Opinion Can Dustin Martin be the GOAT? (Answer: no)

1. Ratings.

2. If he has this magical power to suddenly give a s**t, it says everything anyone needs to know about his attitude and his lack of leadership and lack of application. Especially given the situation the team finds itself in. Can you imagine a Bontempelli or Petracca or a Gawn or a Dangerfield or a Boak or a Cripps or Green or any top tier player of the last 5-10 years that’s still around, whether at or past their best, going so meekly about their business while their team flounders the way he has of late? At least LOOK like you care mate.
I look at the energy and enthusiasm Gunston and Bruest… like Martin 3 time premiership players… have on the bench for their younger team mates and it tells me all I need to know about their ongoing commitment. They desperately want to see the club rise again.

What I’ve seen from Martin screams a lack of genuine care about what happens to his club once he is gone.

I look at the energy and enthusiasm Gunston and Bruest… like Martin 3 time premiership players… have on the bench for their younger team mates and it tells me all I need to know about their ongoing commitment. They desperately want to see the club rise again.

What I’ve seen from Martin screams a lack of genuine care about what happens to his club once he is gone.

This. Breust was barking directions yesterday and directing traffic and it was very good to see.

Even Goldy in the north teams of the last couple of years was still battling it out every week at top care factor

Not sure Mathews ever played in a team that couldn’t get the ball into its forward 50

Whenever the ball wasn't coming out of the middle, Matthews was in the middle getting it out himself and that was when he was in his final years while alternating between a couple of positions.

Matthews was also a strong overhead mark. Martin is one of the worst marks of his generation.

I told you after last season Hawkins had hit the wall half way through 2023, but you weren't having it. Something is up with Dusty. He is very shy around certain contests and we have never seen this before from him when anything that matters is on the line. He is fully engaged in the team, and because he doesn't engage in publicly broadcasting excuses we will never know what the issue is.
He was elite as a 34 year old. Martin was last elite as a 29 year old. I'm fine with Hawkins late career journey. Martin has fizzled out along with the Tigers in his 30s.

The trouble with comparing those 2 players at age 34 is the Dustin amartin hasn't been 34 yet. So your post is a mess that relies on your own deluded fantasy that Dusty not being near his brilliant best at present is somehow terminal.

Come on Meteoric Rise! Hawkins was AA in 2022 at age 33 (as well as 2019, 2020 and 2021). Dusty was last AA at age 29 in 2020. Just admit it Dusty has not aged well!

People don't take in consideration the loss of his dad and that massive injury he had he has never recovered for me from that. I reckon he will retire at years end as one of the greatest to play the game and one of the best finals player.

If/when he retires he'll retire as the undisputed GOAT. Nobody could get near him during his career and I doubt anyone will emulate or do better than his GOAT 2017 season.

Weren’t we told by Tiger supporters Dusty was killing it on the track in the preseason and would be back to his best in season 2024?

His decline has been sharp and embarrassing. Dusty will undoubtedly retire this year and when he does and we look back we will say he was sensational for about three years but not in the frame as GOAT.
Loool typical from a cats supporter one of the best finals player I have ever seen. Goats stand up in huge games and he surely did that.

I've not seen any other player dominate to the level Dusty has in his career. He is the complete player and ultimate finals specialist.
Spot on in any sport big players stand up in big games and show their worth. They show there on another level come finals.

Loool typical from a cats supporter one of the best finals player I have ever seen. Goats stand up in huge games and he surely did that.

Of course he did, averaged 22 possessions and 1.6 goals per game in finals. The "1.6" figure being the most impressive....a midfielder that goes forward and averages 1.6 goals...in the modern era....thats very very good.

Could never manage to maintain it over a full season though, and given that H&A games make up 95.5% of Martin’s career so far, I’d say that’s a big reason why he’s not close to being the GOAT. Ablett Jnr for example had multiple full seasons averaging at least 22 disposals and 1.6 goals per game. He actually had two averaging at least 1.6 goals and 30+ possessions! even Dangerfield has done 22 & 1.6 twice over full seasons.

So Dangerfield is better than Martin?

In Home and Away footy, Martin averages 24.5 possessions and 1.0 goals per game.

So Dangerfield is better than Martin?
That’s the difference. You don’t see Cats supporters banging on about Dangerfield whose record is impressive, but not in the GAJ class. Nobody is disputing Dusty played 3 great finals series. He simply is not GOAT.

Career highlights of Dangerfield:
AFL premiership player: 2022
Geelong captain: 2023–
Brownlow Medal: 2016
Leigh Matthews Trophy: 2016
AFLCA champion player of the year: 2016
2x Lou Richards Medal: 2016, 2019
8× All-Australian team: 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 (c)
Gary Ayres Award: 2022
Malcolm Blight Medal: 2015
3× Carji Greeves Medal: 2016, 2017, 2019
Showdown Medal: 2012 (game 1)
22under22 team: 2012 (Captain)
Tom Wills Award: 2022
AFL Rising Star nominee: 2009

That’s the difference. You don’t see Cats supporters banging on about Dangerfield whose record is impressive, but not in the GAJ class. Nobody is disputing Dusty played 3 great finals series. He simply is not GOAT.

Career highlights of Dangerfield:
AFL premiership player: 2022
Geelong captain: 2023–
Brownlow Medal: 2016
Leigh Matthews Trophy: 2016
AFLCA champion player of the year: 2016
2x Lou Richards Medal: 2016, 2019
8× All-Australian team: 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 (c)
Gary Ayres Award: 2022
Malcolm Blight Medal: 2015
3× Carji Greeves Medal: 2016, 2017, 2019
Showdown Medal: 2012 (game 1)
22under22 team: 2012 (Captain)
Tom Wills Award: 2022
AFL Rising Star nominee: 2009

So in your opinion do you think Dangerfield is better than Martin?

Fixed for you.

The greatest to play the game don't come with qualifiers for why they weren't actually that great for significant parts of their career.

He's only played 16 finals which is a very small sample size, and nearly all of those for a top 2 club

Jury is out as to whether he's a consistent finals player, we'll never know

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's only played 16 finals which is a very small sample size, and nearly all of those for a top 2 club

Jury is out as to whether he's a consistent finals player, we'll never know

"Jury is out as to whether he's a consistent finals player, we'll never know"

Surely this is a troll? I mean are you serious? How many finals does Martin (or anyone else) have to play to give a good indication if they can handle finals matches???...

So in your opinion do you think Dangerfield is better than Martin?
Interesting question. Danger's finals record is not as good as Dusty. Nobody disputes that.

Danger's 2022 final series was excellent and he was unlucky not to be NS. But I have no doubt Danger's body of work across his career - and not just across 3 finals series - is better than Dusty and the facts speak for themselves - 8 AA's between 2012 and 2020.

And just remember, in the 2022 finals series Danger was 32 years old, the same age Dusty is now. Danger was awarded the Gary Ayres medal.

"Jury is out as to whether he's a consistent finals player, we'll never know"

Surely this is a troll? I mean are you serious? How many finals does Martin (or anyone else) have to play to give a good indication if they can handle finals matches???...
He only played good finals for 4 years, when he was at his absolute peak along with the Tiges

Guys like Sidebottom and Pendles have been playing good finals for 15+ years ie their entire careers