EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

In the last quarter Pacco were awesome. Northern's young team will certainly benefit by playing against such

Northern's young guys took it up to an injury depleted but still very good Pacco side for three quarters. Pacco must be short priced favourites for the flag.

Pacco are playing Greenvale and Abers over the next 2 games which will tell us where Pacco sit amongst the top few sides. Not sure if they are short priced favourites, but should at least play finals which is the aim.

I didn't get out to Saturday's game due to some other commitments, but from all reports it was played in good spirits and the young northern saints had a real crack.

Pacco are playing Greenvale and Abers over the next 2 games which will tell us where Pacco sit amongst the top few sides. Not sure if they are short priced favourites, but should at least play finals which is the aim.

I didn't get out to Saturday's game due to some other commitments, but from all reports it was played in good spirits and the young northern saints had a real crack.

Game was played in great spirits and umpired very well. I take my hat off to Pacco as some of there high profile recruits took time out of there day after the game to give a few tips to some of the younger Northern players. Very well run club, I applaud all people involved at Pacco. I hope they go all the way.

Clearly from watching at the weekend it looks set to come down to 4 teams, with 2 of them currently undefeated. Abers where impressive at the weekend, no doubt about it. To get a win without Blake and Mclean and still come away 107 point winner is massive. 43 scoring shots could have painted an even uglier picture. By the end of Round 7 we will have a clear indication of just who is up to it and who is not.

I believe Nathan Black didn't play for Marby which was a big out for them, as they probably don't have the depth to cover someone like him who can kick goals. Abers still would have won but maybe Marby might have kicked a few more goals and been a bit more competitive.

Who's the 4 team you think will play finals at the early stage of the season. Assuming we all think Abers, Greenvale & Pacco should all be there..

I agree the problem with "Caroline Wilson" is the first 4 words, "I don't like Strathmore" this comment renders anything other than Pacco related quotes either biased or agenda driven.
No doubt a lengthy diatribe reply will follow.
That is cheap from you and milkman99. Very cheap. No diatribe whatsoever to follow. Point made.

What's going on in the EDFL - seems like it's gone back to the dark old days.
Tribunal results over the past few weeks have been disturbing.
Example - Glenroy u/16 runner getting Life for threatening an umpire - that kinda stuff's just not on. Glenroy need to be held accountable as they are responsible for who officiates their games(Coach/Runner/match day official ect.ect.). I know it's tough getting volunteers ect.. but Junior Umpires being threatened by absolute flogs is not acceptable.
All this after games being called off pre-season, Burnside u/18 abandoned

I reckon its more a result of the EDFL tribunal finally waking up out of the dark ages and taking things like this serious.

I agree. If clubs don't wake up to the crap, ban players and give them a heap of weeks. Those found guilty and suspended will soon realise their actions were over the top and or unwarranted and will never play footy again or will not play for a hell of a long time. This is exactly what the EDFL Tribunal needs to do. Hopefully the message hits home to these blokes/kids who want to carry on like nimrods. No place for them in football in todays game.

That is cheap from you and milkman99. Very cheap. No diatribe whatsoever to follow. Point made.
Hey turbo what's going on mate? You haven't posted for a couple days hope your feeling ok & l didn't up set you by calling you Caroline Wilson old mate , l know it upset shit tongue so l'll stop using that name & l'll look forward to your posts:D

I reckon its more a result of the EDFL tribunal finally waking up out of the dark ages and taking things like this serious.

I agree 110% Umpires need to be protected and supported so don't get what I post the wrong way.

How many threats/verbals/complaints need to happen in relation to the umpires before someone says the umpiring system isn't right. That gives NO ONE the right to threaten/verbal/assault/ any official at any time, I'm just saying if umpires are an issue, then there's an issue that needs dealing with. 1st rule must be no tolerance of course but if there is an issue then the league needs to look at it.

I agree 110% Umpires need to be protected and supported so don't get what I post the wrong way.

How many threats/verbals/complaints need to happen in relation to the umpires before someone says the umpiring system isn't right. That gives NO ONE the right to threaten/verbal/assault/ any official at any time, I'm just saying if umpires are an issue, then there's an issue that needs dealing with. 1st rule must be no tolerance of course but if there is an issue then the league needs to look at it.

I watch a lot of footy in the EDFL both A & B Grade and I would say the umpiring is at a pretty good standard, Rowan Sawres who was in charge of the AFL umpires for 10+ years he is the current umpires coach so I am not sure the league can do much more than appoint someone with his level of experience to the top job.

Hey turbo what's going on mate? You haven't posted for a couple days hope your feeling ok & l didn't up set you by calling you Caroline Wilson old mate , l know it upset shit tongue so l'll stop using that name & l'll look forward to your posts:D

Very droll milky ... in fact, probably a career best highlight for a play on words... Didn't upset me in the slightest so keep up the supurb footy commentary and sharing your insights mate as it really is fascinating. .

Akin to watching dog shit turn white ... ...

Milky white milkman.

Witnessed an 8 year old kick an opposition player from behind after the final siren of an under 10's game on Sunday. Umpire didn't see and opposing team didn't want to report to association. Surely the club of the perpetrator should give him a couple of weeks to teach a lesson.

Hey milkman,
All good just not much to report on at the moment, but a few good weeks of premier coming up. See what happens when I don't write things nothing happens and it gets boring.. haha
Silver Tongue has been a long time big footy poster and is very knowledgeable, especially in the GVFL. Not sure why you need to stir the pot by calling people names though (as per calling Silver by another name) as that's pretty ordinary. He has a lot of fans, and rightly so..

PS: I've now been called Hutchy, Damien Barret & now Caroline Wilson. Lol. It's water of a ducks back. Wonder if Sammy Newman might give me a mention on the footy show..maybe do a cross to the Pascoe Vale Footy club for the "wheel" with Turbo..

What's going on in the EDFL - seems like it's gone back to the dark old days.
Tribunal results over the past few weeks have been disturbing.
Example - Glenroy u/16 runner getting Life for threatening an umpire - that kinda stuff's just not on. Glenroy need to be held accountable as they are responsible for who officiates their games(Coach/Runner/match day official ect.ect.). I know it's tough getting volunteers ect.. but Junior Umpires being threatened by absolute flogs is not acceptable.
All this after games being called off pre-season, Burnside u/18 abandoned

I watch a lot of footy in the EDFL both A & B Grade and I would say the umpiring is at a pretty good standard, Rowan Sawres who was in charge of the AFL umpires for 10+ years he is the current umpires coach so I am not sure the league can do much more than appoint someone with his level of experience to the top job.

Regarding the U/16 runner, there is no need for this behavoir. Usually the positions of coach, runner and team manager should be held by "good" people not any volunteer.. Volunteers are usually water boys, goal umpires, boundary umpires.. So I think this is pretty poor. Throw him out of your club immediately.

We need all the umpires we can get and surely people reliase some are still learning the caper so you need to be patient. Abusing them does no one any good.
I'm also sick of parents, supporters abusing umpires especially in the junior divisions. It's still happening far to often and sh##s me. I recently attended an u/10s game and the abuse from people was pretty bad and they didn't understand the rules themselves. Examples: touch marks. These are where they have some control and it should go forward, "not" brush your fingers and go through your hands.
Being a spectator doesn't give you the right to abuse the umpire as it's someone's child doing the job. How about if we abused junior players for every mistake they did!! It would go on and on..

One more comment I wish to make. Some years ago clubs could open the bar inside the rooms on Sunday's where many good friends were made and clubs made some extra $, but it was stopped by leagues due to opposition players and umpires being abused and increase in violence on and off field.
I understand why the decision was made, but once again it's due to specific people wrecking it for the decent people out there. Some people turn into heroes after a few beers of during junior footy when the like to abuse "young" people.,

One more comment I wish to make. Some years ago clubs could open the bar inside the rooms on Sunday's where many good friends were made and clubs made some extra $, but it was stopped by leagues due to opposition players and umpires being abused and increase in violence on and off field.
I understand why the decision was made, but once again it's due to specific people wrecking it for the decent people out there. Some people turn into heroes after a few beers of during junior footy when the like to abuse "young" people.,

The old PSM's ('Pleasant Sunday Mornngs' for those too young to remember) probably died a death with the advent of responsible serving of alcohol provisions/laws introduced into sporting clubs hey Turbs? Probably a good thing. I recall some Sunday mornngs that became long afternoons and blurred evenngs ... the words'responsible service' are the keystones in today's metro/country footy clubs culture, or should be!

Yeah the good old times. Can still taste those dim sims that were sitting in the oven for hours and was dinner about 6:30.
I recall a few Sunday arvo's having one to many, after u/10 & u/12 juniors at away sides like Glenroy & Haddy. Couldn't stand some things I witnessed with there juniors "back in the day" but bloody good genuine people to have a beer with after the game.

Anyway enough talk about the old days and get back onto today's footy..

1061 what, in your opition, is wrong with the umpiring systems? It seems the tribunal is doing the right thing Northern Saints player receiving lots of weeks 2 weeks ago and the Glenroy runner receiving LIFE, seems the message is really being sent out.

Everyone makes mistakes even players (they kick behinds, drop marks, give away free kicks) does that give people the right to abuse them?

Round 6 preview.
Airport West V Aberfeldie
I don't think anyone can make a case for airport west just don't have any talent that is on the same level as abers. Reimers johns McNamara
Then toy Davis down the other end just to name a few airport west might struggle at both ends this week
Abers by 110

Northern Saints V Keilor
NS have been right there with marby a few weeks back and for a half last week against pacco. For me if they can stay in the game for long enough there a chance. But not many struggling teams go to Keilor and win. Keilor by 54 points

Strathmore V Avondale Heights.
Avondale finally registered there first win of season 2015 and will want to make it back to back and with strathmore just not quite at top gear this could be a good time to play the mores and if they Avondale can win there right back in the race. Iacabouci & Mitchell V cartelli & Cravino
Whoever wins the midfield battle wins this match. Strathmore by 15 points.

Marby Park V West Coburg
West Coburg must fancy there chances here as marby have fallen away since there comeback against Keilor. Mostly windy at marby so both teams must take care of the footy it's crucial who ever is more precise wins this game. Marby by 9 points.

Game of the Round
Pascoe Vale V Greenvale.
Can anyone stop Ben Warren?
Gazzo, brewer, Maric, Maric, m.Smith, lower, nayna, Zumbo
V
Warren, Ross, ross, vespremi, Harris, urquhart, Polizzi, Randello, Caruso,

There is stars everywhere. Greenvale are just locked and loaded this year as are Pascoe vale and abers.
Pascoe Vale simply because they are at home by 5 points.

Round 6 preview.
Airport West V Aberfeldie
I don't think anyone can make a case for airport west just don't have any talent that is on the same level as abers. Reimers johns McNamara
Then toy Davis down the other end just to name a few airport west might struggle at both ends this week
Abers by 110

Northern Saints V Keilor
NS have been right there with marby a few weeks back and for a half last week against pacco. For me if they can stay in the game for long enough there a chance. But not many struggling teams go to Keilor and win. Keilor by 54 points

Strathmore V Avondale Heights.
Avondale finally registered there first win of season 2015 and will want to make it back to back and with strathmore just not quite at top gear this could be a good time to play the mores and if they Avondale can win there right back in the race. Iacabouci & Mitchell V cartelli & Cravino
Whoever wins the midfield battle wins this match. Strathmore by 15 points.

Marby Park V West Coburg
West Coburg must fancy there chances here as marby have fallen away since there comeback against Keilor. Mostly windy at marby so both teams must take care of the footy it's crucial who ever is more precise wins this game. Marby by 9 points.

Game of the Round
Pascoe Vale V Greenvale.
Can anyone stop Ben Warren?
Gazzo, brewer, Maric, Maric, m.Smith, lower, nayna, Zumbo
V
Warren, Ross, ross, vespremi, Harris, urquhart, Polizzi, Randello, Caruso,

There is stars everywhere. Greenvale are just locked and loaded this year as are Pascoe vale and abers.
Pascoe Vale simply because they are at home by 5 points.

Good pre game review, and agree with everything you have written. Saved a lot of people time as most will agree with the margins except the Greenvale boys. Lol

Should have added big Dean Tydell to this list of Pacco players up & about in 2015. Since I've been following Pacco his been a favourite of mine as he plays the game hard (but fair) and with passion. The older guy would love him as his more old school. I know Pacco have lost a lot players over recent years but his the heart and soul of Pacco on field. He can also play and a vital link in this team. I only hope that one year he gets really fit as he would tear it apart, as definitely has talent for a big guy. These guys dont grow on trees and a major reason the new recruits have gelled.

If I was to challenge any of your report its maybe that I think Strathmore might win by between 30-50 points as not sure about Avondale this year..but it's a massive game for them.
When is the other Grima due back??

West Coburg could be a chance if Black is still out as he is probably worth 5-7 goals to Marby in this game. He plays and they win easy I think..he doesn't West are a slight chance..

One of the Premier Div Clubs are set to make a big announcement by this time next week.

Yep, could it be yet another AFL player joining ABERS................sorry couldn't resist.:)

surely it is newsworthy because if it is another AFL player joining somebody's ranks then this is passe these days for this comp.

Sorry over the hype about AFL players in our comp but can understand why clubs and supporters go gaga..