Daicos - A Once in a Generation Player

For those asking about Daicos in finals he kicked 7 against Carlton in a final in 84 and won Collingwoods best finals player in 88 and played a key role in finals in 90.
Daicos was a marvel. A piece of Bruce Mc commentary really summed him up. Daicos was pinned to the boundary against Geelong almost on the fence. The commentary was as follows 'A normal man would be odds against to kick this but Daicos is odds on......................its through...................he's a freak. Guy McKenna once stated that Daicos was that good that if he died you would have to man up his tombstone in the forward pocket at Victoria Park.
Daics is a great mate of mine and he is the most humble and modest man.
One of the greats of all time.

That's the part that endeared him to opposition fans. He backed up amazing skills without the stupid celebrations, just went about his business (take note Leon Davis, Milne etc)

Unfortunately AFL history is full of players robbed of their prime years, Hudson a classic example.

Daicos is well liked and highly regarded by most, Collingwood and opposition fans alike.

Yes, but luckily for us - Hudson and Daicos still had Hall-of-Fame worthy careers, despite being robbed of their prime.

A credit to both of them.

What was his record in final? (I don't know - that will be as much a guide for me as everything he did in the H&A season).

Outstanding. Watch the highlights reel, 50% of the footage is from finals!

Sure. But we were far more blase about goal kicking then. In those last rounds of 1991 that you talk about....Daicos kicked 8,8,13, 6.......Lockett kicked 13,10,11 and 9.

Yes, But Daicos was a 19 year old midfielder when he was kicking bags - all the other blokes were full-forwards. Even in '91, he was just an undersized flanker with bad knees when he went on that run at the end of the year.

Unfortunately AFL history is full of players robbed of their prime years, Hudson a classic example.

Daicos is well liked and highly regarded by most, Collingwood and opposition fans alike.

Hudson was one of the player who drew many of today's supporters to the game. male and female.
If he was available my Mum would have married him at the drop of a hat.:thumbsu:

Yes, But Daicos was a 19 year old midfielder when he was kicking bags - all the other blokes were full-forwards. Even in '91, he was just an undersized flanker with bad knees when he went on that run at the end of the year.

You don't understand what I am saying.

I'm not trying to compare Daics to Plugger. The OP is opining that Daics is underrated. I am saying that when he played, his feats were not as "WOW" factor because it was a time when big bags of goals were a regular occurence. that's why he is perhaps underrated.

If he came out and kicked 8, 8, 13, 6 today, he'd be the hottest player in the league and numb nuts like Leigh Matthews would be crowning him the greatest player ever (ref Buddy Franklin).

Back then, the big bags didn't get the headlines. As I said as an example, at the time Daics kicked 8,8,13, 6.....Lockett kicked 10, 13, 11 and 9....so Daics efforts were somewhat overshadowed. That is unfair on him because as you say, for a non-key position player, his ability to kick bags was extraordinary.

BTW....Daics was not 19 in 1991.

Perhaps on the bench in place of Diesel. Diesel was good, but Daics was on a level all of his own.

Having said that, it's hard to believe that the 2 greatest goal scorers in the game didn't get a guernsey either.

2 Brownlows (and narrowly missing a third), a premiership and Norm Smith would suggest otherwise. His handballs and midfield engine were legendary.

pure class and a genuine superstar no argument there at all.... saw him at the mcg in 81 against the tigers he was awesome including one goal from about 65meters off two steps bang strait thru the middle wow he could do it all and a ripping bloke as well ( might have to wash my mouth out now after all this collingwood praise) good thread well written and good on ya daics:thumbsu:

Back then, the big bags didn't get the headlines. As I said as an example, at the time Daics kicked 8,8,13, 6.....Lockett kicked 10, 13, 11 and 9....so Daics efforts were somewhat overshadowed. That is unfair on him because as you say, for a non-key position player, his ability to kick bags was extraordinary.

I didn't say he was 19 in '91, I said he was a 19 year old midfielder when he started kicking bags of goals.

I also completely understand your point, that large bags of goals were a regular occurence, and my counter point is that they weren't regular occurences from wingmen or small flankers.

Lethal was kicking bags like that too and he was a mid then forward later on, not bad company to keep though!

Daicos was a true legend of the game and should be inducted in the HOF as one. As a Collingwood hating Blues man that saw him and many other good players play in his time, very few surpassed his skill. His love for the Pies and footy should be revered. Best Pies player since the 60's (including Buckley).

Perhaps on the bench in place of Diesel. Diesel was good, but Daics was on a level all of his own.

Having said that, it's hard to believe that the 2 greatest goal scorers in the game didn't get a guernsey either.
there was talk a few years ago of adding another player on the bench of afl team of century so it would be 4 on the bench as is customry now i think daics would sit nicely next to god. captain blood .and deisel:thumbsu:

Sure. But we were far more blase about goal kicking then. In those last rounds of 1991 that you talk about....Daicos kicked 8,8,13, 6.......Lockett kicked 13,10,11 and 9.

I remember when Milne kicked 11 goals a couple of years ago, it got about 3 pages in the Hun because bags of 10 are rare these days. In Daics days, Plugger did it 22 times, Dunstall 12 and Ablett 13.

Daicos's goals would have just been in the Collingwood match report because basically everyone around him was kicking bags.

It is not to downplay his efforts, just to say that in the era he played, they would not have gotten the kudos he would have in say today's era.

And I know Daicos was a small forward, not a full forward but I am talking about the coverage and kudos big bags of goals got in those days.

Yes, but luckily for us - Hudson and Daicos still had Hall-of-Fame worthy careers, despite being robbed of their prime.

A credit to both of them.

Outstanding. Watch the highlights reel, 50% of the footage is from finals!

You don't understand what I am saying.

I'm not trying to compare Daics to Plugger. The OP is opining that Daics is underrated. I am saying that when he played, his feats were not as "WOW" factor because it was a time when big bags of goals were a regular occurence. that's why he is perhaps underrated.

If he came out and kicked 8, 8, 13, 6 today, he'd be the hottest player in the league and numb nuts like Leigh Matthews would be crowning him the greatest player ever (ref Buddy Franklin).

Ricmel, I get what you're saying but a bit of selective editing....I first pointed out that at 19 in his second full year (82) he started the season with 6,6,6,7 and 9 goals as a midfielder! I then showed the stats for his his 90/91 years when whilst bags of goals were common -they were mainly from KPF's.
The other thing is HIS bags were full of miracle goals also which made it that much greater to behold.

And before you say I'm biased,

He was a great player but your definitely biased..

Once in a generation? What exact generation was that? Are we talking the 80's, the 90's or both combined? Are we purely talking about small forwards? Because if not there are even more I'd take ahead of him.

James Hird.. clearly a better player in every way and would be picked before Daics... perhaps not as skilled.. but would be more likely to get you over the line.. Also cut down in his prime yet fought his way back from continuous injury to captain a premiership winning a Norm Smith in the process.

All those freaky goals from Macedonian marvel yet his career average sits at 18 pos and 2 goals and won 2 B&F’s… must have been some average games. Hardly once in a generation career.. Let’s not forget he played at full forward, so lets not deflect from the fact that the ball was often going to him unlike say Milne at St Kilda or even Didak now especially in that era.

From 1979 – 1981, the Pies lost the granny.. where was this special young talent on those three days? Certainly didn’t pull a Jonathan Brown in 2001. Sure he got cut down from injury.. but we don’t rate players on what coulda been otherwise John Coleman is the greatest player of all time.

In 1990.. 7 possesions, 2 goals in a pumping. Unbelievable player.. but once in a generation.. I think not.

Ricmel, I get what you're saying but a bit of selective editing....I first pointed out that at 19 in his second full year (82) he started the season with 6,6,6,7 and 9 goals as a midfielder! I then showed the stats for his his 90/91 years when whilst bags of goals were common -they were mainly from KPF's.
The other thing is HIS bags were full of miracle goals also which made it that much greater to behold.

Yeah I agree, great player and I think that he is perhaps not given the status he deserves because at the time he played his numbers were not that extraordinary....he played in an extraordinary era.

The flipside way of looking at it....imagine Buddy Franklin playing in the era of Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett....he'd be an Alan Jakovich blip on the history of the game.....not being hailed the greatest player ever by associated numb nuts.

Some eras are just the right time for the right player.

If Daics was playing today and kicking the goals he was back then I have little doubt we'd be calling him one of the all time greats.

All those freaky goals from Macedonian marvel yet his career average sits at 18 pos and 2 goals and won 2 B&F’s… must have been some average games. Hardly once in a generation career.. Let’s not forget he played at full forward, so lets not deflect from the fact that the ball was often going to him unlike say Milne at St Kilda or even Didak now especially in that era.

such a stupid post but ill bite anyway....

football back when Daicos playing wasn't a possesion game, how many B&F's did Ablett win? a player most who saw him rank in their top 3 off all time.

Once in a generation? What exact generation was that? Are we talking the 80's, the 90's or both combined? Are we purely talking about small forwards? Because if not there are even more I'd take ahead of him.

James Hird.. clearly a better player in every way and would be picked before Daics... perhaps not as skilled.. but would be more likely to get you over the line.. Also cut down in his prime yet fought his way back from continuous injury to captain a premiership winning a Norm Smith in the process.

From 1979 – 1981, the Pies lost the granny.. where was this special young talent on those three days? Certainly didn’t pull a Jonathan Brown in 2001. Sure he got cut down from injury.. but we don’t rate players on what coulda been otherwise John Coleman is the greatest player of all time.

In 1990.. 7 possesions, 2 goals in a pumping. Unbelievable player.. but once in a generation.. I think not.

The majority of posts from non pies supporters on here would suggest otherwise!

Oh and calling me biased (and I know u know who I am!) YOU ARE THE MOST BIASED fan I know and quite frankly too young to know anything about Daicos...so leave this thread to those who saw him play and I'll debate it with you the next time I see you!

I used to think that some of his goals were complete arses but when he'd keep scoring them week after week you just knew that the guy had an incredible talent. Pity he had to play at Collingwood.

really respect the response and recognition in this thread but herein lies the problem as to why he is slightly downgraded in the pantheon of all time greats etc buckley suffers from this massivley (but I dont want to spark a buckley debate - just illustrating a point)

Just imagine Gary Ablett played for the Pies...do you think he would still have the same adoration?

LOL.
If you had actually seen him play, whole games, in his era, you would be bagging your own post right now.

I'm sad for you not only because you didn't see Daicos play but a dozen or so more great players in that era.

Stats......I think the property stewards kept the stats back then.:confused:

The majority of posts from non pies supporters on here would suggest otherwise!

Oh and calling me biased (and I know u know who I am!) YOU ARE THE MOST BIASED fan I know and quite frankly too young to know anything about Daicos...so leave this thread to those who saw him play and I'll debate it with you the next time I see you!

I've seen him play. There is no doubting he was a great player but to suggest that he is once in a generation is a bit of a stretch. It indicates that he was better than everyone else.. yet when you look at what he actually achieved.. there are many others who achieved more in the same generation..

If your talking about freaky goals then his right up there.. but there were better players..

And nobody is more biased than you.. nobody..

Funny how your username is magicpants when you tend not to wear them.. is that why they are magic?

I've seen him play. There is no doubting he was a great player but to suggest that he is once in a generation is a bit of a stretch. It indicates that he was better than everyone else.. yet when you look at what he actually achieved.. there are many others who achieved more in the same generation..

If your talking about freaky goals then his right up there.. but there were better players..

And nobody is more biased than you.. nobody..

Funny how your username is magicpants when you tend not to wear them.. is that why they are magic?

This flog was no doubt born after 1987. NFI

[/B]

he is slightly downgraded in the pantheon of all time greats etc buckley suffers from this massivley

Aww.. poor Daics doesn't get the credit he deserves because he plays for Collingwood and everyone suffers from magpie jealousy so he isn't placed on the pedestal he should be..

Oh and Bucks should be regarded as the greatest player to every play the game..

such a stupid post but ill bite anyway....

football back when Daicos playing wasn't a possesion game, how many B&F's did Ablett win? a player most who saw him rank in their top 3 off all time.

LOL.
If you had actually seen him play, whole games, in his era, you would be bagging your own post right now.

I'm sad for you not only because you didn't see Daicos play but a dozen or so more great players in that era.

Stats......I think the property stewards kept the stats back then.:confused:

Then why dont you reply to the unbiased people above who questioned your post? And again you were too young to comment on this one, seeing him on you tube vids or whatever is not enough..sorry!

Daicos - A Once in a Generation Player

Write your reply...