Roast AFL 'round zero' What a load of crap ...

Reminds me of a train station in Sydney were there was platforms 1 to 5 and for the Olympics they built a new line next to platform 1 and instead of renaming all the platforms in correct order some genius decided to call the new platform "platform 0"
Have you ever tried to negotiate the stations at Flinders Street and the v line at Southern Cross?

**** me drunk it's a nightmare.

13B.

Because Richmond and Carlton have a contract where they play the opening game of round 1, not the opening round of the season. It's an afl technicality

Genuinely think it's because they've entered into contract with Richmond and Carlton, that specifically states that they play the first game of "Round 1", this is how they get around that.

I can’t believe this would be the case. There’s gotta be some kind of substance over form in all things.

Just needless stupidity.

Genuinely think it's because they've entered into contract with Richmond and Carlton, that specifically states that they play the first game of "Round 1", this is how they get around that.
If such a contract exists, when was it signed? Richmond and Carlton don’t always start the season even before round zero. In 2022 for instance, Bulldogs and Melbourne played in the first game.

And think back to 2022. Richmond and Carlton had a fit because they weren't playing the opening game of round 1 because "they had a contract"

Collingwood and Sydney will play 2 matches before St kildas first game. and out of the 5 games i mentioned ours is the most likely to not be televised, meaning for the "unlucky" clubs we are waiting 2-3 weeks to see our team play while being bombarded with the same teams for 2 weeks. same thing happened last year.

100%.

Select clubs get two games televised in prime time. A North or a Saint Kilda dont get an opportunity until after said select power clubs get a two match head start marketing their product.

One club sits on two wins on top of the ladder and the other 0 wins after two weeks and they sit on the bottom of the ladder. Struggling clubs fans get reduced exposure in non prime time spots.

And people wonder why some smaller clubs are struggling off field with memberships and sponsors. They get treated as 2nd class clubs.

R0 teams don't get an additional bye, this has already been done to death - round 0 teams have played round 0 and non round 0 teams have not played in round 0. Not really that hard to compute. If you want to talk about the intricacies of when those breaks occur because some teams get them twice after a string of games, then you're reaching, the actual affect is barely worth a

You have a very bias closed mind obviously.

Do the teams getting the 2nd bye play practice games and train hard on that weekend off? No they dont.

The clubs not playing R0 do. They dont rest and refresh as clubs do during in season byes. So to call R0 as a bye for every other club is disengenuous because they are all training / playing internal matches over that weekend preparing for their 1st game.

Simple concept to understand.........with an open mind.

And how exactly do the fans of these clubs benefit form TV money? Where are these benefits you speak of?? Is there a way to deposit it into my account?

If the AFL is actually managing to pull extra TV dollars out of this concept then good on them. How do you think the league stays afloat and feeds you the ability to watch a game of footy to begin with?

You are reaching, hard. Complaining for the sake of complaining because the drivel spewed up is a load of trivial crap.

Um the clubs beneft from marketing their product before other clubs get a chance to. Fans benefit by getting two watch two games before other fans get to watch 1.

You do get that dont you?

Pointing out inequalities manufactured by the AFL isnt a topic worth raising and diacussing?

Not surprising fans of clubs benefiting are the loudest supporters of R0.

The facts and logic speak for themselves.

And how exactly do the fans of these clubs benefit form TV money? Where are these benefits you speak of?? Is there a way to deposit it into my account?
The clubs stay alive in the professional era, with an even comp, that's how.

Before the TV money started rolling in, it was only the licence purchases from West Coast and Brisbane that kept the VFL alive. Without it, the entire VFL may well have gone under; Geelong, StKilda, Richmond, the Dogs, Melbourne and North would have died.

TV money is reasonably equitably spread. That, along with the Salary Cap, is how the Dogs and North can afford to pay the same salaries as Collingwood and Richmond.

You have a very bias closed mind obviously.

Do the teams getting the 2nd bye play practice games and train hard on that weekend off? No they dont.

The clubs not playing R0 do. They dont rest and refresh as clubs do during in season byes. So to call R0 as a bye for every other club is disengenuous because they are all training / playing internal matches over that weekend preparing for their 1st game.

Simple concept to understand.........with an open mind.
They are very simple concepts indeed... Hence why they're things that are so pointless arguing over. Who cares honestly, these are intricate details you're trying to magnify into a big problem which it simply is not.

Only 2 teams can ever kick off a season regardless, they're always going to have the marketing advantage, someone has to have it. And as I mentioned before it's such a minute advantage in the context of each team playing their first game. Interest levels won't fade for teams playing their first games in the second week, it just won't, whoever was intending to watch it will watch it.

I honestly could not give a stuff who was playing the first week or whether my team has a marketing advantage. The only thing I'm concerned about is my team getting a win when it's their turn to play. I was much looking forward to tonight's Geelong Brissy game and whoever else would've been matched up this weekend, my team or not. In fact I'd be very happy to absolve even the main bye let alone our second one just to see my team play every week, they can rest at the end of the year.

Even if the fixturing and advantages/disadvantages were calculated fairly to an inch of its life you lot will still complain about something - 'oHh tHeY plAyeD last FriDay but wE plaYed on SUnday 5dAy bReaK nUrRrrrghHGHg'. Just wominjeka welcome and enjoy the game.

They are very simple concepts indeed... Hence why they're things that are so pointless arguing over. Who cares honestly, these are intricate details you're trying to magnify into a big problem which it simply is not.

Only 2 teams can ever kick off a season regardless, they're always going to have the marketing advantage, someone has to have it. And as I mentioned before it's such a minute advantage in the context of each team playing their first game. Interest levels won't fade for teams playing their first games in the second week, it just won't, whoever was intending to watch it will watch it.

I honestly could not give a stuff who was playing the first week or whether my team has a marketing advantage. The only thing I'm concerned about is my team getting a win when it's their turn to play. I was much looking forward to tonight's Geelong Brissy game and whoever else would've been matched up this weekend, my team or not. In fact I'd be very happy to absolve even the main bye let alone our second one just to see my team play every week, they can rest at the end of the year.

Even if the fixturing and advantages/disadvantages were calculated fairly to an inch of its life you lot will still complain about something - 'oHh tHeY plAyeD last FriDay but wE plaYed on SUnday 5dAy bReaK nUrRrrrghHGHg'. Just wominjeka welcome and enjoy the game.

Inequitable fixturing is a long time gripe by clubs and fans.

This is just another example added to many other examples.

You don't care. Wonder why?

Fans of clubs not on the AFL favourites list see this time and time again. It's just another example to add to all the others.

Eventually the noise will grow and grow until something will happen to address these growing inequalities.

Fans of the fortunate clubs can enjoy the gravey train while it lasts.

Other fans and the not so fortunate clubs will continue to point out the unequal treatment. The hope is it will eventually be heard. Just like COLA was wound back for the Lions and Swans when the noise got too loud.

That's all.

Inequitable fixturing is a long time gripe by clubs and fans.

This is just another example added to many other examples.

You don't care. Wonder why?

Fans of clubs not on the AFL favourites list see this time and time again. It's just another example to add to all the others.

Eventually the noise will grow and grow until something will happen to address these growing inequalities.

Fans of the fortunate clubs can enjoy the gravey train while it lasts.

Other fans and the not so fortunate clubs will continue to point out the unequal treatment. The hope is it will eventually be heard. Just like COLA was wound back for the Lions and Swans when the noise got too loud.

That's all.
Nah I choose not to see it because complaining about the AFL is no different to complaining about politics, pointless on a personal note, the same decisions will be made at the end of it whether good or bad. I don't concentrate on the drama sespool when it comes to footy. I'm only interested in my team once a week when game day comes. I haven't even looked to see who we play twice this year, don't care, just win.

The second someone is supporting a team that ends up in the bottom half of the ladder, they seem to dedicate all their football thoughts and energy to this AFL politics crusade. They get so revved up. I ask a mate how they think their team is going to go and they go on a angry tangent about fixtures, umpires, and teams offering farms as part of salary caps. Like just go away.

Have you ever tried to negotiate the stations at Flinders Street and the v line at Southern Cross?

**** me drunk it's a nightmare.

13B.
flinders got nothing on SC, SC having advertising signs that are 10x the size of the station platforms is a capitalist hellscape vibe

Nah I choose not to see it because complaining about the AFL is no different to complaining about politics, pointless on a personal note, the same decisions will be made at the end of it whether good or bad. I don't concentrate on the drama sespool when it comes to footy. I'm only interested in my team once a week when game day comes. I haven't even looked to see who we play twice this year, don't care, just win.

The second someone is supporting a team that ends up in the bottom half of the ladder, they seem to dedicate all their football thoughts and energy to this AFL politics crusade. They get so revved up. I ask a mate how they think their team is going to go and they go on a angry tangent about fixtures, umpires, and teams offering farms as part of salary caps. Like just go away.

Been pointing these inequities out when my team has been up on top and at the bottom.

So that lame comment you made doesn't cut it.

And now we get to the truth. You just dont give a rats about anything bar your team.

Not surprising. And it certainly explains your self centred bias view.

As history of the COLA rort clearly shows making noise eventually gets results.

Like I said. Enjoy the AFL gravey train while it lasts.

Been pointing these inequities out when my team has been up on top and at the bottom.

So that lame comment you made doesn't cut it.

And now we get to the truth. You just dont give a rats about anything bar your team.

Not surprising. And it certainly explains your self centred bias view.

As history of the COLA rort clearly shows making noise eventually gets results.

Like I said. Enjoy the AFL gravey train while it lasts.
You keep saying i'm biased, but i could easily analyse our fixture and pluck out some inequities. CBF though, don't care for it.

You're taking my lack of care as comfort for some sort of fixture bias that i'm not even aware of, rather I genuinely don't care how we get fixtured. Even at worst fixturing inequities are never bad enough to actually be game or club defying, let alone having a sook about round 1 being spread across 2 weeks.

Why can't we just go back to simpler times.
2x pre-season games over 2 weekends spread over the country so it gives supporters of clubs a chance to see them.

Not everyone lives in the city and/or has the ability to get to games during the season Proper.

A week bye, FOR ALL CLUBS, to sort out any niggles and team structure.

Then ALL teams start the season proper on the SAME WEEK.
Except this will now be compromised by an uneven amount of teams soon.

You keep saying i'm biased, but i could easily analyse our fixture and pluck out some inequities. CBF though, don't care for it.

You're taking my lack of care as comfort for some sort of fixture bias that i'm not even aware of, rather I genuinely don't care how we get fixtured. Even at worst fixturing inequities are never bad enough to actually be game or club defying, let alone having a sook about round 1 being spread across 2 weeks.

Just another brick in the wall dividing the AFL pet clubs and clubs that aren't.

:think: And the wall just keep growing.

Fully understand why you don't care. Your club is benefiting.....again.

Whilst others like North and the Saints get further disadvantaged.

All for TV rights $$$$$$.

How do you knock down a wall? One brick at a time.;)

Roast AFL 'round zero' What a load of crap ...