Bluemour Discussion Thread IV

Played a lot of midfield as a junior and pretty sure he said that was his goal at AFL level in an early interview.
My understanding as well. He was actually taken as a bottom ager, with us believing he would shoot up the draft order the next year.... great call by the look of it!

So you would rather trade a potential elite player, for a potential upgraded elite player. I really don't care what path we take to reach our destination, but if he did that, we would be waiting a long time to win a flag

Errr ... yes. If an uncontracted potential elite young player walked out on the club, I'd rather he be replaced with an already elite young player. We'd be a lot closer to a flag doing that than replacing him with a dud or speculative draft pick I'd imagine. Not sure what your contention is tbh.

My understanding as well. He was actually taken as a bottom ager, with us believing he would shoot up the draft order the next year.... great call by the look of it!

We've had a few goes at that over the journey "Anthony Raso" & "Caleb Tiller" and it hasn't worked out.

But I reckon we've got a gold nugget in Williamson and Harry McKay is not a bad bottom ager either.

:D

Without starting another debate - I can confirm that this is correct. AFL and Tassie Govt have a 2025 plan for relocating Norf. Ideally sooner.

Third WA team also discussed but less likely as it means a club folds or they bring in a 20th team and 2025 is too soon for that. If Norf suddenly proved viable Tas plus WA3 would occur.

There is a big push for 10 games per round as it locks in regular Thursday night football without impacting on free to air and pay TV schedules.

Clubs also want to push much more into the digital space and use apps/tech to make attending a game much more special. Also see this as huge revenue generator along with e sports.
Look I'm sure they're exploring shuttering North off, because it's been tried twice in the last 25 years, but it won't happen. Their club has rallied and gotten stronger each time this has happened, it's becoming part of their culture now.

Tassie will get its own team, as will the NT; the development money is being thrown there right now. That's more than likely plan A, with the Hobart Kangaroos being plan D.

As for eSports... do you (or the people you claim to talk to) have any ****ing idea what kind of groundswell support that requires to get off the ground. There are only 3 sports games in the world that have eSports tournaments, and they partner with EA Games globally to pull it off:

FIFA
NFL (Madden)
NBA

No one else does it. So not only do you need to get at the bare minimum nationally popular game, you need it to play well. The more popular eSports games by far are shooters and MOBAs, or anything that uses similar mechanics/controls. Even the above names, as solid as they are mechanically, are still clunky in comparison.

Let's compare the latest AFL effort:

With the latest FIFA effort (probably its closest analogue of the three franchises above for overall gameplay):

As you can see, it's chalk and cheese when it comes to fluidity of players and how they interact with the ball. Congrats to the AFL, the AFLPA and the game developers for sinking way too much of a limited budget on making a 3d photo gallery of current lists.

Meanwhile in terms of tackling and stoppage play, Madden offers this:

Now let's look at Madden and FIFA 10 years ago:

Bar a few graphical features, still better games visually and mechanically.

Let's take a look at how far back we have to go to get mechanics that matchup with what we saw above in the AFL 2017 effort:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYGIPLZc_vs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LiajwJVGoE

16 years. 16 years, because of the direction they chose to go in, and it's reflected in videos like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=el9g-_XJP6k

The guy can barely master fundamental mechanics offline, because they are so sloppy, and the net code for online play takes this to a whole new level of garbage.

These games are 5 years away from being competitive at best, and then you still have to have sprout massive brand growth to fund the near-AAA game development required in a country where no one will support it financially, and the talent drain would be massive without the regular revenue streams of mobile and indie game development.

It's pretty much a pipe dream if they want to invest in player renders ahead of the actual game play. Hilarious when you consider how often you actually notice the players faces from these camera angles.

Look I'm sure they're exploring shuttering North off, because it's been tried twice in the last 25 years, but it won't happen. Their club has rallied and gotten stronger each time this has happened, it's becoming part of their culture now.

Tassie will get its own team, as will the NT; the development money is being thrown there right now. That's more than likely plan A, with the Hobart Kangaroos being plan D.

As for eSports... do you (or the people you claim to talk to) have any ******* idea what kind of groundswell support that requires to get off the ground. There are only 3 sports games in the world that have eSports tournaments, and they partner with EA Games globally to pull it off:

FIFA
NFL (Madden)
NBA

No one else does it. So not only do you need to get at the bare minimum nationally popular game, you need it to play well. The more popular eSports games by far are shooters and MOBAs, or anything that uses similar mechanics/controls. Even the above names, as solid as they are mechanically, are still clunky in comparison.

With the latest FIFA effort (probably its closest analogue of the three franchises above for overall gameplay):

As you can see, it's chalk and cheese when it comes to fluidity of players and how they interact with the ball. Congrats to the AFL, the AFLPA and the game developers for sinking way too much of a limited budget on making a 3d photo gallery of current lists.

Let's take a look at how far back we have to go to get mechanics that matchup with what we saw above in the AFL 2017 effort:

16 years. 16 years, because of the direction they chose to go in, and it's reflected in videos like this:

The guy can barely master fundamental mechanics offline, because they are so sloppy, and the net code for online play takes this to a whole new level of garbage.

These games are 5 years away from being competitive at best, and then you still have to have sprout massive brand growth to fund the near-AAA game development required in a country where no one will support it financially, and the talent drain would be massive without the regular revenue streams of mobile and indie game development.

It's pretty much a pipe dream if they want to invest in player renders ahead of the actual game play. Hilarious when you consider how often you actually notice the players faces from these camera angles.

The club(s) investing in eSports aren't investing in AFL games. They're investing in the already established competitions unrelated to footy.

Errr ... yes. If an uncontracted potential elite young player walked out on the club, I'd rather he be replaced with an already elite young player. We'd be a lot closer to a flag doing that than replacing him with a dud or speculative draft pick I'd imagine. Not sure what your contention is tbh.

I was referring to the value of what people think Kelly is worth, this so called "1st plus change"

Would you trade Charlie for a "1st plus change"

The club(s) investing in eSports aren't investing in AFL games. They're investing in the already established competitions unrelated to footy.
That's even dumber.

Their sports management IP will have very little weight in understanding that market, and they're way too late as entrants.

I can think of some smart moves they could make related to eSports, but they're just copycatting major American and European teams, who have way more cash to throw around.

Obviously some ******* saw an article last month, and rocked up to a tournament in Melbourne or Sydney recently. Gravy train muppets who wouldn't know how to invest without people pissing in their pockets every other minute.

As for eSports... do you (or the people you claim to talk to) have any ******* idea what kind of groundswell support that requires to get off the ground. There are only 3 sports games in the world that have eSports tournaments, and they partner with EA Games globally to pull it off:

FIFA
NFL (Madden)
NBA

Considering the people I "claim to talk to" are large international companies with multi billion dollar revenue, yeah I kind of think they do know what they are talking about. One in particular has invested tens of millions in esports in the US and has filled a 25k stadium for tournaments. A stadium is a huge asset that sits vacant most of the time. The more events you hold the more consumers and higher profits from an asset with high fixed costs and relatively low variable costs to run an event.

As another poster pointed out, we are not talking about AFL. It is AFL clubs aligning their name/brand with a particular esports team to increase revenue. The gameplay doesn't have to be AFL.

I suggest you do some research on the topic. It isn't a pipe dream. In 10 years esports will be a billion dollar industry in Australia alone.

Also do some research on stadium interaction apps and in game gambling. How we view sport will change - it has to as people shun live games for tv.

That's even dumber.

Their sports management IP will have very little weight in understanding that market, and they're way too late as entrants.

I can think of some smart moves they could make related to eSports, but they're just copycatting major American and European teams, who have way more cash to throw around.

Obviously some ******* saw an article last month, and rocked up to a tournament in Melbourne or Sydney recently. Gravy train muppets who wouldn't know how to invest without people pissing in their pockets every other minute.

You clearly have zero idea about the business of sport, technology and how companies make decisions.

I highly doubt we will win a flag with Levi at FF, i'd prefer to leave Charlie where he is and draft young mids, for example we take Cerra this year, trade for Balic or Hopper, Walsh next and also trade our 2019 1st for Whitfield, then target Shiel as an F/A in 2019 to go with Cripps, SPS, Cunners. Also Docherty can spend the majority of time in midfield or Byrne.

Otherwise we need to draft a key forward this year and will be two years behind in his development compared to Charlie and may not be of the same quality. The only guy available is Brander.. I'm not sure he has what Curnow does!

One thing is for sure, we cant win a flag with a paper thin midfield. If we lose Gibbs, Murphy retires none of our young mids come on, Cerra and Walsh turn out to be also ran mids , then we will struggle

That's even dumber.

Oh and I'm 33. I haven't played a video game for more than 15 minutes since I was early 20s. It is about those aged 25 and under who embrace electronic gaming more than actual sport

Exactly, esports is a huge market.

The upcoming DOTA2 tournament next month has a prizepool of over $22 million USD, with the winning team taking home approx $1.5 millions EACH (5 players per a team). This is the top teams in the world, but if AFL clubs invest wisely, the market is there to generate revenue.

Look at the membership numbers for the afl. Compare them to a decade ago. Massive difference. Soooo..... all those members - what do they buy a membership for? To watch it on TV?

Membership has moved from a source of securing tickets to showing support for the club through low priced options and pet memberships. Crowd figures are less of an issue for the AFL than other codes granted. But still an issue

Considering the people I "claim to talk to" are large international companies with multi billion dollar revenue, yeah I kind of think they do know what they are talking about. One in particular has invested tens of millions in esports in the US and has filled a 25k stadium for tournaments. A stadium is a huge asset that sits vacant most of the time. The more events you hold the more consumers and higher profits from an asset with high fixed costs and relatively low variable costs to run an event.

As another poster pointed out, we are not talking about AFL. It is AFL clubs aligning their name/brand with a particular esports team to increase revenue. The gameplay doesn't have to be AFL.

I suggest you do some research on the topic. It isn't a pipe dream. In 10 years esports will be a billion dollar industry in Australia alone.

Also do some research on stadium interaction apps and in game gambling. How we view sport will change - it has to as people shun live games for tv.
My comments weren't about the growth of eSports, which is massive and legitimate. Australia's segment is nowhere near that, and anyone who is projecting as such is trying to fleece investors.

As for venues, that's all legitimate and fair, but you're talking about a dozen arena bookings nationally at most, and theatre halls are the more logical booking. Despite the games industry desperately trying to make more eSports-viable games, there's still only 5 that look or look like drawing interest over the next 3 years from an Australian perspective.

Your mates might be able to run numbers and create modest models under certain assumptions, but they clearly don't understand the fundamentals of what makes these sports popular if they think stadium bookings and team investments are going to be key drivers in cracking 1 billion revenue inside 10 years without a total revolution of multiple industries in this country. The NBN isn't going to do that on its own, and these guys aren't going to prepared to tip in the kind of cash to make it happen. This sounds like they think they're in at the ground floor when really they're on floor 40 of a 41-storey building.

You clearly have zero idea about the business of sport, technology and how companies make decisions.
I'm extremely aware of how stupid they can be in sport, and how much of a technological backwater we can be thanks to government and private investment.

Oh and I'm 33. I haven't played a video game for more than 15 minutes since I was early 20s. It is about those aged 25 and under who embrace electronic gaming more than actual sport
Source - his own mouth (I am friendly with some of the Suns guys and have a few drinks/play ps4 with them every few months).
So, which of these statements is true?

Quit playing the man telling others they have no idea etc.

Debate the post itself.

We've had a few goes at that over the journey "Anthony Raso" & "Caleb Tiller" and it hasn't worked out.

But I reckon we've got a gold nugget in Williamson and Harry McKay is not a bad bottom ager either.

:D
seriously, agro? must you?