Review Dees v Orks - the Bad & the Fugly

I can't fathom how Gawn was on the bench for the best part of 15mins early in the second quarter. Wasn't injured. Wasn't gettting worked on or looked at by trainers - just sitting there watching on as the momentum was clearly swinging against us out of the stoppages. How we can't orchestrate an interchange to get our most important player on the ground in a time of obvious need is deplorable.

Jones did an OK job on Mitchell but we had zero leadership on the ground yesterday. Jones, Lewis, Gawn and other senior blokes like Vince, Hibberd and Jetta just did nothing in this regard. No instruction or set ups. Sitting on the boundary there was just silence from our players around stoppages. All you could hear was the hawks blokes controlling their setups and usually waltzing away with it. Shithouse.

This was what I said before the game, It was so ******* obvious that we would fall in a hole against a good side and look what happened.

Foxsports showed a stat saying we conceded 10.7 from 31 inside 50s at one point... thats a ******* disgrace in the wet. Once again conceding a score on 55% of our entries which is been a trend we have displayed for all of Goodys reign. Instead of slowing the game down we double down like a problem gambler and end up losing even more
From the same 31 entries we scored 1.8! 9 scoring shots to 17
Our defence and team defense literally conceded twice as many scores from the same amount of pressure.

Now I didnt predict our attack would collapse aswell but we need a plan B for when we arent scoring. We are a team that relies on solely outscoring its opposition at all times with no ability to shutdown a quarter when we arent playing well and wrestling momentum back later.

Our game plan is broken, unless something changes we will finish bottom 6. You just cant consistently win games when your defence doesnt work. Good sides can absorb pressure for minimal damage, I see sides do it against us but we cant do it.

INSIDE 50s were 54-53 against Hawthorn yet the kicked 12 more goals. System is broken

Spot on, i'm just not sure if it's a coach thing or the players just panic under pressure still.

This was what I said before the game, It was so ******* obvious that we would fall in a hole against a good side and look what happened.

Foxsports showed a stat saying we conceded 10.7 from 31 inside 50s at one point... thats a ******* disgrace in the wet. Once again conceding a score on 55% of our entries which is been a trend we have displayed for all of Goodys reign. Instead of slowing the game down we double down like a problem gambler and end up losing even more
From the same 31 entries we scored 1.8! 9 scoring shots to 17
Our defence and team defense literally conceded twice as many scores from the same amount of pressure.

Now I didnt predict our attack would collapse aswell but we need a plan B for when we arent scoring. We are a team that relies on solely outscoring its opposition at all times with no ability to shutdown a quarter when we arent playing well and wrestling momentum back later.

Our game plan is broken, unless something changes we will finish bottom 6. You just cant consistently win games when your defence doesnt work. Good sides can absorb pressure for minimal damage, I see sides do it against us but we cant do it.

INSIDE 50s were 54-53 against Hawthorn yet the kicked 12 more goals. System is broken

Completely agree mate.

System needs work, especially in those conditions

GOOD:
- Our defenders' reading of the ball coming in. The fact that we can get 4 and 5 players flying for the same spoil every time is truly astounding.
- Our efforts to get forward. To be able to get all 18 of our players, not only into the forward 50, but into the same POCKET every time we move forward is a testament to our workrate in this area.
- Jones keeping "50 Possie" Tom Mitchell to only to only 24 touches. That showed 'em!
- My September has really opened up. So many possibilities: Rocky Mountaineer, cruising the Danube, sailing around the Maldives, Aegean, Carribean.
- My soul remains anchored. I'd be a monster if my football team was successful.

BAD:
- Our puppy is 6 months old and still peeing in the house. He know's it's wrong, the fear is palpable like Jake Lever one out under a high ball, but he keeps doing it. I wonder if he thinks peeing anywhere is wrong, so holds it in until the middle of the night when he just has to go.

FUGLY:
- As a child, teen, young adult and eventually, mature man, for over 40 years, I always had this flickering hope, kept alive through great adversity at times, that one day, ONE DAY GLORIOUS DAY, I would see MY team win a premiership. Just one, I'm not greedy. That hope is now ashes. I think I might start killing folks...

Good:
Was looking after sick girlfriend and didn't go to the ground to watch. (not good that she was sick, you know what I mean.)

Salem battled away which I was pleased to see.

Whoever said Oliver is lazy is kidding themselves. 23 contested possessions and 11 tackles. Was the least laziest player out there.

Bad:
Dom Tyson is our best wet weather player and was out sick. Unfortunate.

Goal kicking.. had some unlucky near misses when the momentum was swinging in the second.

Fugly:

We were completely out-coached. How was it possible for Hogan to completely dominate the first quarter only to be stuck in the goal square for the rest of the game?

Selection: in weather like that Jayden Hunt should be playing. Their quicker blokes were able to run the ball by hand and kick long instead of hand balling it around and turning it over. We didn't seem to have anyone finding the space to do this.

Side-note: I don't think its season over. Clarkson is a very very good wet weather coach. Also, Some of Hawthorns experienced players are still very very good no matter what the conditions and it was those guys that won it for them.. Roughhead, Gunston, Breust, Smith, Shiels play wet weather footy like its as dry as the sahara.

I reckon another thing that needs to change is that our defenders and forwards seem to play under the instruction of 'back yourself' in the air.

At both ends of the ground it's clear that we will be able to spoil a contest but instead 4 blokes either fly to spoil or mark and leave numbers on the ground at either end. In defence you have frost Omac Jetta and Lever going up and half the time they get in each others way while up forward Bugg/Hogan/Fritsch etc all go for a mark and we have no one down for the crumb

Someone mentioned it earlier but how embarrassing was it when roughead lobbed it to the goalsquare where we had a clear out number and the Hawks still kicked a goal.

I reckon another thing that needs to change is that our defenders and forwards seem to play under the instruction of 'back yourself' in the air.

At both ends of the ground it's clear that we will be able to spoil a contest but instead 4 blokes either fly to spoil or mark and leave numbers on the ground at either end. In defence you have frost Omac Jetta and Lever going up and half the time they get in each others way while up forward Bugg/Hogan/Fritsch etc all go for a mark and we have no one down for the crumb

Someone mentioned it earlier but how embarrassing was it when roughead lobbed it to the goalsquare where we had a clear out number and the Hawks still kicked a goal.
It does pre date Goodwin to some extent but I’d love to know many goals we concede from 0-15m out. We could also do with some sort of kick in strategy - this issue also predates Goodwin.

How is everyone doing this morning?

I feel slightly better - at least MFC decided to send my hopes down the toilet early rather than waiting until round 23 to really put the boot in. I’m prepared for any rubbish now.

Having said that, I am not looking forward to what Richmond will do to us...
I doubt they’re even going to buy us dinner

How is everyone doing this morning?

I feel slightly better - at least MFC decided to send my hopes down the toilet early rather than waiting until round 23 to really put the boot in. I’m prepared for any rubbish now.

Having said that, I am not looking forward to what Richmond will do to us...
I switched off at 3QT, went back to a party I’d abandoned to watch the game, woke up incredibly hungover, and forgot that we’d even played until a few hours ago

Tough day at the office... So frustrating that many of the same old issues are still present and to be honest I'm not sure how they get rectified. Not willing to completely throw the baby out with the bath water yet so I'll try to be as constructive as I can. Being at the game by myself and actually being able to watch what is going on across the whole ground was a nice change.

Good
- It's no good for our structure (and I assume he is being told to do it and not doing it by choice) but Hogan gives plenty when playing up the ground. He can try to be a bit too smart for his own good but is clever by hand and foot and did some really nice things. If we ever get to a point of not needing him as a focal point up forward he can be very handy as a second-string mid-fielder
- Jones battled bloody hard and had a good day on Mitchell. Unfortunately it showed that we don't have the depth to commit one of our key mids to a negating role (especially without Viney) but he did his job very well.
- Our small defenders did pretty well keeping their small forwards quiet, especially as they started to get on top after quarter time. Didn't have any impact on the result but it did make me feel good to not see them running riot.
- Oliver is showing that he has 2 sides to his game in the contest. Led the match for tackles which is a big tick when he wins so much of his own ball
- I may be going one out on this but I thought Melksham had a real crack today and was far from the worst. Presented and attacked the footy hard. Without help around the contest though he was caught under pressure most of the time which impacted on his disposal
- Honourable mention to OMAC and Frost... Had a s*** storm raining down on them for 3 quarters and can hold his head high

Bad
- Forward structure/delivery. Can we PLEASE HAVE PEDERSEN IN THE SIDE ASAP!!!!! He's no Wayne Carey but he straightens us up and gives us something to kick to and also avoids Harmes having to pretend to be a ruckman.
- Stoppage set ups. If we are going to insist on setting up with an extra behind the ball then we need to ensure that we have proper coverage at stoppages and that we identify who the loose player(s) is and get someone in the vague vicinity. This was most evident in the 3rd Qtr... Boundary throw in 25m out from our goal... We have about 10-15 seconds to set up and Sicily stands by himself at the front of the contest for that entire time... Ball gets knocked straight down to him, he launches a barrel over our defensive wall and 5 seconds later they kick a goal. Just really, really dumb footy.
- I know that when things aren't going well instinctively you want to try and have an impact on the contest, but gee we make it hard for ourselves by having 3 or 4 defenders fly for the same ball (actually it happened all over the ground). The Hawks just sat of the contest and swept it away when it hit the deck. There is enough experience in our side for that not to happen.
- If the players are told to handball forward to a stationary player then someone in the coaching staff needs to stand up and take responsibility for it, if they are defying instructions then they should be disciplined accordingly. The amount of times we put a guy under the pump by handballing to him when he was already under pressure was just incredible. Just an easy way to cough up the footy and get punished for it.

Ugly
- 1 goal after quarter time. It doesn't matter how bad you are going that should never happen when the opposition kicks 18 at the other end. No excuse for it.... Ever
- Getting smashed in the clearances despite comprehensively winning the hitouts. This is an area we pride ourselves on and needs to be rectified.
- Lever needs to figure out/be told what his role is in the side. Looked all at sea for most of the day.
- Our fumbling. Not going to single anyone out here, they were cleaner with the footy than us all over the ground... All day
- A guy in the crowd answering "who wears number 4 for us now?" with - BRETT GRGIC. There are some topics that will just never, ever be funny, and this is one! To his credit he redeemed himself by telling Sam Frost that he was better off on The Bachelor, gave me a chuckle
- I know it's for TV but starting an extra hour late on a Sunday sucks when you have a 2.5 hour drive home.
- Playing Richmond next week. If we serve that up again it will be a trainwreck

Something that made me smile
-
It was awesome to see so many young kinds (<5) in the members yesterday. For all the talk about other sports taking over seeing so many kids with Demons and Hawks gear on gives me great heart for the future. I reckon that the young demons were about 3:1 - may have been due to being in the MCC, may have been my tunnel vision.

Fugly: Ive never been more embarrassed to be a Member after yesterdays performance. Im all honesty, I'm not sure i even want ot go next week Vs Richmond.

Good: I didn't have to listen to the channel 7 commentary team condescendingly tear shreds off us and why were terrible

That Goal Early in the 4th Gunston kicked Summed up our day.

• Every Bomb we kicked out of our Defensive 50 just went straight to the Centre line only to be markd by a Hawk Player. They pressed up so far we could never get past the middle of the ground on the defensive 50 exits.

• Maybe just maybe, Goodwin has lost the players. The whispers in the preseason about the training camp may have some merit now.

• Playing players out of position, like why all any time would you use Harmes as a Backup Ruck? Thats just stupid and wrong.

There supporters are so smug, it almost rivals Geelong. I never thought i would say that. Until yesterday they had always had some Humility, but not anymore.
We have a good list. (Not as good as GWS but its still good on paper).
Im almost so sick of Hawks 3-4 Time premier Campaigners that are old AF that still have the wood on us. We are Hawks Bunnies. There supporters treat us with Disdain. Were nothing but peasants to them.

Hogan really missing another tall up there with him, dare i say a Watts type
Watts would have been worst on ground yesterday if he still played for us.

Nah just say I told you so. Lever was a product of the system Adelaide played. I reckon we have ****** up massively taking him.
He'll be a good player. Still only young, and can be very good with the right role

Good: hard to find anything, I was happy that Jones limited Mitchell to some extent, but he still had easily the most clearances for the day and his team mates made out like bandits.

Bad: we have no defensive structure. Vince and Lewis were meant to add a cool experienced head, not sure what happened to that.

Ugly: Melksham peaking for the aflx, it just isn't working for him at the moment. Get him into the VFL and kicking goals instead of points and then bring him back when it is working for him. Not sure what Harmes is bringing to the side at the moment.

True, though. If we’d gone in that camp we would not have lost a game yet, or for the rest of the season
Worked for us...

Love the media landscape:
Melbourne refuse to go on bonding camp. They are soft.
Adelaide make players go on camp. They are inhumane.