Choco on 5AA

There's another question we should think about, did CCC deserve to stay at Port in season 2003, we all know what he is capable of doing, but this year was reminiscent of season 2000, he can get really lazy, and i feel that he better prove me wrong, coz i'm disapointed about jordan barham not getting a spot and CCC staying, or even Mckenzie :confused:

Originally posted by Eago77

Maybe Koula has been singled out for this year's "Choco's annual kick up the date!"

Past "winner's"
2000- Che ****atoo-Collins
2001- Jared Poulton

We all know what good years those two had the following year, i've already told everyone to jump on board the Koula bandwagon, i think this will help it gain momentum!

Alright alright you've convinced me, I'm on.
Hey Koulagirl the bandwagon is starting to roll. :D

Originally posted by DaveW

Obvious question - does that mean Poulton's 2003 season be as bad as CCC's 2002?

Poults may struggle to get a regular berth with the inclusion of Pickett & Cochrane and with Wilson coming back from injury. I'd say he'd struggle to play many game but his form could still be reasonable in the SANFL, better than Che's form this year in either league but still miss out.

Originally posted by powergirlluv17
There's another question we should think about, did CCC deserve to stay at Port in season 2003, we all know what he is capable of doing, but this year was reminiscent of season 2000, he can get really lazy, and i feel that he better prove me wrong, coz i'm disapointed about jordan barham not getting a spot and CCC staying, or even Mckenzie :confused:

I think we must remember that Che played a lesser role this year because of the emergence of Shaun Burgoyne, Im sure if Shaun didn't come to prominance this year that Che would have played a bigger part and be seen to have been okay.

Originally posted by powergirlluv17
Why can't the club one day, do their own club radio show, because cow5AA is really biased sometimes and they are both cow supporters so it gets really annoying, i'll be the host of the power radio show, it wouldn't have to be every day, don't clubs do it on sports 927 or something in melbourne???
:confused:

I don't think Cornesy is biased towards Adelaide anymore because of his sons. Quite frankly I think he's lost the plot. I didn't think he would be one of the people defending Cloke by saying that should players who injure their teammates be suspended. Some of his thoughts are so frustrating and they don't really favour anyone.

Originally posted by fugitive
Did "choco" offer any advise to other teams on how to choke in Finals?:D

No, but did anyone else think he attempted to take a swipe at Adelaide when talking about the f/s rule?

I thought he did, when saying about Ebert joining and then he said something like "you'd think the Crows would have done it with your boys". But we couldn't and Graham told him, then he still said "well they still had the chance to draft them". I found this quite amusing. Did anyone else pick it up?

Originally posted by snakebite01

No, but did anyone else think he attempted to take a swipe at Adelaide when talking about the f/s rule?

I thought he did, when saying about Ebert joining and then he said something like "you'd think the Crows would have done it with your boys". But we couldn't and Graham told him, then he still said "well they still had the chance to draft them". I found this quite amusing. Did anyone else pick it up?

Well you thought wrong... GC asked if part of the reasoning for picking up Ebert was because of the sentiment with his father playing for Port. Williams replied this wasn't the case and that Adelaide had the opportunity to the same via drafting his boys. GC replied back saying Adelaide didn't have the chance with Chad and then MW replied back saying he was right but they had the chance with KC.

SKC

Today's Tiser reports that Port will go with a full list next year. Of course it is Rucci quoting Snowdon, so the credibility factor is ... what's the closest number to zero you can think of ...;)

Koula, and possibly Che too, were saved from serious delist consideration by being contracted players.

Originally posted by kaysee

Well you thought wrong... GC asked if part of the reasoning for picking up Ebert was because of the sentiment with his father playing for Port. Williams replied this wasn't the case and that Adelaide had the opportunity to the same via drafting his boys. GC replied back saying Adelaide didn't have the chance with Chad and then MW replied back saying he was right but they had the chance with KC.

SKC

He said that he thought Adelaide could've got them the same as Port, under f/s rule but then Graham corrected him by saying he wasn't at the club long enough. It was just the way he said it I suppose, oh well no great big deal.

Just on Mark Williams & the Crows i think i know why Chocko likes to have his little digs at the Crows, way back in 1990 when the Crows first squad was formed he was upset at not being asked to be involved, i not sure if he meant as a player or some other role but i can definately remember him on tv as not being a happy chappy when he was ignored by the AFC, maybe someone else with a better memory can say a bit more on this ,

I imagine Choco has a dig at Graham about his sons for the obvious reason....there's two Cornes boys playing at Port.

Originally posted by noddy

Just on Mark Williams & the Crows i think i know why Chocko likes to have his little digs at the Crows, way back in 1990 when the Crows first squad was formed he was upset at not being asked to be involved, i not sure if he meant as a player or some other role but i can definately remember him on tv as not being a happy chappy when he was ignored by the AFC, maybe someone else with a better memory can say a bit more on this ,

I think afew players had their noses out of joint when not been asked to atleast join the crows first training squad. I'm sure Choco was one of them. But i doubt he worries about it now.

He said that he thought Adelaide could've got them the same as Port, under f/s rule but then Graham corrected him by saying he wasn't at the club long enough. It was just the way he said it I suppose, oh well no great big deal.

Is it true that had he coached them for one more year then the Cornes boys would of qualified under the father/son rule that was in force at the time. I think it was if a father had giving 10 years service playing or 5 years in an admin role, can anyone confirm this?

Re: Re: Choco on 5AA

Shouldn't we have had him moved to another club if this indeed was the case. If it was good enough to move PAxman mid-year to North why could we have moved Barham as well? If they had have done that then their would be no need to take a "punt" of reserves form only, why didn't anyone at the club think of this earlier.

Shoulda moved half the Power list if you use that logic...

Maybe Koula has been singled out for this year's "Choco's annual kick up the date!"

Past "winner's"
2000- Che ****atoo-Collins
2001- Jared Poulton

We all know what good years those two had the following year, i've already told everyone to jump on board the Koula bandwagon, i think this will help it gain momentum!

Yay Koula! About bloody time too, might I add.

Originally posted by PAfolwr

Alright alright you've convinced me, I'm on.
Hey Koulagirl the bandwagon is starting to roll.

Welcome to the wagon, dude! You can have that spot... *points* right there. Lots of space to move around and cheer and stuff, so you should be happy.

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane

Today's Tiser reports that Port will go with a full list next year. Of course it is Rucci quoting Snowdon, so the credibility factor is ... what's the closest number to zero you can think of ...

Koula, and possibly Che too, were saved from serious delist consideration by being contracted players.

God works in mysterious ways... there's only one direction, one world, and one vision... ;) Koula holding the premiership cup.

Is it true that had he coached them for one more year then the Cornes boys would of qualified under the father/son rule that was in force at the time. I think it was if a father had giving 10 years service playing or 5 years in an admin role, can anyone confirm this?

Yes I remember it said at the time Chad was drafted that if Cornes had coached another year the Crows could have him under f/s. But that can't be the case anymore after Terry Wallace's sook about his boys not being able to join the Dogs.

Originally posted by DaveW

Yes I remember it said at the time Chad was drafted that if Cornes had coached another year the Crows could have him under f/s. But that can't be the case anymore after Terry Wallace's sook about his boys not being able to join the Dogs.

With the father/son rule it seems you have to be in the right spot at the right time so to speak. I reckon they have got it about right now (perhaps the minimum games requirement for SA & WA is a bit high) and hopefully they will leave it alone for the next decade.

Mark Williams has more of a dislike for Graham Cornes.

When Mark coached Glenelg, Cornes was one of the "behind the scenes" blokes who wanted him gone, and in the end was successful in getting rid of Mark.

The stuff Noddy is talking about is more of a group action thing, George Fiacchi, Roger Delaney, Rohan Smith & Stephen Williams were totally ignored, guys like Greg Phillips & Russell Johnson were in the initial training squad, but didn't progress, and guys like David Brown & Scott Hodges were thought to be badly treated by the Crows. Mark was mixed up in all of this stuff, and (rightly or wrongly, who are we to judge?) hence the ill feeling between Port and the Crows became not just percieved, but tangible.

This ill feeling was not isolated to just Mark Williams, it was something which grew like a wild fire at Alberton, Jack Cahill was passed over for the coaching job, no Port support staff were recruited by the Crows. It all became palpable, legend, supposed slurs, finger pointing all left the realm of imaginary, and became solid hate by both camps.

Yep, a lot of history, and a lot of unnecessary emotion, but there it is, supporters like me will always hate the Crows, blokes like Mark Williams, who was in the thick of it, have to have residue feelings from those days of yore.

Originally posted by Asgardian
Mark Williams has more of a dislike for Graham Cornes.

When Mark coached Glenelg, Cornes was one of the "behind the scenes" blokes who wanted him gone, and in the end was successful in getting rid of Mark.

The stuff Noddy is talking about is more of a group action thing, George Fiacchi, Roger Delaney, Rohan Smith & Stephen Williams were totally ignored, guys like Greg Phillips & Russell Johnson were in the initial training squad, but didn't progress, and guys like David Brown & Scott Hodges were thought to be badly treated by the Crows. Mark was mixed up in all of this stuff, and (rightly or wrongly, who are we to judge?) hence the ill feeling between Port and the Crows became not just percieved, but tangible.

This ill feeling was not isolated to just Mark Williams, it was something which grew like a wild fire at Alberton, Jack Cahill was passed over for the coaching job, no Port support staff were recruited by the Crows. It all became palpable, legend, supposed slurs, finger pointing all left the realm of imaginary, and became solid hate by both camps.

Yep, a lot of history, and a lot of unnecessary emotion, but there it is, supporters like me will always hate the Crows, blokes like Mark Williams, who was in the thick of it, have to have residue feelings from those days of yore.

As you say Asgardian a lot of ill feeling & resentment from the years 1990 & 91 between the Port & the rest of the SANFL clubs & it will take years to simmer down,

Your right about the Cornes/Williams dislike for each other but i can definately remember Mark Williams being interviewed on the tv about him not being chosen for the original Crows Squad where as he was not very complimentery to the AFC for not including him on the list,
Granted Jack Cahill should have been the 1st coach of the Crows going on his record but no way would the other SANFL clubs have permitted that to happen after the failed backstab attempt at joining the AFL by the PAFC & that's why a lot of us Crow supporters will always detest the Port Power,

Yeah, I remember Mark's media encounters of the time, he did not have the inclination to be civil.

I also remember George Fiacchi giving an interview, and making it very obvious that Glenelg players had gold passes into the Crows squad. The feeling was somewhat justified when seeing guys like Robbie Thompson, Allen Bartlett, Clayton Lamb and Paul Rouvray, all hacks, and all had gold passes. Rod Jameson and Matthew Liptak didn't deserve their spots either, but they both proved to be reasonable players.

That supposed backstab issue has been covered by us several times, suffice to say, Port were not the only club negotiating secretly with the AFL, we just did it better than the others

Originally posted by noddy

............Granted Jack Cahill should have been the 1st coach of the Crows going on his record but no way would the other SANFL clubs have permitted that to happen

Leading to a lack of success and the hugest choke in a final in recent history for the Cows in their first six years. Whereas Port's first six years have brought 2 pre-season cups, a minor premiership and 3 years of finals football. Still, when you have a team made up of all the losers in the SANFL, why should a little thing like success bother you?

Originally posted by mic59

Leading to a lack of success and the hugest choke in a final in recent history for the Cows in their first six years. Whereas Port's first six years have brought 2 pre-season cups, a minor premiership and 3 years of finals football. Still, when you have a team made up of all the losers in the SANFL, why should a little thing like success bother you?

Eh yeah right mic69, "choke" that's a bit like the pot calling the kettle black mate, :D

Paps haven't done to bad in there first 6 years, problem is what's the next couple gonna bring ya? if you want to keep on comparing with the Crows,;)