Player Watch #5 Jack Ross

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

Fantastic game by Ross and in a more outside role that he's traditionally struggled with
21 disposals @ 95% efficiency, 7 marks, 2 goal assists, 14 score involvements, 5 inside 50s

Few people needing to eat their words about him
Spoke really well in his post match interview as well

Fantastic game by Ross and in a more outside role that he's traditionally struggled with
21 disposals @ 95% efficiency, 7 marks, 2 goal assists, 14 score involvements, 5 inside 50s

dont forget his beautiful goal in the last quarter

got a fair old shrug-off going, as bruce would drool-"strong through the hips".

looking more and more composed with the ball. best game so far, real impressed with the work ethic.

showing great character, a lot would have spat the dummy with the career start he has had but he has been very solid.

Brilliant by Rossy , he absolutely plays first final

I prefer him over Graham but I reckon Graham, Dusty come in for Ross or Sonz or Gibcus. Whether they both get up...Dimma said Graham was borderline..

Graham missed 2019 G/Final Funny that Malion played a granny while Ross sat out the VFL Grand final. Ross is due a bit of finals footy karma.

Last time Brizzy won a final Ross was dropped. Lambert, Dave, Bachar, Aarts, Chol, George (Dusty& Graham?) are OUTS .
We play the Gabba well...bring it on

Last edited by a moderator:
I prefer him over Graham but I reckon Graham, Dusty come in for Ross or Sonz or Gibcus.
I can't see how Graham could replace Ross after last nights efforts. Was super clean and composed but most of all creative. Graham might come in for maybe Sonsie who is not quite ready for the heat of finals perhaps. Ross was in our best few last night, can't be dropped.

Ross had zero tackles so it woundlt
Suprise to see Graham replace him which I don’t agree with.
Because he got the ball as opposed to chasing opponents. Played mostly half forward and was the most creative player on the ground, 14 score involvements is amazing, give me that over tackling any day.

Good on him, has worked on deficiencies - kicking and gut running.

His role looks very different to when he first arrived, maybe that’ll work in his favour long term. Good to have a few strings to your bow and will make him a more rounded player IF he eventually goes back to playing that pure inside mid role post Cotch, Prestia

Good on him, has worked on deficiencies - kicking and gut running.

His role looks very different to when he first arrived, maybe that’ll work in his favour long term. Good to have a few strings to your bow and will make him a more rounded player IF he eventually goes back to playing that pure inside mid role post Cotch, Prestia
Could be quite a player if and when that happens. I've always been a big fan but thought his development has been all over the shop, all of a sudden it looks like it may make him a better player. What would I know.

I can't see how Graham could replace Ross after last nights efforts. Was super clean and composed but most of all creative. Graham might come in for maybe Sonsie who is not quite ready for the heat of finals perhaps. Ross was in our best few last night, can't be dropped.
None of Sonz, Miller, Gibcus, Noah C, MRJ have finals experience. Funnily enough Ross got dropped for finals in 19 & 20, so he had no finals exp either. And Graham is ahead in selectors eyes, so far. I hope for a change of faces. Maybe we could go with one of Miller/Gibcus, its Miller who seems droppable. Sonz has been composed..maybe cumbo or ross for dusty

Last edited by a moderator:

Ross had zero tackles so it woundlt
Suprise to see Graham replace him which I don’t agree with.

Hardwick said Graham is a finals player, so if he’s fit, he will play

Been saying all year he has to play every week. The dude has done a long apprenticeship, he's a much calmer player now than he once was. He has the good hands in close. Just keep playing him FFS.

And play him on the ball, he s not a winger.

Hardwick said Graham is a finals player, so if he’s fit, he will play
Graham has struggled for weeks with his foot injury and was running up and down on the same spot before he was subbed out. Might not be as simple as straight back in.

Early, in the game, on taking possession, Ross tended to take a step back turn and look back as if to see what might be coming. As the game progressed, his first look changed to forward to check for the best position to deliver the football.

This is just one area where both Ross and team have become better. All forwards now are getting better service from our mids. Less need to dump it in or rely on GOAT brilliance.

Because he got the ball as opposed to chasing opponents. Played mostly half forward and was the most creative player on the ground, 14 score involvements is amazing, give me that over tackling any day.
Yep .. barely a need or situation arose to tackle those black and red witches hats.
First for the ball genuinely negates the need to tackle.

Like I said. I don’t agree mate but they love the fact Graham just tackles and tackles.

I think after that game you could not drop Ross even if Graham came back in. Sonsie is the obvious one to me, has done well enough but finals are another level and not sure he is ready for that just yet.

I hope he plays next week. He's really developed as a player this year and deserves more opportunity.

I think after that game you could not drop Ross even if Graham came back in. Sonsie is the obvious one to me, has done well enough but finals are another level and not sure he is ready for that just yet.
I reckon you are right, but man I would love to see Sons stay in.

Ross is a genuine AFL quality mid now. Dropping him says more about our depth than his capability.

reckon Graham needs a bit of time to get his foot OK. SO I see Ross playing Brisbane.

It's a good problem to have, too many AFL quality mids.