EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Still up on EDFL website as being at Lebanon Reserve.

Don't think they would move it now but it's a good talking point. Even at Windy Hill I'm sure they would allow them to use the canteen area and beer van. Someone at Strathmore would know someone at Essendon. Might be an issue with residential parking and noise in the area maybe.
I remember Marby doing the game when Wayne Carey played. Agree the ground and facilities are not in the top few, but the open spaces was great for food vans, selling beer, selling mechandise etc. it was a great set up.
You could do a similar think at Keilor Park but there is more parking due to the open spaces. However to park on the surrounding areas you need council permission.

Now the ideas are flowing on big footy. Like the idea of playing at Windy Hill. I also don't mind the idea of playing at Keilor Park with the open spaces. Now you could even have a double header or play the div1 game on the second ground at Keilor Park "but" they only have 1 set of change rooms.
Now with regards to revenue I would say Keilor Park would probably allow the home side to use there canteen and they could sell stubbies around the ground and from the bar.
Keilor Park could maybe run a sausage sizzle, take over the bar after the game ( but still allow home side to sell beer outside) and charge $2 for car parking and donate it to the children's hospital.
This way I don't think the "home" club wouldnt lose any revenue, probably make more than if played on there actual ground.
Imagine the crowd if div1 were to play on the other ground but then the revenue would need to involve certain areas aside for the "home" clubs.

It would be a massize day!! Would attract a huge crowd. Keilor Park ground size & surface are excellent for footy and up there with the best. Facilities not great but ok in April it's just when the cold weather sets in.

I'm sure something could be worked out if it went this way in future..

But for this week all BF people can park at Stax on mills house. What's your address mate?? Haha

you are delusion Turbos mail.

Its hard at Windy Hill because the social club control the beer sales
Don't think they would move it now but it's a good talking point. Even at Windy Hill I'm sure they would allow them to use the canteen area and beer van. Someone at Strathmore would know someone at Essendon. Might be an issue with residential parking and noise in the area maybe.
I remember Marby doing the game when Wayne Carey played. Agree the ground and facilities are not in the top few, but the open spaces was great for food vans, selling beer, selling mechandise etc. it was a great set up.
You could do a similar think at Keilor Park but there is more parking due to the open spaces. However to park on the surrounding areas you need council permission.

Keilor Park is the worst ground in all 3 leagues to watch footy from, absolutely no shelter from the elements, no atmosphere and is windy the whole time.

Latest odds from CrownBet..

Aberfeldie 2.10
Avondale Heights 5.00
Strathmore 5.00
Greenvale 6.00
Pascoe Vale 8.00
Keilor 11.00
Maribyrnong Park 26.00
Airport West 26.00
Northern Saints 67.00
West Coburg 101.00

Its hard at Windy Hill because the social club control the beer sales

Keilor Park is the worst ground in all 3 leagues to watch footy from, absolutely no shelter from the elements, no atmosphere and is windy the whole time.

I don't agree. For reasons as below:
-top playing surface
-great size ground for showcasing skills
-good viewing ground. Buts it's a big ground so dont stand behind the goals.
-shade under the rotunda.

But agree it can get windy and cold if the weather is not good. Also you can't see from the social rooms which is not a good situation.

I'm not sure a lot of grounds in the EDFL have much shelter from wind and rain. Maybe Keilor, Greenvale are exemptions.

But if you compare both Strathmore and Keilor Park grounds in April Keilor Park have a lot more room and is a better viewing ground and better sized ground.
If it's bad weather then agree there is less wind at Strathmore but it's also affected by limited shelter but it's better.

In closing on a nice April day any good player would prefer to play at Keilor Park as its bigger and allows for a better standard of footy..

Note- my assesment is based on playing rd1 in April. Otherwise I agree it's windy etc.,

Latest odds from CrownBet..

Aberfeldie 2.10
Avondale Heights 5.00
Strathmore 5.00
Greenvale 6.00
Pascoe Vale 8.00
Keilor 11.00
Maribyrnong Park 26.00
Airport West 26.00
Northern Saints 67.00
West Coburg 101.00

Cheers mate.
Abers - overs.
Strathmore - good value
Greenvale - they will like these odds
Pacco - interesting odds. Bit short but might have to put something on..

Cheers mate.
Abers - overs.
Strathmore - good value
Greenvale - they will like these odds
Pacco - interesting odds. Bit short but might have to put something on..
Reckon you would be ecstatic at getting 8's Turbo. Would have thought Pacco should have been 5's or 6. Their playing list on the way to rivalling Abers.

I don't agree. For reasons as below:
-top playing surfaceld
-great size ground for showcasing skills
-good viewing ground. Buts it's a big ground so dont stand behind the goals.
-shade under the rotunda.

But agree it can get windy and cold if the weather is not good. Also you can't see from the social rooms which is not a good situation.

I'm not sure a lot of grounds in the EDFL have much shelter from wind and rain. Maybe Keilor, Greenvale are exemptions.

But if you compare both Strathmore and Keilor Park grounds in April Keilor Park have a lot more room and is a better viewing ground and better sized ground.e
If it's bad weather then agree there is less wind at Strathmore but it's also affected by limited shelter but it's better.

In closing on a nice April day any good player would prefer to play at Keilor Park as its bigger and allows for a better standard of footy..

Note- my assesment is based on playing rd1 in April. Otherwise I agree it's windy etc.,
Im a bit partial but Glenroys ground would have to be one of the best venues to watch EDFL footy from. Plus the social rooms are magnificent!

Great call Glenroy, surface, size and viewing. Went for junior cricket few weeks back, the club rooms are like a classy hotel foyer. Blew me away as hadn't been there for years.
Same issue though with parking, you're six blocks away.
My tip for Friday as have friends in Strathmore. If you can train it get off at Pacco, walk across the foot bridge next to Red Rooter (less than 10 min walk, you won't park much closer) get on the piss and watch a good game of footy without driving/parking. Get home as you please!
Don't plan this yet as Banger50 will no doubt come up with some reason to negate that idea and will have no alternate plan to back it up.
Surprise me Banger! Please!

Great call Glenroy, surface, size and viewing. Went for junior cricket few weeks back, the club rooms are like a classy hotel foyer. Blew me away as hadn't been there for years.
My tip for Friday as have friends in Strathmore. If you can train it get off at Pacco, walk across the foot bridge next to Red Rooter (less than 10 min walk, you won't park much closer) get on the piss and watch a good game of footy without driving/parking. Get home as you please!
Don't plan this yet as Banger50 will no doubt come up with some reason to negate that idea and will have no alternate plan to back it up.

Great idea but don't forget to leave a bit earlier and have a counter lunch at the Pascoe Vale Hotel. $10 lunches, you can't them. Then after sinking a few in the rooms after the game, back to the Pacco pub for a counter tea..
Cheaper than fish & chips and it will be quicker than waiting at the local fish shop.

To all - By the way I agree Glenroys ground is good and I was only responding as someone mentioned the idea of using Keilor Parks ground.

LFED, who do think will win mate..

Great idea but don't forget to leave a bit earlier and have a counter lunch at the Pascoe Vale Hotel. $10 lunches, you can't them. Then after sinking a few in the rooms after the game, back to the Pacco pub for a counter tea..
Cheaper than fish & chips and it will be quicker than waiting at the local fish shop.

To all - By the way I agree Glenroys ground is good and I was only responding as someone mentioned the idea of using Keilor Parks ground.

LFED, who do think will win mate..
No idea Turbo. Was told Strathmore will have 10-12 out of the premiership side through retirement, suspension and injury. Apart from Sikora and Potter don't know who else comes in.
Stax, can you tell us about any of the others?

No idea Turbo. Was told Strathmore will have 10-12 out of the premiership side through retirement, suspension and injury. Apart from Sikora and Potter don't know who else comes in.

Wonder where they are planning to play Potter if Sika is their 1st choice ruckman. As Sika will probably ruck all game on Strathmores ground. The problem I find is the ball moves quick at Strathmore as the ground isn't that big, so I will be interested to see how Sika goes. He will win the majority of hit outs but might be lost after that. Last year one of his better games was at Douttas as he was able to run and be 1 out around the bigger ground.

Who would seriously want to catch a train on Good Friday?
And get home as you please, yeah that's a real good plan!

Get the missus(or your partner) to drop and pick you up

Hi LFDE. Things have been pretty quiet at Strathmore on the recruitment front this season. Apart from Sikora and Potter, the only other recruit of note is David Mitchell, a hard at it on baller from Bundoora. He is a former Northern League comp B & F winner and represented them in 2014 against EDFL.

They certainly have lost a few through retirements/injury/ transfer. Jones, R Little, Mazzeo, T Grima, Lyons, and a few others. However every club goes through this and they will still be pretty strong. Should be an excellent match on Friday. Keilor have recruited well and will be a tough opponent. Weather forecast sounds perfect.

Good luck to both teams and all other clubs. Hopefully this season of EDFL Premier comp turns out to be as fantastically competitive as 2014 proved to be.

Hi LFDE. Things have been pretty quiet at Strathmore on the recruitment front this season. Apart from Sikora and Potter, the only other recruit of note is David Mitchell, a hard at it on baller from Bundoora. He is a former Northern League comp B & F winner and represented them in 2014 against EDFL.

They certainly have lost a few through retirements/injury/ transfer. Jones, R Little, Mazzeo, T Grima, Lyons, and a few others. However every club goes through this and they will still be pretty strong. Should be an excellent match on Friday. Keilor have recruited well and will be a tough opponent. Weather forecast sounds perfect.

Good luck to both teams and all other clubs. Hopefully this season of EDFL Premier comp turns out to be as fantastically competitive as 2014 proved to be.

That is a huge loss to Strathmores backline.. Are there players from the 2s or 18s that can replace them. Potter may play at CHB, he used to float in that role a little with Greenvale.

Thanks Stax. The talk of Scott West playing dropped off pretty quickly on here after you said it wouldn't happen.
Heard he played all three practice matches...true? Will he play on Friday?

Who would seriously want to catch a train on Good Friday?
And get home as you please, yeah that's a real good plan!

Get the missus(or your partner) to drop and pick you up

yes train out of the question, how about you just drive there yourself to the ground, park where you find parking in the streets around, and walk the 5-10 minues to the ground.

That is a huge loss to Strathmores backline.. Are there players from the 2s or 18s that can replace them. Potter may play at CHB, he used to float in that role a little with Greenvale.
Not sure about ready made replacements ItsAllAboutMe. I think they will struggle to replace what they have lost. Potter certainly is a valuable acquisition. Although he must be getting on now he is still a very handy and versatile player, very mobile for a big man, can take a mark, forward or back, and will be able to give Siikora a chop out in the ruck.

Thanks Stax. The talk of Scott West playing dropped off pretty quickly on here after you said it wouldn't happen.
Heard he played all three practice matches...true? Will he play on Friday?
I'm just a supporter and don't have any involvement down at club, but I very much doubt if he would play on Friday. He certainly played at least 2 practice matches, so you never know. 6 and a half years out of game is a long time, and 40 years of age! I see today on the EDFL website in their review of Strathmore's prospects they have got West in the " watch" category.

In my earlier list of acquisitions I forgot about Callum Wilson from Diggers Rest. He apparently played senior games for WCE. A big forward.