List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

We don’t go anywhere near our points limit for top up players, I think we could easily afford to keep on one or two delisted/retired players, as we’ve done in the past with Nelson, Brayshaw and McInnes.
Issue really is the players move on post AFL fairly quickly into cushy jobs. Even Dom Sheed has a new job already. To come play WAFL is a pretty big pay cut

Lol just get over it mate....just remember as we go through another season next year of losses, getting flogged and only winning 3 games that you've been told to get over it.

Just pay your membership, suck it up and stfu because some flog on big footy told you to.
Geez louise

If you're going to allow yourself to live in a perpetual cycle of anger over something that you have absolutely no control over, that's your problem. You're setting yourself up for misery, but that's your cross to bear. At least don't make it our problem with the non-stop irrational diatribes that both you and BSD are partial to. :)

Yep if is so traumatic to follow us may I suggest following StK, NM, Ess, Carl, GWS, GCS or Freo? Or even Melb or WB who, despite recent success, have been crap for decades.
Or even a supposedly perennially successful team like Geelong - who have not won any more flags than the up’n’down WCE.

We’re bad now. We’ve been bad before. And yet we’re still the second most successful AFL side. Get some perspective.

Nobody is forcing you to read the diatribes as you call them.
Just like nobody forces you to each everything at an all you can eat buffet.

If the mods dont delete our posts as we are on topic who the **** are you to tell us what to write and what not to.

Who also said it's anger? A d if it is that's our decision in life isn't it?
This is a forum for discussion and it isn't just what you want to discuss either.
If you want a forum that discusses just what you want to discuss go start one...it will probably be an echo chamber.
I guess you won't have anyone diatribing though.

Good luck with that.

More or less a happy medium somewhere to aim for most of the time

A heap of people here are way too calm about it too

We’re bad now.

With respect, that understates the position.

We are currently, on any number of measures, worse than any team has been in at least the last 40 years. The Fitzroy team of the mid 90s that was broke and circling the drain won more games than we have.

Well last nights game rules out Cameron he was pathetic. There is no way WC will take him after his past few efforts. When the team is running hot he looks good. Thank goodness he will be dismissed now.

Im Not Sure Season 11 GIF by One Chicago

Band 3 is end of second round (so pick ~40 odd based on last year), or in the third round.

I'd rather just keep Cole. We need to keep players in his age range. He's a passable AFL level player. We can't play all kids otherwise it will get worse.

This isn't a compute game where you just ditch everyone over 25 and add 18 year olds.

Band 3 is actually tied to our R2 pick (Band 4 is end of R2) so if we were somehow to get that for Cole it would be pick 20 before any other earlier FA compo picks pushed it back

That said I don’t think Cole would get the kind of contract offer to justify band 3 - even band 4 would be a stretch so your main point stands. We’d probably be better keeping Cole at this stage

Would really like Dovaston if he's still there at Hawks' pick. Has the Lachie Schultz bod, work rate and defensive element, but with more tricks and offensive capabilities. We don’t have much in the small forward dept either

Reckon we're about to be overloaded with small forwards the next couple of years.

Presumably we pick up both Walley and Williams this year(if Walley can be found..) then next year we've got McGlade and Farmer + already have champion on the list.

Nobody is forcing you to read the diatribes as you call them.
Just like nobody forces you to each everything at an all you can eat buffet.

If the mods dont delete our posts as we are on topic who the **** are you to tell us what to write and what not to.

Who also said it's anger? A d if it is that's our decision in life isn't it?
This is a forum for discussion and it isn't just what you want to discuss either.
If you want a forum that discusses just what you want to discuss go start one...it will probably be an echo chamber.
I guess you won't have anyone diatribing though.

Good luck with that.
Yeah man, I don't have any problems with view points that differ to mine provided that they're rational, measured and reasonable.

I take exception to churlish, irrational and illogical rants though.

I've offered some reasonable advice. Worry about what you can control and accept that there is no good without bad and that this season will pass.

Take your own advice to scroll past if you don't appreciate it. 😊

Reckon we're about to be overloaded with small forwards the next couple of years.

Presumably we pick up both Walley and Williams this year(if Walley can be found..) then next year we've got McGlade and Farmer + already have champion on the list.
I'd still be keen. McGlade and Farmer are a way off before I'm confident in their likelihood of being AFL players. Walley is a totally different player to Lachy and Champion is still a ?

I'd still be keen. McGlade and Farmer are still a way off being confident in. Walley is a totally different player to Lachy and Champion is still a ?
Dovaston is very talented but I tend to agree our NGA is finally producing, in this case small forwards. Williams will come in board this year, possibly Walley. McGlade is a lock next year and maybe Farmer. We have Brockman, Champion and possibly Long developing. Plus it seems we can extend Cripps into 2027 and beyond.

I suspect the Hawks pick ends up with Collingwood anyway as much as it makes me want to vomit.

Yeah man, I don't have any problems with view points that differ to mine provided that they're rational, measured and reasonable.

I take exception to churlish, irrational and illogical rants though.

I've offered some reasonable advice. Worry about what you can control and accept that there is no good without bad and that this season will pass.

Take your own advice to scroll past if you don't appreciate it. 😊

Blocked

Agree we probably need have a long hard think before throwing big coin at Darcy Cameron. He probably comes off that cliff real fast and we will all be bemoaning how we've locked up all this money into a slightly better version of Flynn.

Secondly, Jack Williams is still only 21. He's got a couple more years before we have a known quantity but he needs to be hitting that gym hard from now.

Yep til end of next year. But extending Cripps and cutting along a year early would be absolutely on brand.
Make the competition for spots more intense. Getting rid of Cripps says to the likes of long, you're in. The fact no-one could take his or owes spot says everything about our forward line

One bad game hardly means Cameron is a spud nor should we not target him.

Good lord, the knee jerk on this board each and every week is next level.

Cameron still had 16D, 7CP, 3 intercepts, 3 score involvements, 3 clearances and 24 hitouts to be his team's highest ranked player by CD. 3rd highest on the ground behind Meek and Newcombe.

Unfortunately big boy Lloyd did him in as Hawthorn ran rampant, but that's not terrible for us if it lowers his trade value.