Review Cats rout North by 62 points

• Thread starter Thread starter dazbroncos

One of my fav Ratugolea passages was from the first quarter & it looked like what he does during the warm-up - he collected an intercept possession on the wing and with minimal time to think through his options, he kicked the football long, quick & flat into our forward 50. Can’t remember if we hit the scoreboard as a result, but it was dangerous kick (in a good way) from Ratugolea and a much better option than when he seems to have more time to think about his options & he can put a bit too much air into his kicks

I made the following comment at half time, and even though we saw North kick a few more goals in the second half it still seems relevant

At the end of the match I’d comfortable have J. Henry as our leading defender yesterday (really building some nice form after stringing 7 games together), and there really wasn’t a weak link down back - yes Larkey kicked 2 goals but he had kicked 44 for the season before yesterday. I’d also suggest that North wasn’t able to pressure our mids & defenders for long enough periods to see if there was any potential scars or second thoughts to things after the way Sydney cut us up the week before

Ratugolea was solid enough with the ball coming in, but did look a bit quieter & he didn’t necessarily have the same presence that we saw from him earlier in the season - that again could be down to North not getting the ball forward as much as other opponents, so that can sometimes be harder for defenders to have an impact. One frustration from yesterday though & it was mentioned by someone else during the game-day thread is that Ratugolea does loose his feet, maybe more than any defender other than Bews - if trying to impact a marking contest & he doesn’t kill the ball, he needs to start keeping his feet especially when his opponent does, because against better quality opposition they will make you pay in those situations

When comparing our last 3 weeks & looking at our defensive set-up, we did seem best balanced against both Melbourne & North when we went in with 1 less tall defender than we did against Sydney, and the 3 that played each seemed to have match-up & clarity with their approach - going to be interesting to see the approach the coaches take going forward
Thanks 09 - comprehensive and insightful response.

What did you think?

Live at the ground I thought he struggled.

Just missed a tackle that should it have connected, would have made mince meat of the player.
Tends to loop kick just yet, but one into the forward line was a boomer but slightly misdirected. Needs to learn pin point. Also looks to be under instruction to see ball, get ball, pass to nearest team mate (Duncan). A few ball bounces left him perplexed, maybe awkward just yet, but changed direction and took off after it.
He's picked up the hand pass methodology well though. probably the easiest thing to practice.
Didn't count how much game time he actually got- I thought glowing praise should be reserved for the future, and it looks bright.

One of my fav Ratugolea passages was from the first quarter & it looked like what he does during the warm-up - he collected an intercept possession on the wing and with minimal time to think through his options, he kicked the football long, quick & flat into our forward 50. Can’t remember if we hit the scoreboard as a result, but it was dangerous kick (in a good way) from Ratugolea and a much better option than when he seems to have more time to think about his options & he can put a bit too much air into his kicks

So fluke then? :)

The next month will be very hard, even with some home games at GMHBA stadium. Scotty was boasting in his presser that the Cats could beat anyone if they were playing well. Maybe if everyone was playing like they were last year, sure, but the stats are still damning, and this team is way off the pace with the top teams. Way off. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the lads can lift to recapture the same form they had last year, but AFL history shows it rarely, if ever, happens.

I only watch the games very little if any media or coach press things

But like you i have dropped off the view - can beat everyone blah blah

I think the real test for Geel - and yes they have to beat Ess and others 1st - is in a few weeks time playing the Lions at the Gabba - where they have won 45-of last 49

Richmond took ok form up their a couple of weeks back and got beaten by 14 goals - and right from the very start it looked shocking

Geel have had injuries and all the rest of it - but with the lack of hunger and that - but if it comes unglued against the Lions - then the Cats will get absolutely annihilated

If Geel can perform strongly against Bris - then there is some hope in the finals if they make it

So fluke then? :)

He often kicks like that in the pre-match warm-up; so obviously it’s something he has spent time working on

But for some reason (and not isolated to Ratugolea), when they get the ball during the match & have time to consider their options, when it comes down to the last resort of a kick down the line, for some reason they give it too much air - not sure if they thinking doing so will help it travel further but all it does it suit the opposition in helping them kill the ball

He often kicks like that in the pre-match warm-up; so obviously it’s something he has spent time working on

But for some reason (and not isolated to Ratugolea), when they get the ball during the match & have time to consider their options, when it comes down to the last resort of a kick down the line, for some reason they give it too much air - not sure if they thinking doing so will help it travel further but all it does it suit the opposition in helping them kill the ball

Agree, even if a few of those goals came from getting it over the back, either by intent or default. I'm not sure of the forward cattle without Cameron- Stengle, Miers, Close all good on the run, but with Ollie and Holmes they seemed a bit light weight and too short at times - which made the poor over shot deliveries look a bit hopeless. Thought we could have used a lot more system.
The North backs weren't absolutely hopeless either, certainly not what we're facing coming up though..

eDIT: On replay: Felt really sorry for Hawk, couldn't believe how many shocking deliveries he couldn't reach.

Dempsey is already a cut above VFL but it's a big step up to AFL. He just needs to be given more opportunities. Being an emergency is not going to help much. He needs a couple of full AFL games. He has a lot of potential, more than some of those who made it as regulars in the AFL team. He also has x-factor that you can't learn.
I have been banging on about this all year - not just for Dempsey but all the fringe players that come in as subs. It doesn’t work and has the risk of being a backward step for them.

By definition they are being played as sub as a “reward” for stepping up in VFL/Training - so that is a confidence booster for them. But when you look at the facts none of them (Dempsey, Knevitt, Simpson, Bowes, others) have had an impact at all as sub. The only two that had a real impact with Rohan and O Henry with Tanner and maybe one other who came on early.

Coming on as a role player as tactical sub when the game has lost its intensity (most of the time) isn’t helpful. I have started watching this as a special interest and most of the time they run around as a forward or wing or flanker and don’t get the ball. It is just too hard to play that role as an inexperienced player.

Dempsey has been sub 3 of his 4 games this year and his best game by far was the one he wasn’t sub (even though he was subbed off in the end - he shouldnt have been as he showed he could impact including 9 possessions in a qtr and 2 shots on goal). The other 3 times he has played sub and had no impact - and I worry it hurts his confidence (we don’t want him believing he is good at VFL and not at AFL).

Knevitt made little impact as sub but after getting a chance (through injury) to string a handful of full games together he looked liked he belonged. Same as Bowes - poor as sub but good in the 22.

I personally think (FWIIW) that they should only play impact players (Rohan, O Henry) or experienced players as sub. Last weekend for example when they knew they wanted to manage Blitz maybe he could have been sub and come on with 1 1/2 qtr to go as his “rest” for the week. He could come on for a youngster if they need him or give another older player a rest.

Anyway I think now that will be Dempsey’s last chance unless injury to a forward…and I am not convinced Knevitt will get another change given we have Jezza, Smith, Kolo available and I reckon the give Menegola another shot? So I wish them well in the VFL and hope they continue to try to dominate and force their way into the 22 in 24

Loving Scott in the post game pressers recently. Journo asks him whether there was much talk about being still in finals contention around this game.
Scott (with wtf expression on face): "Still in..??? Do I need to talk about that? Hope not. No. I mean seriously.. We are very confident that if we play our best footy.. we're the danger.". Turns to Reg as if to say, seriously this is how the media rates our side this year - making up the numbers...
I know there are plenty on here who think we're not the side we were last year, but listening to anyone within the club and there is just an incredible confidence that we can, not just "give it shake", but simply get it done when it matters.
I think he's just sick of the Collingwood circle jerk.

From his perspective, he's probably thinking I've been to 3 GFs, 2 premierships, and countless top 4 and finals appearance over the last 13 years.

I'm the reigning premiership coach, and I've helped steer this side through catastrophic injury to still be a shot at top 4 at round 17...and nobody's talking about it.

My club's been written off countless times, and multiple times in this very year. What more do you want from me?

We know Chris Scott is a big believer in earning trust, and I would assume that he thinks he has more than enough credits in the bank to not have to deal with punitive questioning.

That's just the way I see it, we know he's never liked the media...but he's been different this year. I think personally he feels that after last year's flag, the monkey would be off the back so to speak....but come round 3 this year, and the media is right back on him/us.

Meanwhile, teams that are yet to even play in a Grand Final are talked about as God's Gift to football.

P.S

It would be remiss of me to not acknowledge that I am not Chris Scott

Sorry if you think he's "way behind" Dempsey then you were watching a very different game to me.

I love Dempsey but he's shown very little at AFL level this year in his chances. Mullin looks like an ok small defender who is excellent in the contest but is a bit lost in transition.

In an emergency situation I would back Mullin to do a job in a final if needed over Dempsey. Obviously neither are in our best 22 but if we need players 25-27 Mullin will come in first.
I think that is the point. They are both off the best 22 (as is Knevitt even though he played his best game before being dropped)…and I think they only get shots from here (given we have a handful of players still to come back) if we sustain new injuries. Even managing players can be done with the “Best 26” which I don’t think any of these are quite there yet. But it can be “position dependent”

I think one thing I will say (which I have said in other posts) is the there is a massive difference (evidence by the stats) between an inexperienced player coming in as a sub or in the 22. When you look at the facts, none of them (Dempsey, Knevitt, Bowes, Simpson, others - except Rohan and O Henry against Hawks) have made any impact as a sub. It is just too hard I reckon to come on late as an inexperienced player and pick the pace up - especially if you play in a forward line and ball not getting down much.

Dempsey played well against Richmond (including 9 Possession and 2 shots on goal in a qtr) when he was in 22 and poorly in all 3 sub games. Knevitt poor as sub but got better each time be played 22. Same for Bowes.

I think Mullin will be A star by the way. I watch him closely in VFL and he has elite athletics and smarts. His handballs and quick kicks are already elite. His contest work is very good. A “long way to go” (I hate that saying) in terms of positioning and confidence when not in the contest but I reckon that comes quickly and he will be a surprise packet in 2024 or 2025. I also think Dempsey with another preseason and more footy (hasn’t had much more than Mullin and is younger and skinnier) will also surprise us quicker. He will be disappointed he didn’t show what he hopes he can do in the AFL but I hope he reacts like last time and goes back and dominates VFL. Knevitt is already more comfortable in AFL but needs a spot…. So I think all of them (along with others) offer us something as we build to next flag (after going B2B in 23!!) and I don’t focus on who might look in front of the other from one week to the next…

It's quite nuanced and at least some our scratchy year has been a by product of a ridiculous injury list. This has had a flow on effect for lack of player management until very recently and not building cohesion with the vast majority of the core.

Duncan and Dangerfield are just two examples of veterans who are slowly building touch. Atkins and Blicavs went a bit off the boil without their help too. Tuohy has turned things around a bit. We have time to build form on the proviso that we win the winnable games. We simply couldn't do so until we had at least 18/19 of our best 22 together for a big block of games.

Win a few on the trot and who knows.
I was starting to really worry about both. Other clubs have bought players in with quicker impact. But the North game was excellent for both of them (I still worry about Danger’s freedom of movement - but boy he crashes the contest…and wins most times).

Now in the back of my mind I can’t help but think… “it was against North…” so I am hoping that they both dominate this week against Essendon and I can put that out of my mind and start to believe that this is all part of the plan….to not get on a roll too early and build players back to full fitness and form and then win out last 8 games (which will get us to top 4) and go into finals as favourites…

From his perspective, he's probably thinking I've been to 3 GFs, 2 premierships, and countless top 4 and finals appearance over the last 13 years.

I'm the reigning premiership coach, and I've helped steer this side through catastrophic injury to still be a shot at top 4 at round 17...and nobody's talking about it.

My club's been written off countless times, and multiple times in this very year. What more do you want from me?

We know Chris Scott is a big believer in earning trust, and I would assume that he thinks he has more than enough credits in the bank to not have to deal with punitive questioning.

That's just the way I see it, we know he's never liked the media...but he's been different this year. I think personally he feels that after last year's flag, the monkey would be off the back so to speak....but come round 3 this year, and the media is right back on him/us.

Meanwhile, teams that are yet to even play in a Grand Final are talked about as God's Gift to football.

P.S

I am highly confident that Collingwood will not win the premiership. Nor Port. Only chance they have is to lose a few in the next 8 weeks and have media experts write them off…then I might change my mind. History says that it is just too hard to peak pre bye and sustain it all the way to the end. A few clubs have been the best team all year - but very very few over the decades. Most premiers are the best team in the last 2 months…Cats last year were the best team for the last 3 months…

So I don’t think we know who that team is yet but my best it is not Collingwood or Port. I can see Melbourne (who don’t look great now and have all these “forward problems”) getting on a roll at the last minute and hitting the finals in form…or even Brisbane. Maybe even the Dogs do a 2016. But equally likely is the Cats…why not us!

I was starting to really worry about both. Other clubs have bought players in with quicker impact. But the North game was excellent for both of them (I still worry about Danger’s freedom of movement - but boy he crashes the contest…and wins most times).

Now in the back of my mind I can’t help but think… “it was against North…” so I am hoping that they both dominate this week against Essendon and I can put that out of my mind and start to believe that this is all part of the plan….to not get on a roll too early and build players back to full fitness and form and then win out last 8 games (which will get us to top 4) and go into finals as favourites…
It's just part and parcel of injury interruptions with old players, hence you need a deep squad. Duncan's bad form was overstated even though picking his 5 worst moments each game made him look like a ressies player. He was still racking up the footy and having plenty of solid moments. It's when they're not finding the footy or are getting caught or burned by opponents all game that alarm bells start ringing. Duncan just needed to fine tune his radar and our expectations have to go down a little bit. Bad errors obviously slip in for veterans, Tuohy had a streak of shockers early in the year but came good. Smith was starting to get jaded but hopefully after a rest comes good again.

Dangerfield looking awful early after hiatuses isn't uncommon either and he had the double interruption - hammy then ribs first up.

I'm seeing less from Bews that is encouraging so far even if he's a bit younger. I guess it's a wait and see on that one.

I am highly confident that Collingwood will not win the premiership. Nor Port. Only chance they have is to lose a few in the next 8 weeks and have media experts write them off…then I might change my mind. History says that it is just too hard to peak pre bye and sustain it all the way to the end. A few clubs have been the best team all year - but very very few over the decades. Most premiers are the best team in the last 2 months…Cats last year were the best team for the last 3 months…

So I don’t think we know who that team is yet but my best it is not Collingwood or Port. I can see Melbourne (who don’t look great now and have all these “forward problems”) getting on a roll at the last minute and hitting the finals in form…or even Brisbane. Maybe even the Dogs do a 2016. But equally likely is the Cats…why not us!
Completely agree with everything you've said.

The other factor as well, is Collingwood just simply don't win Grand Finals....and when they do, it's under really weird circumstances. It's all a bit houdini and not something you can truly measure, but I just can't back them until I see otherwise.

Port are a bit closer to us of last year. They are ticking all the boxes but there's still that lingering fear of a prelim disaster, even more so than we had because they're yet to even make a GF. Much like us, it's going to take until that game to really trust them.

It's why I believe you, myself and a couple others are still bullish on what we can do this year. It needs to start now, but if it does it could lead to something really special.

In a year where the two best teams have the weight of the world on their shoulders...all we have to do is get hot for two months.

Sneak into 4th, get a QF vs Collingwood and anything could happen.

Bowes with opportunity looks like he belongs in the ones, was against North I suppose, but you can only knock over whoever they put in front of you. Hopefully we get to see more of Jack after a top game.
I reckon the youth stocks are looking as terrific as it's been for a long time, if find a key tall or two would be the icing.

It seams to be a given here that Mullin has this great pace and maybe he does but I'm yet to see him breaking the lines like Holmes or running down player like Rohan he seams very stagnant to me so far.
Hes quick but he doesnt know how to actually use it in AFL yet, runs around like a headless chook right now.

How did Sav go? Not many mentions compared to the thread last game - I assume not bad, but not much stand out good either - ?
Played on nobody so didnt have to do anything amd there was no opportunity to be exposed, proof will be in the pudding in coming weeks.

Hope the MC finally learnt that Bowes isnt a midfielder, best game hes played for us by a mile and it was finally in the correct role.
Agreed. Looks like Bowes at half back and Duncan half forward/pushing up to wing is the right set up and also one I've wanted to see for a while.

P.S

I understand the people who see it as "talking the talk".. But really I just think he's honestly surprised at how we're being written off so soon after last year's flag (even written off last year's flag altogether by one journo lol).

I'm biased of course, but I'm also not scared to say that what I honestly see is a team who knows what it can produce and knows it only needs to produce it for 4 weeks.

I remember Scott was asked at one stage this year about where this team was at and he said at some point in the future we will probably drop down and take a few years to get back to the top, that's just how our list is and how the comp is, but added as pointedly as he could, that is not now.

Bowes with opportunity looks like he belongs in the ones, was against North I suppose, but you can only knock over whoever they put in front of you. Hopefully we get to see more of Jack after a top game.
I reckon the youth stocks are looking as terrific as it's been for a long time, if find a key tall or two would be the icing.

Bowes hasn't played a bad game this year. Should be a lock in the 22 for mine.