Changes v Adelaide - OUT: Stretch, IN: JKH

My biggest concern this week is Gawn.

Jacobs is a good ruckman who can get around the ground a bit too (perhaps not as much as Kreuzer but still capable). Gawn barely finished the game v the Blues and looked stuffed v the Swans. How is he going to play 4 quarters in the Darwin heat?
That's why we have Pedo and TMac to go around the ground with Jacobs, Pedo torched Jacobs a few times last time, particularly with at least one of his goals.

Does anyone want Trenners in the team for any reason other than footy romance? I'm not confident he brings enough to the table - and whilst his form in the VFL appears to be reasonable, it seems to me he's been a role player there without actually blowing any games apart. I'm worried that the what he is doing in the VFL is going to be a lot harder to achieve in the AFL.

Call me heartless but if everyone is fit I don't want him in the side because he isn't in our best 22 players on the list.

My issue mainly with Kent is that he either cant kick on his right foot or he refuses to use it. Only have to guard one side and tries to wheel onto the left every single time. Makes life a piece of piss for any opponent who plays on him.
Frawley, remember him? Couldn't kick with his other foot. He did all right!

Weird comparison mate almost the opposite type of players. Frawley if he's pinned on one side can bomb down the line to a contest where as Kent needs to hit forwards up on the lead or in space

Interested to see JKH play pure inside midfield. There's a spot for him now, he needs to hit the ground running.

My biggest concern this week is Gawn.

Jacobs is a good ruckman who can get around the ground a bit too (perhaps not as much as Kreuzer but still capable). Gawn barely finished the game v the Blues and looked stuffed v the Swans. How is he going to play 4 quarters in the Darwin heat?

Fitter every week mate, but as said above I suspect we'll roll Pedo through there a lot more than usual. Perhaps Gawn can push forward and cause a mismatch. Adelaide have great KPDs, but none of them are massively tall.

My issue mainly with Kent is that he either cant kick on his right foot or he refuses to use it. Only have to guard one side and tries to wheel onto the left every single time. Makes life a piece of piss for any opponent who plays on him.

I have no issues with this, the amount of left footers who played at AFL level and could kick on their right foot i could count on one hand. In fact the use of the opposite foot of all players in the AFL these days is non-existent.

Interested to see JKH play pure inside midfield. There's a spot for him now, he needs to hit the ground running.
He would have to be getting prpetty close to his last chance tbh

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Sorry to intrude guys and gals but what's the feeling on your board? Confident? Bad luck with Watts and Dom out, should be a good game nevertheless; whatever the outcome I hope you torch the Power next week! Good luck.
With a full side I'd say our midfield beats Adelaide's but with a few key mids out I can see you guys winning that battle.
This being the case, your bookends should have us covered. Hoping for a good effort from our lads but won't be surprised if we get done by 30+.
Lynch going to get up??

With a full side I'd say our midfield beats Adelaide's but with a few key mids out I can see you guys winning that battle.
This being the case, your bookends should have us covered. Hoping for a good effort from our lads but won't be surprised if we get done by 30+.
Lynch going to get up??
Yeah you guys do have an awesome MF. TBO it still looks formidable even with your outs. Should still be a great game I think.
Good luck and FWIW if Crows don't win the flag this year I'm gunning for your blokes.

Yeah you guys do have an awesome MF. TBO it still looks formidable even with your outs. Should still be a great game I think.
Good luck and FWIW if Crows don't win the flag this year I'm gunning for your blokes.

Your sure it looks awesome? No Jones Viney Tyson and Salem are probably 4 of the 5 first picks by our fans for the midfield lol not to mention Watts who drifts to the wing and is our best user. I'd love to think we can win and no excuse but bloody hell we would be a lot better with those players in. If we beat you again without those 5 I'll genuinely think we can win the flag because those 5 absolutely make us a better team.

His contract extension a month or so back would suggest otherwise.
Good point.

Surprised he got an extention, how long was it for?

Good point.

Surprised he got an extention, how long was it for?

Aren't we all. Just an extra year, so obviously they've seen enough to persist with him, but you'd imagine it wouldn't be kind of size that you'd so much as lift an eyebrow at him sitting in the VFL all year should he not start translating his form to the AFL.

Big opportunity for him the next couple of weeks to actually get some midfield time in tho, fingers crossed for all of us that he makes it count.

Calling it now. We're stuffed. White flag up - skip the Darwin trip.
Yes, I've been saying this all along, nothing good can come of it. Lets all just go fishing. :thumbsu:

Playing a team who have never played in Darwin is surely an advantage though. Have to break even in the midfield to be a chance.
Yeah I reckon you can't under value that. In spite of how horrible our record is there (obviously more through just being terrible than anything else) but it's different game up there in those conditions, knowing how to play it will count for a fair bit. It's just going to be about if it's enough to make up for our missing midfield

Given none of Hibb, Melk, JKH, Lewis, ANB or Hannan have played up there I can't see it being a huge advantage.