Booing of Adam Goodes tonight

Well Adam Goodes receiving the award is a joke. And I can't speak for others. But personally I'd respect an AOTY who hasn't had the title bestowed upon them because politicians are using him as a future marketing tool.
Dirty player, and dud bloke.

What's not to boo?

So you would have booed Lionel Rose then? I'd have paid good money to see that :thumbsu:

But it isn't about 5 years time though, is it?

Who knows what she had to face at school (and in public) immediately afterwards.

You're avoiding every post that makes a point you can't answer. Cowardly.

OT - I was at the game and don't think Hawks fans (the majority) were booing due to racism. More due to last year's slide. I was at that game too and he received massive boos all night after that.

And herein lies the issue. A minority of people still think players should just "put up with it" when it comes to racial abuse and the like.

Take that attitude back to the 60's.

No one should put up with racial abuse but he pointed a girl out in front of millions of people and labelled her the face of racism

He wanted his Winmar moment he is an attention seeking flog

Goodes was what, 33 at the time. The girl was 13. One of them should have behaved like an adult. I will let you guess which one.

So you think it is perfectly acceptable for people to insult other based on their race.

But yer she was only 13. Why don't we get goodes to parade through a local primary school and get the school kids to throw bananas and taunt him

You're avoiding every post that makes a point you can't answer. Cowardly.

OT - I was at the game and don't think Hawks fans (the majority) were booing due to racism. More due to last year's slide. I was at that game too and he received massive boos all night after that.

I answered the question perfectly. It is not my problem that you don't understand.

No one should put up with racial abuse but he pointed a girl out in front of millions of people and labelled her the face of racism

Weird that he waited so long for that moment. He so coveted it that he waited until someone said an actual racist thing at him. What a glory-seeker!

So you think it is perfectly acceptable for people to insult other based on their race.

But yer she was only 13. Why don't we get goodes to parade through a local primary school and get the school kids to throw bananas and taunt him

Where did I say that?

Please quote me.

Until then, this discussion is lost on you and I will move on to more intelligent people.

No there has to be a history of it.

Just look at Waylen Manson on "The Recruit" stating he had to share a house with 12 white fellas.
He's from a remote indigenous community.
Do you have any understanding of what that means?
I don't know nor care why he gets booed. As a white man, I like many other academics believe that his position on racial issues is non-conciliatory. We all know the history, and know that many wrongs have been committed and are still going on, but his words and actions off the footy field add to the lingering malcontent, rather than looking toward a more harmonious future. But that's got nothing to do with footy. And it's all about "me" with him.
Yup, Goodes is the one who should be taking a conciliatory position.
As a white man, I find your position to be quite distasteful.
I answered the question perfectly. It is not my problem that you don't understand.
Stop embarrassing yourself.

Where did I say that?

Please quote me.

Until then, this discussion is lost on you and I will move on to more intelligent people.

You are saying goodes should have just out up with it because she was 13.
Goodes was what, 33 at the time. The girl was 13. One of them should have behaved like an adult. I will let you guess which one.

If you say so.

If you genuinely think that that girl didn't cop some afters at school after being shamed publicly then you're a fool.

And Goodes apologising the next day for outing her is both too late and evidence that he has some idea of what she might have been facing.
Don't think I made a comment saying she didn't cop it at school so not sure you can abuse me for that. But carry on.
You still haven't told me what other options he had.

1. Repeated questionable on field acts but rarely gets suspended
2. Plays for frees and gets them
3. Has a really annoying voice
4. His anti racism campaign seems very us versus them. It doesn't make you a racist just because you don't like being told how bad you are. Australians have always liked those who led not those who whinged
5. Gets awarded AOTY and then at a staged PR event accepts cash for his charity from Abbott. I know part of politics is quid pro quo and taking what you can get but he seemed like a sell out to me.
6. His charity identifies select Indigenous children and gives them funding for scholarships.... let's take a select group of Aboriginal kids and send them off for a white education... where have we heard that before???

Some of those reasons are stronger than others. But he's being booed, even if it is by racists to me there are enough players booed in this league that it itself is not a racist act. He's certainly not being directly racially abused. Not physically abused. Not shunned from the ground or the league. It's hardly a hate crime.

You didn't answer. What should he have done when called an ape? Stopped, asked for the girl's ID to check she was 18+? What should he have done?

Understood the situation better and did something after the game not stand there like a hero pointing the girl out while freezing for the cameras

He heard a voice and pointed. What should he have done? Ignored the racial abuse? Put up with it?

Understood the situation better and did something after the game not stand there like a hero pointing the girl out while freezing for the cameras
"This voice, not sure who, in this rough section"

Yeah that would've been really effective.

Understood the situation better and did something after the game not stand there like a hero pointing the girl out while freezing fir the cameras

How did he know she was a 13-year old girl? He pointed at the slur, not the person. His words after the fact surely indicate he didn't want to shame a child. He made every excuse for her after the fact.

Oh sorry, what do I know about teenage girls and how they might do that? Oh wait, I'm the mother of 2.

Have a look how confused she was, she had no idea it was misconstrued and why.
Don't see the relevance of your being a mother of 2.
Yep, the girl may not have known the full implications of what she said although you suggestion seems a bit unlikely to me. But hopefully she does now.

Mate, give it a rest. You just look more and more stupid with every post you make in this thread. More and more pathetic.

Take this sh*t to the bay. Or go watch the commonwealth games or the Tour de France time trial, because every time you hit the keyboard in this thread you look like an idiot.

I think you should try to save yourself more embarrassment.