- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Geelong
Deaf girl was by far the best person this series.
I had her 2nd behind Muzz.

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Deaf girl was by far the best person this series.
S3E8 Recap
Last week's episode felt like we were in a holding pattern - this week things felt like they were moving forwards again. The episode covered days 36-40, with 4 contestants remaining, making it easily the best series of Alone Australia to date.
For me, the highlight was Corinne getting her kit off and going for a skinny dip in the lake. She is a very attractive lady.
As for the contestants...
- Tom - We really didn't see much of Tom in this episode. He caught a fish, and had a quoll trip his trap (which was captures on his trail cam). The combination rejuvenated his spirits. He's still living in a swamp, and has had significantly less food than the other contestants. I would be shocked to see him survive next week's episode.
- Corinne - Not much from her this week either. We saw her having a self-care day, washing her clothes and then going for a skinny dip in the lake, before sun bathing on a log by the lake. Idyllic. No mention of any more food depredations by Sassy II. Corinne's face appears unlined, suggesting that her body is still well fed and watered - compare her appearance with that of Karla last week, with Karla's appearance looking haggard after so long without food.
- Shay - After talking about building a net to catch a wallaby/potoroo, this week he turned it into a gill net, becoming the first Alone Australia contestant to catch a fish using this method. He also caught another fish while night fishing, though this one did require him to wade in and pull it out from under a log, where the line was snagged. Shay's spirits remain high, and he's starting to obtain a bit more food.
- Muzza - Most of this week's episode centred around the Adventures of Muzza. It started with him catching a small eel, which he promptly lost to a quoll (not captures on camera). He then catches a much bigger eel, worth 4 days of meals, only to be hit by a major gout attack. He can still walk, so the gout attack is not severe (yet). Just as an added bonus, the boat is now inbound for his med check. Ironically, Muzza's gout attack has been brought on by eating too much fish (trout & eels), making him arguably the first contestant to be imperiled by eating too much food!
- Ben - It was obvious last week that Ben's body had reached its physical limits. This became even more evident this week, when it took him 5+ minutes to work up the energy to shift himself onto a rock, which was only 1m away. With his body at the end, all he had to sustain him was his faith - and he went into full-on God Bothering mode. Damn it was annoying. FWIW, there is nothing whatsoever in the Bible to suggest that Jesus was tempted sexually during his 40 days in the desert, so Ben was completely full of shit when that dribbled out of his mouth. How he can be full of shit, having barely eaten for 40 days, is entirely beyond me... In the end the medical team calls it quits for him. He can hold his head high, in that he never tapped voluntarily, but he was more than happy to go when they gave him the news. 40 days is a good effort, though no doubt he'll spend the rest of his life annoying everyone with his tale about how he lasted the same time that Jesus did in the wilderness.
The following contains spoilers from SBS.
SBS have released a YouTube video in which Muzza talks about the (coming) storm:
Muzza compares the storm to cyclones which he has previously experienced. He mentions cold, wind, rain, and hail, stating that it was the worst weather in Alone Australia history. The only way he can have experienced this weather is if he survives the med check which is inbound at the end of Ep 8.
With only 2 episodes remaining, it's looking likely that the much promised storm will be the final determining factor, likely ending the game for at least 1-2 contestants. Corinne's campsite appears to be well above the high water mark. I can't say the same for either Shay or Muzza, suggesting both could be in trouble when the waters rise. Tom has flat out built his house in a swamp, but I expect him to be gone before the storm hits anyway.
It's been interesting seeing how different people have reacted to the quolls. The quolls have stolen food from Corinne & Muzza, so (unsurprisingly) they're annoyed by them. Tom, as an ecologist, is overjoyed at seeing one in its natural habitat.
With 2 episodes remaining, it's still framing up as a 2 horse race, between Corinne & Muzza, with Shay a clear 3rd favourite. It's almost inconceivable for Tom to win at this stage. The fact that Corinne's shelter is above the high water mark is enough for me to install her as favourite.
I've had a couple of bad gout attacks. When it's really bad you can barely put any weight on the affected foot. It really is as bad as a broken bone.Great write-up.
The gout situation is just insane - I've only ever seen gout with a rich mate who has too many corporate seafood buffet lunches.
This bloke is literally living in the wilderness - what a catch 22 he needs eels and fish to live but it's causing him intense pain and suffering. I wonder because he's so well fed, could he just finish this last eel off and starve it out for a few weeks? I reckon he'd have the body mass for it
I've had a couple of bad gout attacks. When it's really bad you can barely put any weight on the affected foot. It really is as bad as a broken bone.
The fact that Muzza was still able to walk around on it suggests that either he's an incredibly tough bugger (which he almost certainly is) and/or that it's not a severe attack. I suspect it's a bit from both columns.
The first time I had a gout attack I ended up going to the hospital. The doctors there diagnosed it as gout, gave me an injection of ibuprofen, and sent me home. Ibuprofen helps break down the uric acid crystals, which form in the joints as a result of the buildup of uric acid in the blood. Now I take ibuprofen as soon as I feel the first indications of a gout attack coming. Muzza doesn't have access to ibuprofen, and if he accepts it from the medical staff then that's an automatic tap-out.
I should clarify... I went to Emergency, as I was in a LOT of pain and it was well outside of hours for my normal GP. I wasn't admitted, and was free to leave after they gave me the ibuprofen shot.Sucks that you can actually get hospitalised for it.
Amazing the contestants can't be given basic ibuprofen/paracetamol. It's not exactly performance enhancing.
Guess it's just the show though.
Season 12 of Alone US starts (in the USA) on 12th June. Expect it to be available on the High Seas, or you can wait until 2026 to see it on SBS.
For the first time in many seasons, Alone will be venturing away from the freezing snowy wilderness of Canada. This season is set in the Karoo Desert, in South Africa. They've also opened it up to more international contestants, with an Australian & Kiwi included in the cast.
This is only the 3rd series filmed outside of Canada - with previous series having been set in Mongolia and Patagonia (Argentina). Both of those seasons are regarded fairly lowly, as starvation-fests.
This scene change will mean that US & Canadian participants will have a big culture shock, with entirely different animals, and an entirely different climate to what they are used to experiencing at home. It will be interesting to see how this one pans out, what sort of landscape they find themselves in, what food options are available to them, and other questions.
With Alone US breaking the freezing winter meta, it may open up options for Alone Australia to consider areas beyond Tas & NZ. It's not easy finding areas suitable for filming Alone Australia, but maybe they might consider some "outback" locations, rather than finding another Tasmanian lake.
The pre-requisites for a filming location are:
Taken together, the 1st and 2nd points basically mean that it needs to be set on a permanent lake and/or river. You can't have multiple participants coming to the same bore/spring for their water, and most of the artesian bores/springs are fairly salty anyway.
- Large area of virgin bushland
- Permanent water supply
- Scenic location (which is one area where Alone Australia S1 failed dysmally)
- Obtainable food supply (fish, land animals, vegetation)
- Workable hunting/trapping regulations
- Accessibility (for safety - medical teams need to be able to reach participants within ~1 hour)
National Parks are out, due to rules about killing native animals. Given the need for permanent water, we're probably talking about finding a de-stocked area on a sheep or cattle station, somewhere on an inland river. I'm not sure how easy such an area would be to find, or negotiate with the land owner(s).
Rumour has it that Alone Australia S4 will be filmed overseas, not in NZ. My guess would be Canada, following the lead from Alone USA. If so, that would be a huge culture shock for the Australian participants, who have never experienced the animals/predators found in that area, and who would probably never have experienced anything close to the cold of a Canadian winter. However, that's just my guess, based on a rumour with very little behind it.
Waaay too many safety issues with the waters up in that neck of the woods.Send em up the Cape, between Aurukun and Weipa, or south.......
Waaay too many safety issues with the waters up in that neck of the woods.
Tom appears to have built above the high water mark, but in a swamp. Both Muzza & Shay built below the lake's high water mark. The spoilers have shown Muzza moving camp, and Shay's campsite submerged.Corinella was the only one to build high and dry.
The other 3 have rushed into building and haven't looked hard enough at thier campsites.
When you arrive and energy levels are highest is when you do your largest output.
To spend huge energy now to move is going to be mentally and physically difficult.
That's survival 101.
Season 12 of Alone US starts (in the USA) on 12th June. Expect it to be available on the High Seas, or you can wait until 2026 to see it on SBS.
For the first time in many seasons, Alone will be venturing away from the freezing snowy wilderness of Canada. This season is set in the Karoo Desert, in South Africa. They've also opened it up to more international contestants, with an Australian & Kiwi included in the cast.
This is only the 3rd series filmed outside of Canada - with previous series having been set in Mongolia and Patagonia (Argentina). Both of those seasons are regarded fairly lowly, as starvation-fests.
This scene change will mean that US & Canadian participants will have a big culture shock, with entirely different animals, and an entirely different climate to what they are used to experiencing at home. It will be interesting to see how this one pans out, what sort of landscape they find themselves in, what food options are available to them, and other questions.
With Alone US breaking the freezing winter meta, it may open up options for Alone Australia to consider areas beyond Tas & NZ. It's not easy finding areas suitable for filming Alone Australia, but maybe they might consider some "outback" locations, rather than finding another Tasmanian lake.
The pre-requisites for a filming location are:
Taken together, the 1st and 2nd points basically mean that it needs to be set on a permanent lake and/or river. You can't have multiple participants coming to the same bore/spring for their water, and most of the artesian bores/springs are fairly salty anyway.
- Large area of virgin bushland
- Permanent water supply
- Scenic location (which is one area where Alone Australia S1 failed dysmally)
- Obtainable food supply (fish, land animals, vegetation)
- Workable hunting/trapping regulations
- Accessibility (for safety - medical teams need to be able to reach participants within ~1 hour)
National Parks are out, due to rules about killing native animals. Given the need for permanent water, we're probably talking about finding a de-stocked area on a sheep or cattle station, somewhere on an inland river. I'm not sure how easy such an area would be to find, or negotiate with the land owner(s).
Rumour has it that Alone Australia S4 will be filmed overseas, not in NZ. My guess would be Canada, following the lead from Alone USA. If so, that would be a huge culture shock for the Australian participants, who have never experienced the animals/predators found in that area, and who would probably never have experienced anything close to the cold of a Canadian winter. However, that's just my guess, based on a rumour with very little behind it.
Or he could have just looked at Reddit, where someone had identified all of the locations before the 3rd episode had even aired (noting that some participants weren't shown until the 2nd episode).Forgot about the skip week. Stitch up.
In the meantime, heres a long blog about contestants locations from Reddit.
![]()
Alone Australia Season 3 Map
A deep dive into Alone Australia Season 3’s contestant locations — with an interactive map, aerial photos, and a nerdy breakdown of how I tracked them all down (despite the show’s misleading distances).humphreymurray.com