Preview changes vs Adelaide

It appears Waynesworld has joined BF purely to wallow in the misery of mediocrity.

Sad that hardly anyone has faith anymore.

It is sad.

However when our core group of players are not able to hold their own with the bottom sides, what difference will it make bringing in a couple from the VFL who are playing well? After the Hawthorn debacle, everything that went on following that and the bye (where I thought the rest would do them good), I was genuinely excited at the thought of watching the game on Saturday night.

Tarrant into the team on genuine good form in the 2's (and from what I saw he looked really good for Werribee), Gibson promoted and playing his first game, Black in again to show his wares....it seemed like the perfect game for the seasoned capaigners to hit back at the critics and the new guys to get an opportunity to show their skills against a very young team sitting second bottom.

What is saw was an insipid performance with poor skill levels and no-one willing to make a stand and stamp their authority on the game (with the exception of Ablett of course). And the only reason we got over the line was as a result of a 34 year old champion (who maybe has 1 season left) and a 30 year old key forward who is also heading into the twilight of his career.....

Who is going to take the next step and take over the mantle from the same guys that prop us up every week?

Against Adelaide it will be the same - Harvey will get a hard tag and Petrie will struggle through lack of supply and we will be punished.

Hope to be proven wrong, and sorry for the negativity, but I to say that I am disappointed with where we are at after the way Brad has talked the team up would be a significant understatement.

Good post, i agree this season has been mostly disappointing.
I guess I'm just a fool for believing we can beat Adelaide :(
The Geelong game is still in my mind, and i know the team is more capable than we are seeing.

Team for next sunday:

FF: Thomas, Petrie, Tarrant/Black
HF: Edwards, Wright, Harvey
C: Wells, Swallow, Bastinac
HB: Atley, Grima, Firrito
FB: Thompson, Mcmahon, Mcmillan
F: Ziebell, Goldstein, Greenwood
Int: Gibson, Adams, Cunnington
Sub: Harper

Tarrent for Pedersen
Harper for Garlett
Don't know why Garlett was dropped after coming on against the hawks and racking up 15 possies. Thought he deserved a full game. Does anyone know what seems to be the issue with him?
Adams- reckon he has enough runs on the board to be able to play himself back into form. Stays for now. Really nervous about Adelaide.
Wish McKenzie was playing well, I'd love to see him taking our kick ins

We can beat Adelaide and need to go into the game with that mindset.

Things change so quickly in footy. However we need to go in with the team best suited to doing so.

Hansen has to come in for Tarrant or Black. I would prefer Tarrant out but one of them has to go out. I'd actually prefer for this game Pedersen to come in as well after yet another game in which he domianted for the Bees.

Greenwood got smashed by Ablett - no shame in that, but his application and concentration was poor. I think he has to play and tag Sloan.

Have Ziebell or Swallow play on Thompson.

Grima and Thompson to take Walker and Tippet. Hansen and Pedo give us flexibility for another tall down back if needed.

Out - Black and Tarrant

In - Hansen and Pedersen

Come on Kangas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LIFT

Thompson or Grima on Tippet scares me.

In the case of Thompson its also a waste of one of our best 3rd men up types.

Thompson or Grima on Tippet scares me.

In the case of Thompson its also a waste of one of our best 3rd men up types.

I just don't see another option. Maybe Thompson can throw Walker/Tippet of their game by being more attacking.

At the end of the day - if they get enough good supply they will smash whoever we put on them.

all calling for tarrant to to go to backline :rolleyes:,past history says a big no,
we must bring some pace into the side,speight,mullet,campbell,mc kenzie
adelaides mids do not have breaknet speed,but they all run a lot more than any
of our guys,stopping jacobs in the ruck will go a long way to stopping their clearance
dominance,time for goldy to step up bigtime,maybe stop hitting the pill to the feet of
our stationary mids,and a bit of palming to a moving target for a change

Why is there a changes thread?

Last time we scraped over the line with a **** performance against the Lions, Scott left the team unchanged "because the players got the job done the week before".

Sure, half the team did SFA against GC (and the Lions), but as we won expect the same approach. Just look at Brad and Harvey interview after GC match, quite satisfied with our performance.

In any case, swapping heaps of players back and forwards each week is an entirely futile exercise, our bottom 10 AFL performers are about the same quality/standard as our listed VFL top 10 performers, there will be no improvement just swapping like with like - the team is coached poorly, but the real reason why we are not performing is that far too many players on our list are simply not as promising or good as we thought (or hoped) they were.

Black out. I don't want him getting rusty.

Harps can also have a run in the seconds.

Anthony probably deserves a game given his form in the VFL, however.

The two primary reasons we almost lost the game on the weekend were:

1) Lack of defensive accountability around stoppages.
2) Poor disposal, especially going inside 50.

Does anyone actually think Anthony will improve these two areas of the team?

We can beat Adelaide and need to go into the game with that mindset.

Things change so quickly in footy. However we need to go in with the team best suited to doing so.

Hansen has to come in for Tarrant or Black. I would prefer Tarrant out but one of them has to go out. I'd actually prefer for this game Pedersen to come in as well after yet another game in which he domianted for the Bees.

Greenwood got smashed by Ablett - no shame in that, but his application and concentration was poor. I think he has to play and tag Sloan.

Have Ziebell or Swallow play on Thompson.

Grima and Thompson to take Walker and Tippet. Hansen and Pedo give us flexibility for another tall down back if needed.

Out - Black and Tarrant

In - Hansen and Pedersen

Come on Kangas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LIFT

Great post.

Every game of Afl is as winnable as it is loseable and this game is no exception. After our last 2 years no one takes anything for granted. Witness....bombers v demons.

He's going to need a run of games in the seniors just like he clicked after a run of games in the seconds.

Taz is one of those players that WOULD benefit from continual playing in the seniors. We need to get Lachie in there with him.

We need to get LH in the back line not in with Taz.

Out - Jmac (disposaly rooted) , Adams(Got more out of Gibson in game 1), Greenwood (disposaly rooted), Harper (cant run a quarter)
In - Hansen (CHB), Warren, CDalaney, Garlet

People are obsessed by whoever isn't in the side its hilarious.
If we drop players, theyre likely to go back and kill that level too. Where does that leave us?

I liked McMillans game, btw. Not sure what people are on about there.

It doesn't matter who comes in and goes out, we have no confidence atm. The players looked scared and nervous over the weekend. Problem with most of our ins and outs, is the players have all the same quality, like for like. Either 1 player will play better than the other, but it hasn't happened.

Feel so sorry for Patch. Last night I watched closely at the centre bounce. IF we won the clearance we had Patch and Boomer at CHF ! I have lost count of the number of times we use these two as 'marking forwards'. Patch is a little rover who should be at the fall of the ball or a link man around the middle or wings. I honestly couldn't fathom what Black, Petrie and Tarrant tell the players round them to do when they wait for a centre bounce after a goal. The set up is diabolical!

Boomer and Patch run in to the square at the bounce. They are not positioned as marking forwards. You will find Petrie, Tarrant and Black are positioned 40 - 60 metres from the centre bounce. In other words, a decent clearance kick away.

People are obsessed by whoever isn't in the side its hilarious.
If we drop players, theyre likely to go back and kill that level too. Where does that leave us?

I liked McMillans game, btw. Not sure what people are on about there.
Well then you weren't watching him close enough, his disposal was shocking and he fumbled more times than not. This isn't the first week he has been bad, he has had a poor last 6-7 weeks now and he should not be in our best 22

Not like you havent mentioned it before. every second post is about Jmac.

I see what Scott is doing with J-Mac and Atley back there and it potentially looks very good. J-Mac is making the right runs, just letting himself down a little at times with his disposal, which is odd because he normally has very good skills. I'd like to see Kennedy added to that group at some stage and all three have the pace and skill to really hurt on the rebound, and Kennedy also has the ability to take a genuine third tall type.

Those three in full flight would be a joy to behold.

It doesn't matter who comes in and goes out, we have no confidence atm. The players looked scared and nervous over the weekend. Problem with most of our ins and outs, is the players have all the same quality, like for like. Either 1 player will play better than the other, but it hasn't happened.

Not so sure about all that, I think L. Delaney could have a decent match up in Tippett & his brother the rangy (194cm 86kg's) back flanker isn't like anyone else we've got. I hope to see at some stage soon.... ( like next ****ing week)

*Thompson L. Delaney Atley

C.Delaney L. Hansen. McMahon

* don't really care about starting positions .

Have Firrito as the sub, send him on half way through the third and tell him to kill some campaigner!

But as for this week am not sure we'll see many changes.

Hansen/Black would be a chance.

Garlett/ Anthony for Patch- maybe.

Edwards/ Tarrant- maybe, although I'd give the Statue the rest of the season and tell him as much.