Prediction Changes: Round 20 vs West Coast Eagles

Just Ras for Johnno for me.

Rotate O'Meara and Ras on the wing/inside mids.

We lose a little bit of speed, height/aerial ability and power, but I think Ras may actually be a better decision maker with the ball than Johnno.

Either way, this may be Ras' last chance to have a proper crack at it or else the trade table beckons at seasons end.

Sharp is an even bigger butcher than Johnno disposal wise, and his limitations have become clearer the longer we've had him. He can run, but that seems to be about it. I don't think I can watch him burn another teammate with an errant shot for goal from 55m when the easy short pass is on again, without checking myself in for therapy. Walker has speed, but again seems to freeze up mentally when pressure is applied in the d50 from hard tackling forward lines like the Swans/Pies.

I think we have finally learned errant disposal/poor decision makers in this modern age of transition footy is an absolute team liability/coach killer.
Erasmus is not a better decision maker and even if he was the implementation isn't there either. He's been given plenty of 'proper cracks' at it. Banfield is better.
Walker is pretty much our only lock down small defender along with his speed out of defense and only out of the side because of injury.

I think WC would throw everything they have at Freo this weekend. Melbourne the week after will be playing a side that has run a game and a half of repeat sprints the week before, heavy legs and mentally spent.

Certainly, if I were a WC fan, nothing else matters this year now other than beating Freo this weekend and potentially stuffing up their finals run.
Do agree but I still think 60 points is about what is a pass mark for that game.

If it doesn't happen I'm still confident we collect the four points though.

Don't think the margin of victory against the wooden spooners impacts how we play against Carlton the week after so I would not overly concerned with what the margin of victory by about Wednesday/Thursday next week.

Banfields errors directly cost goals almost every week. But his left foot field kicking is pretty sweet, though he doesnt have enough confidence to pull it off regularly.
That kick in the last few minutes to Young was what we need to see more of. Was an aggressive kick but Young was in a lot of space so it wasn't overly dangerous.

If that wasn't this boards whipping boy that kick would be getting far more recognition. Instead it's just ignored like it never happened.

Do agree but I still think 60 points is about what is a pass mark for that game.

Don't think the margin of victory against the wooden spooners impacts how we play against Carlton the week after so I would not overly concerned with what the margin of victory by about Wednesday/Thursday next week.

Carlton have a break long enough from their Thursday night game this weekend to the Sunday game against us the following week to replace their coach and get that bounce that comes with it.

So we need to really want them to win this Thursday, not just to keep the Hawks away from a win, but so they don't come to Perth with a new coach and terrified players desperate to impress.

I won't be upset if we put the weapons away after the third quarter and walk to the final siren against the Eagles - I would much prefer to win by 100 points plus. Josh Treacy needs 26 goals to catch up to the Coleman Medal leaders. That'd be nice.

Banfields errors directly cost goals almost every week. But his left foot field kicking is pretty sweet, though he doesnt have enough confidence to pull it off regularly.
Which errors of his cost us goals yesterday. Don't think you can pin the handball to Wagner who had sufficient time to kick the ball but caught on him. Sure, he may have got away with rushing it through for a behind, but how the umps are they also be inclined to pay deliberate.

Sure he makes errors, but so do others but don't get the same level of scrutiny or blame

Also, he has taken kicks to switch play quite often but doesn't get much acknowledgement from it. Possibly if he grows more in the defense role he will do so, and also if he attempts it and it doesn't come off , he doesn't then get vitriol for it

In: Walker
Out: Johnson

Banners play wing, Young continue to build minutes as sub..

On a side note, anyone else strangely calm about this game? Hoping I'm not jinxing it, but I'm pretty confident about the team getting the job done, even if I don't think that we'll get the percentage boost that some here are expecting...

% could be very important, firstly making the 8, but then also potentially getting a final at Optus - if we can get our percentage above GWS and Hawthorn (really the two most at risk of us overtaking) then we could play either of them at Optus rather than at Engie or the MCG.

So yes, absolutely win the game first and foremost, but this is not the week to take the foot off the gas at all. Giants missed an opportunity this week to properly kill off Essendon.

The club love Worner. He might have been subbed, but I don't think he is getting dropped.

I'm not convinced if Walker should be in the side, but I think we should have a look at him at least, especially to get up to speed for a Lions/Cameron match that could be a dress rehearsal for a big final. Can Walker handle it?

That means shuffling roles with Banfield and Young to cover Johnson and Walker gets a look in defence.

Walker as sub (which seems like how they are doing it with returning players). Then hopefully no injuries and we have a good lead, and can sub Young out during the 3rd quarter.

They could bring in Sharp or Erasmus for Johnson, but I think that is less likely with Young back and Walker available.

Dudley for Switta (managed) might be a possibility. Sounded like Switta was really sore during the week, but put it on the line for the big game. Maybe we look at giving him a rest?

Erasmus is not a better decision maker and even if he was the implementation isn't there either. He's been given plenty of 'proper cracks' at it. Banfield is better.
Walker is pretty much our only lock down small defender along with his speed out of defense and only out of the side because of injury.
Walker is not a like for like exchange for Johnno, and we know the team in's and out's this year are purely based on roles.

Banfield's left foot has been vital from defence, it was his corridor kick to Young in the last which basically won us the game.
Moving him to the wing is just plain silly, he's been great in a half back role, and is building some continuity.

We have no issue with small defenders at the moment, our defence has been quite frankly extraordinary the last 2 weeks, and largely responsible for our 2 wins, despite getting pumped in the inside 50s both games. You'd have to have a few screws loose to want to tinker with the back 6 based on the last 2 weeks. Luke Ryan was surprisingly more than able to deal with both Watson against the Hawks and Elliot vs Collingwood. Turns out he makes up for supposed lack of leg speed and carrying a mattress around his dad bod with wily smarts and aggression. Also which small forwards are we worried about this week? Matt Owies? He's not exactly Kozzie Pickett.

It's simply a mid who can swing between the wing and inside required, and out of Ras and Sharp, I reckon Ras is more flexible as a player, and out of those two, a better user of the ball. Really hoping we don't rush Fyfe back, there's whispers he is good to go this week.

That kick in the last few minutes to Young was what we need to see more of. Was an aggressive kick but Young was in a lot of space so it wasn't overly dangerous.

If that wasn't this boards whipping boy that kick would be getting far more recognition. Instead it's just ignored like it never happened.
I have been going on about that kick for 18 hours now. It was amazing and very risky for Banners to take it but it came off when we needed to have a crack and get another goal.

% could be very important, firstly making the 8, but then also potentially getting a final at Optus - if we can get our percentage above GWS and Hawthorn (really the two most at risk of us overtaking) then we could play either of them at Optus rather than at Engie or the MCG.

So yes, absolutely win the game first and foremost, but this is not the week to take the foot off the gas at all. Giants missed an opportunity this week to properly kill off Essendon.
We just beat the Pies at the G. The rest of our games are easy in comparison so we should have the goal of just winning all of them and finish top 4, maybe even top 2. I recon Hawks or GWS won't get near top 4 and the rest are too far away in percentage or Brisbane with a draw to worry about.

Conserving energy could be more important but happy to pile it on against WC with bruise free footy once they are broken.

Walker is not a like for like exchange for Johnno, and we know the team in's and out's this year are purely based on roles.

Banfield's left foot has been vital from defence, it was his corridor kick to Young in the last which basically won us the game.
Moving him to the wing is just plain silly, he's been great in a half back role, and is building some continuity.

We have no issue with small defenders at the moment, our defence has been quite frankly extraordinary the last 2 weeks, and largely responsible for our 2 wins, despite getting pumped in the inside 50s both games. You'd have to have a few screws loose to want to tinker with the back 6 based on the last 2 weeks. Luke Ryan was surprisingly more than able to deal with both Watson against the Hawks and Elliot vs Collingwood. Turns out he makes up for supposed lack of leg speed and carrying a mattress around his dad bod with wily smarts and aggression. Also which small forwards are we worried about this week? Matt Owies? He's not exactly Kozzie Pickett.

It's simply a mid who can swing between the wing and inside required, and out of Ras and Sharp, I reckon Ras is more flexible as a player, and out of those two, a better user of the ball. Really hoping we don't rush Fyfe back, there's whispers he is good to go this week.
I didn't say Walker is for Johnno. Walker goes to the backline, Banfield comes up the ground. Young is the one that moves from sub to starter for Johnno.

The rest of our games are easy in comparison so we should have the goal of just winning all of them and finish top 4, maybe even top 2.

The win against the Pies swings the door open for potential this season for so many clubs.

Freo are currently:
2 wins +% away from being 1st
2 wins away from being 2nd
1 win +% away from 3rd
Only % out of 4th

On current ladder:
2nd plays 8th this weekend
6th and 9th play R21
3rd and 5th play R21
1st and 2nd play R21
1st and 5th R22
2nd and 7th R23
6th and 8th R23
1st and 3rd R23
7th and 9th R24
2nd and 5th R24

It's going to shake out. Only one of those teams can win those.

Dilemma for me is do we cheer for the sides above us to beat the sides just below us to sure up a finals place, or do we back ourselves to keep winning and hope the teams below us beat the teams above us so we can get into the top four?

I didn't say Walker is for Johnno. Walker goes to the backline, Banfield comes up the ground. Young is the one that moves from sub to starter for Johnno.
Yep, and I said you'd have to have a few screws loose to mess with the back six after the last two games, with Banfield in defence and his left foot a vital part of the win yesterday - right down to the winning goal. Moving him up the ground is necessitated via Walker as the in.

Again, it's not like for like, so you'd have to mess with the back 6 to make it work. That's not what we've done with ins and outs all year, and it certainly makes zero sense based on how the back 6 have performed recently.

I have been going on about that kick for 18 hours now. It was amazing and very risky for Banners to take it but it came off when we needed to have a crack and get another goal.
If you look at the space around Young its only risky if Banfield had completely ****ed it up.

It's an example of what an even moderately skilled player (by AFL standards) is able to pull off when they're given the licence to do so. As I've said plenty of times, I don't think anyone on our list bar a couple of rucks and KPDs is so poorly skilled they can't play that style of footy more regularly.

Carlton have a break long enough from their Thursday night game this weekend to the Sunday game against us the following week to replace their coach and get that bounce that comes with it.

So we need to really want them to win this Thursday, not just to keep the Hawks away from a win, but so they don't come to Perth with a new coach and terrified players desperate to impress.

I won't be upset if we put the weapons away after the third quarter and walk to the final siren against the Eagles - I would much prefer to win by 100 points plus. Josh Treacy needs 26 goals to catch up to the Coleman Medal leaders. That'd be nice.
Pretty sure our opponents have a longer break than us for pretty much the rest of the season.

No one will say a thing about it but I'm not sure it's one big coincidence either.

If you look at the space around Young its only risky if Banfield had completely ****ed it up.

It's an example of what an even moderately skilled player (by AFL standards) is able to pull off when they're given the licence to do so. As I've said plenty of times, I don't think anyone on our list bar a couple of rucks and KPDs is so poorly skilled they can't play that style of footy more regularly.
Also the left foot from the right half back position made it even easier to execute through the corridor I think. Banfield isnt what I would call a traditional long raking left footer, but there's a fair bit of evidence having a left footer in our defence helps with different angled evasion and kicks in terms of defensive rebound.

It's Banners we're talking about, he kicks one out of bounds probably every 2nd game.

I recon Young only had about 10m on three sides and it's a 45m kick on a 45% angle. More than 5m off and it's a contest situation, 10m off and it's a pies ball in a three on one and they are headed towards the match winner. Ripper kick.

More than a few supporters worrying about West Coast rolling us. I get that we have PTSD but where in any rational universe could we lose to that rabble who got spanked by Richmond.

5 and a half day break after a bruising encounter (off a 6-day break) is my biggest worry.

Worner - is he shutting out Walker? He's durable, can take a mark but not great by footy. Double-fisters when he can mark take me back to Spurr/McPhee days.

We have no issue with small defenders at the moment, our defence has been quite frankly extraordinary the last 2 weeks, and largely responsible for our 2 wins, despite getting pumped in the inside 50s both games.
It was actually 51 - 51 i50 last week. Doesn't mean you're wrong about the back six and Banfield though. I thought he was very good even disregarding the match-winning corridor kick.

It's Banners we're talking about, he kicks one out of bounds probably every 2nd game.

I recon Young only had about 10m on three sides and it's a 45m kick on a 45% angle. More than 5m off and it's a contest situation, 10m off and it's a pies ball in a three on one and they are headed towards the match winner. Ripper kick.
Agree. The state of where the game was at and the decision to pull the trigger knowing if it didn't hit being right in the centre of the ground wouldve been very costly and probably snuffed out any chances if they goaled from it

To dismiss it as a simple kick that any player in the AFL should be able to when we see in many games they can't even hit a chip kick with no pressure does happen but also dismisses the initial vision to see it, guts to pull the trigger and still execute

Can you do it when it counts is what matters

Took a lot of balls to pull the trigger on that kick though. everyone was setting up for the long down the line to a contest and most players in our team would have kicked down the line.

If he misses the kick then Collingwood probably score and its game over

Prediction Changes: Round 20 vs West Coast Eagles