EDFL moves

Ubiquitous said:
Gee, lots of FACTS being alleged.

My source direct from the playing group tells it differently. He says that FACT is Holman moved clubs for one reason and ONE REASON ONLY. His best buddy, one Jeremy Barnard, was moving to Melb for personal, not football reasons although he did want to play football. Barnard went to Strathmore because of a previous family link to the club being another brother played there some time after the 1998 flag so knew a few people there already. Wherever Barnard went, Holman would have gone and the money wasn't ever a consideration. Having said that, it would still be what he was worth. Apparently Barnard and Holman have played in 4 flags together now and looking forward to the 5th. Word is that Holman is a top bloke who has become a great clubman, as has Jeremy Barnard and Paul Barnard who are alll loving it and are always at the club.

mmm dont know about some of that. Am constantly told of conversations people have with SM players, saying come over to SM, its the best money going around, do stuff all, the flag is already in the bag, bleed them dry and have some fun for a while.

The G Ghost said:
Harvey kicked 6 goals - a great display. Douttas will lose 2, possibly 3, for next week. Certain to miss - Moore (knee) & Elsum (calf). B&F count is Wednesday 6th Sept.

Did moore do an acl? if so not good, was turning into a great player.

Aussie_dude said:
yeah im not totally sure with holman, everyone tells me it was money more than anything. he didnt go for less, common sence would say that. I know that the fallout when he left was massive. People at douttas hate him with a passion. On another note, I seriously reakon that GV talked to about 4 players over the last 2 years that were lost to higher offers at SM.

No doubt about that Bruce Kent cant get all of the ones he speaks to.

C Smith - A Briggs - both joined Greenvale this year due to higher offers from Greenvale after speaking to other EDFL, WRFL and DVFL Clubs.
I suppose it comes down to what players your club needs more than others? Maybe Greenvale would have been better served to have paid the money to keep Zerafa, Kalinowski, Yildrim, Corr, Khartabil, Hrysoulakis. Even though a few of these guys are passed it or hadnt quite made it at A grade level, reckon they would be handy round about now?????

The holman issue has been done to death - read the posts Doutta cut Holman money from his 2004 b&f winning season. he felt this was unreasonable and walked, would he be paid well at Strathmore, you tell me comp b&f and premeirship player.

On playing for less didnt Bicer and Bakoulas come back to Greenvale from Heidelberg on less????? so maybe it does happen?????

Pill Polisher said:
Could have been better if you had have worn screw ins and not moulded hey sharks, might not have fallen over so much :p

Pilly, Whats the view of the APW playing group will they all stick together for 2007.

coreybrown said:
Pilly, Whats the view of the APW playing group will they all stick together for 2007.

Dont worry about the playing group, all are thick, and will remain so.

With Marby headed to A grade and nothing of any threat coming back to B grade, expect APW to be top three next year.

Might have some older heads thinking twice, but summer heals all wounds.

Younger guys to step up and look out for some key signings over the break

Nemo said:
That is a big wrap.

Not really mate, a great kid, and very very good footballer.
Been struck down twice in the last 2 years by serious injuries, dislocated his hip last year and missed the whole year but came back, and now his ACL
Only hope he can come back again cause he is hard at it and can play the game..

Pill Polisher said:
Dont worry about the playing group, all are thick, and will remain so.

With Marby headed to A grade and nothing of any threat coming back to B grade, expect APW to be top three next year.

Might have some older heads thinking twice, but summer heals all wounds.

Younger guys to step up and look out for some key signings over the break

Comon Dill, who are the key signings champ? :cool:

EDFL MAN said:
Disagree there champ, money talks and b ulls hit walks! :eek:
After having his pockets filled with coin this year, the boy will play on again!
Thats my tip! :thumbsu:

One of my mates knows him well and thats the mail he gave me, so just going on what i've been told.

beefeater1000 said:
any news abt the douttas(18s) bloke that man handled the ump? how many years did he get?

According to www.essendondfl.com.au

Tribunal Results from Tuesday 29th August 2006

B Senior J Bennett Pascoe Vale - Striking - Reprimand

Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years

EDFL MAN said:
Comon Dill, who are the key signings champ? :cool:

Just stay Tuned Richard, although safe to say, I don't think Eggers and KD will worry about talking to you again champo:eek:

I suggest you worry about how you are going to get the rest of your choking side to play with the spirit you have shown lately and WC might and I mean might be a chance.

Go PACO !!!!

AirportWest #17 said:
According to www.essendondfl.com.au

Tribunal Results from Tuesday 29th August 2006

B Senior J Bennett Pascoe Vale - Striking - Reprimand

Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years

Good to see Pacco will have there key forward playing. :thumbsu:

On the other hand l find it amazing the edfl can suspended players for using abusive and insulting language to an umpire, but in some cases you can assault/strike another player and not get suspended......funny system in my opinion!

Pill Polisher said:
Just stay Tuned Richard, although safe to say, I don't think Eggers and KD will worry about talking to you again champo:eek:

I suggest you worry about how you are going to get the rest of your choking side to play with the spirit you have shown lately and WC might and I mean might be a chance.

Go PACO !!!!

Richard? Who?

Mark, on a serious note little man how was your mad monday chump? :D

Nah seriously Dill, **** colours.....lol

Remember passion can only get you so far, feel free to pay your $10.00 this week.

Warm Regards,

EDFL Man(A player still in the finals race) :eek:

All the argument over who gets what is just a waste of time. Until the EDFL bring in a points cap it just going to be a fact of life that most of the time it will be a case of most cash wins.
As for Holman, can't see whay Doutta's can complain. They paid him well to come on board, he played good footy, somebody payed him better to leave. Might be a different story if a gun who came up through juniors jumped ship but not the case here.

Good to hear mate and hopefully u and the boys can get over the line and put them back in their shells, will b down there with the Yewers boys cheering yas on so u have to turn it on for us lol.

I think thats your writing isn't it? As for being in the bar thats not nice seeing they were your old team and that quote was made to a senior player, quick question would you get a game in that two's side and be honest. As for superstar im washed up and don't play anymore but thanks for the encouragement.
And the final one about the standard fast but thought the physicalness would have been better, best player strangely enough a WRFL player and Colt hows that hey, enjoy D Wack your a long time retired:eek:

Mates play footy in the Ballarine league and they play their finals at one of the local grounds. To avoid any arguments as to why the club who hosts the finals makes money over the bar and canteen they use a rotation policy where a differnet club each year is the only club able to sell food and grog at all the finals matches.
They have ten teams so every ten years your club gets their chance to make some money.
It would probably be a bit harder to do in the edfl as some finals are played at Coburg/Essendon but after being at Keilor on Sunday I don't think there was anything wrong with playing more finals their or at other local grounds.

Nemo said:
Mates play footy in the Ballarine league and they play their finals at one of the local grounds. To avoid any arguments as to why the club who hosts the finals makes money over the bar and canteen they use a rotation policy where a differnet club each year is the only club able to sell food and grog at all the finals matches.
They have ten teams so every ten years your club gets their chance to make some money.
It would probably be a bit harder to do in the edfl as some finals are played at Coburg/Essendon but after being at Keilor on Sunday I don't think there was anything wrong with playing more finals their or at other local grounds.

Finals are played at Keilor, Greenvale, Glenroy cause they are best grounds for the EDFL to make money on the gates. There are too many entries at other clubs such as Strathmore, Doutta's, Aber's, Keilor Park, etc.

drplds said:
Finals are played at Keilor, Greenvale, Glenroy cause they are best grounds for the EDFL to make money on the gates. There are too many entries at other clubs such as Strathmore, Doutta's, Aber's, Keilor Park, etc.

Douttas are not allowed to put a fence around the ground as it is a public reserve as are all the other grounds....

bricksta said:
Douttas are not allowed to put a fence around the ground as it is a public reserve as are all the other grounds....

Same as Marby, Abers, and Moonee Valley, no fence
Its the old Essendon council policy from years back and Moonee Valley council after the re-zoning have kept in place. Grounds now in the Moonee Valley council like Avondale Heighs and Airport West that have fences were in the old Keilor council

TUNE INTO "ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL" :thumbsu:

Every WEDNESDAY night @ 6:30pm to 7:30pm on CHANNEL 31.

MASSIVE SHOW -

* GREAT MATCH COVERAGE SHOWN FROM ALL 4 WEEKENDS FINALS GAMES
* E.D.F.L STREET CAM with MOCCA O'CONNER
* IN- DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH STEVEN KOLYNUICK
* AFTER MATCH INTERVIEW WITH CRAIG HILLE
* TOP BAGGING TO KEVIN "KD" DONNELLY
Plus much more................

Matthew Pillios Sam Tankard Jarrad Morrison