Unofficial Preview Changes and pre-match discussion vs [sigh] Brisbane in Hobart

The Darling one is an interesting one too.

Why would a 300 game forward desperately out of form want to travel to freezing old Tassie on a Sunday night to do sweet f-all, while we play two other talls and Duursma, against the raining premiers where we’re no chance so his ‘leadership’ means nothing for the group? Weird selection.
Good question ChopChopDigDig, this is going to seem crazy, probably even a little insane, because we think we can win.

Where did this notion that WP can only play 60% of a game come from? Just because that's all Clarko wants to give him doesn't mean that's all he's capable of

Why else would he only play that amount of minutes? If the coaches had it in for him, they wouldn’t pick him at all.

If he was able to compete in the midfield for around 80% I have no doubt the coaches would prefer he spent more time on the ground. Hes still in development phase because his illness set him back.

We are so defensively inept in the midfield there is absolutely no reason the midfield set up cant be 2 x defensive minded mids + 1 x attacking mid utilising the wings and half backs to create the forward press.

I swear this Leigh Adams campaigner has a brain injury. He needs to be thrown out of Arden street

We are so defensively inept in the midfield there is absolutely no reason the midfield set up cant be 2 x defensive minded mids + 1 x attacking mid utilising the wings and half backs to create the forward press.

I swear this Leigh Adams campaigner has a brain injury. He needs to be thrown out of Arden street
That's why he retired from playing footy.

It does feel like we are just trying the same shit and expecting different results.

I can’t change how they select the side.

Oh well.
High School Reaction GIF by Film Society of Lincoln Center

We're going to look absolutely defensively inept in the midfield again, and I swear we'll have the same people saying it's because Brisbane are just so much better than us, and I am going to lose my mind.

Why else would he only play that amount of minutes? If the coaches had it in for him, they wouldn’t pick him at all.

If he was able to compete in the midfield for around 80% I have no doubt the coaches would prefer he spent more time on the ground. Hes still in development phase because his illness set him back.

His best footy for mine was in 2023. If the illness is still affecting him, it is permanent and career-ending. I do not believe it has anything to do with his playing time.

We're going to look absolutely defensively inept in the midfield again, and I swear we'll have the same people saying it's because Brisbane are just so much better than us, and I am going to lose my mind.

Alternatively, I look forward to us losing the midfield battle because Brisbane is full of hard running/spreading guns in their engine room and people on here will be pretending its because we don't have Will Phillips

The reigning premiers excuse will be like a shield. I'm just annoyed that we might be reverting back to something that just wasn't working (mostly on the KPD front but definitely relevant to the midfield)

Alternatively, I look forward to us losing the midfield battle because Brisbane is full of hard running/spreading guns in their engine room and people on here will be pretending its because we don't have Will Phillips
Would have been the perfect test though wouldn’t it? Either the yes or the no would have prevailed victorious, now, its now an argument that the Nay sayers is “Da CoAcHeS ArE RiGhT” the coaches are failing. They havent a ****in clue, 1 win this year.

I think Clarko is coaching terribly and our midfield sucks tbh. Just don't agree that Phillips is going to make all that much difference and its his own limitations that are keeping him out of the side more than anything else

Oh look it's started already.

I think Clarko is coaching terribly and our midfield sucks tbh. Just don't agree that Phillips is going to make all that much difference and its his own limitations that are keeping him out of the side more than anything else
It is his own limitations, but you have to admit, for whatever reason we play better when he's in the team. He's played in four of our five best (or least worst if you don't want to sound deceptive) results for the year. Three games he didn't play in were games in which we were smashed. The other was the Port game.

I know, correlation, causation, all that, but I'd be trying to find room for him. He balances us a bit. He's not a world beater by any means, but he's an ok complement to everyone else in there

It is his own limitations, but you have to admit, for whatever reason we play better when he's in the team. He's played in four of our five best (or least worst if you don't want to sound deceptive) results for the year. Three games he didn't play in were games in which we were smashed. The other was the Port game.

I know, correlation, causation, all that, but I'd be trying to find room for him. He balances us a bit. He's not a world beater by any means, but he's an ok complement to everyone else in there

I think the issue is twofold. He can't spread or really link up, which makes it difficult to play him for long periods in the middle, and he is only playing 55-60% of time on the ground, which makes it very difficult to carry him and Wardlaw in the same midfield.

No doubt our results have been "better" with him in the team, but we still got smoked in the first quarter against the Dogs and * with him in there, and clawed our way back in by clogging up the corridor and slowing the game down. Against Adelaide we just got overrun in general play. The Dees game was the one but really that's shown to be an outlier from basically everyone involved.

I think Will is stiff but I think people are overreacting a touch, especially to his overall impact. He just doesn't do enough to be a full time midfielder at AFL level.

I'd be interesting to know why the tagging experiment wasn't continued though.

This is a cop out when he wins in the contest and hands it to the outside for the spread. So you want him to be another outside midfielder? Just a rubbish bullshit argument.

How many contests is he winning and setting up when he's averaging 12 touches a game?

The game has gone well past categorising onballers as purely inside or outside. If you're not contributing much on the outside or outside a stoppage, you've got to pretty pretty dominant inside (ie - Cunnington, Liberatore) to make up for it.

I think this is THE all timer. Certainly gone past the Ayden Kennedy delisting.

Daniel Harris got left out of a game 20 years ago and that stirred emotions. Think he ended up being a late in, however.

I think the issue is twofold. He can't spread or really link up, which makes it difficult to play him for long periods in the middle, and he is only playing 55-60% of time on the ground, which makes it very difficult to carry him and Wardlaw in the same midfield.

No doubt our results have been "better" with him in the team, but we still got smoked in the first quarter against the Dogs and * with him in there, and clawed our way back in by clogging up the corridor and slowing the game down. Against Adelaide we just got overrun in general play. The Dees game was the one but really that's shown to be an outlier from basically everyone involved.

I think Will is stiff but I think people are overreacting a touch, especially to his overall impact. He just doesn't do enough to be a full time midfielder at AFL level.

I'd be interesting to know why the tagging experiment wasn't continued though.

He only gets 50-60% game time of course his impact is limited lol

How many contests is he winning and setting up when he's averaging 12 touches a game?

The game has gone well past categorising onballers as purely inside or outside. If you're not contributing much on the outside or outside a stoppage, you've got to pretty pretty dominant inside (ie - Cunnington, Liberatore) to make up for it.
As many as he can in half a game. Baily scott 3 touches and keeps his spot. Midfield coach is cooked.

Libba is one of the best mids in the comp right now. Slow plodder, wins it inside. They have 2 defensive inside mids in that team and they are dominating.

Mate, fair dinkum, you sound like playing Phillips would have won us the game, but instead we have chosen to cop another loss. FFS! Phillips is a fringe player in a shit side who can at best play 60% of game time and is limited to one position on the ground. Would I be against him playing? No. Do I see it as a big deal that he is not? Absolutely not!

All the carry on here is a bit like picking a shit F1 team like Alpine or Sauber and arguing for several pages as to why they bothered to change the helmet visor for their drivers, which will prevent them from getting on the podium :)

Will Philips = "the helmet visor"