Do we need another AFL Club or are there too many as it is?

Aaah, the talent pool argument.

How exactly is the talent pool any worse than it was in 1993, when we had 15 teams vs 18 currently (so 83% of the teams), when the Australian population was 72% of it now, we hardly had a single player out of NSW and Queensland, and we didn't have the TAC Cup system contributing half the league's draftees which is an extremely effective system of identifying, developing and streamlining talent through the AFL, meaning that less talented players slip through the cracks than they used to?

It's quite literally the most ridiculous consistently pushed forward argument on BigFooty, and that's saying something.

more population means more talent or more people or people equals talent?
So much talent out there playing at the second tier is rubbish, I'm a Subi supporter & we have a better than average playing list BUT well below that for AFL footy.
The TAC Cup used to be the VFL U17s 7 19s, its not new & it always produced the majority of VFL footballers.
That we see NSW & Q talent now adds to the depth of the pool although its ignoring where the likes of Carey & Hird, Jesualenko & Haydn Bunton Senior, or Dunstall, Voss or Ashcroft came from.

Clearly I see the ridiculous notion you elude to .... in earlier times Patrick Mills would have likely played Aussie Rules now he's earning more each year than any club pays its whole list.

The talent pool has been spread too thin right ? GWS ? Gold Coast ?

Here's the thing though.

72 players every week get at least 85% game time who aren't good enough to make their respective sides best 18.

Yet we play an 18 player per side game.

The talent pool has been spread too thin right ? Eagles ? Bears ? Crows ? Power? GWS ? Gold Coast ?
EFA

18 is way too many for what grew up watching but it is not going to change so just live with it. The standard to be the best team is less but that is same for all clubs so best of 18 teams still have a flag to win each season.

Give it time Union is about to die off and soccer has lost all momentum.

Once AFL starts getting more youth involvement in the northern states the talent levels will stabilize.

It’s also hard to judge as we are still feeling the effects of the GWS GC comprised drafts.

Best option really is make a really massive attractive package to North Melbourne or Hawks to relocate their club to be based in Hobart. Hobart Hawks and have them play 7 home games there and 4 in Victoria and have the other club get 4 home games in Launceston in north part of state. That would give 11 matches in Tasmania each season. Would be something and they get exclusive zone access like clubs in Queensland and New South Wales get with their clubs. Unlikely Hawthorn would go for it but maybe in time North could be convinced.

Tasmanian Kangaroos probably the best bet. North keep their jumper nickname and colours just as South Melbourne did in relocating to Sydney and get 4 home games at Docklands for their fan base here to watch. Their fan base here would see them 4 home games and 6 away games a season in Melbourne for total of 10 games in Victoria plus 7 home games in Hobart and 1 away games against Hawks in Launceston. North fans from both states would get special price discounts on Spirit of Tasmania journey's plus some attractive discount hotel/motel discounts in both locations when their team plays.

Best option really is make a really massive attractive package to North Melbourne or Hawks to relocate their club to be based in Hobart. Hobart Hawks and have them play 7 home games there and 4 in Victoria and have the other club get 4 home games in Launceston in north part of state. That would give 11 matches in Tasmania each season. Would be something and they get exclusive zone access like clubs in Queensland and New South Wales get with their clubs. Unlikely Hawthorn would go for it but maybe in time North could be convinced.

Tasmanian Kangaroos probably the best bet. North keep their jumper nickname and colours just as South Melbourne did in relocating to Sydney and get 4 home games at Docklands for their fan base here to watch. Their fan base here would see them 4 home games and 6 away games a season in Melbourne for total of 10 games in Victoria plus 7 home games in Hobart and 1 away games against Hawks in Launceston. North fans from both states would get special price discounts on Spirit of Tasmania journey's plus some attractive discount hotel/motel discounts in both locations when their team plays.
How exactly does that solve the perception that some people have that the talent is spread to thin?

It does not. That is not going to be solved until population growth is good enough for 18 clubs to be at a higher standard. It is not a perception either. As someone that watched this league with 12 clubs and now 18, it is a reality the talent is spread too thin.

However, for those sooking there are too many clubs from Victoria, one relocating to Tasmania would both bring it back one less here and at least give Tasmanians of coming generations a foothold of a team based in their own state to be following and adopt for generations to come. It should be noted in the drafts Victoria is where over half the talent comes from, so 9 of 18 clubs from Victoria is around the right mark in terms of representation.

I was more posting it as a related idea based on type of things we read in post#7

Reduce the player numbers to 16 instead of 18 on the field.

Solves congestion.

Better talent spread.

Players are getting taller, bigger, more professional.

Back in the day at least 2 players per side were hiding, or stuffed and sucking in breaths, or half injured, so it was like 16 anyway.

Yeah let’s give them priority access to traditional AFL heartland. That’s heaps fair. Maybe we could give Adelaide first pick at rural SA talent while we’re at it.

I said make the package attractive to them to relocate to Tasmania. That would be one of them. It is not like Tasmania is overflowing with overflowing numbers being drafted. Do not remember a no 1. pick from there since we drafted James Cook.

Nothing wrong with home state academies for all clubs.

Shows commitment to your region and development.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

If people think there is less talent now then when the comp was 12 or 14 teams they are delusional. Only difference now is the comp is a lot more even so instead of a couple of really bad teams we now have those players spread over the entire comp, conversely instead of a team loaded with talent that same talent is spread over multiple teams. 2017 was one of the great seasons to watch football, so many close great contests. Yes the finals were one sided however sometimes that happens. Comp will never drop lower than18 teams, just will not happen with tv rights and everything else associated with having an 18 team comp.

Wow, here's an original idea for a thread.

I'd like to take this moment to personally thank the Brisbane and Carlton supporters for their input by volunteering my club for relocation..

Say, are you still being propped up by the AFL?

Talk of merging clubs .lol!:sweatsmile: Seriously considering everyone thinks the AFL is "vic centric" don't you think they wanna change that perception and therefore if it was viable to do so they would have done so by now?

Epiphany anyone? If you don't like or think there are too many teams then "wah"! go follow another league or another sport

Do we need another AFL Club or are there too many as it is?