Opinion Daisy Thomas (interrupted pre season)

• Thread starter Thread starter blaze036

I have an opinion/theory... so do you.

If you don't want to have a debate then don't.
I am holding a coin in my hand. I have not looked at the coin but I can tell you from the shape that it's a 50-cent-piece. Let's have a debate about what year it was minted. You go first.

As already posted, the main issue now is bringing Thomas back carefully and prime him to be available and fit for the finals. We have a wealth of new players to trial as well as a few vital players back from injury. Daisy needs a good fitness base as well as the ability to sprint, which evaded him following the Sydney game when the injury occurred.

In the H&A match against Hawthorn, I was behind the box and saw Daisy break into a limp as he crossed the boundary line. He couldn't run at pace, and watching him was kind of sad because you knew he could only produce a burst or two a game of gut churning speed, when his ankle pain must have been extreme, though his post half time cameos probably followed a half time jab.

Hopefully we won't need Thomas to win early games. Maybe the other Thomas will keep the surname on the team sheet. One of the most enjoyable experiences as a supporter is watching new players develop within a winning team structure.

Is Goldsack in full training?

I am holding a coin in my hand. I have not looked at the coin but I can tell you from the shape that it's a 50-cent-piece. Let's have a debate about what year it was minted. You go first.

No disrespect intended to other posters, but TRS is killing it!

I just don't know why so many are working themselves into a frenzy, so to speak, over something we have so little inside info on.

Daisy and Goldy's situations are frustrating, but not everything goes your way and maybe our new-found depth will allow for others to step in early so that we don't have to rush them anyway.

As already posted, the main issue now is bringing Thomas back carefully and prime him to be available and fit for the finals. We have a wealth of new players to trial as well as a few vital players back from injury. Daisy needs a good fitness base as well as the ability to sprint, which evaded him following the Sydney game when the injury occurred.

In the H&A match against Hawthorn, I was behind the box and saw Daisy break into a limp as he crossed the boundary line. He couldn't run at pace, and watching him was kind of sad because you knew he could only produce a burst or two a game of gut churning speed, when his ankle pain must have been extreme, though his post half time cameos probably followed a half time jab.

Hopefully we won't need Thomas to win early games. Maybe the other Thomas will keep the surname on the team sheet. One of the most enjoyable experiences as a supporter is watching new players develop within a winning team structure.

Is Goldsack in full training?
This is what I do not understand about Thomas and the severity of his injury if you as a non medical person could see that he was in serious trouble for the 2nd part of season why did,nt the medical staff and why was it left for 6 wks before deciding to do something about it.

I liked and agreed with the poster who said Thomas should still do a full pre season even if it does put him behind the others,what I do not like about this situation and I am not willing to gloss over is that serious errors of judgment have been made about Thomas,s medical problem and with the benefit of hindsight this is now evident.

Collingwood like all other clubs need to get as many things right as possible to have success and in this case they have not.

all the best mate
you aren't doing your argument many favours.....it is extremely difficult to read your posts.
in an ideal world thomas would have had the surgery at seasons end......that is not being disputed. The fact is you use the benefit of hindsight to make your point, without hindsight it is standard practice to try and avoid surgery if possible.
Im not sure why you need to mention whether you rate me for i have no feelings in relation to you whatsoever.
I made a mistake in saying I over rated you when clearly ratings have nothing to do with you or your opinions I should of course have said I credited you with some sense and clearly some of your replies show that was an error of judgment on my part.

Ps I also have no thoughts on you but I will answer people back when people make snide comments about morons,Now have a nice day and if you want to keep the argument going I am happy to do so.

This is what I do not understand about Thomas and the severity of his injury if you as a non medical person could see that he was in serious trouble for the 2nd part of season why did,nt the medical staff and why was it left for 6 wks before deciding to do something about it.

I liked and agreed with the poster who said Thomas should still do a full pre season even if it does put him behind the others,what I do not like about this situation and I am not willing to gloss over is that serious errors of judgment have been made about Thomas,s medical problem and with the benefit of hindsight this is now evident.

Collingwood like all other clubs need to get as many things right as possible to have success and in this case they have not.

I know a couple of people in this thread are of this belief, I still can't see how they have made such a leap though.
Where is the evidence to make such strong statements like the medical staff not knowing the severity of Thomas' injury and claiming someone in the stand has done a better job than them, and serious errors of judgement.

I am guessing those of this opinion will stick with it however I'd love to see some evidence.

Always very disappointing when you hear players not go straight into surgery and consequently waste a month of two of preseason, but I'm not a doctor and nor I assume is anybody else on this thread.

Personally (and again I'm not a doctor) I would have pulled up stumps on Daisy's season in about August, at about the time Krak and BJ returned.

That is just my opinion nothing official obviously.

After the prelim the club said Thomas and club doctors met and decided it was best to wait until after the break to see if surgery was needed... it was needed and thomas has now lost 8 weeks of preseason. This incident was either because, our highly professional and experienced team of doctors made an error of judgement on the severity of Thomas's injury, OR Thomas didn't want to have the surgery during his break as he was planning to go overseas already and have a great time.

I know which one i'd put my money on.

It is almost certainly the first one.

Do you really think the club would accept Thomas saying no to surgery because he wanted to go on a break, even if it meant him missing preseason?

The club thought that both he and Goldy's injuries would get better with time. They were wrong. Surgery was required.

It is almost certainly the first one.

Do you really think the club would accept Thomas saying no to surgery because he wanted to go on a break, even if it meant him missing preseason?

The club thought that both he and Goldy's injuries would get better with time. They were wrong. Surgery was required.

The truth s probably somewhere in the middle.

Who cares. Its happened, nothing that can be done about it now.

Yeah, the whole Thomas and Goldsack thing seems to be a stuff up from the start, they should have had surgery straight after the prelim, and if they were given the choice not to have surgery then that's just as big a mistake as delaying it as a medical mistake IMO.

They are paid by the club, and paid well, if they need surgery it shouldn't be a choice as to when they have it (assuming they had a choice).

Assuming is a big call Matty. I very much doubt that players have a choice when it comes to surgery. Given the professional manner in which the club operates i don't see any reason to doubt the approach to these injuries.

The truth s probably somewhere in the middle.

Who cares. Its happened, nothing that can be done about it now.

True words, i was pretty angry that thomas may have another down year because i want to see him at his best so bad. What's done is done and hopefully thomas can have a big year

I'd be pretty confident in saying that both Goldy and Daisy would have been following the club doctors advice.
I can't see ANY player in the league being able to over rule a doctors decision if they are under contract.

I'd be pretty confident in saying that both Goldy and Daisy would have been following the club doctors advice.
I can't see ANY player in the league being able to over rule a doctors decision if they are under contract.

Players get to choose whether they want lars or traditional knee surgery regardless of what the club/club doctor wants them to do. Players have plenty of say, it is their body and the AFLPA has never been more influential in protecting player rights.

every decision would be made in consultation with the club
they are employees of the club after all, the club pays their wages
many factors would be taken into account, stage of career etc
to use the word "regardless" ie that the player makes decisions "regardless" of the club is misguided i believe

They can choose that option but they can't choose whether the surgeon they're consulting will perform the procedure. If you want LARS you'll generally go to a surgeon who routinely performs the procedure, and not everybody does.

In most cases it would be highly unusual for a player to disregard the advice of an orthopedic specialist, in the event they strongly recommended surgery. Their expert opinion is the reason you go there. When presented with a range of options of similar validity, and the player's career doesn't hinge on the outcome, then you might just leave it entirely up to the player without making a strong recommendation for one option over another.

They can choose that option but they can't choose whether the surgeon they're consulting will perform the procedure. If you want LARS you'll generally go to a surgeon who routinely performs the procedure, and not everybody does.

In most cases it would be highly unusual for a player to disregard the advice of an orthopedic specialist, in the event they strongly recommended surgery. Their expert opinion is the reason you go there. When presented with a range of options of similar validity, and the player's career doesn't hinge on the outcome, then you might just leave it entirely up to the player without making a strong recommendation for one option over another.
It could be that, or ridiculous statements could just be ridiculous statements.;)

Dig up stupid!!!:p

Firstly, apologies if this has already been discussed at all. I did a search and couldn't find anything about my opinion on Daisy...so here goes.

We all know Daisy has now had an interrupted preseason, going on the training thread last week which talks about Daisy's moonbot for four or five pages.

Anyway, I was flicking channels on Foxtel this arvo and naturally checked out fox footy. Pies v Freo match was on and I started watching. Daisy was playing from the goalsquare and late in the third quarter he showed brilliant reading of the play on two occasions and remarkably strong hands. I like to refer to them as one grab hands. Daisy is excellent at taking one grab marks!

It got me thinking about the Gold Coast game last year also, which I distinctly remember Daisy playing from the goalsquare on occasions and leading his opponent on a merry dance. Admittedly his opponent was a first or second year player, but you can only beat whoever is on you. From memory Daisy kicked 2-3 goals and was our most influential player. I haven't researched thoroughly, so I'm just going on memory alone and happy to be corrected.

Daisy also posseses elite pace, endurance and hardness at the ball, which are fabulous strengths to have if you are playing in the forward line or goalsquare as it may be. This would also serve him well to apply enormous defencive pressure on his direct opponent or any opponent who possesses the ball in the Pies forward line. You just know that he will harrass and chase all day long and give a terrific contest.

So my suggestion is this: Bucks should ease Daisy into the season for the first 5-6 rounds playing predominantly as a forward. In light of Daisy not being able to train for six weeks and propably not able to train at full capacity for the best part of 10 weeks, this would be perfect for him and for the team. He wouldn't have to run nearly as many kilometres as he would if he was playing his customary role on the wing or in the cetre square.

Daisy as a forward would be an incredibly hard matchup for opposition defensive coaches. The defender would need to be super fast, have an elite ability to read the play and somehow try to stop Daisy wreaking havoc. If he gets on a roll, Daisy is almost unstoppable. Hell, the defender could do everything right and position himself perfectly to stop the ball being delivered lace out to Daisy and BOOM, next thing you know he sits on your head, puts his knee in your back as a stepladder and takes the mark anyway.

The one and only thing that Daisy lacks is the ability to consistently kick the goals that he should. You know, the ones from 20-40 metres out on a slight angle which he has missed more than I'd like to remember.

Last but not least, Daisy has an x-factor that you just can't teach a footballer. He has the ability to kick a freakish goal (banana on the run in the wrong pocket for a right footer whilst running away from the goals and Ling springs to mind), and take truly amazing marks on top of an opponents shoulders.

So what do you think? Should Daisy be eased into the season playing as a forward? Or do you have a different opinion? I'm interested to read what the general consensus is on this forum.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Firstly, apologies if this has already been discussed at all. I did a search and couldn't find anything about my opinion on Daisy...so here goes.

Hi Premier Pies, yeah it was the main discussion topic of last week's training thread. Fair enough that you couldn't find it.

Thanks for creating this dedicated thread :thumbsu: - I've moved the relevant posts from the other thread into here.

Hi Premier Pies, yeah it was the main discussion topic of last week's training thread. Fair enough that you couldn't find it.

Thanks for creating this dedicated thread :thumbsu: - I've moved the relevant posts from the other thread into here.
awww shit, sorry about that 76. Thanks for fixing mate :thumbsu: