EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

There appears to be a few Nth Saints people on big footy so I'm going to raise a question. I see West Coburg has got a good thing going with Coburg to use there ground for home games. Really great idea and forward thinking. Can only be a good thing for supporters and attracting players. This leads me to Northern Saints. Could they do a similar thing at the Preston oval. Both clubs are called Northern. I know that Preston is more aligned with the NFL and there is a team called Northern Blues in local ( I think in the Ammos) but couldn't hurt to ask the question.
Now the Preston oval is a top ground in a great location. Could you even look to create a new jumper as i know the old Preston have lost a bit of identity since they merged with Carlton.
I know you guys will think why pick on us.. But I'm not picking on you just trying to improve the club as you guys have mentioned it tough in your area due to soccer etc. Surely this idea could attract more sponsors, more spectactors will come from both sides, attract players, possibly build some type of alignment down the track..
Turbo - you seem to have a lot of idea's. You seem like one of these blokes who likes to be heard giving your opinion but never actually raised a finger to help your club by getting on the committee, cooking the bbq, spending a few hours behind the Bar, sweeping the rooms when everyone is in the social rooms having a beer ect.ect....

Last edited by a moderator:
Turbo - you seem to have a lot of idea's. You seem like one of these blokes who likes to be heard giving your opinion but never actually raised a finger to help your club by getting on the committee, cooking the bbq, spending a few hours behind the Bar, sweeping the rooms when everyone is in the social rooms having a beer ect.ect....
Totally uncalled for comments bangfrom50. Not sure if you're just trying to stir the pot with some controversial comments or actually believe what you have written. Either way you're out of line.

I don't always agree with everything Turbos posts, but he often comes up with some interesting and challenging insights and opinions. It is also obvious that he is passionate about his local footy, and not just the EDFL, as I see his posts on any number of metro and country forums.

He also does not make abusive, derogatory personal comments about other posters, even though he may disagree with their opinions. Perhaps that is something you could take on board before next you launch into print.

There appears to be a few Nth Saints people on big footy so I'm going to raise a question. I see West Coburg has got a good thing going with Coburg to use there ground for home games. Really great idea and forward thinking. Can only be a good thing for supporters and attracting players. This leads me to Northern Saints. Could they do a similar thing at the Preston oval. Both clubs are called Northern. I know that Preston is more aligned with the NFL and there is a team called Northern Blues in local ( I think in the Ammos) but couldn't hurt to ask the question.
Now the Preston oval is a top ground in a great location. Could you even look to create a new jumper as i know the old Preston have lost a bit of identity since they merged with Carlton.
I know you guys will think why pick on us.. But I'm not picking on you just trying to improve the club as you guys have mentioned it tough in your area due to soccer etc. Surely this idea could attract more sponsors, more spectactors will come from both sides, attract players, possibly build some type of alignment down the track..

I think a simple No is the best way to answer this.

Moreland Council have just spent hundreds of thousands of dollars on Charles Mutton Reserve and plan on spending more to match the spending on the soccer club at CB Smith Oval. So the last thing the Council want are the grounds used less, remembering CMR has two ovals so maybe West Coburg will be moved onto the CMR 2nd Oval if City Oval gets too much traffic on it.

Totally uncalled for comments bangfrom50. Not sure if you're just trying to stir the pot with some controversial comments or actually believe what you have written. Either way you're out of line.

I don't always agree with everything Turbos posts, but he often comes up with some interesting and challenging insights and opinions. It is also obvious that he is passionate about his local footy, and not just the EDFL, as I see his posts on any number of metro and country forums.

He also does not make abusive, derogatory personal comments about other posters, even though he may disagree with their opinions. Perhaps that is something you could take on board before next you launch into print.

That's a bit harsh, did you think before hitting send you might hurt my feelings posting this?

Here's the records on B/Div 1 premiers over the last 15 years.. (note length of stint may be incorrect)..

2000 – West Coburg – last two years
2001 – Keilor Park – lasted about six years?
2002 – Greenvale – still up and with four Premier flags, five premier reserve flags and two U18 flags
2003 – Tullamarine – lasted one year
2004 – Avondale – still up and competitive
2005 – Craigieburn – lasted about 7 years?
2006 – West Coburg – lasted about five years?
2007 – Maribyrnong Park – still up and with two Premier flags
2008 – Glenroy – lasted one year
2009 – Oak Park – lasted about four years?
2010 – Taylors Lakes – lasted one year
2011 – Pascoe Vale – still up
2012 – Airport West – still up
2013 – Northern Saints – still up
2014 – West Coburg – will stay up

Here's the records on B/Div 1 premiers over the last 15 years.. (note length of stint may be incorrect)..

2000 – West Coburg – last two years
2001 – Keilor Park – lasted about six years?
2002 – Greenvale – still up and with four Premier flags, five premier reserve flags and two U18 flags
2003 – Tullamarine – lasted one year
2004 – Avondale – still up and competitive
2005 – Craigieburn – lasted about 7 years?
2006 – West Coburg – last about five years?
2007 – Maribyrnong Park – still up and with two Premier flags
2008 – Glenroy – lasted one year
2009 – Oak Park – lasted about four years?
2010 – Taylors Lakes – lasted one year
2011 – Pascoe Vale – still up
2012 – Airport West – still up
2013 – Northern Saints – still up
2014 – West Coburg – will stay up
It's pretty obvious from those stats that most newly promoted clubs have managed to adapt to Premier grade, and in some cases have thrived in the top grade. Obviously not easy for promoted clubs, but don't agree that they should be exempted from relegation if they finish last in their first season up.

Not fair on 9th placed team if they win 3-4, with a percentage of 70, but get relegated, despite the 10th ranked team being winless with a percentage of 23, just because it's their first year in Premier division.

Mate I can tell you I have done my share of things around footy & cricket clubs, and always willing to help out when I'm around any club. Bit hard these days with the family but if ever I'm called upon I'm usually there to help.
I have some spare time due to my shift roster, so my brain is often thinking of things and I share them on BF. Yes some ideas are good, some not so good but I can tell you, that clubs Should encourage ideas from there commitee and members and then review each of them. Someone once told me to always ask questions & offer opinions.
I would like to run a club one day if time and commitments allow, and someone is willing to take me!!

Your last comment was a bit ordinary but it's water of a ducks back. Don't think I will bother replying to your posts any more as not sure of what your trying to achieve on here.

Comment- what are local sports clubs for? To engage communities, to provide community facilities, to provide youngsters/families with a place to go and be active.

Stax on the mill, thanks for your support mate..

1061, seems like finally something good might be happenning at CMR, as from some earlier posts it appeared like a challenge with council money going into that soccer club. Keep pushing councils. You sometimes need to yell as they are partly deaf. Lol

Cheers all..

It's pretty obvious from those stats that most newly promoted clubs have managed to adapt to Premier grade, and in some cases have thrived in the top grade. Obviously not easy for promoted clubs, but don't agree that they should be exempted from relegation if they finish last in their first season up.

Not fair on 9th placed team if they win 3-4, with a percentage of 70, but get relegated, despite the 10th ranked team being winless with a percentage of 23, just because it's their first year in Premier division.

OK fair enough, then maybe a minimum winning ratio is required to be eligible to miss relegation in their first year.

Mate I can tell you I have done my share of things around footy & cricket clubs, and always willing to help out when I'm around any club. Bit hard these days with the family but if ever I'm called upon I'm usually there to help.
I have some spare time due to my shift roster, so my brain is often thinking of things and I share them on BF. Yes some ideas are good, some not so good but I can tell you, that clubs Should encourage ideas from there commitee and members and then review each of them. Someone once told me to always ask questions & offer opinions.
I would like to run a club one day if time and commitments allow, and someone is willing to take me!!

Your last comment was a bit ordinary but it's water of a ducks back. Don't think I will bother replying to your posts any more as not sure of what your trying to achieve on here.

Comment- what are local sports clubs for? To engage communities, to provide community facilities, to provide youngsters/families with a place to go and be active.

Stax on the mill, thanks for your support mate..

1061, seems like finally something good might be happenning at CMR, as from some earlier posts it appeared like a challenge with council money going into that soccer club. Keep pushing councils. You sometimes need to yell as they are partly deaf. Lol

Cheers all..
Well said Turbo. I love reading your posts! Just a lot of young idiots get on here being heroes!! Bet they wouldnt put there reals names up with there stupid posts!

Way too much time on your hands Turbo, some of your ideas are really starting to come out of left field. Stick to your campaign for cheap beer and lower canteen prices.
However I do enjoy your posts so keep it up.

Way too much time on your hands Turbo, some of your ideas are really starting to come out of left field. Stick to your campaign for cheap beer and lower canteen prices.
However I do enjoy your posts so keep it up.

Turbos footy fix will be back shortly, recent posts read of serious off season withdrawals, idle minds tend to drift to left field thoughts.
The beer pricing is the best off season post I've read, some clubs do take the piss ( no pun intended) with there take out or boundary line bar charges.
Look forward to your season proper posts Turbo, you do keep this interesting reading

Haha why Turbo is raising some new bright ideas, has the EDFL ever considered copying the VCFL model of having netball as part of the league? IMO it would add plenty to the clubs, it gets the women involved and part of the club and encourages the social aspect of local footy as we all know its much easier for husband to stay back after the game for beers if the wife is there. I am not sure about logistics with courts etc but I am sure there is a way to make it work.

Now that is a great idea, NFL introduced it a couple of years ago and clubs had to install courts, (probably with council grants helping out).
There are strong netball comps in the EDFLs region though, mainly church comps.
So funds for courts and establishment would be tough.
Another one of the EDFLs biggest problems is the grounds aren't fenced, and everyone goes to the footy for free, this is a rarity in local footy, certainly VCFL, you pay to get in.
Some would say great and I don't disagree, but the revenue would be handy for clubs, maybe I'm dribble now.

I know places like Melton and Sunbury the netball is a huge part of the club culture.

Now that is a great idea, NFL introduced it a couple of years ago and clubs had to install courts, (probably with council grants helping out).
Another one of the EDFLs biggest problems is the grounds aren't fenced, and everyone goes to the footy for free, this is a rarity in local footy, certainly VCFL, you pay to get in.
Some would say great and I don't disagree, but the revenue would be handy for clubs, maybe I'm dribble now.

I know places like Melton and Sunbury the netball is a huge part of the club culture.

I have grown up at Country Footy and having the netball is our way of life. Our clubs are places for the whole family

I believe the EDFL are looking at starting a Netball comp and just to confirm this I recently saw some of the movers and shakers from Aberfeldie having coffee with Bianca Chatfield and Sharelle McMahon so could be on the cards.

Big Game Friday Strathmore V Keilor. It is a pity this game is played at Strathmore which is clearly the worst ground in the League for Parking & Viewing. I'll go as far to say worst(most expensive) canteen also. If the EDFL are going to have a "show case" game on Good Friday more thought needs to go into the venue every 2nd year when not played at Keilor

Tend to agree re this, why not play it at Keilor and charge $5 to get in that goes towards the RCH appeal. Parking will be a nightmare at Strathmore, also now the league has full access to windy hill no reason it couldnt be played there.

Have to agree re parking at Strathmore. Doesn't worry me as I live around the corner.,Don't necessarily agree re viewing, and also ground conditions are good since they did the re surface.

Can't see Mores agreeing to hand the financial windfall or home ground advantage to Keilor of hosting this match every year. Clear agreement at the outset was that it would be alternated year upon year. Abers and Avondale now play on Anzac Day each year at alternate venues. Seems to work well.

Could be a good idea to play these matches at Windy Hill. However can't see any of the 4 clubs agreeing if they are going to forego any revenue.

Have to agree re parking at Strathmore. Doesn't worry me as I live around the corner.,Don't necessarily agree re viewing, and also ground conditions are good since they did the re surface.

Can't see Mores agreeing to hand the financial windfall or home ground advantage to Keilor of hosting this match every year. Clear agreement at the outset was that it would be alternated year upon year. Abers and Avondale now play on Anzac Day each year at alternate venues. Seems to work well.

Could be a good idea to play these matches at Windy Hill. However can't see any of the 4 clubs agreeing if they are going to forego any revenue.

Don't think there is a local ground that copes parking wise with the numbers that get to Good Friday games.
Keilor Park maybe best equipped if all the surrounding area was opened up.
Windy Hill big finals you can park 4-5 blocks away. Bit of inconvenience to see a good standard game with a big crowd
is fine by me.

Don't think there is a local ground that copes parking wise with the numbers that get to Good Friday games.
Keilor Park maybe best equipped if all the surrounding area was opened up.
Windy Hill big finals you can park 4-5 blocks away. Bit of inconvenience to see a good standard game with a big crowd
is fine by me.
That's fair, not many grounds could handle the Parking, but most others have better access of getting in/out, more street space ect... it's just that where Strathmore's ground is situated is a hole of a joint

Now the ideas are flowing on big footy. Like the idea of playing at Windy Hill. I also don't mind the idea of playing at Keilor Park with the open spaces. Now you could even have a double header or play the div1 game on the second ground at Keilor Park "but" they only have 1 set of change rooms.
Now with regards to revenue I would say Keilor Park would probably allow the home side to use there canteen and they could sell stubbies around the ground and from the bar.
Keilor Park could maybe run a sausage sizzle, take over the bar after the game ( but still allow home side to sell beer outside) and charge $2 for car parking and donate it to the children's hospital.
This way I don't think the "home" club wouldnt lose any revenue, probably make more than if played on there actual ground.
Imagine the crowd if div1 were to play on the other ground but then the revenue would need to involve certain areas aside for the "home" clubs.

It would be a massize day!! Would attract a huge crowd. Keilor Park ground size & surface are excellent for footy and up there with the best. Facilities not great but ok in April it's just when the cold weather sets in.

I'm sure something could be worked out if it went this way in future..

But for this week all BF people can park at Stax on mills house. What's your address mate?? Haha