Draft Summary!

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Crow-mosone said:
how many people have to tell you same thing before you realise you are completely clueless?

how many, give me a number?
1 person that I respect.

Let me get this straight, you are having a huge go at me because you disagree with me about our drafting? Aren't I allowed to have an opinion? Laughable mate, pure comedy on your behalf.

well, not knowing about the players that much I think it is refreshing that we have picked up some SANFL lads - I think it was also great to pick up a crows fan in obst - it probably means a lot more to him to play for the crows than some random from Victoria.

pleased with the picks good to see us restocking our midfield :thumbsu:

Drummond said:
You are wrong. Even taking people like Rischbeith and Elliot would have made me satisfied.

Well, now you can get them in the PSD and/or rookie draft. That's known as having your cake and eating it too.

Crow-mosone said:
ok genius.

the reason Jimmy hird went no.79, was Essendon was the only club that had a scout in the ACT. back then no one else thought it worth while, and so only Essendon had seen him.

Chris Grant & Ashley McIntosh are great examples of champs slipping through. Hird ain't.

Actually thats not quite right either. Ashley Mcintosh was a father-son pick.

On Hird....this was taken from Weavers draft page:

http://www.comcen.com.au/~weaver/

1990-91
Rules: The minimum draft age was 16. Clubs were allowed to select only one WA player each and South Australia was off-limits because of the introduction of Adelaide. Players in Queensland and NSW/ACT could only be selected by clubs other than the Bears and Swans respectively, if the player was older than 19 and not required by the 'local' club. Faced with these restrictions the league reduced the number of choices from 8 to 6. In exchange for the SA moratorium, the Crows were excluded from the draft (they could pick any South Australian, but only South Australians).

Bits and Pieces: Jason McCartney kept a diary on behalf of the Age newspaper detailing the weeks leading up to the draft. In it he reveals the confusion and uncertainty that a young footballer feels. McCartney from Nhill in Victoria (near the SA border) was hesitant about moving to Melbourne. He went to Adelaide as a guest of Glenelg and watched the AFL grand final on the big screen, and watched Glenelg loose the SA Grand Final the next day. The 16 year old was devastated by Collingwood's victory. He went to the Glenelg after match and to a few nightclubs to drown the sorrows.

With Sydney and Brisbane having the first draft picks he signed for Glenelg on a two year deal. When Sydney and Brisbane traded their selections his hopes lifted. Geelong told him that they would take Hooper first and would be attempting to get the second pick to take McCartney. Geelong were unable to manufacture a trade and Carlton ended up with the selection (they swapped ruckman Warren McKenzie to Sydney). Ian Collins, Geoff Walsh, Bruce Comben and Kinnear Beatson all drove up to Nhill to meet with McCartney, and the next morning David Parkin rang him to ask if everything went well.

On draft day Carlton opted for Tasmanian James Cook. Parkin said that he felt that Cook had the potential to be an even better player. Collingwood drafted him and McCartney openly admitted he was devasted and that Collingwood was last on his list of clubs.

The trades which made the above possible were Carlton swapping McKenzie to Sydney for 2 pick overall, and Collingwood swapping Terry Keays to Richmond for 4th pick overall. One recruiting oficer commenting about the decision making of Syndey and Richmond said, "those clubs deserve to be in the position they are in if they are going to make choices like that".

Those of you who have read the rules (above) would be asking if ACT players had to be 19 and unwanted by the Swans, how was it that a 16 year old James Hird was recruited to Essendon? I honestly don't know but obviously the Essendon recruiting manager found a loop-hole. Next time people tell you about how extraordinary it was that Hird could be drafted at 79th, you will remember that things were a little more complex than they first appeared

I think to argue that someone is wrong because no one at the 16 clubs 'rated' a player is an argument fraught with danger. On that basis, no one rated players like Pavlich, Davey, Lovett-Murray, Pearce, etc either. Didn't Bock, Hentschel and Rutten come off the crows rookie list? No one rated them either as far as ND and PSD goes. It's all a matter of opinion and sometimes it's just the safety net of the rookie list that saves red faces all round now. Even Joel Patfull who spent 2 years on Port's rookie list, trained with the crows last year and was overlooked, was picked up by Brisbane in the ND. Is he rated now?

Drummond said:
2. A player with plenty of potential, someone who could be a 150 game player with the Crows is someone who would justify selection 32. Bernie Vince is simply someone who could be a handy player, he will be nothing more. 50 games is the maximum I would expect out of Vince.
Hey Dummond

The % of players that play 150 games from pick 32 is as low as aunt marys tatas. What you are looking for is that jewel in the rough. I dont know about Vince , nor do i know about Reischbeith but what I do know is that for all my ''experience'' and expertise I dont know what Neil Craig wants.

Hell maybe the ONLY reason Bernie Vince ( along with Richie Douglas) got selected was so Neil Craig had someone else in his team with a double name name. :thumbsu:

From todays Melbourne Papers:
The Age said:
RICHARD DOUGLAS
No. 16 (Calder Cannons) 18yo 180cm 68kg Defender with a terrific work rate, clean hands and footy smarts. Won coaches award for Vic Metro, was selected in TAC Cup team of the year and won Calder Cannons' bestand- fairest. Impressive draft camp with speed, agility and endurance all in the top 15 per cent.

DARREN PFEIFFER No. 17 (Norwood) 18yo 183cm 79kg Good ball-winner who played senior football in SANFL this year. Can play forward or back, and takes a grab. No.1 at the draft camp for standing vertical leap.

BERNIE VINCE No. 32 (Woodville West Torrens) 20yo 186cm 81kg Played four senior games in the SANFL this year including a top performance in the preliminary final against Port Adelaide Magpies.

ALAN OBST No. 48 (Central District) 18yo 193cm 82kg Tall defender who is strong overhead, accountable and very determined. Represented SA at the under 18 carnival.

THE CLUB SAYS
"We really wanted to get a genuine inside midfielder, a competitor, and we reckon Douglas is just that sort of kid. Pfeiffer is quick and again has an enormous commitment at the ball. We know, given the age of our midfield, that we've got to start underpinning the centre square we've got with some new cornerstone players." - James Fantasia, recruiting manager.

THE SUNDAY AGE SAYS

With three young ruckmen (John Meesen, Ivan Maric and Jonathon Griffin) recruited last year, the Crows sought ground-level centre-square types this year. A move which makes eminent sense when you realise that Mark Ricciuto turns 31 next season, Andrew McLeod 30, Tyson Edwards 30 and Simon Goodwin will blow out 29 candles on his birthday cake next month.

Guys I have scoured every bit of commentary on Douglas both Before the draft and after the draft - the key point is that I have not found any negative comments about him or his game - in fact everyone says he's a star of the future!

Wayne's-World said:
From todays Melbourne Papers:

Guys I have scoured every bit of commentary on Douglas both Before the draft and after the draft - the key point is that I have not found any negative comments about him or his game - in fact everyone says he's a star of the future!

Right on WW.

Whew! Almost out of breath reading this marathon.

But back to the question.
I am happy with the draft picks especially Douglas. His bio reads like he could have been up there with Murphy and will be interesting to see which one pans out to be the better of the two.

I will take this on as a personal exercise.

Happy with the SA boys we picked up although dont know much about Vince.
He was the smokey but we did have a good look at him recently. Again his attitude must have won the club over as much as his ability.

That is something that is getting missed in the previous debates over other likely candidates.

But who says we wont get them in the Rookie Draft.

When its all said and done, all the draftees :

have potential,
will be stars of the future,
show promise,
blah blah blah.

If we had picked up any other rookies we would be singing their praises just as much...would we not?

I hate the draft. Wake me up when the footy starts.:p

Drummond said:
Ever heard of James Hird?

Draft History: 1990 National AFL Draft 6th round selection (Essendon) No.79 overall. Every single club passed on him, what a dud he must be :eek:
He got drafted where as your suggestions got overlooked all together.

Since we are on topic of James Hird, can you tell us why exactly was James Hird picked up that late.

While you are at it, tell us a bit about the difference in recruiting in 1990 and 2006.

Crow-mosone said:
ok genius.

the reason Jimmy hird went no.79, was Essendon was the only club that had a scout in the ACT. back then no one else thought it worth while, and so only Essendon had seen him.

Chris Grant & Ashley McIntosh are great examples of champs slipping through. Hird ain't.
That and also the fact that he broke his leg in the first game of the National Championships and the teams that didn't have scouts in the ACT/NSW region, have never really had a decent look at him.

My initial reaction was one of indifference ( wasn't excited, wasn't diappointed). However, the more I read about the kids we drafted the more excited I get. In Douglas and Pefiffer, we have 2 of the better midfielders in the draft. Surprised with Vince taken at 32, but jeez its pick 32, not a top 10er.

Douglas - Footydraft quotes him as "inside player" and "strong tackler" - Big tick IMO. I was initially disappointed we didn't take Hughes but our midfield in the next few years will be our major worry and this kid looks to have the goods. The "go home" factor always worries me but if you look at it we only have 7 players under 24 who are Non-Sth Aussies leaving us alot less excposed than other non-vic clubs, Port for example.

Pfeiffer - Footdraft quotes him as "couragous/strong tackler" - Thank you very much. Looks a good prospect.

Vince - The smokey. I was initally disappointed with this pick. However, I thought back to some of his performances in the SANFL and this kid has something about him. He isn't afraid to go in and get the ball and has footy smarts. Also very couragous. Another inside player IMHO.

Obst- Don't lknow much about him but the fact he is deperately wanted to get picked up by us is good enough for me.

Looking at the types of players we have drafted this year, and in 2004, IMO we can finally put the final nail in the coffin of our preference for outside, flank types - Jericho, Begley, Ladhams, Skipworth, Doughty etc.

I'm stoked.

Ford Fairlane said:
I think to argue that someone is wrong because no one at the 16 clubs 'rated' a player is an argument fraught with danger. On that basis, no one rated players like Pavlich, Davey, Lovett-Murray, Pearce, etc either. Didn't Bock, Hentschel and Rutten come off the crows rookie list? No one rated them either as far as ND and PSD goes. It's all a matter of opinion and sometimes it's just the safety net of the rookie list that saves red faces all round now. Even Joel Patfull who spent 2 years on Port's rookie list, trained with the crows last year and was overlooked, was picked up by Brisbane in the ND. Is he rated now?

I could raise you wil gayfer. however what it certainly proves is that a player shouldn't have been a 2nd round pick. it is plain silly to suggest that should have been picked in the 2nd round when they passed through the whole process.

Drummond said:
Ever heard of James Hird?

Draft History: 1990 National AFL Draft 6th round selection (Essendon) No.79 overall. Every single club passed on him, what a dud he must be :eek:

A pretty extreme example Drummond and I think you'll find that Hird was as much a surprise to Essendon as he was to the rest of the comp. In those days they didn't have the data, draft camps and analysis to make the decisions they do now and whilst the odd smoky will get through, it is pretty obvious that 16 clubs saw a serious deficiency in Rischbieth.

I don't think you'll see too many Hirds in the years to come, or Johncocks for that matter. On another note, a mate of mine in Melbourne who is very close to the TAC comp. reckons that Douglas is a gun and a very mature kid, so he could be ready to play sooner rather than later. He was surprised that Douglas didn't go at 8-9. I guess we have to wait and see.

SpringChoke said:
My initial reaction was one of indifference ( wasn't excited, wasn't diappointed). However, the more I read about the kids we drafted the more excited I get. In Douglas and Pefiffer, we have 2 of the better midfielders in the draft. Surprised with Vince taken at 32, but jeez its pick 32, not a top 10er.

Douglas - Footydraft quotes him as "inside player" and "strong tackler" - Big tick IMO. I was initially disappointed we didn't take Hughes but our midfield in the next few years will be our major worry and this kid looks to have the goods. The "go home" factor always worries me but if you look at it we only have 7 players under 24 who are Non-Sth Aussies leaving us alot less excposed than other non-vic clubs, Port for example.

Pfeiffer - Footdraft quotes him as "couragous/strong tackler" - Thank you very much. Looks a good prospect.

Vince - The smokey. I was initally disappointed with this pick. However, I thought back to some of his performances in the SANFL and this kid has something about him. He isn't afraid to go in and get the ball and has footy smarts. Also very couragous. Another inside player IMHO.

Obst- Don't lknow much about him but the fact he is deperately wanted to get picked up by us is good enough for me.

Looking at the types of players we have drafted this year, and in 2004, IMO we can finally put the final nail in the coffin of our preference for outside, flank types - Jericho, Begley, Ladhams, Skipworth, Doughty etc.

I'm stoked.

Nothing wrong with outside players with athletic ability as long as they are complemented by the inside players. I think we got the mix right this time around and the club has picked hard working ball getters which will match up well with our quicker players. Someone has to get the ball, then someone has to receive and carry it forward quickly. With Thommo spending more time in the middle as he gets fitter and stronger and the young guys coming in, I think there's a great nucleus for the future.

Hi folks. First time poster here and just trying with this post to get a feel for it. I've been watching for a while and pre season seemed a good time to join.

We have future proofed our midfield in my opinion with our picks. Our defence will be strong for years and we have adequate rucks. Kenny at CHF fills a need until we can recruit to cover that area. With Maric developing well we have got some height to stretch a defence when he finds his feet.

Looking forward to next year.

Roominant said:
Hi folks. First time poster here and just trying with this post to get a feel for it. I've been watching for a while and pre season seemed a good time to join.

We have future proofed our midfield in my opinion with our picks. Our defence will be strong for years and we have adequate rucks. Kenny at CHF fills a need until we can recruit to cover that area. With Maric developing well we have got some height to stretch a defence when he finds his feet.

Looking forward to next year.

Welcome to the board mate. Our first 22 Kpp's in Trent H, Bock, Rutts, Kenny, The Dispenser i'm more than happy with. It's when one of them gets injured that things could get ugly. You wouldn't expect Obst to come into contention until 2007 and you can give a big PFFFT to Scott Stevens. I have a feeling if we do suffer kpp injuries Gibson may find himself playing a game sooner than expected.

SpringChoke said:
Welcome to the board mate. Our first 22 Kpp's in Trent H, Bock, Rutts, Kenny, The Dispenser i'm more than happy with. It's when one of them gets injured that things could get ugly. You wouldn't expect Obst to come into contention until 2007 and you can give a big PFFFT to Scott Stevens. I have a feeling if we do suffer kpp injuries Gibson may find himself playing a game sooner than expected.

Excellent call Springy and spot on the mark. We were extremely lucky last year with injuries to KPP and Bock's injury in the final v St Kilda showed how easily exposed we were.

I am hoping for perhaps another KPP in the PSD. Are there any left of any quality ?

GoSarge said:
Excellent call Springy and spot on the mark. We were extremely lucky last year with injuries to KPP and Bock's injury in the final v St Kilda showed how easily exposed we were.

I am hoping for perhaps another KPP in the PSD. Are there any left of any quality ?

Not that I know of. If Norman wasn't such a head case I would have a crack at him for depth purposes.

Drummond said:
You seriously don’t get it do you?
When you start telling everyone around you, they don't get it, you need to start to wonder who is not getting it... ;)