Booing of Adam Goodes tonight

adamgoodesnobhead_zpsbc23d82b.jpg

Why would you boo a player who uses his feet to tackle other players?
Who snipes behind the play?
Who never gets suspended for it?

I don't see any reason to boo him.

When has he sniped behind play?

And as mentioned, he has been suspended many times, including for the sliding which he says when it happened the second time was "the lowest point in his career".

And what is it about Adam Goodes that makes him a worthy recipient?

I figured it was recognition for his sporting achievements and community/charity work. Like Steve Waugh. I do rate Goodes more worthy than Lee Kernaghan though.

If you want to call the AOTY a farce then go right ahead, but you could cite a few better examples than Goodes though.

That's a bit harsh.

Paul Hogan won the award by pushing forward the dumb bogan stereotype to the rest of the world. And didn't pay taxes.
Yeh hogan was great,loved his work,can't say that about goodes but just a sook

When has he sniped behind play?

And as mentioned, he has been suspended many times, including for the sliding which he says when it happened the second time was "the lowest point in his career".

Ha ha, yes, that was the only low point!

He's been kicking players all his career, mate, have a look at his contact on Josh Gibson in the match last year. But he wasn't reported or suspended, so he was innocent!

But I didn't boo him

;)

Ha ha, yes, that was the only low point!

He's been kicking players all his career, mate, have a look at his contact on Josh Gibson in the match last year. But he wasn't reported or suspended, so he was innocent!

But I didn't boo him

;)

Regarded by many, including Sam Mitchell as the most respectable player in the league. I will trust their judgement over yours.

Just because a player is respected by peers doesn't mean they can't be booed. A lot of A list actors favourite directors or fellow actors are probably guys no one has ever heard of.

Booing a rival player isn't disrespectful to them as individuals it's expressing your tribal passionate displeasure. In that regard the AFL field isn't real life.

I bet the same people who get outraged over non PC things like booing at the footy probably love the sex, violence and debauchery in game of thrones. They understand the difference in those circumstances. Why can't their be differences on a footy field?

I figured it was recognition for his sporting achievements and community/charity work. Like Steve Waugh. I do rate Goodes more worthy than Lee Kernaghan though.

If you want to call the AOTY a farce then go right ahead, but you could cite a few better examples than Goodes though.

Oh cool, so we're not just booing him because we're racist. That's a relief. The guy's a dirty player, and a protected species. That's enough for most.
And I'll admit that I thought his response after the whole pointing episode was really poor (and a missed opportunity for conciliation), that's not even why I think he's worthy of booing.
The guy states an interest in pursuing a career in politics, without stating a natural affinity for the Left or Right (as far as I'm aware).
And all of a sudden the Libs are falling over themselves to make him AOTY to try and seal the deal. Goodes has allowed himself to become a political tool so easily it's cringeworthy.

I wouldn't boo at Goodes if I was within viewing distance of the bloke. I'd be worried he might mishear me, point the finger and have me arrested/escorted out for calling him a baboon.

To try and drag this thread back on topic, I'm sure he was booed due to the sliding incident in the corresponding game last year (the act itself which was very dangerous plus the fact he was let off for it), and not due to anything to do with AOTY/racism.
Thank Christ for some common sense in this bullshit thread.

Adam Goodes is an out and out champion who in his 300+ games has done the occasional dodgy/dirty act.
We have all loved players from our own teams who have done similar and worse.
He didnt ask to be AOTY
Most of us dont know what he does when he isnt playing footy.
Most of us dont know what it is like to be called an ape because of the color of our skin.
Most of us wouldnt have known nor predicted the age of the person who said it.

The Goodes haters on here need to get a serious grip.
Ive no doubt those of you with half a brain would change your minds if you spent a little time with him and learnt about who he is and what he does.

The attitude of some of my fellow hawks on here is so disappointing.:thumbsdown:

Just because a player is respected by peers doesn't mean they can't be booed.

Well if his peers themselves don't deem him to be a "dirty player" or these "dirty" incidents worthy of holding a grudge over, and indeed find him to be one of the most respectable players in the game, it's a little stupid and illogical for supporters to feel so differently, isn't it? You don't have to agree with the other players, but if they don't feel that sort of thing discredits Goodes, it has to at least make you think.

What poor moments?

History of leading with his knees/legs? Appetite for exaggerating contact on occasion? I'm not saying he's an overly dirty player, but he's had some regrettable moments (as most players to play the game have). To claim fairly benign criticism of him is "disgusting vitriol" is a bit much.

It's only natural for the uneducated to boo something they feel threatened by.
Goodes is an absolute champion of the game, probably the most versatile player of all time.
The fact he indigenous, and passionate about his peoples history, has a strong personality and is in no way prejudiced makes him a prime target for the mainstream audience.
We live in such a multi cultural country we should feel privileged we get to experience so many wonderful different cultures, in a safe environment.
Goodesy is going to continue being a presence in the media long after his footy career finishes and will continue to piss people off. But his message is the right one and I like the idea of the population embracing all the different cultures in our country instead of being threatened.

On a footy note, should have been a mark in the last quarter! But it was an awesome game and as I observed the Hawks wanted it that little bit more

I think there was a pre-game incident where a little girl in an Essendon jumper wanted to come in; in a most unexpected turn, Adam came running from the rooms. He screamed "Not her, not her", and ran tearfully away telling himself "Find a safe space, find a safe space"... the girl collapsed, they called the ambos, and a lot of people got into the ground late because of all the commotion shutting down one turnstyle. Competely deserved boos, I felt, in such a situation. Never make a fan late for a game.

As a hawk supporter I love goodes. Please keep playing. You are a liability and have been for a long time. We wouldn't have won without your weak attempted tackle on litherland.

That's a bit harsh.

Paul Hogan won the award by pushing forward the dumb bogan stereotype to the rest of the world. And didn't pay taxes.

Yes and I am sure most of agree Hogan was a poor choice as well, so you agree with us , that Gooodes was a poor choice ahead of Scientists, research doctors/ nurses, engineers, policeman and military folk who actually did something for the whole of the country and not just for his own self esteem

It was a young girl who called him something because she thought he looked like that, yes I agree it was not what an educated adult should do but for him to go after her the way he did is not how an educated grown man should behave.
He pointed at where he heard it come from. You're saying he heard a voice and instantly knew it was a 13 year old girl? Rubbish. He pointed the second he heard it, then saw.

Utter rubbish.

Mmmmm. So a 13 years old girls voice could easily be mistaken hey.... Mmmm

You are saying goodes should have just out up with it because she was 13.

Bzzzzzz….wrong again. I dare you to quote where I said that.

What I have consistently said is that there were better ways of handling it than Goodes did. Clearly he was able to identify the girl, from there there were plenty of options open to him.

If you can't argue the facts, then best you run along.

Yes and I am sure most of agree Hogan was a poor choice as well, so you agree with us , that Gooodes was a poor choice ahead of Scientists, research doctors/ nurses, engineers, policeman and military folk who actually did something for the whole of the country and not just for his own self esteem

So being such an expert on who should win this award, which more deserving individual "missed out" in favour of Goodes last year, especially considering Goodes is now the face of an anti-racism campaign (ergo, helping others)?