List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I would love to have him in the team too, but there is absolutely zero chance of that ever happening.

M.Rowell wants success now, and to go back to Victoria at some point in future - neither of which we can offer.

Essendon and Bulldogs already offering more money than we would be able to put together for him as well.

Geelong playing the longer game, want him to sign a two year extension with the Suns and then take him via free agency - which is what I currently expect will happen.

It needs to be understood that West Coast is currently the least desirable destination in the league. The times of the club being able to turn heads through its prestige are long gone.
I was thinking it could be a financial thing (to begin with). I find it hard to see how anyone can pay more than we could considering we've got no great players to command that salary...Especially if Harley goes.

Money talks, we offer enough, he'll come.

Rowell will not come to this football club

Defeatist attitude for mine and the exact type of thinking (Clarke for example) I'd be very annoyed about if I was Pyke.

I don't want excuses, I want ****ing solutions.

And to you Sir, I say...
Mrs. Doubtfire Middle Finger – Reaction GIFs

Defeatist attitude for mine and the exact type of thinking (Clarke for example) I'd be very annoyed about if I was Pyke.

I don't want excuses, I want ****ing solutions.

And to you Sir, I say...
Mrs. Doubtfire Middle Finger – Reaction GIFs
There’s defeatism and then there’s realism. What possible reason would Rowell have to come to west coast.

Had a chat with Liam Baker at my local shops today for a meet and greet, seemed like a very friendly guy.

Glad we got him (despite the melts), and do think hes a good chance at solo captain next year.

Had a chat with Liam Baker at my local shops today for a meet and greet, seemed like a very friendly guy.

Glad we got him (despite the melts), and do think hes a good chance at solo captain next year.
He will 100% be the captain next year. It’s the new…. New chapter that will sell hope again (and the 5 top 12 draft picks ;) )

Some money hungry mercenary flog will join us at some point. A bloke that's already won a flag and had success elsewhere.

We'll overpay because we have the cap space and they'll see an easy career extender/retirement package here. It's bound to happen.

A kent who doesn't really care about wins and losses, despite him likely saying he wants to come and build the club and take it to new heights etc.

There’s defeatism and then there’s realism. What possible reason would Rowell have to come to west coast.
Show me the money basically. (To begin with anyway)
Then become a key figure in turning the club into a powerhouse again.

If you don't ask, you don't get...Other ways to value add too.
Make an offer/overall package too good to refuse

Some money hungry mercenary flog will join us at some point. A bloke that's already won a flag and had success elsewhere.

We'll overpay because we have the cap space and they'll see an easy career extender/retirement package here. It's bound to happen.

A kent who doesn't really care about wins and losses, despite him likely saying he wants to come and build the club and take it to new heights etc.

While you're 100% right I wouldn't be against it if it was a Petrie/Mitchell/Hodge to Brisbane type move and they were a genuine premiership hero who fitted a short-term need.

Thinking an older recruit like that who is only around for 1-2 years max, help the standards, can actually contribute when required but will be happy to play a bit of WAFL and strengthen that team (like what you're saying in the last paragraph).

Luke Parker despite being 4th in this area at North and playing forward a fair bit would currently be leading our clearance total, with 21 to Kelly and Duggan's 18. He's also tied with Liam Baker (our top) in contested possessions.

In a year or two (or this year if Wardlaw and all their other younger mids are fit and firing) he'll make way. Would sadly have been absolutely perfect for us this year - we legitimately do not have a player on the park who's both a leader and an actual, genuine, clearance mid for Harley, Gross, Hall to learn off.

If they cost us nothing otherwise and have salary to spare would happily overpay for a player like that. What I'd hate (and sounds like what you're imagining) is some mid-range, oldish but not old, Billings, Brad Hill style kent who we just pay for cause he improves one of our spots by a little bit, isn't really a leader, plays a position where he's actually taking opportunity off younger players and lurks like half St Kilda/Essendons list over the last decade. Could unfortunately also picture us doing that.

While you're 100% right I wouldn't be against it if it was a Petrie/Mitchell/Hodge to Brisbane type move and they were a genuine premiership hero who fitted a short-term need.

Thinking an older recruit like that who is only around for 1-2 years max, help the standards, can actually contribute when required but will be happy to play a bit of WAFL and strengthen that team (like what you're saying in the last paragraph).

Luke Parker despite being 4th in this area at North and playing forward a fair bit would currently be leading our clearance total, with 21 to Kelly and Duggan's 18. He's also tied with Liam Baker (our top) in contested possessions.

In a year or two (or this year if Wardlaw and all their other younger mids are fit and firing) he'll make way. Would sadly have been absolutely perfect for us this year - we legitimately do not have a player on the park who's both a leader and an actual, genuine, clearance mid for Harley, Gross, Hall to learn off.

If they cost us nothing otherwise and have salary to spare would happily overpay for a player like that. What I'd hate (and sounds like what you're imagining) is some mid-range, oldish but not old, Billings, Brad Hill style kent who we just pay for cause he improves one of our spots by a little bit, isn't really a leader, plays a position where he's actually taking opportunity off younger players and lurks like half St Kilda/Essendons list over the last decade. Could unfortunately also picture us doing that.
the Bont, 2 years @ 1.4m with a trigger for a 3rd, if he has ambitions to coach, make it a part of contract, probably zero chance but he is a UFA, make way with a couple of underperforming players and that will pay the contact!
P Cripps but not an UFA until 2027, perfect players.
M Duncan, probably too old but 1 year UFA and coaching role also.

Bont met his wife when on holiday in WA…but she’s not a Perth girl, she’s from Canada. Bont was back here this summer, presumably his wife was too. Bont to Eagles is not as wild a theory as Rowell to Eagles. He’s won a flag. He’s late in career and probably keen to maximise his earnings in his last few years of footy.

If Bevo leaves, he might be more open to move also.

I am all for senior players that DGAF be gone ASAP but the must be realistically replaceable and not just with more kids through the draft only.

We are very young and while we need some elite talent through the draft still, it is our 22-26yo bracket of players that are the biggest hole and in need of fixing.

Cole isn't the problem, Hunt isn't the problem, maybe their disposal is and their consistency.

There are bigger holes and players that would go before those 2 and it's up to list management too sort that ASAP which I think they are finding out really quickly who they are.

2 years, 2025/26 of trading in players of the calibre to replace aging players and underperforming ones will be a BIG job, but if 2024 trade period was anything to go by I can see significant change coming to the list, only draft picks and ability to attract players being the biggest hurdle.

Probably 4 mids(through draft & trade), a decent ruck and a few underperforming players to replace imo, that's why RFA/UFA are a valuable resource to build a team but there doesn't appear to be a hell of a lot to work with.
So it's basically targeting OOC players and pre OOC players at higher draft cost to fill this space.

Would love to hit up P Cripps or Bont to come for 3 years and change the culture of our club for the better, make our team better, guide our young developing players, but you would need to give up significant draft capital for Cripps and the Bont is far less likely to happen even if he is a UFA this year.
Would love to offer the Bont 2 mill a year to come and lead our club out of the abyss

We will have to build via the draft and hope we nail a few later picks to boost our stock of talent.
yes but without some decent recruiting of some good senior players (we don't have many good senior players), the kids won't develop. Go and get Paddy Cripps on a 3 year gig. He won't win a cup with either Carlton or West Coast but he could be a great on field leader and help develop the younglings, you get one big name in , others might follow and some key younglings might stay.

Definitely a long shot at best but a lot more variables in our favour.

Can pretty much tell him to name his price and already has team success so potentially the only thing he’d be chasing is personal accolades. ie. the Brownlow - which he’d absolutely walk in GAJ style in a side like ours.

What's the rule with Tassie team coming in, in regards to something like "they can have their pick of any current player on any teams list". Is it as bad as it sounds or does it have more clauses to it? Like could they just grab Harley off us if he was still with us and we get no say? Or can we match etc? Would we get compo if we get a player stolen, similar to like restricted free agent?

yes but without some decent recruiting of some good senior players (we don't have many good senior players), the kids won't develop. Go and get Paddy Cripps on a 3 year gig. He won't win a cup with either Carlton or West Coast but he could be a great on field leader and help develop the younglings, you get one big name in , others might follow and some key younglings might stay.
The only thing against P Cripps is he is still under contract until end 2027 so would cost significant draft capital, realistically the Barrass hand we got or maybe a future 1st or something in that area.
But I would be more than happy to pay overs, he is elite, still has 3 good years left, obviously being 30 he will miss a few more games as age catches up but remarkably resilient.

What's the rule with Tassie team coming in, in regards to something like "they can have their pick of any current player on any teams list". Is it as bad as it sounds or does it have more clauses to it? Like could they just grab Harley off us if he was still with us and we get no say? Or can we match etc? Would we get compo if we get a player stolen, similar to like restricted free agent?
Any out of contract player automatically become an UFA for Tassie, I believe.

Might be UFA, but unless they pay a fortune, or someone has a connection to Tassie they won't get many people taking up contract offers.