Game Day Casey V Box Hill

Spirit of 39

The Trident - Awarded to posters who do a hell of a lot on the Dees board Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2011 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe 2012 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2012 Player Sponsor
I thought I'd take the liberty of starting a thread on this game in a bid to forget about last night.

Obviously it will great to see LJ have a run around today. But I'm also looking forward to seeing Rory Taggert, Lucas Cook and Troy Davis. Let's hope they can give us something to get excited about.

Mark Neeld just said Tommy Couch is crook and will not be playing today. Disappointing for a couple of reasons. :(

I think so, keep an eye out for me, hopefully the whole senior list will be too...

Keep an eye out for Col Sylvia. Apparently Neeldy read him the riot act this morning.

Where'd you get that from mate?

Mark Neeld just said it on SEN. He didn't elaborate a great deal but he did say to Col that it takes more than talent to play AFL footy.

ah, thanks.

I get the feeling we are going to have one of the most interesting and significant phases in list management this year in quite some time and given the last 4 yrs that's saying something.

On another note, I swear he has been joking with the boys on SEN at least 3 of the last 7 or 8 mornings.

GET HIM OFF

This.

Why the hell is Sylvia being played purely in the forward 50? He should be a midfielder that rotates down there - damn it is frustrating to watch.

Sylvia is a very effective forward when in form. Takes a great mark and is also good at reading the ball off the pack.

I'm sure it is also due to his probably being a bit unfit.

But it doesn't matter where you play - if you're on the field you damn well give 100% and bring a professional level of intensity. And Col does not appear to be brining much.

Sylvia is a very effective forward when in form. Takes a great mark and is also good at reading the ball off the pack.

I'm sure it is also due to his probably being a bit unfit.

I think this may be the case too.

But it doesn't matter where you play - if you're on the field you damn well give 100% and bring a professional level of intensity. And Col does not appear to be brining much.

Correct.

Yeah lead the riot act to a top midfielder after you play him in the forward pocket in a game when the ball doesn't get down to him. Good one Neeld

You read the riot act to any player who doesn't put in.

When Sylvia was in the thick of it last night he didn't do enough. Whether that is fitness or effort that is up for those closer to the club to decide but position doesn't get him off the hook. He's a big boy he should know what is required at this level and it's not like playing forward is foreign to him.

Clark played forward, ruck and even in defence at times last night and gave it 100%.

'Despite Jack Watts kicking 4 last week, Mark Neeld has given the instruction for him to work on his defensive side

Seriously Watts is a smart footballer with generally clean skills but he doesn't like contact at all