Can he do it?

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Is Ayres good enough to lead us to our 3rd Premiership?

• Yes

Votes: 11 29.7%
  • No

Votes: 26 70.3%

Sacramento Kings
Is Gary Ayres the man to lead us to our 3rd premiership. Injuries permitting he has the cattle but has he got the coaching nous to win on the last Saturday in september??????

Has he got what it takes??????

The heart says yes. I'd love us to win a flag.

The head says no.. so No it is. However I am basing that opinion on previous years faults.

Its too early to tell, I'd like to see some footy from AFC to see what we learned from 03 before making a comment on this. Too many unknown factors atm.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Is Gary Ayres the man to lead us to our 3rd premiership. Injuries permitting he has the cattle but has he got the coaching nous to win on the last Saturday in september??????

Has he got what it takes??????

If you believe what the "experts" from other clubs are saying on the AFL Board, we're going to finish out of the eight and well down the ladder, so they don't believe that Ayres has the cattle to win a flag. If they're right, then it's impossible to answer your question, because his coaching nous won't come into it.

However, I'll say he has got the cattle, given a good run with injuries.

Has he got the nous? I voted yes. Perhaps I'll be the only one. ;)

Re: Re: Can he do it?

Originally posted by macca23
If you believe what the "experts" from other clubs are saying on the AFL Board, we're going to finish out of the eight and well down the ladder, so they don't believe that Ayres has the cattle to win a flag. If they're right, then it's impossible to answer your question, because his coaching nous won't come into it.

;)

Fickle business football
Last year we had (according to experts) the best list in the league bar Brisbane. Experts had us as a strong flag possibility.

Lost Bickley, now we're out the 8 with no chance (according to Vic experts)

Point is no-one knows who is going to step up and perform - yes we have the cattle, the coach is no dud, and if luck is on our side.....????

As for replacing Eyres, have to find a coach, who is available, and is better than the one we've got.

Unsure on this one. Showed we were capable of winning a great final like v Dees a couple of years ago, but can he outcoach Matthews or Malthouse when it matters? At the end of the day it is mainly up to the players, as long as Ayres doesn't do anything really stupid like the Perrie-Lynch type matchups in a crunch game (again).

Re: Re: Re: Can he do it?

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
As for replacing Eyres ...

I believe you're getting our coach and two of Australia's natural landmarks confused...

Gary Ayres...
Ayer's Rock...
Lake Eyre...

To safe confusion I nominate that we only refer to the coach of the Adelaide Football Club as "Uluru" for the coming season.

Thoughts?

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Unsure on this one. Showed we were capable of winning a great final like v Dees a couple of years ago, but can he outcoach Matthews or Malthouse when it matters? At the end of the day it is mainly up to the players, as long as Ayres doesn't do anything really stupid like the Perrie-Lynch type matchups in a crunch game (again).
That is why I asked the question in the 1st place. The key to whether he can lead us to a flag is whether or not he can out coach the likes of Matthews, Malthouse and Williams. Something he hasn't been able to do in the past.

Its all well and good to show confidence in your players but that can be over the top. Perrie on Lynch is a classic example. Blighty wouldn't even dream of having that match up.

I got thinking about this after I watched the 97 and 98 premierships. I was thinking to myself, "gee we had some duds in these years yet we beat teams who were better than us". I got sick watching the likes of Marsh, Keating, Eccles etc running around. Man for man our list is better this year than it was in 97 and 98 but I feel that Ayresy unfortunately lacks the ability to pull a rabbitt out of a hat when its needed. 2004 is a HUGE test for him.

As for replacing Eyres, have to find a coach, who is available, and is better than the one we've got.
If Ayres is not signed up after this season I can just about bet my life on Craig getting the job. Whether or not it is a correct decisin, I don't know but I am certain he is next in line.

If we do get rid of Garry after this season I'd love to see us go after Garry O'Donnell. IMO has many of the traits that Paul Roos does - articulate, calm, controlled - and has just been part of the most successful coaching team in the last fifty years.

Thoughts?

Originally posted by McLeod23
If we do get rid of Garry after this season I'd love to see us go after Garry O'Donnell. IMO has many of the traits that Paul Roos does - articulate, calm, controlled - and has just been part of the most successful coaching team in the last fifty years.

Thoughts?
I would certainly have him as one of my top candidates. However, if we make the top 4 i am pretty sure Ayres will get an extension;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Can he do it?

If Ayres is not signed up after this season I can just about bet my life on Craig getting the job. Whether or not it is a correct decisin, I don't know but I am certain he is next in line.

What was his coaching record like with Norwood.
Do you think he would be an improvement on Ayres, and if so in what areas of the game?

Originally posted by McLeod23

Thoughts?

Is he going to improve us in areas that Ayres is weak in?
I would think the candidate would have to be an experienced coach, otherwise we go backwards whilst a new coach learns the caper.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Can he do it?

What was his coaching record like with Norwood.
Do you think he would be an improvement on Ayres, and if so in what areas of the game?
I reckon he might be a premiership coach with Norwood. I am not 100% on this one.

I would think the candidate would have to be an experienced coach, otherwise we go backwards whilst a new coach learns the caper.
Not neccessarily. Paul Roos is a classic example of this. Some fresh "inexperienced" blood might be what we need. If you have an "inexperienced" coach you just surround him with experienced assistants;)

Like St Kilda?

Seriously who is going to be available at year end to coach the Crows that could add something extra

Has Ayres:

1. Lost the players (not from my perspective)
2. Have a poor game plan ( proven GF style - but went a bit short this year in some games.
3. Experienced asst coaches around him (yes probably as good as any going around)
4. Good gameday coaching ( probably his stubborness to admit failure of moves is his biggest weakness, not the actual matchups)

So Who's available and how do you rate them:

Terry Wallace - would be my pick to replace Ayres ( he would add a new dimension)
Neil Craig - Obviously good at what he does now, can he coach though?
Harvey from Essendon - impressive but always easier as an assistant

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Can he do it?

I reckon he might be a premiership coach with Norwood. I am not 100% on this one.

Nope Peter Rohde was our Premiership winning coach in 97 who also got us to GF in 99 from fifth.

Unfortunately my memory of Craigy coaching Norwood was he was the last coach (before 03) that did not get us in to the finals.

Back to the original question, I think Ayers can lead us to the Premiership he got a pretty rubbish Geelong team to a GF (and yes I know he had Ablett but I would class our midfield in our current team much better than that midfield and generally it is the midfield that wins the game)

Anyway I am prepared to be howled down :D

I voted NO but then I reflected and thought ...maybe;)

It comes down to players available against crucial matchups.
We got a few of them wrong last year and we got burnt.

If we dont get into a GF this year Id be prepared to stick with Gazza- How many of you would do that??

Theres no point in going for some wetneck. Roos is an exception.

I got thinking about this after I watched the 97 and 98 premierships. I was thinking to myself, "gee we had some duds in these years yet we beat teams who were better than us". I got sick watching the likes of Marsh, Keating, Eccles etc running around. Man for man our list is better this year than it was in 97 and 98 but I feel that Ayresy unfortunately lacks the ability to pull a rabbitt out of a hat when its needed. 2004 is a HUGE test for him.

Big difference is that we didnt have duds in key positions in 97/98.

We had proven KPP's who could do any job asked of them - Caven, Pittman, Rehn, Robran, Jarman.

The versatility and reliability (in terms of being injury free and performance when it matters) of that group and some of our current lot is pretty huge in some areas.

Esp in defence - give me Pittman and Caven over McGregor and Bassett anyday.

Then there is Rehn in the ruck - no worries there!

As for possible new coaches for the Crows...

Peter Jonas is the man.

why let that teensy fact get in the way, reality is the natural predator to big footy speculation.

Originally posted by Jerome
Big difference is that we didnt have duds in key positions in 97/98.

We had proven KPP's who could do any job asked of them - Caven, Pittman, Rehn, Robran, Jarman.

The versatility and reliability (in terms of being injury free and performance when it matters) of that group and some of our current lot is pretty huge in some areas.

Esp in defence - give me Pittman and Caven over McGregor and Bassett anyday.

Then there is Rehn in the ruck - no worries there!

As for possible new coaches for the Crows...

Peter Jonas is the man.

uuuh Peter Caven wasn't a proven KPP he discovered himself during this period. He was on the scrap heap when we picked him up, and he later repaid us well.

Originally posted by Punchy Bassett
Nope Peter Rohde was our Premiership winning coach in 97 who also got us to GF in 99 from fifth.

Unfortunately my memory of Craigy coaching Norwood was he was the last coach (before 03) that did not get us in to the finals.

??????

2nd in 1993, 4th in 1994 and 3rd in 1995.

As for Ayres. Like mentioned in above posts his inability to outcoach Williams, Matthews, Malthouse worries me. And (as mentioned)his stubborness in making moves. How could anyone forget Mattner on Woewodin? That still haunts me that one.

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
??????

2nd in 1993, 4th in 1994 and 3rd in 1995.

Well... I havent looked it up and so I may be wrong but there was definitely at least one year Craigy didn't get us to the finals.....

Again withough researching I could be way wrong.....

Originally posted by Jerome

Robran? Do any job asked of him? I'm sorry, but Robran would not rate as a proven KPP in my books. He did 50 things wrong for every 1 thing he did right.
I thought it was quite impressive to see a team win a flag without a CHF that impacted on the game as the crows did in 97, 98. Especially with Loewe and Carey up the other end doin the opposite for their teams.