 50 when the rampaging twig comes storming out and takes a chest mark….
Looking at everyone in front of the ball , take the contact!!!

The Luke Ryan melts are valid, that kick to the wing in the last minutes of the game killed us, closer to the boundary line and we spoil over the line and force another stoppage.
Poor decisions and execution at huge moments.

We need a better ball users in the back 6, and Worner is upgradable in my opinion…. Over the season he has had some horrible moments… maybe he can get better with that full season and final under his belt.

Luke Ryan, just get dinkum and lay off the piss and pies !!!
Get fit ffs !!
To be honest I don't think we should have challenged the score. We were more likely to score from a centre clearance with 9 seconds left than going coast to coast.

At least we could have levelled the score...

List Mgmt. 2026 - What do we need?