EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

I'm not sure that this is big news. They were expecting Blake to play a big role for them, he didn't come up as expected so replaced him.
Net result: they're as strong as they were tipped to be at the start of the season.

Ah whats another $20,000 'Outbackhack37!.. There definitely doesn't seem to be any stopping the current Aber's spending spree with the current mindset and philosophy of the clubs administration.

It was only last month when I was down at the snake pit watching a work colleagues son play and I got chatting with a number of parents who are no longer involved with the Aberfeldie FC as they have followed their children who went looking for more realistic opportunities to actually play senior football within their very own community..

They mentioned how their children were virtually forced to look elsewhere in an attempt to play senior football on a consistant basis within their very own community as the current administration had done a complete 360 degree about face with their club philosophy and recruiting policies..

As families they also mentioned at the time in which they decided to move on that they could see no immediate change in the foreseeable future of the clubs philosophy and recruiting policies and that their decision had been vindicated in many ways as the current administrations reign enters its fourteenth year in which they have been able to make many hasty decisions and invest close to $6,000,000 of the clubs money as they see best in what now seems to be personal endeavours!!..

With absolutely nothing to show for it!!..

Just so we're clear - you went to St. Bernard's home ground - the Snakepit - to watch a work mates son play and you went and started conversation with parents who all happened to have kids who've played at Abers before. Please!!

If true then who are these families you've spoken to? I'd be interested to know and we'd certainly follow up as there's no one we know of who left for your reasons.

What about those families who've started/moved to the VAFA and then came or returned to our club due to lack of opportunities or just as importantly realised the grass wasn't greener a couple of km's down Buckley St.

I think it's been said before - JustOverHere/Turbo's Mail appear to be one in the same!

Just so we're clear - you went to St. Bernard's home ground - the Snakepit - to watch a work mates son play and you went and started conversation with parents who all happened to have kids who've played at Abers before. Please!!

If true then who are these families you've spoken to? I'd be interested to know and we'd certainly follow up as there's no one we know of who left for your reasons.

What about those families who've started/moved to the VAFA and then came or returned to our club due to lack of opportunities or just as importantly realised the grass wasn't greener a couple of km's down Buckley St.

I think it's been said before - JustOverHere/Turbo's Mail appear to be one in the same!

JustOverHere is definately the new account of last years best troll Shadow Master, that is for sure. Basically writes in exactly the same, unique style.

When Abers played the kids and got belted every week and managed to survive relegation by one goal down at West Coburg, everyone potted us for being sh*t. When we spend up to compete, everyone takes shots at us for spending. You have to wonder why such a success starved club is the focus of so much attention on here, but in the end who cares what the keyboard warriors have to say, I'll be just as shattered if we lose another granny and elated if we win.

Cheers mate, in all honesty I don't have any issue with you and actually like reading your views. Your contributions to big footy are great.
In the end it's a forum for truth, gossip and humour.

PS: for the record I only stated Strathmore paid >240k in 2014 and >220k in 2015. Pacco paying >200k in 2015. Pretty sure that esitimate is on the mark.

Anyway all the best and keep up your good work.

I will say we are all trying to beat Abers this year. They are short priced favourites but Pacco will being trying their hardest to beat them. GET ON THE UNDERDOG PACCCO...

Pacco only spending low 200k lol oh geez Turbo you've lost the plot.

They've dropped off a bit in the last few weeks. Are they a chance to drop to 3-4 by seasons end ? Could be straight sets.

JustOverHere is definately the new account of last years best troll Shadow Master, that is for sure. Basically writes in exactly the same, unique style.

When Abers played the kids and got belted every week and managed to survive relegation by one goal down at West Coburg, everyone potted us for being sh*t. When we spend up to compete, everyone takes shots at us for spending. You have to wonder why such a success starved club is the focus of so much attention on here, but in the end who cares what the keyboard warriors have to say, I'll be just as shattered if we lose another granny and elated if we win.
With Abers picking up Angus Graham the great Shadow master would of said" their most of been some special at the Laurel over weekend because that's where abers do their recruiting while the rest of the league shop at Dan Murphy's":D:D:D

Pacco only spending low 200k lol oh geez Turbo you've lost the plot.

They've dropped off a bit in the last few weeks. Are they a chance to drop to 3-4 by seasons end ? Could be straight sets.

Hey Weeney, what I said is spending above 200k. I'm sure > means upwards of.. But not spending as much as people think as Pacco only work to a certain budget.

Your probably right there results might show a bit of a drop in form but still winning which is good. Hoping we can stay top 2 at seasons end, but it's going to take some effort, keeping in mind Pacco are coming from a long way back.
Straight sets I can't see happening as Pacco are playing a finals style game, and come finals should hold them in good stead. But whatever happens is a big improvement on previous years and judging by the crowds attending their games is a big positive for those working hard.

Hope this answers your questions mate.

You'll find that Harris - had he stayed at APW would be worth less than his current points tally.
His points get boosted due to being recruited from a competitor.
Interesting to note that Contessa has put in a clearance to head elsewhere as well.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Gday BlueJet, that's how the points system works but do you think it's fair on the player if he wants to move clubs. He did stay at his previous club for 3 years which should be encouraged, so why is he rated higher when he leaves. I understand if a player stays maybe 1 year but 3 is a good stay. I know the system is trying to have players stay at clubs for a while but things happen.
Yes understand money is one thing why people go to other clubs, but it might be a case of asking the same money but leaving for other reasons. Mates, Coach changing, job opportunities etc..

Gday BlueJet, that's how the points system works but do you think it's fair on the player if he wants to move clubs. He did stay at his previous club for 3 years which should be encouraged, so why is he rated higher when he leaves. I understand if a player stays maybe 1 year but 3 is a good stay. I know the system is trying to have players stay at clubs for a while but things happen.
Yes understand money is one thing why people go to other clubs, but it might be a case of asking the same money but leaving for other reasons. Mates, Coach changing, job opportunities etc..
This is true, however he only receives a minimal upgrade in points by jumping to a competitor.
It's a necessary evil as the first thing a club would do upon there being a limitation on recruiting ex afl/vfl types would be to strip rivals of key players.
Imo this helps provide some balance to it all.

Mate, I'm struggling with one account so no chance of having 2. However Big Footy have offered to sponsor a club of my choice so I'm going to start watching Abers u/14s and try and poach some kids with cash incentitives for next year. Think that's the best way to use the money. What do you think?? Haha

On Gus....

Pre season - Strathmore needed a Ruckman to replace Jones - they got Sikora & Potter however Potter more to replace Dick Little.

As a result Pacco needed a Ruckman so they got Kerlin.

Greenvale needed a Ruckman so they got DeLuca.

Blakey has unfortunately had ongoing back issues hence his inability to play this year. He was fantastic last year and let's not forget won the league medal.

Johnsy, Jack Mac & Cravo have all performed admirably to date mind you but getting talent like Gus in to help these guys, our midfield and our emerging junior ruck stocks is a great result.

Now Puff, you are one of the best big footy posters but it would be great to enlighten us on what actually happened to Blake as I hear his not happy with Abers and hasn't attended any games. If he hurt his back surely he would have come down and supported the club. Hearing some changes to his contract, and then he got wind of the club talking to Angus Graham. The club didn't want to miss out on Angus and thought he was a better option..

Is my mail correct??

As I said mate - it's according to the EDFL media team - took 2 minutes to scroll through the podcast to find the section where they stated the numbers.

I'd guess Turbo's starting point would be 70.

My mail tells me no club will lose players already on your list. But if your over the set points max number (which will differ between clubs) , you will keep players but have to reduce some players over a period of time to gradually get to the set number. So it will start at 70 for Pacco if the number is correct.

With regards to Pacco juniors they do have good numbers but not as many as the "bigger" clubs. I'm guessing the induction of Coburg Districts into the EDFL has had some affect as the Districts have good numbers I see.
Having said this I applaud Coburg Districts for being pro active as well as the "bigger" clubs for having so many teams, as it takes a lot of volunteers and work to have more than 2 sides per age group. "But" going forward I think they will need to cap the number of teams per age group, otherwise it will be an uneven playing field and will cause some clubs in the lower divisions to ultimately fold. I'm sure 2 sides per age group is adaquate in my opinion..
Another thing being considered in the points system is area. Greenvale is growing out and not many clubs around them as per the inner clubs. Good set up there so there scope is really unlimited however I'm sure a club like Keilor (for example) draw from Taylor's Lakes, Kealba, Tulla, Keilor Park, East Keilor as they are a premier club and have good facilities compared to other clubs..

Paccos recruiting of quality players will help their junior program..

That is a pretty sad scoreline up at Greenvale today. The Jets are a powerful unit, but a 293 point defeat to Northern Saints cannot be good for this competition. It's been quiet a few seasons ( thank goodness ) since we have seen such a disparity in the scores in Premier division.

Doubt if anyone would derive too much pleasure from that result.

That is a pretty sad scoreline up at Greenvale today. The Jets are a powerful unit, but a 293 point defeat to Northern Saints cannot be good for this competition. It's been quiet a few seasons ( thank goodness ) since we have seen such a disparity in the scores in Premier division.

People might say I ramble on but if you look at some of my post early season I did forecast things might get ugly. The NS have encountered a situation that has not helped their cause but they have done well to get up & going again.

I was at the Marby v Pacco game and the respect shown prior to the game was something I haven't seen before. Players arm in arm but both teams mixing together. Great stuff and I'm sure it's looked upon highly. Well done to both clubs..

Doubt if anyone would derive too much pleasure from that result.

No shit stax, definately hard for Northern to perform well after what has occurred this season

Went down to Marby v Pacco. Marby hard at it early but just struggled to contain the better players from Pacco. Warren up forward was to good for his younger inexperienced opponent. He had 6 or 7 by half time. To Marbys credit they stuck at it and did try hard.

Left at half time to go and watch another game as could see a blow out.

PS: went to Waterloo Hotel pre game and only 2 people in there (no wonder with $23 a Parma) so then headed up to the Union Hotel for a Parma, Beer and punt. Good pub and well managed.. Lucky I did as the smell from the Marby barby was drifting my way..

No shit stax, definately hard for Northern to perform well after what has occurred this season
Not sure what your point is Snax. You may have read more into my post than was actually there. I wasn't criticising the club or players. I am fully aware of what they have been through and have been sympathetic in previous posts.

Forgot to mention I seen the quickest goal today by Pacco after a behind. Must have been 5-7 seconds.
70-80mt torpedo from Vezpremi to Polizzi ( just past the centre which fell into his lap) then onto another player ( to quick for my eyes) then over the back to Warren. GOAL...

The torpedo is back..Lol

Forgot to mention I seen the quickest goal today by Pacco after a behind. Must have been 5-7 seconds.
70-80mt torpedo from Vezpremi to Polizzi ( just past the centre which fell into his lap) then onto another player ( to quick for my eyes) then over the back to Warren. GOAL...

The torpedo is back..Lol
The longest kick ever seen ...... said after game he may practice the Torp during the week ..... Lookout!!

Well well, sitting top of the ladder unbeaten after 8 rounds and go and recruit another big name player. Where does it stop for clubs like Abers.. Answer is it doesn't..
We all talk about junior programs but where is a young ruckman from Abers junior program?? Surely a good time to blood a young kid. "No" go and buy one..
Surely no one thinks this is a good situation for a club like Abers when they rave on about their juniors..

Hope Pacco smash em in the finals!!
The standard of football doesn't allow for kids to come through and play in the ruck.

Not sure what your point is Snax. You may have read more into my post than was actually there. I wasn't criticising the club or players. I am fully aware of what they have been through and have been sympathetic in previous posts.
Hey stax, maybe I did read into your post more than what was there. You are a good poster and like reading your posts...
Been a long day for me mate, maybe I should give myself a spell..

Hey stax, maybe I did read into your post more than what was there. You are a good poster and like reading your posts...
All's sweet mate. Been an extremely emotional and trying season for Northern Saints, particularly the tragedy of the past few weeks. Today must have been an extremely difficult and sad day. Hopefully the pendulum swings and the Club, players and supporters enjoy success in the near future. They certainly deserve it. Cheers.

Well said mate. Completely agree.

Well said mate, much appreciated;)

Snax. Don't have a spell mate. You can be excused being a Saturday afternoon. Guessing you might have been on the cans.. Lol.. Plus I like reading your posts..

This premier thread is the best going around as there are no personal attacks. I'm sure people want to unload on me a few times but I actually like most replies I get..

Cheers boys and enjoy the footy..