EDFL Premier Division 2016

When Marby are on they can be very dangerous. Looking through their list they have some very good players who are just real competitors this result although spoiling Abers day is great for Prem Div well done Robbie Castello and his boys rippa bloke
Could it be the year of the HANGOVER for Abers, some reports coming out of gorilla land a few boys might of come back to pre season with a few extra kilos under there belt.
Big game this week against one of there big rivals in EDS who will be unveiling the 2015 1st div flag in front of a big crowd

How could I tip eds.... Please explain ?
I got it horribly wrong CanPlay!
I went down for a look and was very impressed with eds. Ran the ball in numbers and too quick for SM. No.1, Smith I think, BOG and dominated clearances. No.4 was also very damaging. Standard was very high. As for SM, Horney was their best but didn't have much else. Macintosh didn't use his height advantage and although had plenty of tap outs, eds onballers would have won clearances, especially in the first half.

A lot to like about EDS. Could someone plz tell me how many home growns they had out there, I checked the team sheet and there seemed to be at least 12, and all under the age of 22, which is huge for the club

12 home growns seems to be about right. Dean Wallis has done excellent recruiting in the off season by the looks of it. Very good combination of leg speed, size and balance. SM thought they would walk over EDS and were surprised by the pressure they were under. The only thing missing piece of the puzzle is a big ruckman. Sure Ronaldson and Clarke held there own, but when you're up against a 203cm Ex-AFL ruckman, it's hard to compete

And cleve Hughes didn't play, he's a big chf isn't he?

Another inclusion into the team. Will definitely complement Veszpremi who played most the game in the forward line. As to why he didn't play, I am unsure.

Saw that Douttas posted an article on their website which relates to the points system. Although they do have a fair few home grown players, the new inclusions makes it hard for teams especially who are promoted into a higher division. Will be interesting to see what the changes are made throughout the year in terms of Douttas best 22 as a result of the points system

Last edited by a moderator:
Could it be the year of the HANGOVER for Abers, some reports coming out of gorilla land a few boys might of come back to pre season with a few extra kilos under there belt.
Big game this week against one of there big rivals in EDS who will be unveiling the 2015 1st div flag in front of a big crowd
Abers press was not working all day. Marby got the ball in there hand of there good kickers & delivered well to the forwards. A lot of time uncontested marks inside 50m for Marby. Abers had no dangerous targets inside 50 with Riemers & Kefford not playing. Johns & McNamara rucking, only playing short times down forward.

The only thing we have to go by is the round 1 results. EDS beating the highly fancied SM at Lebanon is a gr8 start. Abers getting beaten by Marby at home unveiling there 1st flag in a long while you would have to say EDS start favs. Bring Kefford and Reimers back in may sway by selection. Time will tell Milky

They have signed a ruckman who is still filming the tv show "the recruit". Misses the first month but is highly rated. Apparently is favourite to win the tv show as well.

Im back by request for 1 post only.

I'm bemused with all the tipsters that no one has picked Pacco. Let me give you some insight into the season.

Avondale to surprise Keilor. Clouston to kick 8 and get Avondale home in a close one.

Abers to beat Marby by 65 points. Just to classy all over the ground.

Airport West to beat West Coburg. I'm going against the general view and believe AW will win by 3 points.

Strathmore to beat Douttas in another close game. I was disappointed in Strathmore against Keilor as I expected them to win that one, so I think they will get over Douttas. If Strathmore lose there will be plenty of pressure on the club to give the coach his marching orders. Big expectations down at Strathmore. Tighe a huge loss early..

Pascoe Vale to beat Greenvale by 35 points. I think Pacco will come out hard and be to strong for Greenvale. It's the match of the round, but Pacco hoping to cause some damage this season.

Good luck to you all..

Cheers
Dale

Thanks for the insight!!
Gave everyone in the BigFooty world a great example of your EDFL knowledge. Well done

Nice post gremlin.

Didn't see your hand up to take a risk by posting your own selections mate... Cheap shots are easy.

Indeed. At least have a go yourself before bagging someone else.

Hats off to Marby Park. Could never have picked that result

So do we take any notice of what's happened so far, maybe other than greenvale and keilor are gonna be up there
Mores ???, abers - ignore rnd 1??, pacco not as good as turbo tells us, wot about marby and eds, is this the start we all wanted? West coburg have they stepped up. Heights coached well but do they have the depth to cover losses, long sesson for APW.
Great start to season, heaps of wotifs??

So do we take any notice of what's happened so far, maybe other than greenvale and keilor are gonna be up there
Mores ???, abers - ignore rnd 1??, pacco not as good as turbo tells us, wot about marby and eds, is this the start we all wanted? West coburg have they stepped up. Heights coached well but do they have the depth to cover losses, long sesson for APW.
Great start to season, heaps of wotifs??

Will be very interesting to see how it takes shape over the first month. Had to ignore some big results yesterday but it is only Rd.1 and I wouldn't be writing anyone off yet. Or pumping EDS/Marby up either!

Hopefully it's a very even comp where almost every team has chance on any given day. The standard has gone through the roof.

Wonder what the Abers response will be this week against the arch rivals ?

Strathmore huge game against Greenvale and facing a 0-3 start

Abers press was not working all day. Marby got the ball in there hand of there good kickers & delivered well to the forwards. A lot of time uncontested marks inside 50m for Marby. Abers had no dangerous targets inside 50 with Riemers & Kefford not playing. Johns & McNamara rucking, only playing short times down forward.

Few Marby Old Boy's enjoyed the day at Gorilla Park and made sure they let the Abers boy's and faithful know exactly what is thought of their club and spending habits!!!!!!

So the old boys memories must be failing them....... What was the name of that fella that bought us those flags again? Throwing stones.... Kidding

After such a surprising start to the season, I can't believe how little there is on this thread. Turbo!!!!! Cancel the sebatical! At least you got people to post their opinions on games and we had stuff to read.

I went to watch Pacco and Greenvale in what should have been a much closer game than the final result ended up. Pacco could have and should have been up by four goals before Greenvale even got on the board. Kicking the first five behinds (some pretty easy misses) before Greenvale finally got into forward line and kicked a goal. Pacco seemed to be everywhere early and worked harder in the first half of the quarter but then faded late. Greenvale seemed to work their way in to the game slowly but got better and better as the game went on. Pacco tried everything but just couldn't get closer then three goals. At three quarter time being 25 points down, I expected Pacco to make their move in the last quarter. Instead the wheels fell off with defenders arguing with each other as to whose man had just marked the ball inside 50. Then Pacco just stopped working hard and it became a training drill for Greenvale. I must say some of the bullet passes from the Greenvale midfield to Shinners and Thompson were exceptional.

Pacco are better than what they showed and seemed to chuck the towel in early for some reason, which would be a concern to the coaching staff. I wouldn't necessarily write Pacco off too early and give then another chance before writing them off.

Ross was great, I thought Harris was alright as well, the ruckman harassed the crap out of Deluca all day and I thought beat him but at worst held his own. Pacco had a chap that wore 55 I thought but couldn't find the number on the team list so I could be wrong with the number but needs a hair cut and can seriously play. I was surprised Warren was named in the best but that just my opinion.

Greenvale had Shinners who would be licking his lips at the prospect of getting the ball delivered to him like that all season. Thompson was great and was the enforcer on the forward line. Caruso brothers made a great debut as did Vasilevski. Their defence was pretty good all day. Their small brigade is pretty good and fed the forwards well. Should go well this year. If they have a weakness it would be are probably one tall light in the forward line.

Went down and watched APW v WC. Interesting to see the Conlon playing reserves, though it was only the first half. Not every day you see an athletic 6'6 full forward playing twos footy. Cupido was very disappointing, would take a kick out and then just walk up the field slowly. Rogers presented well and Cross did a lot of good work around the ball. WC up by 70 points at 3/4 time and took the foot off the gas, to only win by half that margin. Was it the mentality that they were winning and took the foot off the gas or was it a lack of fitness, time will tell. All in all, WC will trouble a couple of sides this year, may be a lot more even than what people think, going by the results of round 1.

Interesting times ahead for a lot of teams in round 2.

After such a surprising start to the season, I can't believe how little there is on this thread. Turbo!!!!! Cancel the sebatical! At least you got people to post their opinions on games and we had stuff to read.

I went to watch Pacco and Greenvale in what should have been a much closer game than the final result ended up. Pacco could have and should have been up by four goals before Greenvale even got on the board. Kicking the first five behinds (some pretty easy misses) before Greenvale finally got into forward line and kicked a goal. Pacco seemed to be everywhere early and worked harder in the first half of the quarter but then faded late. Greenvale seemed to work their way in to the game slowly but got better and better as the game went on. Pacco tried everything but just couldn't get closer then three goals. At three quarter time being 25 points down, I expected Pacco to make their move in the last quarter. Instead the wheels fell off with defenders arguing with each other as to whose man had just marked the ball inside 50. Then Pacco just stopped working hard and it became a training drill for Greenvale. I must say some of the bullet passes from the Greenvale midfield to Shinners and Thompson were exceptional.

Pacco are better than what they showed and seemed to chuck the towel in early for some reason, which would be a concern to the coaching staff. I wouldn't necessarily write Pacco off too early and give then another chance before writing them off.

Ross was great, I thought Harris was alright as well, the ruckman harassed the crap out of Deluca all day and I thought beat him but at worst held his own. Pacco had a chap that wore 55 I thought but couldn't find the number on the team list so I could be wrong with the number but needs a hair cut and can seriously play. I was surprised Warren was named in the best but that just my opinion.

Greenvale had Shinners who would be licking his lips at the prospect of getting the ball delivered to him like that all season. Thompson was great and was the enforcer on the forward line. Caruso brothers made a great debut as did Vasilevski. Their defence was pretty good all day. Their small brigade is pretty good and fed the forwards well. Should go well this year. If they have a weakness it would be are probably one tall light in the forward line.
I think you'd be referring to Lewis, he put in a good shift and didn't stop running all day even when the game was gone, along with Ben Ross would have been PV's best.

Ok thanks. Saw him play a couple of times and off memory it may have been 6 that he wore last time??? Still what ever the number he wore, He is a real goer. You are absolutely right one of few that actually fought it out to the end.