Crows Mock/Hope Drafts

I vaguely remember Chalmbers copping it harder than Pyman and MacKay, i thought he was the only one that had to pay???

Iddybiddy and Macca19 I think you are both right. Chalmbers definately had it tougher, I think his was $35000 and the others $15000. I'm not sure why he was fined more.

Interesting though that these individual players were (combined) fined more than Port for their draft tampering in encouraging and paying some 9 players to stay out of a draft! Does anyone else think the AFL overreacted with the player fines?
It should also be noted that Pyman (not sure about others) ended up playing at one of the clubs he wrote to as they ignored it and drafted him anyway!

And what makes you think Dangerfield will stick around for 10 years?
no need to repeat myself...
maybe i should rephrase to Dangerfield a 2+ year player, whereas Rioli would've been more of a <2 year player. if Rioli was so against coming to Adelaide, being recruited by Adelaide would've made life that much harder for himself and most likely would've left after his contract was over (or the Crows would've traded him for a very high pick after his first season).

no need to repeat myself...
You are basing your opinion on pure speculation here.

What is to say that Rioli would want to leave if we drafted him. He wouldn't be the first and certainly won't be the last player that wouldn't want to go to a certain club but once he got there wouldn't want to leave.

Hell look at our club as an example, Watts, Meesen pop to mind as the most recent examples of players who were over the moon that Adelaide drafted them. Fast fowards 2-3 years and they couldn't get out of the place quick enough. Look at someone like Reilly who just did not want to leave Victoria....he was practically crying his eyes out the moment we called out his name....does he want to leave Adelaide now?!

The point is, these kids are 17, 18 years old and they wouldn't have the slightest idea of what they want and what the real world is like. Once they make the daunting step, majority of them come out on top and are glad it happened. Rioli is no different. He could well have left after his first year but thats just pure speculation. He could have just as easily loved it here and stayed with us for his whole career.

What is to say that Rioli would want to leave if we drafted him. He wouldn't be the first and certainly won't be the last player that wouldn't want to go to a certain club but once he got there wouldn't want to leave.

Hell look at our club as an example, Watts, Meesen pop to mind as the most recent examples of players who were over the moon that Adelaide drafted them. Fast fowards 2-3 years and they couldn't get out of the place quick enough. Look at someone like Reilly who just did not want to leave Victoria....he was practically crying his eyes out the moment we called out his name....does he want to leave Adelaide now?!

The point is, these kids are 17, 18 years old and they wouldn't have the slightest idea of what they want and what the real world is like. Once they make the daunting step, majority of them come out on top and are glad it happened. Rioli is no different. He could well have left after his first year but thats just pure speculation. He could have just as easily loved it here and stayed with us for his whole career.
wouldn't want to take that risk...and that is a big risk to take, because what if he played all 22 games...and still wanted to leave (Watts and Meesen didn't get much game time, so probably wasn't enjoying their footy as much...plus homesickness, esp from Watts)...there'd be a big 'told you so' afterwards and fans would be furious with the club for picking up a player who made his intentions clear to us before drafting. - that's just my thoughts on it.

I don't know the full story so I don't want to get into a full-blown argument here but I recall hearing phrases chucked around like "it was the worst interview I've ever seen a draftee give" after Rioli had his interviews so perhaps it was a little more than "I'd really rather stay in Victoria".

I have no doubt that there was more to not ranking him higher than the go-home factor.

I don't know the full story so I don't want to get into a full-blown argument here but I recall hearing phrases chucked around like "it was the worst interview I've ever seen a draftee give" after Rioli had his interviews so perhaps it was a little more than "I'd really rather stay in Victoria".

I have no doubt that there was more to not ranking him higher than the go-home factor.
In Emma Quayle's book it said he practically fell asleep in one of the interviews. Didn't mention which club it was with, but given that I've heard he interviewed terribly with Adelaide I immediately thought it might have been with us.

The under lining factor is that when Rioli was interviewed by the crows, his attitude towards moving to Adelaide was extremely poor

Yes once in Adelaide he may of accepted the club and town however the club did not want to take that risk

On this years draft

Most mock drafts have Vickery going to Port, however my understanding is Vickery may not be on the top of Port's wish list

If this is true, what are the chances of Vickery falling to #10?

Clear goal for Crows

By Andrew Capel
November 17, 2008 ADELAIDE coach Neil Craig - excited by the Crows youth movement - is targeting "two or three" key position players in the November 29 national draft.
And he is making no secret of his priority - forwards.

"We need to continue to service our forward line and midfield," Craig said as the Crows resumed pre-season training.

"I think we're pretty well dressed with people who can play in defence. So we need to keep looking for guys who are genuine forwards.

"We'll have five picks and we'd like to think that two or three of those are what we would term key position or utility players."

Adelaide have selections 10, 28, 44, 60 and 72, and they desperately need to address an underachieving forward line which has significant question marks hanging over it.

Last year's leading goalkicker Brett Burton will miss at least half of next year as he recovers from a knee reconstruction while no-one is certain what Trent Hentschel will be able to deliver.

He has started pre-season training in good nick but hasn't played an AFL game for two years because of career-threatening leg injuries.

Ken McGregor (delisted) is gone, James Sellar has been disappointing in his two years at the club while Taylor Walker - as exciting as he is - is still unknown at AFL level.

Kurt Tippett is the only obvious improver after enjoying a strong second season when he kicked 17 goals in 19 matches and provided a strong target inside 50.

The Crows have picked a good year to think big. This draft is top-heavy in quality talls.

Ace key forward Jack Watts and high-leaping ruckman Nicholas Naitanui will be top-three selections and out of Adelaide's reach. Hard-working 200cm ruckman/forward Tyrone Vickery has been linked to Port Adelaide at pick four and is almost certain to go before the Crows can get a crack at him.

But one of 196cm key forwards Shaun McKernan - younger brother of North Melbourne premiership player Corey McKernan - and Jackson Trengove (both from the Calder Cannons) and 192cm Lewis Johnston (North Adelaide) should be available at pick 10.

"It seems to be (a good year for talls)," Craig said. "And we're confident of getting one with our early pick."

The Crows have already ruled out an audacious play for West Coast Brownlow Medallist Ben Cousins and Craig said they would not target former Sydney small forward sharpshooter Nick Davis, who is training with the Brisbane Lions.

"We've got people that can cover the positions that Nick Davis plays," he said. "We've had a look at it and, let's not beat around the bush, we won't be interested in Nick Davis."

Having cut the experienced McGregor, Rhett Biglands, Kris Massie and Nathan Bassett at the end of the season, Craig wants to continue with his list replenishment. That does not include drafting a 28-year-old.

"At the end of this year's draft we'll have 29-30 players aged 22 years and under and that's a group of players that you can now hold, work and move with," he said. "Up until now, our playing squad has changed significantly pretty much each year. You can see the development we've got in front of us and it's exciting for us and our supporters."

What a relief for me, as this is exactly what I have been hoping for.

It would seem that the KPF targets (excluding Watts, Hurley and Naitanui who will never be there for us) are the three mentioned plus Shoenmakers, Davis, and Lisle. Cornelius could be added but is considered more of a third tall, as is Tom Lynch. Brown and Sibosada could well be available down the order a bit as well, but my fear is the rest will be all be taken by pick 28 if we take a midfielder at pick 10.

As much as I would love to get a gun midfielder, and I know the history isn't good with talls at pick 10, I strongly feel that we desperately need at least one (probably two) - and if you don't select the best available to you then you won't ever get a good one. It's all very well to say its better to take KPF's later in the draft, but then you are consigning us to mediocrity for the next decade in this important area.

It may be really hard to get quality talls in the next two compromised drafts, and in future there could be further draft compromises with the western Sydney team as well. There seem to be always a supply of promising midfielders, though.

I agree that the AFC should go aggressively for talls in this draft, and hopefully some medium and small forwards as well. In the next couple of years we can add to the midfield depth with what I expect to be only two to three picks each year in the main draft.

Thoughts?

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=69465

Ryan Schoenmakers

DOB: 8/11/90
Height: 189cm
Weight: 85kg
Club: Norwood, SA

A forward with good endurance, Schoenmakers is strong overhead, effective by foot on either side and can kick goals. A South Australian under-18 representative in 2008. From Tea Tree Gully FC.

What sort of player are you?
I’d say I’m an athletic centre half-forward. I like to cover a fair bit of ground and deliver the ball to the full-forwards.

Strengths?
My biggest strengths are probably my skills and my athleticism. For a big guy, those two attributes come in handy and I’m not too bad at taking a mark overhead either.

Weaknesses?
My weakness is probably at the one-on-one contests. I tend to get pushed out the way at marking contests a bit, so I need to work on my upper body strength and get better in that area.

Which AFL club do you support?
I’ve always been a Crows man.

Which AFL player do you most resemble?
I suppose I’m a bit similar to Ryan O’Keefe. He runs a lot, has good skills and works up the ground a lot, as well as kicking goals, so he’s someone I watch a lot.

I absolutely agree. The fact that his height hasn't surpassed 190cm like some suspected it might have during the season is not good news.
He measured 193.4cm at Draft Camp. The link has the height he'd been listed as all year.

I agree that the AFC should go aggressively for talls in this draft, and hopefully some medium and small forwards as well. In the next couple of years we can add to the midfield depth with what I expect to be only two to three picks each year in the main draft.

Thoughts?

Mate, you are right on the money. Your wish will come true.

As I've said before I reckon we have only 2 midfielders in our top 10.

Pick 10 - Schoenmakers

Pick 28 - Sibosado

If they become good senior players both would be exciting to have in our developing forward line.

What do you reckon. Could Rendell surprise us again and pull something out like this?

Crows Mock/Hope Drafts