List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Hope to see more of this.

Yes we are competition & we hate each other on-field - but we also face the same systematic issues in the AFL.

Joining forces when its mutually beneficial is a no-b

I would rather Mcvee than starcevich personally. Once again we've paid more than we should.
No we didn't. Its been a win win for all 3 teams involved in the deal.

I reckon we'll be prepared to match T Williams from anywhere in Round 2, C Banfield from late R2. Both should get bids. Wes Walley only considered at a Cat-B rookie. Evans hard to get a read on, given injury. But the club will have some indication of who's been talking to him and whether a bid will come in the main draft. My guess is probably not, so he'd be a Cat-B chance too.

No.

I wish people would stop suggesting giving up the best players in the draft for a cohort of lesser ones.

You don't give up the best player in the draft for 2 lesser ones.
Amen, why make opposition clubs stronger at our own experience...flipping annoying it keeps being sprouted.

Still want to deal with GC and 2 is certainly up for discussion.

One is as well if the offer is too good to refuse but I do believe the club view Duursma as a player to take.
Feel like we always keep the door ajar, for Pick 1. Just incase someone offers the kings ransom for it, has to be significant overs though. Where 2 probably more reasonable with that in trade.

I reckon we'll be prepared to match T Williams from anywhere in Round 2, C Banfield from late R2. Both should get bids. Wes Walley only considered at a Cat-B rookie. Evans hard to get a read on, given injury. But the club will have some indication of who's been talking to him and whether a bid will come in the main draft. My guess is probably not, so he'd be a Cat-B chance too.

I feel like Evans could be the best of the lot but seems to be going under the radar because of injury which I really don't mind

Not getting or appreciating the negativity about Oscar.

He was played in the ruck too early and we brought about some of his banged up body.

He delivered us Pick 2 having been taken at Pick 21.

He was very good bridging the divide between the old guard and the new recruits.

He was a very good forward when fit and on the park.

You have just got over line line for FS status (105 games) and wife is from Perth so see you in a few years

Lions think they have the Witch Doctors to get him on the park. He will play as their deep forward (we have Waterman best in that role) and Lions were willing to go more $$ over more years.

Thanks for what you did Oscar. All the best. You won’t see me joining in with the d1ckheads booing you.

Concussion talked about. Possible move up the ground (‘proof is in the pudding’) if he actually gets to. Starting at the bottom like he did with the Lions. Dev possibly joining.

Don’t think he will get a regular spot on one of the radio shows but comes across as expected, no fuss type operator.

He was played in the ruck too early and we brought about some of his banged up body.

He was very good breaching the divide between the old guard and the new recruits.

You have just got over line line for FS status (105 games) and wife is from Perth so see you in a few years

Lions think they have the Witch Doctors to get him on the park. He will play as their deep forward (we have Waterman best in that role) and Lions were willing to go more $$ over more years.

Thanks for what you did Oscar. All the best. You won’t see me joining in with the d1ckheads booing you.
Yeah, dunno why anyone would boo him when he's actually done us a massive favour by getting us #2.

So a four pick upgrade from 16 to 12 cost us a 10 pick downgrade in the 2nd round? Didn't even cost a 2nd rounder?

That is simply incorrect.

A two pick upgrade late in the 1st round costs a 2nd rounder. That is what history and facts tell us. Not guessing....a historical fact shown multiple times.

And you think a 4 pick upgrade only cost half a 2nd rounder?

That simply isn't logical nor what happened.
Why are you doing this. The trade should be assessed as a whole because it was one trade and the net position derives Starc's value.

He was very good breaching the divide between the old guard and the new recruits.

Bit dumb to meet another club in a public space. He'll do well in Brisbane, a mop bucket could do well with that midfield. Wish him the best every week except against us.

His game vs North in Tasmania will be in my memory for a while. Him and Gov were incredible.

In amongst the rollercoaster of emotions about how we all feel about Matt Clarke, noones really tipped their cap to his decision not to pony up for Oscar and retain him. There's an argument it's good for the culture to continue being the good guys who don't lose players but in terms of building us a list to not be so putridly dog shit in years to come, this was an astute bit of business.

What also seems completely lost on a few of the posters who have done nothing but whinge all year about how Dumb Puke and the club are doing nothing to take steps to improve the club is the massive changes to off-field personnel, doing their best to get as many picks at the pointy end of the draft this year, and rate the players or not - we have been mentioned in almost every scenario of approaching available players to gauge their interest in coming over and see how they'd fit.

The club is working their arse off to make positive changes all round yet c*nts are still whinging. Great off-season so far, let's hope it continues that way.

Yeah nah there’s no way we should be moving a 27 year old who has never played in the middle (at AFL level) into the midfield. There’s younger talent that deserves the middle minutes or deserving of yhe midfield development. Also Starc has never been a great ball winner in defence which makes his want to even more mind boggling.

He’s plug and play in the back pocket and an instant duggan/cole upgrade.

Yeah nah there’s no way we should be moving a 27 year old who has never played in the middle (at AFL level) into the midfield. There’s younger talent that deserves the middle minutes or deserving of yhe midfield development. Also Starc has never been a great ball winner in defence which makes his want to even more mind boggling.

He’s plug and play in the back pocket and an instant duggan/cole upgrade.
I think what will happen is he'll get a look in during the pre-season and if he's the next Yeo we'll play him there. If he doesn't cut the mustard he can always fall back to being an elite medium sized defender.

Nah that is unfair.

He's the List Manager - while he might have trade period once a year where he is front and centre, most of his role involves the contracts of the 40+ guys already on the list.

This time last year, we would have all expected Oscar to be retained as an absolute lock. We laughed at Matthew Lloyd (I think) suggesting we trade him for picks...but when Oscar and his people went to market and had 5 year + big money contracts on the table, fhe club had to make a decision whether or not to offer something in that ball park and retain him, our captain, 'the chosen one' etc - and it was decided they weren't going to do that and let him go. Not a light decision I would imagine within the club but a ballsy list management call for a club on it's knees and as List Manager, Clarke deserves some credit in that regard - for better or worse. We are yet to see the impact this may have future player retention.

Players like Oscar and their status within the group are usually considered a must keep - whether they are netting a high draft pick or not - it's not a common occurrence for any club to let their skipper walk and it was an active decision by the club to do that.

Even before the season started there were rumours flying around that Allen wanted out. Oscar made his decision known to the public when he met with Mitchell, his status and position as leader was untenable from that point onwards. Regardless of modern day expectations as the captain its just not what you do. Hodge Voss & Selwood would never.

A rebuilding side trying to retain a young victorian superstar needs an all in leader, Oscar was never that. As for letting him walk- is the club supposed to beg its leaders to stay? Allen wanted to go, actively met with rivals and over the season it became mind numbingly clear that the deal would be done.

Allen is a decent second or third forward, he goes missing often and has beat up shoulders and knees. My gut feel is he also feels hard done by debuting in a premiership year and then coming of age during one of the worst periods in the clubs history. He, like the rest of us couldn't have seen what was going to happen post 2018. Understandably he wants to play in finals bound team and chase a flag while he still has value.

Oscars not fit to captain a dinghy. He was a must leave, not a must keep.

I think what will happen is he'll get a look in during the pre-season and if he's the next Yeo we'll play him there. If he doesn't cut the mustard he can always fall back to being an elite medium sized defender.
Yeo had merit as mid. Played there as a junior and had stint early days. He also had no issue getting his hands on the footy. I McCarthy into the middle is more like Yeo going from defence to mid.

I agree on McCarthy but they'll humour Starcevich.

Our lack of a decent ruck man that can tap the ball to the advantage of our young midfield is a huge disadvantage.
We should offer the saints pick 13 and Liam Ryan for Rowan Marshall. We should offer Marshall more dollars than Dekoenig.
We need someone like Marshall to fill a hole in our team whilst our youngsters like Archer Reid and possibly CDT are developing their ruck craft,
Can’t tell if this is a joke post so either way, well done to you.

I just hope Yeo isnt 5 or 10m away and on the other team. Hate to lose Starcevich in the preseason.

Even before the season started there were rumours flying around that Allen wanted out. Oscar made his decision known to the public when he met with Mitchell, his status and position as leader was untenable from that point onwards. Regardless of modern day expectations as the captain its just not what you do. Hodge Voss & Selwood would never.

A rebuilding side trying to retain a young victorian superstar needs an all in leader, Oscar was never that. As for letting him walk- is the club supposed to beg its leaders to stay? Allen wanted to go, actively met with rivals and over the season it became mind numbingly clear that the deal would be done.

Allen is a decent second or third forward, he goes missing often and has beat up shoulders and knees. My gut feel is he also feels hard done by debuting in a premiership year and then coming of age during one of the worst periods in the clubs history. He, like the rest of us couldn't have seen what was going to happen post 2018. Understandably he wants to play in finals bound team and chase a flag while he still has value.

Oscars not fit to captain a dinghy. He was a must leave, not a must keep.

Yes mate - I am aware that is how it played out.

My point was more that I am not certain that it even reaches the point of him publicly shopping himself under the previous admin. I think we'd have likely kept it in house and signed him to a big extension without considering the alternatives and carried on.

Probably ending up carrying him and a big salary for the last couple of years of his career while we are at it....or longer, considering his injury history.

...but it's by the by - he's a Brisbane player now. We move on.