Apples' Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter Apples

I'd be more worried about the quality of wine served at a place that also shows the races.
We can't get anything right. How hard is it. Beer at the pub. Wine at a restaurant. FFS Wells, if he's an experienced player that leads by example, we're stuffed.

It all depends whether we want to use a tagger this year or not. I think Greenwood is one of the premier taggers in the competition, we are just usually loathe to set tags week in week out.

I think we play better with a tagger. We have such a strong midfield, so if you can shut down the oppositions best player then it allows our midfield to take control

completely agree - shutdown players are going to make a re-emergence IMO.
Nothing pleases me more that seeing Greenwood get under the skin of SELWOOD, and nullifying his influence on the game.

I was annoyed that he didn't participate in the trial, was at the pub after having a drink.

Just had an 8 week holiday, I would have thought getting his preparation right in the preseason would be a priority.

Still not an issue for me. His participation in the time trial would be dictated by the FD rather than a personal choice to opt out you'd think. Still completed a heap of running by the sound of it. As JB1975 suggests, the likelihood that the wine was swill is the far greater issue.

Haha ok mate, pub on the corner in Williamstown, across from the post office.

Not so much that you saw him more the circumstances. It sounds truly bizarre that you happened to come across an AFL footballer in a pub in Williamstown at 3 in the arvo who was drinking wine while watching the races? It sounds ripe for the opening sentence of an autobiography! I actually planned to leave the discussion about three posts back, but this is awesome :)

Still not an issue for me. His participation in the time trial would be dictated by the FD rather than a personal choice to opt out you'd think. Still completed a heap of running by the sound of it. As JB1975 suggests, the likelihood that the wine was swill is the far greater issue.

Glad that others can see the real issue. I can hear it now, 'I'll just have the house red, thanks'. No Wellsy, noooooo!

Not so much that you saw him more the circumstances. It sounds truly bizarre that you happened to come across an AFL footballer in a pub in Williamstown at 3 in the arvo who was drinking wine while watching the races? It sounds ripe for the opening sentence of an autobiography! I actually planned to leave the discussion about three posts back, but this is awesome :)

I have seen him a few times in Willy over the last 2 years, must live around here, have seen Varcoe a few times aswell just never at a pub usually just at Coles.

Yeah I was a bit surprised, he looked straight at me as I approached the TAB machine, almost felt guilty looking at him as I was a bit shocked to see him, I then thought about it hours later, pissed me off because of all the Buckley comments talking about his preparation.

I rang the pub and they confirmed it was Ribeena.
He asked for it in a wine glass to protect his, (I don't GAF about pre-season) image.
Play on.

Why is it bizarre? Sounds like a reasonably common post work activity.

I have seen him a few times in Willy over the last 2 years, must live around here, have seen Varcoe a few times aswell just never at a pub usually just at Coles.

Yeah I was a bit surprised, he looked straight at me as I approached the TAB machine, almost felt guilty looking at him as I was a bit shocked to see him, I then thought about it hours later, pissed me off because of all the Buckley comments talking about his preparation.
Wouldn't worry about this. Wells isn't a big drinker or party guy. His poor preperation last year was in part to him being on a holiday in the Middle East with his wife and daughter visiting religious landmarks as part of there very strong religious background. Says he couldn't find suitable places to train. Sounds plausible. He wasn't out partying.

Having a glass of red with a friend isn't going to influence his pre season

Was lucky enough to be at Oaks day in the birdcage and had a good long chat to wellsy and Steele. Wells was one of the more humble and down to earth footballers ive meet. Really nice normal bloke. Steele was a ripper as well, struck me as a cheeky bugger but was good value. We did have a few espresso martinis with them but they were well behaved and was still the off season for them. Wells said he was travelling well but knows that his injury needs to be carefully managed.

Perhaps we have retained Oxley as he is tall enough to spoon feed Reid and alleviate your concern?

Nah, Oxley is part of the problem.

Reidy used to strap his muesli bowl on the top of BenKen's head.

Oxley later borrowed BenKen (with strapped on bowl) to serve Colombian sherbert at his parties.

As you all know, I'm close to Reidy, and he is still pissed off that BenKen took his bowl to Melbourne where Jack Watts broke it.

Glad that others can see the real issue. I can hear it now, 'I'll just have the house red, thanks'. No Wellsy, noooooo!

Life is too short for bad wine.

Agreed. And I reckon that Wells is far too silky not to check out a wine list. Refuse to believe otherwise.

this discussion has gone full Melbourne.

Needs more ski chalets.

And dandruff - all those Henry Bucks' blazers in the Members that resemble lamingtons. FFS why can't the ruling class better look after their scalps (and teeth).

Nah, Oxley is part of the problem.

Reidy used to strap his muesli bowl on the top of BenKen's head.

Oxley later borrowed BenKen (with strapped on bowl) to serve Colombian sherbert at his parties.

As you all know, I'm close to Reidy, and he is still pissed off that BenKen took his bowl to Melbourne where Jack Watts broke it.
Please pass Reidy my condolences and then point out that Blair is same listed height as BK.

My political views are that being forced to vote under penalty of a fine is one of the most undemocratic laws in modern society.
I didn't vote a couple of times.
Got a letter asking me to please explain why as I could be fined.
Sent letter back saying "I did vote at such and such primary school."
No fine. Easy peasy.