Prediction Changes v WCE elimination final

• Thread starter Thread starter _Mike_

Looking forward to seeing Mr September rip it up tomorrow night.

Clay has the ability to get off the leash and kick goals. Despite his deficiencies I'm glad he is in the side.

Worried that Clay's lack of polish/touch might let us down on the big stage.
People always talk about finals football being won by ferocious contested play but it's just as often won by clean skills and classy disposal.

Hopefully the break has refreshed him.

Bevo: Hey Clay, you're dropped.

Clay: Ummmm...I dunno wot happened, but Bevo needs an ambulance!

EFA.

The first line took me all the way back to high-school. Except the names have been changed to protect the innocent. You're dropped! Indeed.

Good luck tomorrow mate. We will leave nothing in the tank and give it our all and we've picked a team accordingly. If our pressure is great all game, we are in with a chance, but any lapses will be punished severely I suspect.
I think we will win but it sure as hell won't easy. Suspected we might pull away in the last on the basis that your returning players might be a touch underdone on a long ground but looking at the team selections I'm not as confident of that happening now

It'll be a fierce contest and we can all agree in wishing for no injuries to either side and may the best team on the night win

So if we are about 30pts down at half time, and only scored a few goals. What do we do to turn it around??

Personally not surprised. Bevo is going all in with our midfield. Either we win the ball or we lose the game. I love it.
Yes. All those hard heads in the middle. Love this "take no prisoners" selection. There's a time for pretty football eg McLean and Williams. This ain't it. Their time will come though.

So if we are about 30pts down at half time, and only scored a few goals. What do we do to turn it around??
fg_315.jpg

Bev as Moe, Kennedy as Mr Burns.

From the final last year:

OUT: Crameri, Roberts, Murphy, Honeychurch, Grant, Minson, Wallis, Redpath
IN: Cordy, Johannisen, Smith, Liberatore, Suckling, Roughead, Dunkley, T. Boyd

Interesting.

I count 4 vs 6 best 22's

We better not blow another final with poor goalkicking. Surely we've learned that lesson by now.

New to watching the dogs? Goal kicking in finals has been a perennial Achilles heal for our side.

Yes. All those hard heads in the middle. Love this "take no prisoners" selection. There's a time for pretty football eg McLean and Williams. This ain't it. Their time will come though.
Spot on adsum, that's how I see it too. Men of Mayhem return tomorrow after having had most of the year off.

No we can't carry all three IMO. I'd drop one of Jong or Dunkley. Smith is well ahead of them as a footballer currently IMO.

Finals footy suits Kamikaze Clay, personally can't believe you'd prefer Maclean, a bloke who mainly plays for frees, to him - each to their own I guess.
Once Koby Stevens is in the team also then we have no chance, like what happened last week. I'm ok with the other three in the team.

Smith kicks goals and can play small forward effectively, Jong can win his own footy, as long as he gets direction in midfield from someone he can do good things with the ball like use his speed, take a grab or kick a goal and Dunkley tackles hard and can play a role either in midfield or up forward.

Arguably a bit letter aide this year which is surprising.
Yeah I think there's a fair argument to be made for that.

With that said though, the biggest disadvantage we've had this year isn't the number unavailable every week in my opinion, it's the fact that we've lost another player every week. Have just had absolutely no continuity throughout the year meaning we haven't grown as much as other sides. Tough to build cohesion and improve on little bits and pieces when we have to make another major adjustment every couple weeks. Last year we certainly had better continuity and built throughout the year a lot more significantly as a result.

Yeah I think there's a fair argument to be made for that.

With that said though, the biggest disadvantage we've had this year isn't the number unavailable every week in my opinion, it's the fact that we've lost another player every week. Have just had absolutely no continuity throughout the year meaning we haven't grown as much as other sides. Tough to build cohesion and improve on little bits and pieces when we have to make another major adjustment every couple weeks. Last year we certainly had better continuity and built throughout the year a lot more significantly as a result.
We made changes every week, just weren't forced. Iirc we only went in unchanged in two games last year.

New to watching the dogs? Goal kicking in finals has been a perennial Achilles heal for our side.
Na

Taking a grab inside 50 more so is our weakness. Watching the likes of Scarlett, Harley, Milburn, Fisher and Raph ******* Clarke taking intercept marks at will in prelims still gives me the shits.

Time for Roughy to play 75% ruck for a change and let Boyd contest the high ball inside 50. McGovern, Hurn and Barrass need to be contained/kept honest, if they mark the ball regularly then we will struggle.

Time for Stringer to take a bloody grab also.

Also reckon Campbell could've came in to let Boyd play 100% deep forward, but anyways, at least our midfield looks ok.

We made changes every week, just weren't forced. Iirc we only went in unchanged in two games last year.
Planned changes are a bit different though as they're tactical and often don't upset structure. This year we've had to make alteration after alteration to cover our high defenders, then our mids, then our forwards...the way we play has changed dramatically over the course of the year to my eye. We haven't really had the opportunity to improve certain aspects because roles are changing every couple of weeks.