Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

The Crows have played 1 game in Melbourne since May 9 last year. (32 point loss to Hawks at Marvel in July, wtf). Since then we have played at:
Darwin
Ballarat
Geelong (twice)
Launceston
Hobart
Canberra

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

BACCS posted it on another thread. We have had 18 games not in Melbourne. Next is GC on....5.
Our management seems happy with the programming. We never hear them protesting. Imagine Eddie if Collingwood had a similar program. He complains and wins against PA's uniform even when its nothing like Collingwood's.

Melbourne memberships used to be a strong focus, there's nothing to sell anymore.

Someone like Eddie McGuire would be screaming about it, but because people were used to him doing it I don't think it reflected poorly on the coaches/players and so on.

If we complained, it would be Adelaide are sooks. Actually, maybe Collingwood did get the criticism, they just didn't care? Not sure.

The way to sook about it, if that's what you'd call it haha would be to have someone like McGuire just send a clear message via the media "we don't like going there, our supporters don't like going there, so they'll be staying at home this weekend and 45,000 people are missing out on this game because it's not in Melbourne"

I say this because these games are surely paid for from tourism budgets and the like. So you've got Ballarat council or whoever paying big dollars for an AFL game and you've also got the club saying "our supporters don't want to go to Ballarat, stay home and enjoy the game in front of the fire".

I don't think I'd do the above, I don't really like the whinging I guess, like we have a lot of supporters in Darwin and to be saying we don't want to be there wouldn't be great, but it is what it is and behind the scenes we should be trying to fix this and some pressure in public wouldn't be bad either.

"We'll play in one of them but it's time some other clubs did some heavy lifting" or something.

Or use our position a club the AFL wants to send to Darwin to our advantage, like yeah we'll actually go there once a year to play the Gold Coast, but it has to be the week before our bye and we're going to share some of that $$$$ or get us some sponsors up there.

What really annoys me is any mention of us having to win more games to get better time slots and locations or whatever, sure clubs should be rewarded for performing, but we perform top 4 and we'll maybe get 2 Fridays (probably one is a stupid double header or something the AFL comes up with), a Thursday and some Foxtel Saturday Nights. Carlton just looks like making the 8 and they'll get half a dozen Friday nights in a row.

At the end of the day you ultimately do have to go where they tell us but it does seem some clubs make some noise and their problems go away.

During the RL SoO match on Wednesday one of the players kicked a torp and a commentator said something like: "you don't see too many torps here anymore". Sadly he's correct, it's all drop punts or hook kicks now.

Yes plenty of players can get good distance with a drop punt, but it would be good to see the occasional screwie (SA term) unleashed.

One for the regular jetsetters

I'm flying to London (via Dubai) with Emirates next Saturday Night / Sunday Morning - Will be in the air when Adelaide play Essendon - google suggests that there is wi-fi on board - Does anyone know if that means i'd be likely to connect to my kayo subscription on my phone while in the air to watch it? Would be a great way til kill 3hrs

thx

I'm flying to London (via Dubai) with Emirates next Saturday Night / Sunday Morning - Will be in the air when Adelaide play Essendon - google suggests that there is wi-fi on board - Does anyone know if that means i'd be likely to connect to my kayo subscription on my phone while in the air to watch it? Would be a great way til kill 3hrs

thx

You could do it but airplane Wi-Fi speeds are typically awful so it might not be fast enough to stream reliably. You might also need a VPN

thx

As another regular traveller streaming on flights is near impossible (and expensive). It's compounded by the fact once you are out of Oz streaming services might be geo barred which means VPN and that slows it further.

You will be able to get score updates live from thee AFL site or at worst Google.

Wifi on planes is normally just good enough for work to send me emails and know I've read them.

cheers

a bit more digging on my part has found a live channel on Emirates called Sports24 which only broadcasts on planes and ships - it plays AFL games amongst others - put in my flight number and date and Essendon v Adelaide will be one of the games shown so looks like I'll be ok!

Reminds me of the days of Virgin streaming Foxtel. Used to do a regular Monday morning flight to Brisbane and watch the NFL.

Airlines tend to charge like a wounded bull for wi-fi - especially in economy class (Virgin charge something like $20/hour from memory now - it was free under their previous management).

If you're in business, or a high tier frequent flyer, you might get free wifi access, but even then it's usually the airlines basic offering which will last you about 10 minutes.

Qantas is the exception here, offering free wifi on their flights. I've found their wifi to be pretty decent and have streamed live footy on it fine.

Nice to find a bit of “home” when your travelling the world. Discovered this little gem at Glastonbury
Hopefully not many awkward moments & we become merry walopers of other teams...

Anyone else frustrated that this will be the 6th year in a row Port have finished above us? even worse they look like they have got their crap together this year and will almost certainly be in the GF. Going to be one long painful summer and 2024 if they win the flag. It will be a great year if Port dont win the flag. How would you cope if they won it?

The Crows have played 1 game in Melbourne since May 9 last year. (32 point loss to Hawks at Marvel in July, wtf). Since then we have played at:
Darwin
Ballarat
Geelong (twice)
Launceston
Hobart
Canberra
Well our 2024 wishlist that we present to the AFL must say we want at least 5 games in Melbourne. 2 mcg and 3 Marvel. I think we have improved big time to avoid the likes of Darwin, Ballarat and Tassie.

Anyone else frustrated that this will be the 6th year in a row Port have finished above us? even worse they look like they have got their crap together this year and will almost certainly be in the GF. Going to be one long painful summer and 2024 if they win the flag. It will be a great year if Port dont win the flag. How would you cope if they won it?
I'm not evenly remotely worried. A couple of injuries... come up against a team with an ounce of defensive pressure, I reckon they'll crumble.

Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

Write your reply...