Opinion Are AFL Footballers Really Elite Professional Athletes?

Remove this Banner Ad

Oct 7, 2005
Adelaide
AFL Club
Port Adelaide
Other Teams
Are there other teams?
We hear a lot about how "elite" AFL footballers are. The more I hear about the parties like the one that lead up to Impeygate the more I really question it. Here's my personal perspective.

I was friends with Sally Newmarch for a while, the other Sally of Olympic rowing. A group of us had dinner most weeks at a pub, everyone drank- except Sally. She did not touch a drop for 50 weeks of the year. In the other two weeks I never saw her drunk. She trained 50 weeks of the year, getting up at 4am, never staying out late, watching what she ate with military precision.

I once met Craig Bradley just after Carlton had been knocked out in the Prelim. He'd been on a bender with a mate (Ben Harris) all night, but hadn't had a single alcoholic drink. I don't think he ever drank.

Now I'm no Prohibitionist but AFL footballers get about 8 weeks off at the end of the year and another couple over Christmas. They play a brutal sport, the only true brutal endurance sport there is. But if you know true professional athletes, then one thing about AFL players as a whole (leaving out exceptions like Bradley), elite professional athletes thy ain't.

We hear a lot about how "elite" AFL footballers are. The more I hear about the parties like the one that lead up to Impeygate the more I really question it. Here's my personal perspective.

I was friends with Sally Newmarch for a while, the other Sally of Olympic rowing. A group of us had dinner most weeks at a pub, everyone drank- except Sally. She did not touch a drop for 50 weeks of the year. In the other two weeks I never saw her drunk. She trained 50 weeks of the year, getting up at 4am, never staying out late, watching what she ate with military precision.