Crows in the SANFL Round 5

Sounds like the umpiring is bad in general. Kite sounds like he's been busy too. Good signs by our boys.

Otten lining up for 4th goal.

Gets his 4th.

Pretty good in the losing time.

Saying on the radio, all of his goals have come from contested marks.
Gets is pretty average. Loud, obnoxious and swears too much around kids. :p

On the actual topic, that is fantastic news to hear about Walker and Otten. Also sounds like Kite is proving me wrong, which I'm happy about. :)

Maybe we wont see the Drumster, he may put that noose to use (Oh im such a poet).

We keep saying 'his body's not ready, his body's not ready' but Otten is gonna have to be selected if he keeps these performances up. He's the Chris Knights of 08 and is demanding a spot.

Ok, I kid you not Otten, Kite and Walker are all stars!

Otten, what can I say, best hands for weight in the SANFL, can kick a goal and has endurance. STAR!

Kite, was breaking the lines as a wingman, took at least 2 or 3 bounces, he could be a Burton replacement, even had some Burtonesque WTF moments!

And Texas, quiet second half, but still has that phenomonal x-factor about him. Probably missed having Vlatko take some attention away from him.

And as for Mass, it just wasn't his night. What could go wrong went wrong.

I work on The Parade, so me and a mate (he's a Norwood supporter) went over to watch the Norwood v South game. I went mostly to watch Texas on his birthday and see what he could do.

For a quick overview of the match, Norwood were atrocious in the middle for the first quarter - the forwards, when it actually went anywhere near the forward line, were good - Taylor @ CHF, Kite @ FF - and the backs did good to restrict a rampaging South to 2.5, so Norwood were only down by 2 points at quarter time (general play made them look like they should be about 7 goals down, looked terrible). I can see why Jesse Aish was never picked up by an AFL club - even his own supporters were bagging him incessantly, and not without reason. It was the midfield who had their asses handed to them on plates in the first quarter. Norwood kept trying to run with handballs through the middle, except (1) South ran a lot harder and (2) stopping, propping and taking the third option isn't generally a great way to go, and as a consequence they got tackled heaps.

Second quarter, a different Norwood came out and did to South what South did in the first quarter, except instead of kicking 2.5 they made it count.

Started the same way in the third, until about ten minutes in, then South got their act together, and it became an arm wrestle. Norwood backmen gave South too much space coming in and the midfield couldn't put enough pressure on the kicks, as i followed Texas around the ground i could see one tall bloke for South keep taking contested marks and kicking goals.

Fourth was the same. If the game had been thrity seconds shorter, Norwood would have won; thirty seconds longer, South would have won. Probably a fair result in the end.

Now, onto the important stuff.

Aaron Kite: started at FF, did ok, i think he kicked a nice goal from a mark and set shot, can't remember. Looked dangerous but was moved to the wing/HFF, i suspect to minimise the damage Jesse Aish was causing. Must be taught not to put his hands on his opponents back - he will be murdered for it in the AFL. Gave away a couple of soft free kicks for it even at this level. But, potential.

Taylor Walker: whoever told the AFC this kid was good, send him a f**king thank-you cake. He turned 18 today and he, whenever it came near, looked Dangerfield, sorry dangerous. My count, he kicked 3.2 (one was a poster) plus an OOF. Whenever he went for a mark, he jumped early and hung in the air. Kicking probably needs some work, but damn he's exciting. Will press for, and get, selection this year. Good defensive pressure too - in the last quarter, he harrassed and effected a spoil against South (unfortunately it spoiled onto his leg and went out on the full) but the crowd loves him, he pumped them up after one of his goals, superstar, superstar, superstar in the making. He has the one thing all footballers crave and cannot be taught - TIME. Whenever he goes near the ball, he seems to be moving at Ian Perrie speed, but faster than everyone else. Kicked goals, created opportunities. Cannot wait to see him for the Crows.

Also played well: Donohue & Puopolo. Also, should admit Aish improved and kicked some goals.

Walker actually kicked 3.3 and an Out on the Full. By the sounds of it should have received a couple of frees for in the back too.

The thing I like about Walker is he seems to know how to lead properly, its amazing how many AFL forwards lack that ability, to actually lead to the right spot and demand a kick.

Otten: Easily best for South and easily the best player on the ground. :thumbsu: Displayed his versatility as he spent time across half forward, on the wing, and deep in attack. He had about 5 possessions in as many minutes to start the game and he was the games most dominant midfielder until he went quiet when Norwood went on a scoring rampage about 10 minutes in the second quarter. He got on the scoreboard as he kicked a nice goal about 30 out in the second quarter. He went head-to-head for Kite briefly in the second term, and he could even be taller than Kite which is scary.

After half time he played up forward, he started deep and pushed up the ground. He ended up kicking 4.1 and I must say I was genuinely impressed with him tonight and I can now see why he is highly rated by the club. Two of his goals came from strong overhead marks when the defender was right on his back. He has a very strong pair of hands and he dominated both in the midfield and up forward. In fact he was the games leading goal kicker and almost the games leading possession winner. He does have a pretty penetrating kick and he pumped the ball into the forward fifty quite a few times when he was playing on ball. He did make a few ordinary mistakes though, some dropped marks and some poor disposal by hand and foot. However without him there’s no way South would’ve got a point. He was clearly spent in the last term but he won a crucial 1-on-1 battle with Gallagher with about a minute remaining. Got a heap of the ball and gerenally used it well (would've had about half a dozen inside 50's) and he kicked 4 goals.

Walker: Wow, this guy will be amazing. Kicked his first goal of the night on the back of a great contested mark in which he went back and drilled. His second was a beautiful left foot snap which went through after a few bounces. His third was also from a set shot, all this was before half time. In the second half South paid him a lot more attention and he was often double teamed and they blocked his space on a few occasions. He had another snap attempt at goal in the third quarter but it slammed into the post, was a ripper of a kick though. As was the case with last week, he dished off a few great handballs and he really does excel below his knees. He had a chance to probably seal the game with a couple of minutes remaining as he took a mark about 45 out but he missed the crucial goal. So he finished with 3.3 and one OOF. Vlatko was a late exclusion tonight and it allowed South to play their best defender on him and without Vlats he received a lot more attention. Special talent we have here, his body work is something to behold. He just knows how to use his body to advantage and he’s great on the lead. He took a few great marks, a few very close to the ground. His stats would’ve been similar to last week; in fact he might have had a bit more of the ball., probably about 15 possessions. Has had 14 scoring shots in two weeks, not a bad effort. Should also point out that his defensive work seems to be improving with every week as he followed his opponent back into defence in the opening few minutes of the match and took a nice mark. He also laid a few tackles and had a nice smother in the last term.

Kite: Started on the bench but came on about 10 minutes into the first term and went to full forward, the first time he’s been up forward this year. Looked alright too as he led strongly and had his first touch as he marked about 50 out. He didn’t have much of an influence in the forward line but his leading was impressive. He was shifted onto the wing about midway through the second quarter and it was a smart move. He started to become more influential and he got better as the game wore on. Didn’t have a lot of the ball, and at half time he would’ve only had about 2 or 3 possessions. He worked his way into the game though, becoming a target for Norwood from the kick outs. He took 2 nice overhead marks and he even drifted forward to have a shot on goal about 45 out on a tight angle but unfortunately he missed. South kicked it out, straight to Kite who had a good battle with his opponent and took the grab. However the umpire claimed it was hands in the back, a rubbish decision and Kite certainly wasn’t too thrilled. And again in the third quarter he was in a battle on the half back flank and he used his body well and very nearly completed a mark. The whistle blew and Kite went to retrieve the loose ball thinking it was his, and the South player was walking back to his mark. The umpire’s decision bewildered everyone though as Kite was penalised, once again for hands in the back. Another complete farce, everyone knew, even the South player, that if there was a decision it should’ve been to Kite.

He is still working his way back into form but I was impressed. Had a few very strong tackles and his final count would’ve (or at least should) been about 5. He looked good on the wing in the last half and he didn’t lose many contests. He would’ve finished with about a dozen possessions, 4 odd marks and 5 tackles in an encouraging display. And my word he’s quick.

Massie: Looked somewhat sluggish out there at times tonight as he turned the ball over a few times and was caught holding the ball twice in the early stages of the match. Kicked 0.2 from memory and from about 30 metres out he kicked for goal (I think it was for goal) and it went about 20 metres, no score. He was trying to do everything for Norwood around the stoppages and that’s why he made a few more errors than normal. He worked hard all night and had a heap of the ball but wasn’t overly damaging. I wouldn’t be recalling him on the back of that performance.

I was also at the norwood oval tonight and ive gotta say i was extremely impressed with Andy Otten. He was absoulutely brilliant tonight kicked 4 goals, mustve taken at least 10 marks (including 3 or 4 contested marks) and wouldve been close to 30 possessions. In my opinnion easily best on ground. Otten is a ball magnet and when thrown forward kicked 3 goals in the third quarter and really ignited the panthers. I think Rendell has recruited us a beauty here.

As mentioned on here before Walker kicked 3.3 and one out on the full. I had him down for 16 possessions, 7 marks (6 in the first half). He looked sensational in the first half but when Norwood struggled in the second half he obviously as a forward did as well. I thought Walkers kicking was a bit off tonight and really he shouldve had at least 5 goals. The left footed snap around the body goal was a beauty. You can tell by watching him that he is a very smart footballer and i think later on in the year he would be ready for his AFL debut. Although chances of Neil Craig playing him this year would be slim.

I was also reasonably impressed with Aaron Kite. I wouldnt say he had a stack of possessions but he can take a very good grab, has a good kick on him and for someone his height he is very quick. I also think in a couple years time we are going to be saying what a great pick up he has been. He has definately bulked up since arriving in Adelaide.

I cant ever recall being as pumped after my team had drawn a game. Although South got the better deal from the umpires all night I still think we played the better football for 3 quarters. We should of put the game away in the first quarter, started the second on top, and from the half way mark of the 2nd til the halfway mark of the third we were terrible and Norwood looked like the legs of old. For the rest of the game we dominated. But, I stress, we had a bloody good run with the umpires.

Andy Otten. STAR. He had 15 touches in the first playing in the centre and ran around like an unregistered dog. I love this bloke, my fiancee is concerned. Everytime he gets a touch I make sure everyone around me knows who the No 37 is. He finished with 18 kicks, 7 hballs and 13 marks with 4.4 by my memory and a couple of assists. He would of had a lot higher stats if it werent for Jack Cahill moving him forward halfway through the 3rd quarter. He changed the game, taking strong contested marks and dobbing them from 40. To be honest although he was best on ground no doubt, he could of been even better. He missed some easy shots and fumbled several times due to the greasy conditions. In the last he looked spent and just had nothing left in the tank. At the 3 quarter time huddle it all got too much for me. I waited out there til Andy ran past me. With a Crow hat and a Toyota jacket on, and several beers in the tank, I stood face to face with Andy and told him he is playing for the Crows next week. He did the professional thing and turned around and looked away. I had to do it again, yelled his name, he looked and as soon as he saw it was me again ran away. Professional stuff, but he loved it..:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Taylor Walker. I was again in the unforunate position of cheering on South but also barracking for Taylor and Kite. Taylor is going to be amazing for us. He makes it look so easy tonight and he also plays unselfishly which annoyed me. In the 3rd quarter he took a mark where he lept a second to early on the lead and had the hang time too take a Lloyd like mark back in Lloyds heyday! Very, very impressive. Would love him to grow just a bit more, but he is an excitement machine with gun skills. Kicked about 3.3 and a hit post. Loved his left foot snap from 35 after he though he took a mark but was told to play on. Hird like composure.

Kite. Great game I thought. Wasnt expecting much from him but he competed well and we must all remember these kids are playing in the 2nd best league in Australia and I thought Kite was great. Gave away a few piss weak frees that were never there IMO but has a good lad and looks like he belongs. Must have had 15 touches

Cockshell. Is just that. :D

Reading the paper this morning it appears Tony Armstrong was BOG in the ressies against Centrals....... unless they have another Armstrong playing.

Don't be so negative, of course he was BOG!:D

No news on Moss?

I know I shouldnt have been...... good signs from Stretch though. Nothing on Moss but I know a few Centrals fans who were there, ill have a chat to them at footy today.

Crows in the SANFL Round 5