Draft Expert Davo-27's 2021 u18 Draft Thread

Tyler Sonsie (Box Hill Hawks)
  • Tyler Sonsie - Box Hill Hawks

Pros -

was able to get a decent amount of poss
    kicked 2 very good goals from distance (40m+)
    provided options on the outside and on the attack

cons -

lack of contested side of his game
    lacks defensive running
    physically small and potentially intimidated(which is understandable as a 17/18 yr old, but also potentially a worry)

i thought he did ok in some areas like providing attacking options on the outside and floating forward to kick goals(lovely kick at goal btw), but for an inside mid has a few weaknesses that he might need to work on.

Top 60 Honourable Mentions
  • im going to try my first attempt at a top 60, the purpose of this is to put out names that i think have a chance to be drafted this year, it will consist of just 18 year olds, so i'll try and leave the 19 year olds out as they get judged differently for a few reasons

1. Jason Horne
    2. Nick Daicos (Coll F/S)
    3. Matthew Johnson
    4. Josh Rachele
    5. Matthew Roberts
    6. Josh Sinn
    7. Josh Fahey
    8. Campbell Chesser
    9. Jacob Van Rooyen
    10. Tyler Sonsie
    11. Ned Long
    12. Sam Banks
    13. Neil Erasmus
    14. Toby Conway
    15. Jack Williams
    16. Finn Callaghan
    17. Cooper Hamilton
    18. Morgan Ferres
    19. Sam Darcy (WB F/S)
    20. Ben Hobbs
    21. Arlo Draper
    22. Joshua Browne
    23. Josh Gibcus
    24. Josh Goater
    25. Lewis Rayson
    26. Connor MacDonald
    27. Rhett Bazzo
    28. Josh Ward
    29. Lachlan Rankin
    30. Naisiah Wanganeen
    31. Yousef Dib (Coll NGA)
    32. Isiah Dudley (Adel NGA)
    33. Mac Andrew (Melb NGA)
    34. Blayne O'Loughlin (Adel NGA)
    35. Blake Scott (WB NGA)
    36. Scott Beilby (StK NGA)
    37. Jase Burgoyne (Port F/S)
    38. Max Chipper
    39. Hugh Jackson
    40. Cooper Murley
    41. Darcy Wilmot
    42. Hugh Hamilton
    43. Cooper Beecken
    44. Shay Linke
    45. Kade Dittmar
    46. Braden Andrews
    47. Blake Howes
    48. Jed Rule
    49. Corey Warner
    50. Jackson Archer (NM F/S)
    51. Judson Clarke
    52. Charlie Molan
    53. Jacob Young
    54. Kai Lohmann
    55. Toby Murray
    56. Luca MacNabb
    57. Lukas Cooke
    58. Jye Amiss
    59. Luke Taylor
    60. Jack Rossimel

a few more guys i wanted to add like Jai Serong, Jake Soligo, Tom Brown, Max Walton, Luke Nankervis, Jesse Motlop (Frem NGA), Matthew Dnistriansky ect

*im not as familiar with the Northern Academies guys so i may be missing a couple.

i want to put all the guys i have liked in some way out there, so i will add onto this list i did around a week ago with others players im aware of and interested in seeing how they go over a range of games.

Jai Serong - Gippsland
    Jake Soligo - Eastern
    Tom Brown - Murray
    Max Walton - Gippsland
    Luke Nankervis - Sandringham
    Jesse Motlop (Frem NGA)
    Matthew Dnistriansky
    Austin Harris - GC A
    Ned Stevens - NT/GC A
    Nathan Kay - Bendigo
    Mitchell Hallinan - Bendigo
    James Cahill - Dandenong
    Miller Bergman - Dandenong
    Greg Lord - Eastern
    Oscar Morrison - Geel
    Joel Fitzgerald - Northern
    Henry Brown - Oakleigh
    Caleb Lewis - Sandringham
    Mitch Owens - Sandringham
    Lachlan Brooks - Sandringham
    Noah Holmes - Tasmania
    Logan Elphinstone - Tasmania
    Harry McInnes - Glenlg

Select Mids 185-190cm Player Reviews
  • What are your thoughts on these 5 midfield prospects who are around the 185 to 190cm range:

Joel Trudgeon
    Charlie McKay
    Josh Green
    Jai Newcombe
    Liam Conway

Are they all draftable? Who would you prefer?

Joel Trudgeon - is interesting, he is a good mark as a forward and kind of plays the Jarrod Berry style in midfield, although im not sure if he could step up to the level? he is one i like but im not sure of, if that makes sense?, lacks a bit of athleticism

Josh Green - is more of a tall defender, he is Tom Green's brother, i have not seen him play midfield, i've only seen him play KPD. he was a chance of being picked up late last draft, but wasnt

Jai Newcombe - has been one of Box Hill's best mids this year, tough and courageous inside mid, who could possibly make the step up?

Liam Conway - has looked ok, but i dont think he is draftable at this stage, a club might want to give him an opportunity?

Charlie McKay - he has been OK for Sandringham, another i dont think is draftable, but might be given an opportunity?

Mid-Season Draft Player Preview
  • the mid season draft is 2 weeks away, i can talk about the 19 year olds and what options are out there

from previous draft pools, names such as Tyrone Thorne, Jackson Callow, Luke Partington and Oliver Davis have been talked about as possible pick ups.

Thorne i really liked his Championships form, he was in the WA winning team and looked like a quality little forward, very small and slightly framed, he has since put together an impressive WAFL resume.
    Callow has been ok without setting the world on fire, he had a good game the other week and was a strong target at pre-season training with the Hawks although we had Lewis, Kosi and Jeka already as potential fits at this stage and he wasnt tried as a defender during his stay so it wasnt a good fit i guess?
    Davis has been solid without starring in many of his Tassie games and now has a chance to impress Adelaide recruiters playing in the SANFL for the next few weeks
    Partington has been a good midfielder for awhile now, was on WCE list a few seasons ago and has been top tier in the WAFL and now SANFL for seasons, he might get given a chance this time around

from the NAB League i have liked the look of a few 19 year olds, mainly the 3 rucks and a couple of others who might get drafted or at least looked at, they are Jacob Edwards, Max Heath, Ned Moyle, Chance Doultree

Jacob Edwads has already had a heap of press, he is a flexible ruck in that he can be a tap ruck or a tall forward with a good mark and good movement on the field, also has kicked a few goals this season
    Max Heath is more your strongly built ruck man who specialises tap rucking and marking around the ground
    Ned Moyle is also a strongly built ruck man who specialises in tap rucking and marking around the ground, he has had a good run of form for Collingwood in the VFL sharing the ruck duties the last 3 weeks
    Chance Doultree has been very impressive in the NAB League this season and deserves a look before the draft takes place imo.

Mid-Season Draft Player Preview (part 2)
  • A few 19 year olds from the NAB League i think could be a chance to be picked up in the MSD, although it seems there might only be a couple outside of the 3 rucks if they nominate? (Edwards, Heath, Moyle and Doultree are my top 4 from the NAB League)

Luke Cleary - from Sandringham, 189cm half back who i remember from 2019 and has been great so far in 2021, just a reliable defender, classy kid

Cody Raak - 192cm half back, has had a lot of poss and intercept marks from wayward kicks playing mostly loose in defence, im still not sold on him, but has put in the work to be a chance.

Joel Trudgeon - 185cm mid or forw, he plays taller than he is, really tough inside mid, lacks a bit of athleticism though, i have mixed feelings because i like him as a footballer, but im not sure whether clubs will take a chance on him?

Dylan Thomas - 187cm forward, good clever, agile and strong maori forw, kind of plays like Curtis Taylor, lacks a lit athleticism but is tough and knows where the goals are

Eren Soylemez - small forw who has looked good for Sandy this season, bit small at 178cm, but he knows where the goals are

Another couple who look to have improved a bit and could be smokies, Noah Gribble and Jye Menzie.

Talent Tiers First Attempt
  • In previous years i have attempted to put out tiers of where i think the young talent is at when compairing them to one another and here is my first attempt this year

Elite: Horne, Daicos

Top Tier: Roberts, Rachele, Sinn, Fahey, Johnson, Chesser, Erasmus, Darcy, Van Rooyen, Williams, Sonsie, Banks, Long, Callaghan, T.Conway

3rd Tier: C.Hamilton, Browne, Ferres, Gibcus, Goater, Draper, MacDonald, Rayson, Hobbs, Rankin

This 27 are for me the best talent in the pool i have seen so far, but im sure things will change once we see the championships later in the year.

Top 20 14th June Update
  • Top 20 update

1. Jason Horne - i still have him as pick 1, i just like his physicality and readiness that he has shown in the sanfl, he could have better production to make it a certainty, i have a funny feeling Daicos might be bid at pick 1 anyway as a way to make them pay and theres very little between them so i think its the most likely outcome (Daicos being bid at 1 even though he isnt the clear best, similar to how JUH wasnt clear best and went at 1 imo)

2. Nick Daicos - love his production, whether it be NAB League, school footy or the VFL game, he hunts the ball and is clean with disposal, he is also impressive at goal kicking, has few flaws and will likely be bid at 1 as i have previously pointed out as he is on equal standing with Horne imo and North would be happy with either.

this is where it gets complicated because there is a group of guys who could go from 3-10 and its hard to separate them at this stage, but i will put out who i think could go where

3. Matthew Roberts - unfortunately injured himself recently, i have liked his form in the sanfl quite a bit, strong bodied, moves like a Treloar, long left foot kick and is equally a natural forward as he is a midfielder, so has flexibility in position, can burst out of the centre or mark on the lead, theres a lot to like about his footy imo.

4. Josh Rachele - i loved his form in 2019 and so far has been good for Murray and was a stand out in an otherwise poor day for the AFL Academy with a 55m goal and some tough contested possessions that highlighted his competitiveness and ability to step up to the level, as a small forward he is more likely to go 5-10, but i like him as the 4th best at this stage pre-champs

5. Josh Sinn - i have been critical of his kicking accuracy at times, but his speed, run and carry and contested marks for a wing/hbf are really impressive, i remember liking Isaac Smith a lot prior to his draft year and there are similarities with Josh Sinn to his game, tall wings/hbf who have penetrating kicks, both good endurance, both good production in that they know how to get the ball a lot and both are goal kicking wings which gives them scoring power to their games when they go forward, also both can line break and kick over set defences, but both lack a bit of contested and defensive game as in tackling ect, very similar types imo

6. Josh Fahey - i have him here mostly off of his AFL Academy game where he was the best performing Academy player from my PoV, his courage, defensive work as well as his run and carry were highlights of a dour game for the Academy, he not only stepped up to the VFL competitive standard but looked like he was better than most of his opponents as a 17 year old, which is why i think he will go top 10 somewhere.

7. Campbell Chesser - a player i have only seen in a couple of games, but i have liked what i have seen of him, composed and clean, i would like to see more to solidify my read, but a classy player for Sandringham

8. Neil Erasmus - a player i really liked from his WAFL Colts performance last year IN 2020 and knew he was something special straight away, since then he has taken the WAFL Colts by storm and put in one of the better performances in the AFL Academy game where his strong marking and clean disposal was on show for all to see, i liken him to Mark Le Cras from WCE in years gone by, but now that he is adding a midfield side to his game he could be anything.

9. Finn Callaghan - from round 1 he has stood out as a quality player, i like his evasiveness on field, his quality disposal, his run and carry, similar in stature to Sinn both around 189cm and a similar weight, Callaghan is more the pure midfielder where he has tricks and skills that work better, but Sinn has that burst and athletic power that puts him ahead at this stage i think.

10. Matthew Johnson - i really like this tall midfielder from WA, he was also a player that stood out in the WAFL Colts GF last year, as well as winning some important poss in the AFL Academy game, his debut in the WAFL was decent as a half back, but its not his natural position and so he didnt get impressive numbers, but i liked how he handled himself nonetheless, has gone back to Colts and seems to be doing better playing in his natural position as inside mid who can roam.

11. Sam Darcy - he is the flavour of the month it seems, in the first NAB League game i saw him play he wasnt one of the best or got a lot of the ball, but i noted that he kicked a wonderful goal and that he moved well, the next game which i saw was when he absolutely dominated the air from half back, marking everything and dominating the air, since then he has dominated school footy kicking 5,4,5 goals in each game i believe, he has the stature of a King Brother, but im unsure on his speed, which could hold him back from being a top 5 pick imo.

12. Tyler Sonsie - this is controversial because everyone else has him as pick 3 it seems, to me he seems a mix between Jack Billings and Jade Gresham, small goal kicking mid/forw that is more outside than inside, i like his goal kicking, i like his outside HR play, his disposal was a bit disappointing at times for me in the few games i have seen as well as the disappointment of his performance in the AFL Academy game compared to his peers, his VFL game was average other than his 2 wonderful goals and a good tackle in the 4th quarter, he kicked the ball to grass too often for my liking and seemed to get spooked in the AFL Academy game ducking a marking effort when no one was near him late in the game, which makes me wonder if he has some fears in contested situations, but he has heaps of talent and no one can deny that.

13. Ned Long - strong bodied mid/forw, he has been impressive for Northern in every game i have seen, his disposal is good, he is strong in the contest, when he goes forward he kicks bags of goals, theres no flaws i can see so far in his game, he is the type Richmond loves to recruit, hard, honest and contested.

14. Sam Banks - i really like Banks' athletic qualities as well as his disposal, run and carry and when he goes forward his goal kicking, he has played mostly half back this year and hurt his arm, but he looks like the 3rd best outside player in a year where mids are the flavour of the 2021 draft.

15. Jack Williams - seems to be having a good year in the WAFL Colts this year, i liked his lead and goal in the AFL Academy game, good lead, mark, goal type forward, with the lack of KPPs of substance, he is likely to go first round

16. Jacob Van Rooyen - another KPF from WA, i really liked his game last year again in the WAFL Colts GF, where he led all day and took some wonderful marks, has struggled to impact the WAFL this year and has been diagnosed with glandular fever i believe? so hopefully we see more of him later in the year with better form

17. Toby Conway - i have really liked the games i have seen him play, for Geelong he is just a dominant ruckman and his around the ground work is really good, in the AFL Academy game i thought he was quite good as the around the ground ruck behind Ned Moyle who took the main ruck spot, i thought Conway was good even though that game was rough for the Academy.

18. Morgan Ferres - more of a 3rd tall forward, he has a good style to how he plays, good lead and mark and can kick a bag of goals which is important, one of a good crop of SA kids popping up recently

19. Cooper Hamilton - solidly built midfielder, i have liked his games for Bendigo and his AFL Academy game form, he always seems to win a bunch of poss and is a solid distributor of the footy

20. Connor MacDonald - another one i spotted in round 1 as a type i wanted to see more of, has been very impressive and is a good mark for his size.

SA u17 V WA u17 Player Reviews
  • SA u17 V WA u17 - SA won 56 - 53 in a good contest, many youngsters look likely to be drafted from these 2 teams

WA Best from my PoV
    1. Jack Cleaver - strong bodied, smooth moving mid, beautiful disposal, kicked a nice goal from distance
    2. Daniel Curtain - tall intercept marking defender, uses the ball smartly as well
    3. Alex Condon - best ruck on the day, won many taps, clearances and marks
    4. Luke Michael - good intercepting General defender, also uses the ball quickly and makes good quick decisions
    5. Koen Sanchez - small general mid/forw, kicked 2 much needed goals and provided some carry on the wings
    6. Jedd Busslinger - medium sized defender, intercepting and general rebounder
    7. Jed Hagan - tough inside mid, I don't think he had big numbers, but was affective when he impacted the game
    8. Sam Gilbey - slim hbf with good hands and run, brave and good footy IQ
    9. Mitch Williams - strong marking for who kicked 2 late goals to nearly snatch the win for WA
    10. Conrad Williams - provided run and carry, very small frame, nice kick

A few other players deserve a mention... Elijah Hewett and Tyzreise Clark

SA Best from my PoV
    1. Adam D'Aloia - inside mid doing all the dirty work for the team, good tackler and won a heap of poss and clearances
    2. Jack Delean - quality small forward, ended up with 3 goals as a reward for good forward craft
    3. Max Michalanny - tall defender who had a good game with intercept marking, general defensive work and rebound
    4. Nick Sandler - kept running all day and provided good disposal through the mid and hb
    5. Jaiden Magor - a classy mover and good disposal, had another good game playing for SA
    6. Will Patton - good intercept marking tall defender, good rebound and general defensive play
    7. Isaac Keeler - played KPF instead of ruck, kicked 2 goals and moves very well for a forw
    8. Tyson Walls - good disposal, ran hard all game and put in a good 4 quarter effort
    9. Koby Cockshell - had a big 2nd half, good size and strong in the air

A few mentions... Mattaes Phillipou, Tom Wheaton, Will Verrall, Harry Barnett.

Top 40 24th June Update
  • Top 40 update

1. Jason Horne - 184cm 78kg - South Adel
    2. Nick Daicos - 183cm 72kg - Oakleigh (Coll F/S)
    3. Finn Callaghan - 189cm 82kg - Sandringham
    4. Josh Sinn - 186cm 72kg - Sandringham
    5. Matthew Roberts - 183cm 81kg - South Adel
    6. Josh Fahey - 186cm 76kg - GWS A (GWS A)
    7. Neil Erasmus - 188cm 80kg - Subiaco
    8. Sam Darcy - 203cm 75kg - Oakleigh (WB F/S)
    9. Josh Rachele - 180cm 78kg - Murray
    10. Matthew Johnson - 191cm 80kg - Subiaco
    11. Campbell Chesser - 186cm 83kg - Sandringham
    12. Ned Long - 192cm 88kg - Northern
    13. Tyler Sonsie - 181cm 76kg - Eastern
    14. Jacob Van Rooyen - 194cm 88kg - Claremont
    15. Jack Williams - 195cm 91kg - East Frem
    16. Sam Banks - 187cm 73kg - Tasmania
    17. Joshua Browne - 185cm 77kg - East Frem
    18. Ben Hobbs - 183cm 80kg - GWV
    19. Arlo Draper - 185cm 74kg - South Adel
    20. Morgan Ferres - 190cm 80kg - Sturt
    21. Josh Gibcus - 195cm 84kg - GWV
    22. Connor MacDonald - 184cm 77kg - Dandenong
    23. Lewis Rayson - 181cm 64kg - Glenlg
    24. Toby Conway - 204cm 90kg - Geelong
    25. Josh Goater - 190cm 79kg - Calder
    26. Cooper Hamilton - 182cm 86kg - Bendigo
    27. Darcy Wilmot - 182cm 70kg - Northern
    28. Lachlan Rankin - 182cm 68kg - Oakleigh
    29. Josh Ward - 181cm 74kg - Northern
    30. Rhett Bazzo - 195cm 81kg - Swan Dist
    31. Jye Amiss - 195cm 83kg - East Perth
    32. Jase Burgoyne - 184cm 62kg - WWT
    33. Luca MacNabb - 183cm 75kg - Sandringham
    34. Yousef Dib - 174cm 76kg - Oakleigh (Coll NGA)
    35. Cooper Murley - 178cm 70kg - Norwood
    36. Kade Dittmar - 186cm 90kg - East Perth
    37. Tom Brown - 186cm 71kg - Murray
    38. Kai Lohmann - 185cm 76kg - GWV
    39. Jackson Archer - 183cm 70kg - Northern (NM F/S)
    40. Jack Rossimel - 193cm 89kg - Northern

I will update with heights, weights, club and state on another day, Callaghan seems to be the big mover, Erasmus has also moved up with big Colts and School footy performances, Ferres drops a little because of his 3rd tall status, Amiss has risen a little with his Colts form going at near 4 goals a game, MacNabb and Dittmar are interesting prospects I wanted to mention, Tom Brown is an athlete, so I'm guessing clubs will love his combine results, Archer is in good form, Lohmann and Rossimel play an exciting brand of footy as well, there's another 20-30 I could mention, but pre-champs I'm liking these players best.

Thoughts for 2022 & 2023 Drafts
  • my thoughts on future drafts.

(2022) I can do a rough 25 best that i have seen in the u17 champs, dont take it too seriously, but i like the look of these guys best so far

VM - Will Ashcroft, George Wardlaw, Elijah Tsatas, Harry Sheezel, Blake Drury, Cooper Harvey

VC - Oliver Hollands, Mitch Szybkowski, Aaron Cadman, Cooper Vickery, Harvey Howe, Noah Long

SA - Adam D'Aloia, Max Michalanny, Jaiden Magor, Isaac Keeler, Nick Sadler, Mattaes Phillipou

WA - Jack Cleaver, Jedd Busslinger, Alex Condon, Luke Michael, Jed Hagan, Sam Gilbey

TAS - Lachlan Cowan

a top 10 so far:
    1. Will Ashcroft - VM
    2. George Wardlaw - VM
    3. Elijah Tsatas - VM
    4. Oliver Hollands - VC
    5. Adam D'Aloia - SA
    6. Jack Cleaver - WA
    7. Max Michalanny - SA
    8. Mitch Szybkowski - VC
    9. Harry Sheezel - VM
    10. Jed Hagan - WA/Jaiden Magor - SA

What happened to Fraser Bone? SA - yet to see the Northern Academies
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(2023)
    1. Jack Delean - SA
    2. Harley Reid - VC
    3. Nick Watson - VM
    4. Daniel Curtin - WA
    5. Will Patton - SA

Tom Wheaton - SA, Koen Sanchez - WA, Tyreise Clark - WA and Zane Duursma - VC i like also.

Top 50 July
  • July Top 50, let's do it.

1. Nick Daicos
    2. Jason Horne
    3. Finn Callaghan
    4. Sam Darcy
    5. Neil Erasmus
    6. Josh Sinn
    7. Josh Fahey
    8. Matthew Roberts
    9. Josh Rachele
    10. Campbell Chesser
    11. Ben Hobbs
    12. Matthew Johnson
    13. Ned Long
    14. Josh Goater
    15. Tyler Sonsie
    16. Jack Williams
    17. Sam Banks
    18. Joshua Browne
    19. Arlo Draper
    20. Josh Gibcus
    21. Connor MacDonald
    22. Josh Ward
    23. Jacob Van Rooyen
    24. Morgan Ferres
    25. Judson Clarke
    26. Toby Conway
    27. Lewis Rayson
    28. Jye Amiss
    29. Cooper Hamilton
    30. Rhett Bazzo
    31. Lachlan Rankin
    32. Kai Lohmann
    33. Kade Dittmar
    34. Darcy Wilmot
    35. Yousef Dib
    36. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
    37. Jase Burgoyne
    38. Cooper Murley
    39. Jackson Archer
    40. Jake Soligo
    41. Jack Rossimel
    42. Tom Brown
    43. Shay Linke
    44. Isaiah Dudley
    45. Hugh Hamilton
    46. Charlie Molan
    47. Hugh Jackson
    48. Blake Scott
    49. Jed Rule
    50. Jesse Motlop

I'll be honest the last 4 players I was struggling with, so its a top 46 and 4 players I like out of the rest.

Talent Tiers July Update
  • trying to break up the draft pool into groupings again prior to the champs, some changes, i really liked Sam Darcy's games in defence, also he is kicking bags of 5 or more (3x) and another game with 4 goals in school footy and now VM trials which is a great feat(Harrison Jones kicked 4 in a Trial to put his name up as a draft hopeful and got people excited about his prospects), his athleticism, height (start of year the info was that he was 197cm, now rumoured to be 204cm with updates?)and goal kicking form have made it obvious that he is the best KPP prospect in this years draft, Finn Callaghan has something special about him and now that he has taken his outside skill to a more contested inside game where he likes to run through contests and uses it intelligently, also starting to amass good numbers, makes me think that these 2 players could join Horne and Daicos in the Elite category.

Hobbs' return from injury with great form and Goater's recent form and both their Trial form has lifted them back into the first round contention imo, Ward, Clarke and Amiss also got a boost(i made the top tier a bit more exclusive), Amiss i would like to see more of before i make a firm read(he could rise after seeing more of his footy), i still like Cooper Hamilton as he impressed me with his game a couple of times for Bendigo and in the AFL Academy, i also liked Callaghan when he was averaging 15 disposals before he exploded, it is annoying Cooper has averaged 13 disposals, but i hope he gets to add some numbers to justify my faith and some good form at the champs could help also?.

Elite: Horne, Daicos, Callaghan, Darcy (4)

Top Tier: Erasmus, Sinn, Fahey, Roberts, Rachele, Chesser, Hobbs, Johnson, Long, Goater (10)

Quality AFL Potential: Sonsie, Williams, Banks, Browne, Draper, Gibcus, MacDonald, Ward, JVR, Ferres, Clarke, Conway, Rayson, Amiss, C.Hamilton, Bazzo, Rankin, Lohmann, Dittmar, Wilmot (20)

im sure things will change after the champs, but heres an update.

VC V VM Bests
  • Big comeback in the last quarter, but VC held on to win (u17)

VC 74-65 VM

the best from my PoV

VC - Schuback, Clark, Hollands, Stevens, Long, Konstanty, George, M.Clohessy, Parkhouse, Northam

VM - Wardlaw, Watson, Drury, Teal, Windsor, Tsatas (Ashcroft if he played more than 1 1/2 quarters)

VM V VC Stand Outs
  • Just looking at my notes on the u17 champs games between the Vic Teams and i came up with players i thought stood out as the most impressive from each team

VM
    1. Wardlaw
    2. Ashcroft ( because he only played 1 game and 1 quarter before being rested)
    3. Watson (16 yo)
    4. Drury
    5. Tsatas
    6. Windsor
    7. Teal
    8. Sheezel
    9. Jefferson
    10. C.Harvey
    11. Hempel
    12. MacKenzie
    13. Payne

VC
    1. Hollands
    2. Schuback
    3. Clark
    4. Long
    5. Howe
    6. Cadman
    7. Szybkowski
    8. Vickery
    9. Stevens (16 yo)
    10. M.Clohessy
    11. Konstanty
    12. George
    13. Parkhouse
    14. Reid (16 yo)
    15. Fogarty

Lockdown Phantom Draft
  • Lockdown Phantom Draft

Pick 1 - Collingwood(bid) - Nick Daicos
    Pick 2 - Bulldogs(bid) - Sam Darcy
    Pick 3 - North Melb - Jason Horne
    Pick 4 - Hawthorn - Finn Callaghan
    Pick 5 - Adelaide - Josh Sinn
    Pick 6 - GWS - Josh Goater
    Pick 7 - GWS(bid) - Josh Fahey
    Pick 8 - Gold Coast- Ben Hobbs
    Pick 9 - Carlton - Neil Erasmus
    Pick 10 - Richmond - Campbell Chesser
    Pick 11 - Essendon - Matthew Johnson
    Pick 12 - StKilda - Josh Rachele
    Pick 13 - Fremantle - Jye Amiss
    Pick 14 - West Coast - Matthew Roberts
    Pick 15 - Sydney - Jacob Van Rooyen
    Pick 16 - Port Adel - Josh Ward
    Pick 17 - Brisbane - Jack Williams
    Pick 18 - Brisbane - Josh Gibcus
    Pick 19 - Richmond - Tyler Sonsie
    Pick 20 - Gold Coast - Ned Long
    Pick 21 - North Melb - Judson Clarke
    Pick 22 - Hawthorn - Connor MacDonald
    Pick 23 - Gold Coast(bid) - Bohdi Uwland
    Pick 24 - Adelaide - Arlo Draper
    Pick 25 - Hawthorn - Toby Conway
    Pick 26 - Carlton - Hugh Jackson
    Pick 27 - Melbourne (bid) - Mac Andrew
    Pick 28 - Richmond - Tom Brown
    Pick 29 - Geelong - Lewis Rayson
    Pick 30 - Geelong - Sam Banks

Top 40 17th July Update
  • Top 40 update

1. Jason Horne
    2. Nick Daicos
    3. Sam Darcy
    4. Finn Callaghan
    5. Matthew Roberts
    6. Josh Fahey
    7. Ben Hobbs
    8. Josh Sinn
    9. Neil Erasmus
    10. Matthew Johnson
    11. Josh Rachele
    12. Josh Ward
    13. Josh Goater
    14. Joshua Browne
    15. Campbell Chesser
    16. Ned Long
    17. Jye Amiss
    18. Josh Gibcus
    19. Jacob Van Rooyen
    20. Tyler Sonsie
    21. Arlo Draper
    22. Connor MacDonald
    23. Judson Clarke
    24. Toby Conway
    25. Sam Banks
    26. Bohdi Uwland
    27. Tom Brown
    28. Jack Williams
    29. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
    30. Mac Andrew
    31. Morgan Ferres
    32. Kai Lohmann
    33. Darcy Wilmot
    34. Cooper Hamilton
    35. Hugh Jackson
    36. Lewis Rayson
    37. Corey Warner
    38. Lachlan Rankin
    39. Jase Burgoyne
    40. Rhett Bazzo

Early Rough 2022 Rankings
  • Early Rough 2022 Ranking ranges(subject to change), things will change as i see more games before diminishing returns.

Will Ashcroft - VM - Elite - mid
    George Wardlaw - VM - Elite - mid
    Elijah Tsatas - VM - Top 10 - wing/mid
    Oliver Hollands - VC - Top 10 - mid
    Jhye Clark - VC - Top 10 - mid
    Jack Cleaver - WA - Top 10 - mid
    Adam D'Aloia - SA - Top 10 - mid
    Max Michalanny - SA - Top 10 - KPD
    Jonti Schuback - VC - 1st Round - def
    Luke Michael - WA - 1st Round - def
    Jed Hagan - WA - 1st Round - mid
    Jaiden Magor - SA - 1st Round - mid
    Isaac Keeler - SA - 1st Round - KPF/Ruck
    Blake Drury - VM - Top 30 - mid
    Kai Windsor - VM - Top 30 - mid
    Luke Teal - VM - Top 30 - def
    Harry Sheezel - VM - Top 30 - forw
    Matthew Jefferson - VM - Top 30 - KPF
    Noah Long - VC - Top 30 - mid
    Aaron Cadman - VC - Top 30 - def
    Mitch Szybkowski - VC - Top 30 - mid
    Cooper Vickery - VC - Top 30 - def
    Max Clohessy - VC - Top 30 - def
    Alex Condon - WA - Top 30 - Ruck
    Jedd Busslinger - WA - Top 30 - def
    Mitch Williams - WA - Top 30 - forw
    Sam Gilbey - WA - Top 30 - def
    Nick Saddler - SA - Top 30 - flanker
    Mattaes Phillipou - SA - Top 30 - flanker
    Tyson Walls - SA - Top 30 - mid
    Koby Cockshell - SA - Top 30 - flanker
    Lachlan Cowan - TAS - Top 30 - def

Others to keep an eye out for at mid draft...

VM - Cooper Harvey - mid, Ben Hempel - def, Cam MacKenzie - def, Matthew Payne - mid
    VC - Harvey Howe - Ruck, Jacob Konstanty - forw, Brayden George - forw, Will Parkhouse - def, Felix Fogarty - flanker, Jack O'Sullivan - mid
    WA - Elijah Hewett - mid, Conrad Williams - wing, Jacob Evitt - flanker, Kane Bevan - mid/def
    SA - Will Verall - Ruck, Harry Barnett - def/KPD?, Austin McDonald - mid, Harry Lemmey - KPF, Brodie Tuck - 3rd tall def

Have yet to see the Northern Academies kids from this age group.

Phantom Draft
  • Phantom Draft

1. Coll - Nick Daicos
    2. Western - Sam Darcy
    3. NM - Jason Horne
    4. Haw - Finn Callaghan
    5. GWS - Josh Sinn
    6. Adel - Matthew Roberts
    7. GC - Ben Hobbs
    8. Carl - Matthew Johnson
    9. StK - Josh Goater
    10. Frem - Neil Erasmus
    11. GWS - Josh Fahey
    12. Rich - Campbell Chesser
    13. Ess - Josh Rachele
    14. WCE - Joshua Browne
    15. Syd - Jye Amiss
    16. Bris - Josh Gibcus
    17. Port - Josh Ward
    18. Bris - Ned Long
    19. Rich - Tyler Sonsie
    20. GC - Jacob Van Rooyen
    21. NM - Jack Williams
    22. Haw - Connor MacDonald
    23. Haw - Toby Conway
    24. Adel - Arlo Draper
    25. GC - Darcy Wilmot

KPFs
  • The KPFs in this draft are an interesting topic, so i thought i would cover them in some detail.

Sam Darcy 204cm very athletic and similar to the King Twins from 2018, which is why he is likely to go top 5 somewhere, averages around 5 goals in APS which is impressive, kicked 6 in a Vic Metro Trial game and a couple in the VM V VC game at windy hill, as well as having a couple of monster defence games for Oakleigh where he dominated the air off half back.

Jye Amiss 195cm 83kg Full Forward with reach and good accuracy, 10 games at Colts level for 41 goals at an impressive 4.1 per game also had a good trials game and kicked 3 in another u19 warmup game, likely to go somewhere in round 1.

Jacob Van Rooyen 194cm 88kg Athletic Leading Forward (Endurance) has played some WAFL 5 games for 3 goals, has had some illness this year with glandular fever, has also had a 3 game stint at Colts kicking 10 goals at 3.3 per game, great mark, runs all day, the perfect workhorse leading forward for modern football imo, should also go first round somewhere.

Jack Williams 195cm 91kg Strong Forward, has played 9 games at colts level for 24 goals going at 2.7 per game, kicked a nice long goal for the AFL Academy earlier in the year but has struggled for form recently, might slide to 2nd round with no great point of difference.

Tiers
  • An update on where i think the players in this draft pool fall into tiers

"Soft Elite" - Daicos, Darcy, Horne, Callaghan

Tier 2 - Erasmus, Sinn, Fahey, Hobbs, Roberts, Johnson, Rachele

Tier 3 - Goater, Gibcus, Long, Ward, Chesser, Browne, Amiss, Sonsie, Van Rooyen, Draper, MacDonald, Clarke, Conway, Banks, Andrew, Lohmann, Wilmot, Brown, Wanganeen-Milera

Then there is a large group of 50+ who are talented but have some deficiencies

"Soft Elite" means they are not as Elite as previous years i think.

Academy/NGA
  • Academy/NGA+(F/S) Players i think have a good chance of being drafted (NGA in Vic cant be matched in top 20, NGA from metro cant be matched in top 40 in SA and WA)

West Coast - ?
    Fremantle - J.Motlop

Adelaide - B.O'Loughlin, I.Dudley
    Port Adelaide - J.Burgoyne

Sydney - ?
    GWS - J.Fahey

Gold Coast - B.Uwland
    Brisbane - ?

Melbourne - M.Andrew(Dand)
    StKilda - M.Owens, M.Windhager(Sand) S.Beilby(Oak)
    North Melb - J.Archer(North)
    Western - S.Darcy(Oak) B.Scott(GWV)
    Richmond - ?
    Hawthorn - ?
    Carlton - ?
    Essendon - ?
    Collingwood - N.Daicos, Y.Dib(Oak)
    Geelong - ?

Tiers
  • "Soft Elite" - Daicos, Darcy, Horne, Callaghan

Tier 2 - Erasmus, Sinn, Fahey, Hobbs, Roberts, Johnson, Rachele

Tier 3 - Goater, Gibcus, Long, Ward, Chesser, Browne, Amiss, Sonsie, Van Rooyen, Draper, MacDonald, Clarke, Conway, Banks, Andrew, Lohmann, Wilmot, Brown, Wanganeen-Milera

outside of this top 30 or so theres a larger list full of players who either have patchy form or have some query over a part of their game (but i think they are draftable)

Jack Williams, Morgan Ferres, Lewis Rayson, Cooper Hamilton, Lachlan Rankin
    Yousef Dib, Rhett Bazzo, Jase Burgoyne, Cooper Murley, Kade Dittmar
    Luca MacNabb, Jackson Archer, Blake Scott, Jack Rossimel, Isaiah Dudley
    Mitch Knevitt, Paul Curtis, Bodhi Uwland, Blake Howes, Jesse Motlop
    Cooper Beecken, Shay Linke, James Willis, Hugh Jackson, Hugh Hamilton
    Jed Rule, Mitch Owens, Marcus Windhager, Scott Beilby, Jake Soligo
    Corey Warner, Zac Taylor, Caleb Lewis, Max Chipper, Luke Nankervis
    Blayne O'Loughlin, Joel Fitzgerald, Charlie Molan, Toby Murray, Jacob Young
    Oscar Morrison, James Cahill, Luca Whitelum (maybe a couple im missing or dont rate as highly as others)

and a few 19 year olds i like
    Chance Doultree, Joel Trudgeon, Luke Cleary, Joshua Clarke

Vic Metro V Vic Country Challenge Game thoughts
  • Just watched the Vic Metro V Vic Country Challenge Game (result VM 105-49 VC)

Thoughts - Goater is much better than i thought, Ward had a strong game, Daicos had a lot of the ball but was a bit wasteful, Knevitt is much better than i thought, Chesser, Howes, Gibcus, Clarke and Sinn were a bit disappointing with their lack of impact and Sinn got injured again, MacDonald, Hobbs and Conway were impressive imo, Owens and Windhager showed the saints have 2 quality NGA's this year, Vic Metro have great depth once again whereas VC have some issues with depth which is becoming the norm, VC have quality every year but lack a bit of depth especially in their forward line this year, Rachele had some good moments in midfield in the 2nd half, Molan played one of his better games of late, Soligo provided a lot of run from the wing, Andrew was solid without dominating.

I count quality plays during games for each player which can be hard when the commentators get the names wrong about 10% of the time, but heres the scores i gave the best players for those who are interested, even though i heard people say Ward was the best i thought Goater just pipped him, but i guess 2 goals could be argued as a more valuable contribution?

VM Points
    1. Goater - 15
    2. Ward - 14 (2 goals)
    3. Daicos - 14 (2 goals)
    4. Owens - 10 (1 goal)
    5. Soligo - 9 (1 goal)
    6. Curtis - 7 (3 goals)
    7. Windhager - 7 (1 goal)
    8. Rankin - 7 (1 goal)
    9. Cleary - 7
    10. Taylor - 7
    11. Wilmot - 6
    12. Preston - 6
    13. Darcy - 5 (2 goals)
    14. Dib - 5
    15. Sinn - 5 (inj last quarter)
    Worner and Paea 1 goal each

VC Points
    1. MacDonald - 12
    2. Knevitt - 12
    3. Hobbs - 11 (1 goal)
    4. Conway - 11
    5. Rachele - 10 (1 goal)
    6. Molan - 9 (1 goal)
    7. Andrew - 8 (1 goal)
    8. Gribble - 7
    9. Brown - 7
    10. C.Hamilton - 7
    11. Morrison - 5
    12. Chesser - 5
    Clarke, Davies and Ballantyne 1 goal each

Overall best players:
    1. Goater - VM
    2. Ward - VM
    3. Daicos - VM
    4. MacDonald - VC
    5. Knevitt - VC
    6. Hobbs - VC
    7. Conway - VC
    8. Owens - VM
    9. Rachele - VC
    10. Soligo - VM
    11. Molan - VC
    12. Andrew - VC

Top 50 August update
  • Top 50 August update (after seeing some more from the draft pool, i have made some big changes)

1. Jason Horne - South Adelaide
    2. Nick Daicos - Oakleigh (Coll F/S)
    3. Sam Darcy - Oakleigh (Western F/S)
    4. Finn Callaghan - Sandringham
    5. Matthew Roberts - South Adelaide
    6. Neil Erasmus - Subiaco
    7. Josh Goater - Calder (very impressive in challenge game)
    8. Ben Hobbs - GWV
    9. Josh Fahey - GWS A
    10. Matthew Johnson - Subiaco
    11. Jye Amiss - East Perth
    12. Mitch Knevitt - Geelong (very impressive in challenge game)
    13. Joshua Browne - East Frem
    14. Ned Long - Northern
    15. Josh Rachele - Murray
    16. Josh Sinn - Sandringham (injuries and form making me drop him a bit)
    17. Josh Ward - Northern
    18. Tyler Sonsie - Eastern (lack of midfield impact)
    19. Connor MacDonald - Dandenong
    20. Jacob Van Rooyen - Claremont
    21. Toby Conway - Geelong (best ruck in the pool by a lot)
    22. Arlo Draper - South Adelaide
    23. Hugh Jackson - North Adelaide (standout in trial)
    24. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera - Glenlg (standout in trial)
    25. Josh Gibcus - GWV (form is erratic)
    26. Jake Soligo - Eastern (looked good in challenge game, commentators called him Ward a couple of times)
    27. Campbell Chesser - Sandringham (skillful but doesnt contest hard enough, plus injuries)
    28. Sam Banks - Tasmania
    29. Charlie Molan - GWV (great challenge game)
    30. Darcy Wilmot - Northern
    31. Mac Andrew - Dandenong (is a solid 2nd round option, likely to get drafted pre 20 as a reach to take away from Melb)
    32. Judson Clarke - Dandenong
    33. Corey Warner - East Frem
    34. Tom Brown - Murray
    35. Paul Curtis - Western
    36. Kai Lohmann - GWV
    37. Jack Williams - East Frem (lacking athleticism is a concern)
    38. Cooper Hamilton - Bendigo
    39. Jase Burgoyne - WWT (Port F/S)
    40. Kade Dittmar - East Perth
    41. Bodhi Uwland - GCS A
    42. Mitch Owens - Sandringham (Saints NGA)
    43. Marcus Windhager - Sandringham (Saints NGA)
    44. Lachlan Rankin - Oakleigh
    45. Lewis Rayson - Glenlg
    46. Shay Linke - Central Dist
    47. Cooper Beecken - Glenlg
    48. Jesse Motlop - South Frem (likely to go top 40 to take away from Frem NGA)
    49. Jackson Archer - Northern (North Melb F/S)
    50. Jack Rossimel - Northern

Phantom Draft - August 10th
  • Phantom Draft - August 10th (Prediction for what clubs may do)

1. NM - Jason Horne
    2. Coll - (bid) Nick Daicos
    3. Western - (bid) Sam Darcy
    4. Adel - Finn Callaghan
    5. GWS - Josh Sinn
    6. Haw - Josh Goater
    7. GC - Ben Hobbs
    8. Carl - Matthew Johnson
    9. Frem - Neil Erasmus
    10. StK - Matthew Roberts
    11. GWS - (bid) Josh Fahey
    12. Rich - Jye Amiss