Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Everyone calm down with the captain talk, why not just let him be a gun.
Next time you go to a game watch Merrett closely and tell me he isn't the next Captain of this football club.Agree with many of the sentiments here, Redman has to be our next captain. I get Merrett/McGrath are up in the mix however they don't convey the same energy Redman does.
depends which merrett turns up.Next time you go to a game watch Merrett closely and tell me he isn't the next Captain of this football club.
Merrett as a leader without the Heppell brand will be interesting.Next time you go to a game watch Merrett closely and tell me he isn't the next Captain of this football club.
That Zach merrett always rocks up after he’s been questioned in the media (the kick in incident last week). He doesn’t bring that intensity every game and you can’t have that coming from your skipper.Merrett was very much leading by example yesterday. I love this version of Zach.
He was interviewed post game for those curious about how he performs in front of the cameras.I doubt there is any part of his influence that changes as a captain.
The demonstrative types make better deputies and spiritual leaders. Captaincy is a more diplomatic role, particularly in this day and age.
Then there is the offfield stuff. As is the case with Laverde, we don't have any insight into his internal standing (except to say that the players haven't elevated either yet). I also doubt that the media and corporate stuff is his bag.
In any event, and more importantly, Redman's a star. He's become a hybrid of Enright and AA Hibberd with more running power and a better, more penetrating kick.
I'm not even talking about his work with and around the ball but I don't agree with you about him padding stats and packing it in.depends which merrett turns up.
the hungry, committed merrett that sets up scores, gains territory and tackles like a madman all day? absolutely.
the merrett who packs it in after 10 minutes and spends the rest of game walking about padding his stats with sideways kicks with no influence on the game? no thanks.
Insane stat
Yep, my favourite celebration at the momentLove how all the other players react when he kicks a goal and does the bull horns!
I’ve seen people commenting that his celebration is the ‘red dog’ but ‘red bull’ looks a more likely descriptor.Love how all the other players react when he kicks a goal and does the bull horns!
It’s supposed to be bull horns anyway, something his mate does in local footy or something like thatI’ve seen people commenting that his celebration is the ‘red dog’ but ‘red bull’ looks a more likely descriptor.
I reckon Roger would be a long shot to be our next captain.depends which merrett turns up.
He was interviewed post game for those curious about how he performs in front of the cameras.
Captain-Coach?Missed that interview. Leadership cred, no doubt at all. Obviously listens to his coaches. He speaks like he could coach. Actually wouldn't be surprised if that's what he goes on to do.
Anything's possible!Captain-Coach?
Insane stat