Votes: 9 47.4%
  • Rublev in 5

Votes: 0 0.0%

Here is the new daily thread.

What are you achieving?
It is hard enough to even get on the pro tennis circuit, let alone crack the top 100 to play regular big prize money tournaments and GSs. Top 10 in your career is elite, because even if you can’t win a GS, you’re still in the top handful of players out of 1000s globally.

The way people talk about ADM is like he’s some div 5 scrapper playing ammos on a Saturday arvo.

It’s not the coverage, I understand that and given the public interest, it’s silly for them not to give him the most coverage. It’s the ridiculous expectations and predictions they have on our athletes that rubs me the wrong way.

Literally the same in every country, don't let it bother you. Same here with British players.

I don't think I've heard anyone say demon was going to win the open anyway.

How can anyone not like Demon? He’s obviously not going to win a slam but he’s a young bloke who gives absolutely everything, plays well above his physical and probably talent limitations and competes right to the end like a right now without throwing in the towel and having a sook like the ginger brat on the other side of the court would. Also just a decent average bloke.

What’s not to like? Pretty weird and pathetic the hate he gets, mostly from incels on here to be fair

A fun time watching you bogans get disappointed yet again. An annual tradition.

De Minaur will never win a Grand Slam :)
Lol ya goose.
De Minaur is only young.

2 years younger than Rublev and had beaten him more.

Don't be a racist.

A fun time watching you bogans get disappointed yet again. An annual tradition.

De Minaur will never win a Grand Slam :)

What are you achieving?

I don't agree.

Demon is still only 24 and still hasn't reached his ceiling imo.

Doesn’t have the weapons, and players that are young are coming through and have way more weapons. You aren’t winning slams being solid these days.

If he has ANY chance and frankly I do feel a quarter is his max…but if he does needs to ban Hewitt from near him. His shots are way too much “I don’t want to miss”

How can anyone not like Demon? He’s obviously not going to win a slam but he’s a young bloke who gives absolutely everything, plays well above his physical and probably talent limitations and competes right to the end like a right now without throwing in the towel and having a sook like the ginger brat on the other side of the court would. Also just a decent average bloke.

What’s not to like? Pretty weird and pathetic the hate he gets, mostly from incels on here to be fair
Competes.right to the end? He got thrashed 6-0

MASSIVE gap.
It’s not remotely close.
De Minaur is a fourth round specialist and that’s all he ll ever be

Yep he’s solid don’t get me wrong but there’s nothing that’s going to beat those real top players. Rublev is actually the best draw he could have got as he’s a flaky at best at this stage of a slam himself

Gosh those two points were so hard to get. Well done to both players so happy Rublev got through. Fifth set was epic. Brilliant match for a Sunday night. Now I can calm down and watch the mix doubles. Sorry to those who wanted Alex to win. He nearly had it. The fifth set reminded me of when he was in the doubles final in Madrid and he took a toilet break came back out and played out of his skin to win with his best mate Khachanov.

Exactly. If Grand Slams were over 3 sets, Demon probably would be winning it. Beat all these top guys over 3 sets.
He’s always going to struggle over 5 unfortunately when his only advantage is his court coverage which obviously wears over the match. It is what it is, I’m sure he knows it but he has a fair old crack at least and mostly plays above his ability, hence the top 10 ranking which is something to be very proud of

The disappointing thing about Demon losing and Rublev winning is I could see Demon getting past next rd and I can’t see Rublev holding up next round if it goes to 5 sets with Sinner he was cramping pretty badly! My guess Sinner will win in 3 or 4 sets

My prediction is:
Sinner in straight sets and then he will take down Djokovic/Fritz in the SF in straight sets as well.

The pressure will get way too much for him in the final and he will lose to whoever is on the other side of the draw.

The disappointing thing about Demon losing and Rublev winning is I could see Demon getting past next rd and I can’t see Rublev holding up next round if it goes to 5 sets with Sinner he was cramping pretty badly! My guess Sinner will win in 3 or 4 sets

If he’s not beating Rublev he sure as anything isn’t beating Sinner who is way better

Man it's incredible that his even ranked even in the top 10! Unbelievable effort!

No shame in an Aussie losing in a packed home crowd before the quarters-happens every year!