EDFL Premier Division 2016

Do we all think the points & salary cap now make it difficult to recruit players like Nahas who probably still has a few good years ahead of him.

I do kind of agree with the points system to a point, but i don't agree with the following:
1- players who are leading goal kickers or high in the B&F count are allocated extra points, just for being good players.

2- if you are from the country and working in metro area you should have points reduced somewhat.

3- if your junior club only had juniors you should be 2 points. Love the idea of heading back to your junior club but not all players had one with senior affiliation.

4- if your junior club is in a lower grade than you wish to play you should have a reduction of points. Why should you be disadvantaged just for playing the best standard you can. It's not the players fault their home club might be struggling.

Views???

Agree with all your points Turbo ! Especially number 1, how can a players points be decided based upon a subjective measure, it just doesn't seem right.

Starting a new topic, Team of the Year ! I will have a go but admit my knowledge of EDFL players across the board isn't as good as some of yours, just going on what I have seen and heard of players, some I've only seen play the rep game.

Toy(ABF) R Allan(ABF) Tanner (K)
Iacobucci(STR) Smith (G) Brewer (G)
Cubillo(ABF) McLean (ABF) Ross (PV)
Cartelli(K) Warren(PV) Veszpremi (EDS)
Rose(AVH) Galea(K) Reimers (ABF)
Browne(K) Blackwell(ABF) F.Curoso(GV)

INT - Lower(G), Pfieffer (EDS), Barbuto (K), McGuane (K)

Coach - McGuane.

Salary Cap, Points !!!
How are they going to fit them in ??
Should be o.k. as far as the points go. Last season they generally operated at mid to high 30's, although it crept up to 45 in one game. As for the salary cap, there also shouldn't be any issues. Strathmore players all play for the love of the guernsey, and not money. Just like Pacco players Turbo??

Looks like that Dotta's, Pacco, Marby, Keilor and I would guess now CB will be tapped out with available points for 2017. That would leave Greenvale in a pretty good position in relatiom to points. Does anyone disagree?

marby will have room to move from what I've heard

If you hold on to the majority of your list it will actually create more available points in your cap of 50 if you have recruits from 2015&16. PV will have room and could 2017 be the year of the panther?

Even if clubs don't abide by the salary cap in the initial years, ultimately I'm sure ALL clubs would like to reign back in match payments somewhat. I do think a budget of between 200-270k is what clubs should be trying to achieve so a cap of 250k is probably a good number.

I'm not sure any player is worth more than 1000 however probably agree a marquee player (or 2max) could get more depending on,
-their season performance?
-what Position they play?
-do they give you 100% effort and commitment?
-what else are they doing at your club? Public speaking, helping with juniors, engaging sponsors etc...

Just my views...

If you hold on to the majority of your list it will actually create more available points in your cap of 50 if you have recruits from 2015&16. PV will have room and could 2017 be the year of the panther?

Even if clubs don't abide by the salary cap in the initial years, ultimately I'm sure ALL clubs would like to reign back in match payments somewhat. I do think a budget of between 200-270k is what clubs should be trying to achieve so a cap of 250k is probably a good number.

I'm not sure any player is worth more than 1000 however probably agree a marquee player (or 2max) could get more depending on,
-their season performance?
-what Position they play?
-do they give you 100% effort and commitment?
-what else are they doing at your club? Public speaking, helping with juniors, engaging sponsors etc...

Just my views...

Bit hard to say someone like Galea isn't worth 1000, kicking 101 goals in a season and 6 in a grand final is huge!

Agree with all your points Turbo ! Especially number 1, how can a players points be decided based upon a subjective measure, it just doesn't seem right.

Starting a new topic, Team of the Year ! I will have a go but admit my knowledge of EDFL players across the board isn't as good as some of yours, just going on what I have seen and heard of players, some I've only seen play the rep game.

Coach - McGuane.

Robbie Castello a Bit Stiff???? Brendon Hollow at bit Stiff ?? Vearing and Bruest a bit stiff as well!!

Coach - McGuane.

Fair side there. I know these things are people's opinions but Barbuto is not in the best 22 surely.

My changes & thoughts!!
-Foster (PV) CHB in place of Smith. I'm sure most agree with this one!!
*But I'm a fan of Smith, but prefer him forward.

- Agree with Dundee that Castello (MP) is in best 18. Castello to HF and Cartelli (K) to the bench in place of McGuane. Cartelli is more a mid than forward.

-Jackson (PV) in place of Barbuto on the bench.

Deluca (GV) or Tighe (SM) must get a gig as the 2nd ruck. I would have another ruck instead of Lower.

Must be considered:
Patak (A)
Shiners / Smith GV)
Urghart / Raven / Polizzi (PV)
Castello (MP)
Bathie (K)
Allan / Hartwig (DS)
Clough (APW)

Didn't see enough of WC to comment but they did have a flashy midsize forward who looked good.

O

Coach - McGuane.
Obviously haven't seen Foster from PV much have you ?

Fair side there. I know these things are people's opinions but Barbuto is not in the best 22 surely.

My changes & thoughts!!

- Agree with Dundee that Castello (MP) is in best 18. Castello to HF and Cartelli (K) to the bench in place of McGuane. Cartelli is more a mid than forward.

Deluca (GV) or Tighe (SM) must get a gig as the 2nd ruck. I would have another ruck instead of Lower.

Must be considered:
Patak (A)
Shiners / Smith GV)
Castello (MP)
Bathie (K)
Allan / Hartwig (DS)
Clough (APW)

Didn't see enough of WC to comment but they did have a flashy midsize forward who looked good.
gotta
have Dylan Joyce, leadership alone but has been stand out all year for KFC, great in GF. Mcguane missed too many games, too injured

My changes & thoughts!!

Must be considered:
Patak (A)
Shiners / Smith GV)
Castello (MP)
Bathie (K)
Allan / Hartwig (DS)
Clough (APW)

Not sure what you have against Kane Barbuto Turbo , not high profile enough ? But if the TOTY is picked solely on form and not reputation he is a certainty . He is a strong chance of winning Keilors B& F for the 2nd year running . Galea may pip him I'm told. Of your " must be considered " Jamie Allan should be a lock. As of Patak and Bathie they wouldn't considered if 5 sides were picked. In fact Bathie was lucky to be picked in the side for the GF.

Coach - McGuane.
Very good side, cant see to much wrong with it. Personally I wouldn't have mcguane on the bench as he didn't play enough games & 20-40% of the games he did he only played 1-2 quarters
I would move smith to the bench in his place (as good foward as he is back so perfect swingman for the bench) and I would put foster in the side at CHB and maybe change iacobucci or brewer for baravi from WC

Not sure what you have against Kane Barbuto Turbo , not high profile enough ? But if the TOTY is picked solely on form and not reputation he is a certainty . He is a strong chance of winning Keilors B& F for the 2nd year running . Galea may pip him I'm told. Of your " must be considered " Jamie Allan should be a lock. As of Patak and Bathie they wouldn't considered if 5 sides were picked. In fact Bathie was lucky to be picked in the side for the GF.

Hey Bully. Yeah I guess I don't have much time for him but let's not revisit the reasons, but his not as good as a few others running around. If I was going by club B&Fs then I could try and put in M Ross who goes alright to, but I just can't fit him in.

What's happened to Bathie then, as he was a gun. I guess maybe splitting time between VFL and Keilor might not have been ideal. But I've got big wraps on him and clearly his in my top 50 players in premier. Seen him a bit over the years and his a gun.

Patak, gee he just burrows in and does all the work others would rather not do. Very underestimated player and been vital to Abers over recent years.

But hey Bully it's a great discussion point and your opinions are noted mate.

For the record, I would select Rose at FF and Galea in the pocket, as if Patty was playing for Keilor he would have kicked a 100 in the home & away season. But hey I'm only being picky and stirring another debate..

Hey Bully. Yeah I guess I don't have much time for him but let's not revisit the reasons, but his not as good as a few others running around. If I was going by club B&Fs then I could try and put in M Ross who goes alright to, but I just can't fit him in.

What's happened to Bathie then, as he was a gun. I guess maybe splitting time between VFL and Keilor might not have been ideal. But I've got big wraps on him and clearly his in my top 50 players in premier. Seen him a bit over the years and his a gun.

Patak, gee he just burrows in and does all the work others would rather not do. Very underestimated player and been vital to Abers over recent years.

For the record, I would select Rose at FF and Galea in the pocket, as if Patty was playing for Keilor he would have kicked a 100 in the home & away season. But hey I'm only being picky and stirring another debate..
Think you have the wrong barbuto turbo, Kane barbuto #4 consistently in Keilors top 2-3 players and deserves a spot in the team of the year imo
Understand your point on galea-rose but (probably Keilor bias) I would go with galea at FF over rose
Bathie is good when he wants to be which unfortunately is only about 2 times a season, seems to lack interest most weeks and I wouldn't rate him in Keilors top 10 players let alone the comp

Foster definitely in Turbo. Like everyone only see players a few times. Not true CHB saw Pacco like to free him up. Marks everything and great kick. Does he replace Smith who played fwd a bit late in the year, probably. Bemused you throw up Tighe(SM) who played half the season. McIntosh 2nd ruck/fwd has to be in kicked 31. Yes I've done some research and I think the Rd9 tribunal hearing still doesn't sit well with you. Visited your post mid year. Robbie Castello starts on the ground mid/half back. Stars everywhere, good to debate.

Gday LFDE, I don't wish to go over old ground but yeah it still doesn't sit well with me. The PV player was just starting to get some form & fitness at the time and it really set him back, and he probably didn't rediscover that form on his return. The player is also a homegrown 1 pointer and does like the physical hits (gives some and wears some) so I was a bit disappointed in what occurred post game.

Let's put it in perspective, he got 5 less weeks than someone who broke a players jaw and sent him to hospital, in an incident behind play. 4 weeks just doesn't sit well with me..
Anyway we have moved on...

All good debate. B&F in a premiership side just about takes the cake I reckon. Gee you are stirring the pot with Rose and Galea and whilst they are mates there's no doubt a bit rivalry comes into play between them and I'd be asking for trouble if I made a judgement either way if you read between the lines .Lets just say they have different styles and you'd be happy with either .

I'll have a crack at the Team of the Year - certainly not an easy task

B: Toy (Abers) Hartwig (Douttas) Laurie (Abers)
HB: Castello (MP) Tanner (K) Foster (Paco)
C: A Lewis (Paco) Blackwell (Abers) K Barbuto (K)
HF: Pfeifer (EDS) Hughes (EDS) Cartelli (K)
F: Rose (AH) Galea (K) Reimers (Abers)
R: Browne (K) F Caruso (GV) Cubillo (Abers)
I: Vearing (MP) Allan (EDS) Baravi (WC) McKenzie (MP)

EDFL Premier Division 2016