Rumour And now it's Heppell

Has it ever occurred that maybe the players were deceived and weren't getting what they consented to?

Yes it has. That's not the point though is it. Heppell thought he was taking A but it turns out there is a very good chance he was taking B. I believe the players were deceived. But Heppel cant say 'he knows what he took' because he doesnt.

The other problem with the 'players as victims' line is that:

a) the players lied on their declaration forms
b) the older senior players ought to have contacted asada or the aflpa or their player managers or the afl integrity dept. they didnt contact anyone.

This is why the players are doing a year. Yes they were deceived for sure - but they ought to have done more to help themselves. There was a touch of wilful ignorance in their behaviour.

SO I believe the players were deceived. And they are victims. But the older senior guys were partly complicit. I certainly dont blame Dyson who was just a kid back in 2012 - he would have had no idea what was normal and what wasnt. But the guys over 26/27 (e.g Jobe) ought to have made inquiries external to the club to cover themselves but chose not to. Lying to ASADA in the declaration forms was also a silly thing to do.

Be very surprised if Heppell isn't at the club next year.
I don't doubt there is a lot of water to send under a bridge (and we better be doing most of the heavy lifting in building that bridge)
But i imagine he will be back

And its sounding like Colyer will be too.

I imagine we will see Myers and Hooker back as well.

i think the bombers will lose several players. although fans probably dont want to believe it, heppell is as big a chance to leave as any of the others.

even if they loved the club prior to the saga, everything that has gone on since would leave a negative impression.
being given banned suppliments that may be potentially dangerous. having the best part of 3 years playing under w cloud of uncertainty, and then getting banned for a whole year. what a mind **** to have to go through that.

and then, do you commit to a club that are nowhere near premiership contenders, with a handful of the banned 12 looking to continue their careers elsewhere, and the baggage will still be there to some extent. and all through no fault on the player's part. i see no reason why a player would willingly want to take on that burden.

when the bombers have a bad stretch of games in 2017, the first thing the media will turn to will be the effects of the suppliment saga.

orrrrr, you could take the fresh option, put the whole saga behind you, go to a team with a vibrant culture and avoid any potential issues altogether.

the dons are facing a huge uphill battle to hold onto their list.

i think the bombers will lose several players. although fans probably dont want to believe it, heppell is as big a chance to leave as any of the others.

even if they loved the club prior to the saga, everything that has gone on since would leave a negative impression.
being given banned suppliments that may be potentially dangerous. having the best part of 3 years playing under w cloud of uncertainty, and then getting banned for a whole year. what a mind **** to have to go through that.

and then, do you commit to a club that are nowhere near premiership contenders, with a handful of the banned 12 looking to continue their careers elsewhere, and the baggage will still be there to some extent. and all through no fault on the player's part. i see no reason why a player would willingly want to take on that burden.

when the bombers have a bad stretch of games in 2017, the first thing the media will turn to will be the effects of the suppliment saga.

orrrrr, you could take the fresh option, put the whole saga behind you, go to a team with a vibrant culture and avoid any potential issues altogether.

This whole situation has never been experienced before in this sport so flogs are abound and opinions are vast and overflowing at the moment.

These guys need to be given time and space to work out what's best for them and if that happens to be playing footy at the Essendon Football Club then so be it.

Whatever these guys choose to do I will wish them well.

This thread should be called the Damian Barrett bullshit thread

The thing is, every public indication is out there pointing to staying rather than going.

We know that Heppell and Stanton for example are at supporter functions and Essendon matches every week.
We know that both men, plus Howlett and a couple of others, have made public statements via their Twitter handles hinting at staying.
We know that Tom Browne and Sam McClure have also revealed the likelihood of contracts on the line

And we know that Hocking has already confirmed his signature and that Colyer will be the next to do so.

Public statements quash the rumours and innuendo and what I have listed above are the public statements and the reality..not the speculation the likes of Barrett want to engage in and should be questioned about.

These guys need to be given time and space to work out what's best for them and if that happens to be playing footy at the Essendon Football Club then so be it.

Whatever these guys choose to do I will wish them well.

This is where its at, well said!

The same Essendon supporters that were in denial for so long about the club's guilt are the same Essendon supporters that are now in denial about any of their players leaving.
To be fair though. It would be tough on most fans. The fans didn't ask for this. Hence the denial that there beloved players wont be leaving. I personally wouldnt be surprised at all if hurley heppell and hooker do leave and leave via the dfa if they can.

Hooker can't leave as a DFA as he is out of contract anyway.
But yes us fans have to prepare ourselves for the fact that they all may leave

Hooker can't leave as a DFA as he is out of contract anyway.
But yes us fans have to prepare ourselves for the fact that they all may leave
How does hookers contract status change the dfa part? Serious question.

Because he is out of contract he can get to where he wants and we havnt got the right to match what other clubs offer. We would get compo for him though

Ok so he is a unrestricted agent then. Still cant see why he can't go as a DFA. But i can see why he would go as a UFA.

Because he doesn't need to go that path. He can walk to the club of his choice as a UFA with minimum fuss and with ease. The DFA path is not as easy as it sounds

This bloke is the least likely to go.

This is why I started the thread.

Heppell's in a position and of a profile such that if he said he was staying it would go a long way to get others to re-sign.

And it would as good as guarantee him the captaincy (of one of the big four clubs - massive profile, life-after-football taken care of then and there).

The fact he's left the door very much ajar is interesting if nothing else.

Not really mate. If I was him I would be concentrating on having a break and not worrying about such trivial matters.