List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Arr0w

Player profiles and videos are up on the AFL website

It is so frustrating that they don't have video footage of all the prospects listed. The AFL has a long way to go when it comes to draft coverage.

AFL is total useless with regards to it, but not sure the traffic would warrant the cost. I'm sure they could outsource to someone like Giantroo to create.
It would take it to another level.

AFL is total useless with regards to it, but not sure the traffic would warrant the cost. I'm sure they could outsource to someone like Giantroo to create.

They are complete amateurs, but I have no doubt the appetite is there.

They should absolutely be outsourcing that sort of thing, but I'd be surprised if they didn't have vision there already. They just need to cut it and load it.

The certainly have the vision, when you compare what the AFL does to NFL, it is a shame. The NFL mini games, NFL highlights... Just insane.

I also watch esports and they have amazing ability to get highlights out within a massively short period of time. I'm sure if they linked the highlights to a Champion Data call with names they could automate a highlights package easily.

The certainly have the vision, when you compare what the AFL does to NFL, it is a shame. The NFL mini games, NFL highlights... Just insane.

I also watch esports and they have amazing ability to get highlights out within a massively short period of time. I'm sure if they linked the highlights to a Champion Data call with names they could automate a highlights package easily.

It's not fair to compare the AFL to the NFL or any other US sport. We just don't have the money nor the resources to compete.

But clearly the AFL could and should be doing a whole lot better in this space than what they are. With so many draft 'experts' around these days there's no reason why video and other draft content can't be produced and distributed to the masses.

IIRC Crocmedia took over AFL.com and Footy Record earlier this year.

Just put The Wookie in charge of it..... :)

If young lands at our pick than there’s ur Simpson replacement
There is no chance Young gets to our pick not in a million years, Flanders has more chance of sliding to our pick and that’s not ever going to happen either, both are top 5 and will go in that range, I even doubt the Serong rumoured slide people are just bored and need something to talk/dream about.

The highlights for AFL players is totally hopeless on the afl.com site, yet the player highlights on the NAB league app are really good, go figure.

All this live trading and academy picks has got me bamboozled. Haven't followed at all this year since I thought we would be trading our first round pick.

Someone wake me up when we are allowed to unwrap our new toys.
I’m with you, mate. My head is swimming with all the possibilities, trade concoctions and live ladders. Is it next Friday yet?

CARLTON

Draft Selections: 9, 43, 57, 70, 85

List gaps: The Blues have gradually built their midfield depth through the draft, but they still relied heavily on experienced trio Patrick Cripps, Marc Murphy and Ed Curnow last year. They could use more bodies and quality through the engine room. Having missed on Tom Papley during the trade period, they could also target a classy small forward.

The priority: Expect the Blues to chase a versatile midfielder at the top of the draft, who could start his career at Ikon Park in the forward line. Speed should also be prioritised.

List Gaps - I really don't think we need more inside midfielders by way of the draft. Cripps has plenty of time on his side. Setterfield looks like the guy the guy we've always wanted and the player that SOS rated the best player in the 2016 draft, ahead of Taranto, McCluggage & SPS. Stocker is the bull we rated at #6 in the strongest top end pool in years. The there's Walsh.....and then there's Dow.
We also have Kennedy and if he we shy him away from midfield duties we may end up losing a player we wanted only 2 years ago.
You can have too much of one good thing and not enough of another good thing.

The Priority - Speed should be prioritised. It should but skills should be high on the radar, also.....and goal-kickers.

Dream Draft - Brodie Kemp is the player we want but I'm just not sure he's the player we need. Stephens is though.

Last edited by a moderator:

I feel like this year is crazy for me, if Ash or Young don't fall to us, part of me prefers trading away pick 9 for two later picks.
Rivers, Weightman, Bergman, Taylor, Rantall, Sharp... Plenty of names depending on recruiters thoughts that I rate close to each other.

I feel like this year is crazy for me, if Ash or Young don't fall to us, part of me prefers trading away pick 9 for two later picks.
Rivers, Weightman, Bergman, Taylor, Rantall, Sharp... Plenty of names depending on recruiters thoughts that I rate close to each other.

If we did trade back, from that group, I would jump all over Rivers and Taylor

Jungle drums keep beating for Kemp or Stephens.

I don’t mind that. They can both kick. Both athletic. Would I trademark down? I keep switching. The yes part of me has the same logic as you above.

The no part of me suggests Kemp or Stephens could be the ‘far more difficult to replace in future years’ thing that has been bugging me.

I don’t think the list needs ‘numbers’. Just keep adding top end.

So ‘no’ to trade down is winning....this morning.....so far...for me!

I don’t mind that. They can both kick. Both athletic. Would I trademark down? I keep switching. The yes part of me has the same logic as you above.

The no part of me suggests Kemp or Stephens could be the ‘far more difficult to replace in future years’ thing that has been bugging me.

You're one of those swivel windows that rotates 360 degrees, aren't you?

:p

The part i don't understand is why we would be after another winger in Stephens? Yes he looks fantastic but he would take 3-4 years to hit the output we need. Last year we played Walsh, Setterfield, LOB on the wing with Fisher being drafted as a winger and SPS and Gibbons also having the skills to play the wing. It just doesn't strike me as a position we need further recruits for as the reality is it would just force out someone we've already drafted and invested a high pick in over the past few years. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

We could do this with a lot of players though, couldn't we?

Why Kemp when we have Cripps, Setterfield, Kennedy, Stocker..........
Why McAsey when we have Weitering, Marchbank, Jones, Macreadie....

I'm not sure why players need 3-4 years to hit good output levels, either.
If the opportunity and form is there, young players can flourish. Rozee & Duursma finished top 10 in Ports B&F in their first year.

Stephens reminds me of what Boekhorst may have been had the commitment been there....which it wasn't.
Speed, good evasion skills, takes the game on and can kick a goal. He wouldn't go astray in our team at all and could be playing sooner than later.
Could play wing/half-forward and mix it up with Martin, but whichever way there will be some fall-out if we don't have needs front of mind and I see O'Brien as being the winger that may fall to the back of the queue.
We're taking Martin for 5 years, we took Newnes for 3 years and if w do take Stephens, it could will get tough for someone.

What if SPS doesn't become that HBF'er we're setting him out to be? Back to the NB's?
What if Fisher doesn't become that HFF'er we want to make him? Back to the NB's?
If Dow doesn't have an opening midfield spot? Back to the NB's?

Not everyone is going to fit and there are going to be players we paid a high price for spending time in the lower league.

It seems to be a position we are grabbing at. Enter Newnes.

Not sure where Setters & Walsh are going to end up playing their footy, on the wing or starting centre (think Walsh’s numbers were pretty high at the end of the season at the bounces, and Setterfield could be in there too this year as he builds his body). Stocker needs to be filtered in as well.

Then there’s the midfielders that could get pushed outside; Gibbons, Dow, Fisher...Setterfield & Walsh depending on plans.

LOB really should be earmarked for 1 wing (Williamson perhaps moving up) but still a lot to be done to be a 1st choice selection, whilst we may have a sneaky chance in Cottrell filing for the other side. Sounds like SPS could be running out from the backline.

I know I keep saying this but given there's only a few more days to go, I'll run it one more time:

We keep pick #9 and we're likely to take the player we're in love with most and the one which may showcase the recruiters' selection as being a good one.
We trade pick #9 and it may actually force us to consider needs more than simply trying to secure the best talent.

It's easy for me to say that and I understand why recruiters would shy away from it because it is risky, but why not back yourself in and especially so given our young talent pool is already quite deep, but a couple of huge gaps are still present?
I don't think it would be a difficult sell at all for SOS to tell Liddle of his intentions. Reckon the board would sign off pretty quickly as well.

Kemp or the best small forward and the best medium sized forward?
For me Kemp may prove to be the better talent but does he alone make our team better than for two 'needs' types we're craving for?

From Knightmare on the Draft board regarding small forwards:

"Of the sub 180cm forwards, Serong and Henry I have neck and neck as those better two. A category down I have Mahony and Weightman with Pickett a fair bit further back down that tier.

Clubs similarly have variations of orders of these guys. Henry seems the most preferred with Weightman and Serong rated pretty closely, with Pickett more-so rated in the teens and Mahony more a second rounder.

I rate Taylor ahead of Pickett, but behind those other guys on my own board.

Taylor should go somewhere in the second round. "

If he's going to take 3-4 to hit the output we need, all the more reason not to worry about how he fits in.

We finally look covered for wing depth but in 3-4 years, will Gibbo still be on the list? Will Newnes? Maybe Setterfield is in the guts, maybe Walsh is the league's best rover and Fisher/SPS are playing on flanks. Not to mention the list is never fully fit.

HARKER is starting to win me over on list balance, so I am aware of not stacking certain positions too heavily.

But if you can draft a talented mid I think you can overthink how they fit into the best 22. Unless you're in an Essendon/Melbourne situation with a midfield that is almost all inside or outside...(and even then Melbourne pretty much addressed their midfield imbalance in one off-season via trading).

Heard on the MMM this morning, Melbourne likely to pick Jackson at 3 and Pickett at 10 (!)...

Might make things interesting for us if we did trade down with Port/Geelong etc. That's one more player gone that may see Kemp/Serong
/Stephens/other slip out of the top 10.