Go The Mores # 2
- Mar 21, 2007
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
mate tate is kicking bags of goals against every side flipping killing em this yearKeilor Park are an absolute disgrace allowing that ********** Tate to kick 6 goals![]()

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
mate tate is kicking bags of goals against every side flipping killing em this yearKeilor Park are an absolute disgrace allowing that ********** Tate to kick 6 goals![]()
mate tate is kicking bags of goals against every side flipping killing em this year
Well Bomber i think computersaysno will be interested in you findingsand whilst i dont really follow Mr Tate week by week i must say i hadnt noticed him in the goal kickers that often although i still reckon he's a good chance to be part of a triple premiership
A little of topic here but are any forum members heading up to the Darwin Cup??? Look out for Waxy if your up there as i will be running amok,keep an eye out for me ill be wearing ostrich skin shoes
WAXY
I sure don't follow him every week, just had WAAAY too much time on my hands so checked on the EDFL website. Absolutely a chance of a triple, but I think another thread referred to the biggest issue troubling SM which is their backline - not there midfield or forwards......![]()
After 15 rounds Strathmore has 19 points more points against than GV. Don't think the defence is too bad seeing "half the backline is missing".

And they lost to G'vale twice by a total of 18 points.
with the state of the league in regards to the dominating clubs expenditure on players and the fact that the majority of clubs in
both A & B grade are struggling to keep pace to the new $100 k +
super budgets i was reading this article in the ballarat league
does it have merit - is it time for the edfl to consider something
akin to this to try and even the competition , after all both the
afl & vfl operate on the philosiphy of a even competition
any one have any thoughts or comments on applying somthing like the below to the EDFL ........
To borrow a system implemented by the Central Murray Football League, it is possible to implement a strategy to even up the competition.
The league could make each club fill their side with a points tally totalling 40.
Using this simple points ranking system, clubs must not exceed the cap, or they will lose their four points and be fined $500.
This is how each player could be ranked:
This system is simply designed to promote the blooding of locally produced players and forcing clubs to focus time and money into their junior programs.
This will hopefully result in more of our locally produced youngsters playing in the TAC Cup and getting drafted to the AFL.
Obviously it still allows club’s to spend as much money as they like, but it doesn’t make it easy or viable for sides to “poach” players from neighbouring clubs in the competition.
There are some other points that need to be raised from this system though.
- Playing coaches are rated on the league from which they are recruited.
- An RDFL player wishing to return to a new RDFL club from another league is a 5 point player, less one point for each season spent in the other league after leaving the RDFL.
- Clubs will initially rate their players and forward these to the league where each player’s rating will be verified before being circulated to all clubs.
- Players returning to their original RDFL club after at least one season away return at their rating prior to departure.
- There is no points cap in the Under 18s and reserves competition.
Did some research (yes I know that's sad) Tate has kicked more than 2 goals on only 2 occasions - Against KP on the weekend (6) and against Abers a few weeks ago (6). Unless kicking 2 has now been upgraded to a 'bag' of goals the only 'bags' he's kicked have been against the 2 bottom sides......![]()
Great idea, but what is stopping clubs offering say the best under 16's in the comp money to transfer over to their club so they can play U18s?
Is that happening in the league that this has been implemented?
The points system with 1 point for junior and under 18 players playing for their own club will favour clubs with large junior bases. The larger junior bases that some clubs have are a product of ground location (proximatey to local schools, new house growth areas, etc) whilst some clubs in older areas and with very close neighbouring clubs struggle for numbers. The league should limit junior teams more to stop larger clubs from having 16 junior teams and smaller clubs having 4 or 5. The clubs should be forced to limit junior team registrations to a maximum 11 junior teams. This can be done by limiting say 72 registered under 10's, (3 under 10 teams @ 24 players per team), the same for under 12 and 14 and a limit of 48 under 16 players (2 under 16 teams @ 24 players per team) It is hard to convince a 15 year old to change clubs but when kids are starting at 8 years of age, they will try to play at there preferred club if they fit in the clubs registration limit and if they don't they will go to the next local club. Similar to some schools having limits to enrolments. If a student can't get into a school, they go to the next one.
.......Alternatively, if this is not implemented, EDFL players irrespective of original junior club should carry 1 point playing for any EDFL club. THE LEAGUE MUST LOOK AT THE COMPLETE CLUB STRUCTURE.
If it is good enough for the AFL to have a socialist approach to football with the priority picks, draft, salary cap etc. to protect some clubs, why arn't the EDFL doing the same? That is, provide rules to even out the comp from the ground up and not just look at seniors
The points system with 1 point for junior and under 18 players playing for their own club will favour clubs with large junior bases. The larger junior bases that some clubs have are a product of ground location (proximatey to local schools, new house growth areas, etc) whilst some clubs in older areas and with very close neighbouring clubs struggle for numbers. The league should limit junior teams more to stop larger clubs from having 16 junior teams and smaller clubs having 4 or 5. The clubs should be forced to limit junior team registrations to a maximum 11 junior teams. This can be done by limiting say 72 registered under 10's, (3 under 10 teams @ 24 players per team), the same for under 12 and 14 and a limit of 48 under 16 players (2 under 16 teams @ 24 players per team) It is hard to convince a 15 year old to change clubs but when kids are starting at 8 years of age, they will try to play at there preferred club if they fit in the clubs registration limit and if they don't they will go to the next local club. Similar to some schools having limits to enrolments. If a student can't get into a school, they go to the next one.
.......Alternatively, if this is not implemented, EDFL players irrespective of original junior club should carry 1 point playing for any EDFL club. THE LEAGUE MUST LOOK AT THE COMPLETE CLUB STRUCTURE.
If it is good enough for the AFL to have a socialist approach to football with the priority picks, draft, salary cap etc. to protect some clubs, why arn't the EDFL doing the same? That is, provide rules to even out the comp from the ground up and not just look at seniors
You have a point in saying it would be a disadvantage for clubs with a small junior base. That is bad luck.
Clubs like Stratmore, Douttas and Abers are within a stone throw away from each other and at leat 5 other clubs in A/B Grade clubs and are definately not in growth areas and they have very strong juniors.
A club should not be penalised if they have the people willing support many junior sides.
A sign of a good club is their juniors so if a club is on the front foot i.e. auskick and so on good on them.
Why should a kid miss out on playing footy with his mates because he is the 73rd kid on the list. You may lose that kid from the sport all together.
I dont think this is really neccesary in our competition which has been super competetive over the past decade with Greenvale, Strathmore, Doutta, Keilor all winning flags as well as most teams playing finals.
With Marby presumably coming up and with big cash to spend it will make it very competetive with Strathmore, Greenvale, Keilor, Marby, Doutta (possibly sunbury) all with big budgets and the craigieburns, avondale, WC, Abers etc a little further back when it comes to budget but this is inevitable.... Clubs have realised that this is the way footy is heading and to deal with it the best way possible, and know that its how you spend the money that is important.
If we bring in the point system and make it harder for really good players to play for our clubs then players like Holman, Quinn etc etc will just go play Eastern league instead of making our comp one of the best going around.
I dont think this is really neccesary in our competition which has been super competetive over the past decade with Greenvale, Strathmore, Doutta, Keilor all winning flags as well as most teams playing finals.
With Marby presumably coming up and with big cash to spend it will make it very competetive with Strathmore, Greenvale, Keilor, Marby, Doutta (possibly sunbury) all with big budgets and the craigieburns, avondale, WC, Abers etc a little further back when it comes to budget but this is inevitable.... Clubs have realised that this is the way footy is heading and to deal with it the best way possible, and know that its how you spend the money that is important.
If we bring in the point system and make it harder for really good players to play for our clubs then players like Holman, Quinn etc etc will just go play Eastern league instead of making our comp one of the best going around.
Well Bomber i think computersaysno will be interested in you findingsand whilst i dont really follow Mr Tate week by week i must say i hadnt noticed him in the goal kickers that often although i still reckon he's a good chance to be part of a triple premiership
A little of topic here but are any forum members heading up to the Darwin Cup??? Look out for Waxy if your up there as i will be running amok,keep an eye out for me ill be wearing ostrich skin shoes
WAXY
WAXY
Any results from today ?? ( A Grade )