However Two things do concern.
Zone defence was picked apart
Slow play, but short sharp kicks.
Worse was: Ease Power got away
Cats converged, Power sat outside
If Power can make it look easy
Lions will have a scoring feast

Random thoughts :-

I think the best way to reduce a star mid’s asking price is to put Mullin on him.
Butters was Mullified
Brilliant! A play on Mullin, Mummified and Nullified!
Mullins & Neale were great.
The Mullins of County Mayo get a honourable mention..

Martin is our Mr September born prematurely in August..

Shannon Neale’s kicking is like those Best Practice vids that HR requires us to watch. Textbook.

Love our mild-mannered Irish bouncers (Mullin & O'Connor) amping up the hurt-factor. Will be handy in finals. Still remember Zuthrie's demolition hit in the 2022 GF. It was his rite of passage.

Just a note for next week - have you ever seen odds like this?

View attachment 2385120
In our 2007-2011 era there were odds like that on occasions. But Essendon are next level bad nowadays, especially with so many injuries.

Good win especially after a first quarter which perhaps would have smarted the Cats at 1/4 time. Dominated the next couple of quarters and getting an 88 point win in basically three terms is pretty handy. Just felt a few Port goals in the last were a bit easy, and maybe that's the 20 shots in 33 entrances. Was also surprised as to how many left-footers Port have, I'm used to Farrell as he often does well against us, but they have plenty of others too, just seemed they always got good distance and penetration with those kicks.

The ladder is so tight, we need to keep the hammer down, with the Pies and Brisbane playing a tough game or two to come, we could miracle a top-2 spot if we keep winning, and pump especially the Tigers and Bombers.

You said this last year, and the year before, and you were right. Let's not pretend this year is more than it is though.

The reality is this is just what footy is nowadays. We'll probably get the same chance next year.

Outside of Brisbane who've got a conveyor belt of talent coming in who might get the chance, everyone else is pretty ordinary now.

I mean that's true re the comp being ordinary and it might get worse with tassie coming in.

I do feel this year is unique though in that (outside of Brisbane who are talent stacked) you have some workmanlike teams (see hawthorn freo etc) but then your 2 most fire-power teams are the ones with no finals experience (gc and adel) so they are every chance to mentally fail and the best team on paper might not even make it (gws). So this is very much a Bradbury year for anyone who can avoid Brisbane until GF day.

I dont think we are good enough but we have the capacity to turn it on for a month and win this-we have enough class players in the side if we get it right.

That 3rd quarter….
I don’t care which team it is, no one can stop that.
I watch pretty much every game every week and that is the best football ive seen played this year.
I watched Carlton after. OMG we are so lucky. Carlton cannot run from a stoppage, mostly dump kick it or handball to a standing target 1 m away. They are so bad vs the way Cats move the ball. its a different game.

Cream rose to the top in the end and we ended somewhere in the neighborhood we were all expecting. Early stages of the game were frustrating and one-sided officiating didn't help.
Geez, when Holmes gets all parts of his game together he's an absolute weapon.

25 kicks.
10 handballs.
2 goals.
875 metres gained.
9 inside 50s.
That's just ludicrous

I don't recall 21.00 odds in a football game
Not even with west coast state league players or Essendon drug saga top ups
The ridiculous thing though, is that those odds are out of whack. If it was a horse race they’d be 1000-1.

I am really liking Lawson further up the ground. He will enjoy the MCG if we can secure finals there. Teams can clamp down on Dempsey but Lawson might get you. Interesting to watch his career arc, Dawson and Wanganeen-Milera started as classy half back distributors.

Also Stewart is really back to form. Reckon teams might be sleeping a little bit on Stewart coming into September. Could he have a huge month?

He’s been rock solid since the GWS game. Clunking marks again and taking the riskier kicks through the middle.

Seems to have less knee strapping as well, hopefully what we’re seeing is a sign that he’s finally over that PCL injury.

[IMG alt="you pick one"]https://www.bigfootycontent.com/avatars/m/106/106834.jpg?1662693549[/IMG]

you pick one

Brownlow Medallist​

Nov 7, 201027,86938,021308 Negra Arroyo Lane Albuquerque New MexicoAFL ClubGeelongOther TeamsWADA
Might HBF be a chance to be less injury prone?

A bit like Miers who is reliable at set shots …. Martin is a very good kick…. and could be a weapon at those mid field kicks
"Free hit Turbo and needed to be at one stage in his career he smoked of having huge upside and x factor but that's looking to have been extinguished he's at his best when free wheeling in the forward half hope he can re find his mojo at the Cattery"
Think he might have found that mojo.

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Just needed time and confidence which is growing weekly
Unreal isn't it.... give them time and let them develop.... there is a reason that development is listed as something that occurs over time. But it happens for most of them.. Bews took years... Miers took years....Atkins, MOC, Mullin is too... its just the way....

Every 50 year unicorn makes people forget this.... and then the expectation of instant development get reignited

Very happy that Scratcher has gotten the time to develop.. and IMO he's still got plenty to do.

He's gonna rip the head off a game one day and its gonna be beautiful.

GO Catters

Unreal isn't it.... give them time and let them develop.... there is a reason that development is listed as something that occurs over time. But it happens for most of them.. Bews took years... Miers took years....Atkins, MOC, Mullin is too... its just the way....

Every 50 year unicorn makes people forget this.... and then the expectation of instant development get reignited

Very happy that Scratcher has gotten the time to develop.. and IMO he's still got plenty to do.

He's gonna rip the head off a game one day and its gonna be beautiful.

GO Catters

The only reason we got Neale is because the Swans matched our bid on Errol Gulden. It's interesting to think what would've happened if they hadn't, since Gulden is more than a handy player himself...but good KPFs are worth their weight in gold, so while 18 months ago I would've 100% said Gulden would be worth more, I wouldn't say that now. Neale is worth just as much (if not more) not just because of his importance structure, but in terms of how he's now contributing more weeks than not.

I liked the pic after the Swans matched Guilden - and you can see why they did match Wells selection

Looked the the metrics of Neale and you could see the physical talent, and then when he was working out in WA off season the vibes were great. I started getting loud about him

Then when the VFL got going post covid he flashed little things and I got loud on him again.

Neale will be doing very well for himself over time no doubt.

GO Catters

Although Riley Thilthorpe and Max Holmes are closing fast, Gulden is probably the best player taken in that draft still and would obviously be worth more than Neale - tall or short.

I liked the pic after the Swans matched Guilden - and you can see why they did match Wells selection

Looked the the metrics of Neale and you could see the physical talent, and then when he was working out in WA off season the vibes were great. I started getting loud about him

Then when the VFL got going post covid he flashed little things and I got loud on him again.

Neale will be doing very well for himself over time no doubt.

GO Catters
The fact that he's still 4 years away from his prime is terrifying. Already kicking mini-bags at an elite level..

Review Cats thump Power to the tune of 88 points

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.