Play Nice Adam Goodes

Just because a player gets booed does not automatically mean it has racial undertones.

Was it due to race that Matthew Lloyd got booed?

Did Lloyd get booed every time he touched the ball - before doing a dive or sniping someone? That's part of the issue. If players like Steve Johnson or Lindsay Thomas (who dive/snipe similarly to what Goodes is accused of) were booed every time they touched the ball, there'd be more merit to the argument but it's only Goodes and maybe Ballantyne who receive the treatment. I find it very coincidental that the most outspoken indigenous player is the one who gets booed whenever he gets near the pill or does anything outside of the norm in regards celebrations/comments/etc.

Or deliberately provocative....that was my take on this. There's nothing wrong with that, but he cannot expect what he did to go unnoticed

The AFL usually takes a dim view of players provoking opposition supporters, and a war dance challenge is about as provocative as it gets. I imagine if he did it in front of a packed stand of opposition supporters, rather a handful, he might get a few people want to meet that challenge. Not a good look.

Or imagine if a local league player did a war dance in front of opposition fans. Most likely a riot would break out.

and the other Aboriginal players in the competition don't seem to have a problem with what Goodes did. Rioli tweeted his support for it as well.

I won't be half surprised if there is another celebration similar to it in the coming games.

If he came up to me doing that war dance he'd end up in hospital. I don't give a **** what race you are, you act in an agressive, obnoxious manner like that and you deserve anything that comes your way.

This is my favourite comment in the entire thread. Just, just the sheer stupidity is something to behold.

Reminded me of this

and thats not a bad thing

A bit different in that it's common for rugby league players of all races to do wacky try celebrations and GI's goanna try celebration isn't an aggressive move aimed at opposition supporters, it's more done for a laugh than anything else.

Plus it looks awesome.

He just said in the pre game interview on Fox Footy "the dance is intended directly at your opposition. It means here I stand, take me as I am"

His opposition is the Carlton players though, not their supporters.

About as threatening as child calling a grown man a name.

Do you believe that when Adam turned toward the sound of "Ape!" he instinctively knew it was a 13 year old girl and decided to victimise her? Surely he just turned and pointed towardd the sound of a racist comment - he didn't have time to judge the age, context and reason behind what the girl said. I despise the rewritten narrative that he picked on a poor young girl. He heard a racist term and pointed it out.

So, to summarise, your views are exactly the same as the strawman that you claim was being forced upon you?

Your strawman argument ...

"Why are you and David King empowered with the right to decide when Indigenous people can celebrate their culture?"

Loaded with emotive deviations from what was actually posted, which is of course, what makes a strawman argument what it is. Mostly this is done by those resistant to honestly appraising the actual points raised. So let's break it down to see what you disagree with exactly ...

1. The appropriateness of a players' onfield actions are open to debate from the wider football community. Yes or no.
2. Players carry diverse responsibilities when competing on an AFL playing field. Yes or no.
3. A players opinion of their onfield actions is not the only one that matters. Yes or no.
4. Various stakeholders have a right to hold an opinion on a players' onfield action. Yes or no.
5. The weight of these various opinions is a subjective matter. Yes or no.

Just simple yes or no answers will suffice, lest I am confronted by further contortions.

Why would that be a big deal? You're 30+ meters away anyway, why would it have to be stopped?

The crowd themselves (the Kiwi contingent) did one before the 2011 NRL Grand final, led by a Maori on the field - neither of the teams were out there and it was absolutely fantastic. So yeah, no reason at all for it to be stopped - it's a great part of their culture. Also had a touring NZ side do it to our entire school at assembly. Seems some people are a little precious.

Yep. I have no problem with people thinking it was twattish - that's their view, and lots and lots of people have criticised past goal celebrations from players like Riewoldt, Akermanis, Brad Green etc. I don't agree, but I'm not going to argue that.

But to call it aggressive is just ridiculous. Well, I mean the whole point of it is to be aggressive and intimidate, but there's a difference between being 'aggressive' and being a legitimate threat.
I still remember Warren Tredrae's "Thierry Henry" celebration that was widely criticised.

Do you believe that when Adam turned toward the sound of "Ape!" he instinctively knew it was a 13 year old girl and decided to victimise her? Surely he just turned and pointed towardd the sound of a racist comment - he didn't have time to judge the age, context and reason behind what the girl said. I despise the rewritten narrative that he picked on a poor young girl. He heard a racist term and pointed it out.
How was the comment racist?

With healthcare while there are a few who want to work out there in those conditions a lot are sent while they are trying to get jobs back in more comfortable areas. So they aren't committed to long term outcomes. It's part of the reason to try and get medical students from rural/ remote areas as they are more likely to work in those areas.

Myself I have no intention of going to work in the outback because the work is too challenging.
True about the fact that they're trying to get rural kids to fill health care demands in rural regions.

When I did the UMAT 5 years back, I couldn't believe how higher ranking an urban student needed to get an interview at Monash. It was something like 90. Whereas, I've heard stories of regional kids getting as low as 50 and getting into the course.

You're a flog mate
Because I'm right? The overall consensus is that people are not a fan of Goodes. The more he sooks the more he invites the booing. It's quite obvious he loves the attention, the fact that he plans these things in advance, he's screaming for attention to launch another opinion that benefits his "I'm a hero" agenda.

I don't doubt there are racist people or "passive racists" who join in the booing, but it's not why he is booed for the most part. I'll leave on that note, he is a flog, the majority have spoken. The majority unfortunately does carry some idiots along who may discredit them at times but mostly, Goodes is just a campaigner.

Assimilate or pipe down

Goodes' treatment will be looked back on shamefully.

Actually scratch that, people will just pretend it never happened because it isn't pleasant to think about.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-09-11/suspended-fine-for-martin

Wonder what action the AFL will take against a threatening war dance including the 'throwing of a spear' towards families attending a football match
1c83e1c0388b35d43f2401543c9e214fb31892cec0d3966c7fe11955b5efe18f.jpg

They just imagine the outrage from other Indigenous people who support that "expression of heritage"

A child called a footballer a name and it's the end of the world. A footballer waves an imaginary spear at opposition supporters and it's great because it's 'cultural'.

Either way it's all about Adam.

I will take that as a yes.
Read up, not holding my breath on it changing anything however..

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...m-goodes-so-much/story-e6frg6z6-1226654803999

https://richardleonard.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/why-ape-is-offensive/

http://theconversation.com/the-ape-insult-a-short-history-of-a-racist-idea-14808