tico

having looked at the fixtures , how do you think we will go in the first seven rounds and how much will we win or lose by in each of those games...
Be objective.
Looking forward to hearing peoples thoughts

If we can win one of the first three games we can make the Top 8, if we can we 2 of the first three games Top 4 isn't out of the question. If we win all three...I'll do a nude run down my street up to the ambulance station :p

(I can see RIPPER or someone reminding me of this)

so which of the games will we win?? e.g what team

My Predicions..

Beat port at home
Lose to saints away
Beat WC at home
Beat Richmond away
Beat Carlton at home
Lose to melbourne away
Beat Collingwood at home

so that's 5-2.

Conservative estimates could see us losing to port or the derby aswell.

So my guess would be 3-4 4-3 or 5-2.

Who the hell can know??? Or even guess with any accuracy??

However, I'll have a crack for the fun of it.

Port at home. We might crank it up and be unbeatable at home like we were in 2003. Based on that we could / should beat Port. They, however, are the reigning premiers, which should count for something, and have a very good record at Subi, so hold no fear playing here. Given that - they could / should beat us. Their supporters are all so cocky thinking that all they have to do is turn up and the game is in the bag. One would think that the players would have a little more of a realistic approach to the game - but if they are anything like their supporters, could be in for a rude shock. Will they try "too hard" to show JC and Schofield up, and in the process overcompensate and out-do themselves?? Will JC get the jitters and have a crap game, therefore having the newest, and one of the most important, cogs in our new-look midfield rendered inoperable for the game (more importantly will he get reported for clocking his East Freo mate Cassisi?)?? Who knows, but I think this will be an interesting encounter. No doubt we will be the underdogs despite the home ground advantage. I would never go as far as saying "we'll beat them", but I reckon this is a 50/50 prospect.

Saints in Tassie. Well that will be a hard ask. Following up from a first round encounter with the reigning premiers with a trip to Tassie - well that would be hard for anyone, let alone a team from WA. And to draw StK (instead of Hawthorn this time around) is pretty rotten. Can't see us winning this one, but at least we get the Tassie trip out of the way early and before it's necessary to don the snow suit to cope with the weather conditions. Loss.

WCE - Freo home game. Everyone is writing us off and talking up the weavs, so based on that we should lose the derby. But it's never that simple, especially with a derby. Many Weavs supporters (like Port supporters) seem to think all their team needs to do is turn up to claim the 4 points - I imagine their club will prepare a little more solidly than this. 5 of the last 6 years have seen the derbies spilt 50/50, each of the last 4 derbies have gone to the away team. We are probably a bit better than what everyone on the main board is talking us down, weavs might not be quite "there yet" to the standard everyone on the main board is talking them up. What does all that mean??? Nothing. Or if it does, then I don't know. I reckon both clubs are closer that what either supporter group will admit to / give away to the opposition. 50/50 proposition.

Richmond away. On paper we should crap it in. We have a superior list, and a 50% (or higher - anyone want to confirm that) record at the MCG over the last couple of years. We staged a great comeback there against them last year to beat them. However, new coach, new approach, new list (!), they'll see a game against a team that traditionally doesn't do well in Melbourne as winnable. That said, I would be mightily, mightily peed off if we lost this, as we have a far superior team to them, who have finally seemed to get over the travel jitters last year. Win.

Carlton at home. First one I'll confidently say "win". As certain as the saints game, but in our favour. Win.

Melbourne away. Which Melbourne?? Based on form until round 17 2004, then undoubtedly them on their home turf. But if any club nose-dived to crash and burn at the end of 2004 as badly as we did, then it was Melbourne. They just held a loftier position to start with, so their crash and burn included a brief finals outing on the way down. 50/50.

Collingwood at home. Some scars will remain after it was the Pies tough man-on-man football that proved to be the beginning of the end for us in 2004. The boys will want to atone for that loss I would think. If we can regain the Subi ascendancy, then this should be a certain win. Also, I believe we have a far superior list, so a loss would be a "hang your head in shame" thing for the coach and players. (no disrespect to the Pies, just with our list and a home ground advantage, there should be no reason to lose this... although someone forgot to tell Collingwood that in 2004). Win.

So I have said 3 wins, 1 loss, 3 50/50s. No point predicting one way or the other for the 50/50s so far out from the season starting. Gut feel tells me: lose to Port, beat Melbourne and.... Derby?? Gives me a headache even thinking about derbies, so I'm going to sit with this picket up my bottom and not make a call till we are closer.

However, we could be talking about the prices of futures contracts for orange juice in 2008... Who knows at all what will happen in the first 7 weeks of the season? Nothing I have said can or should be taken as my actual opinion once the season begins.

Our start to the season isn't as bad as it looks. Port often start seasons slowly and we were unlucky against them last year. A strong wizard cup should see us over the line. We play the saints away but it's not at telstra dome so we should be a chance but our poor record in Tassie doesn't help. The derby should be a good gauge of where we're at. Both teams have a quality midfield and will be adjusting to a new forward set up. 50/50. If we can win 2 of the first 3 we should have a good first half of the year.

There will also be some interesting match ups in our first 5 rounds-
Round 1- Carr and Schofield against their old club.
Round 2- Black against his former club.
Round 3- The Carr brothers in tandem tormenting Judd + Cousins/Fletcher.
Round 4- Snake in the grass against his old club.
Round 5- The brothers Lo on opposite sides. If we start the season poorly and TLo has a day out round 5 CC will definately be under the pump.

dominguez said:
Round 5- The brothers Lo on opposite sides. If we start the season poorly and TLo has a day out round 5 CC will definately be under the pump.

Will be interesting to see if T-Lo runs up for a giant bear hug with Li'l Bro after kicking a goal.... or whether he'll refrain and wait to get the Freo boys in a group hug after the game. Maybe if he's had the opportunity to sing a few rounds of "da da da da da, da da da da da, da da da da da da da da da da da da da" he might try and sneak into the Freo rooms for a quick "Freo heave-ho" singalong (provided we win of course) for old time's sake. ;)

You look at all those sides and you get the sense that if we can match or beat them in the midfield we are in with a chance. St Kilda aside none of them has the forward talent to beat our defenders without a very steady supply.

Our problem is giving our forwards enough chances. If the midfield can get the ball into the 50 often enough we'll score enough goals. Those last 4 games of last year, apparently we got the ball into the 50 an average of 37 times compared to the usual 50. If our midfield can get on top, every chance for our forwards is one less for their forwards etc.

The Derby will be the test. WCE have a spanking good midfield and when they beat us they just keep belting the ball forward. But when we match their midfield, I don't reckon they have the backline to hold Medhurst/ Farmer/ Pavlich and whoever else.

As far as i know freo have had very few injuries. This should set us up to get off to a good start.
We should beat richmond and i would like to think we would win three home games. To give us a 4 and 3 start.

Kenny_01 said:
Hmmm.... I'm gonna be pessimistic and say 7-0.

Where's Ripper when you need a confident prediction. He would say 7-0, by 89 points each.......

Who know's what will happen, but I will be satisfied with 4-3, as long as the home & away performances are each strong and we play the games out. To be 5-2 would be in bonus territory.

Schofield will not play against Port, Peel maybe.

ImperialPurple said:
Port at home ...... Their supporters are all so cocky thinking that all they have to do is turn up and the game is in the bag ........ Will they try "too hard" to show JC and Schofield up.....
A jaundiced view. We know you can play very well and no-one I know thinks it is simply a matter of turning up. Yes Subiaco is a happy hunting ground for us and we won't approach the game with fear but it is 50/50.
As for Carr and (if available and picked) Schoey their relationships with the club, the players, and the supporters are all good. There is no need to try to show them up.
ImperialPurple said:
......Saints in Tassie.......
Well within your capabilities but you have to apply pressure and keep it on for the full four quarters. If you now have 2 wins You are unlikely to miss finals.
ImperialPurple said:
....WCE - Freo home game. Everyone is writing us off and talking up the weavs, so based on that we should lose the derby. But it's never that simple, especially with a derby.........
Who is writing you off? The trouble with these games for you (from memory) is the injury and suspension that result.
ImperialPurple said:
.....Richmond away. On paper we should crap it in....
And in the real world too. A 'gimme'.
ImperialPurple said:
....Carlton at home. First one I'll confidently say "win".....
Second definite for me.
ImperialPurple said:
.....Melbourne away. Which Melbourne??....
They'll be good. From a Port perspective we never beat them at home (and they never beat us here) so I find it hard to judge.
ImperialPurple said:
....Collingwood at home. Some scars will remain after it was the Pies tough man-on-man football that proved to be the beginning of the end for us in 2004.......
Then if you are 4:2 by now and looking at finals this is the perfect test to see if you've lifted a notch.