Preview Geelong. Grand Final. You know when. You know where.

Who would you pick for the grand final?

Good work 3KZ.

Btw I reckon Oscar threw that one out to Gallop. Something else for the Pies to have a sook about.

Nah never took possession, almost half held even before he got the footy properly so it looked like play on. But if you're saying Pies will sook then yeah he may have thrown it :D

My fear and it hasn't changed since the final siren on Saturday night is that this is one game too many for the Lions. History has shown the qualifying final has often bounced back to win the grand final against the same opponent and the Lions achieved this in a grand final played on September 27 once before (2003) but Geelong just look so primed to get the flag they probably feel they should have won last year. I do believe whoever wins will do so by around 20 points. I hope I'm wrong in believing Geelong will prevail.

Not gonna lie, I’m incredibly concerned about our midfield being torched again, but happy to believe the team were sick as a dog in that first final, and we have bounced back every time something is on the line, so will back them in.

Geelongs forward line is so potent that our midfield needs to at least match theirs.

Go Lions!

Well, it's been explained (Bucks did a really good job in one of the programs I think) that cats send their lesser lights who do mostly tagging / negating to the inside congestion and thereby limit oppositions's prime moves. In turn they leave their clean ball users on the outside like Smith and Holmes.

We've had a good look at so far both from our midfield being limited perspective as well as them waltzing away on the outside. I'm sure we'll come in with plans - which would start from ruck contest and where we want to hit it, followed by how our forwards like Cameron run up to pressure / tackle the outside players of Geelong and so on.

We'll come with our planning this time, Geelong will have their plans like Blicavs to Andrews possibly. In a biased way I'll give us the advantage and say Fagan & crew usually plan better once they've seen the tactics and how they can be beaten.

Whoever manages to execute well for longer periods on the day will get the cup. Fingers crossed for us.

My fear and it hasn't changed since the final siren on Saturday night is that this is one game too many for the Lions. History has shown the qualifying final has often bounced back to win the grand final against the same opponent and the Lions achieved this in a grand final played on September 27 once before (2003) but Geelong just look so primed to get the flag they probably feel they should have won last year. I do believe whoever wins will do so by around 20 points. I hope I'm wrong in believing Geelong will prevail.

I'm the opposite actually. this is what the entire squad has been craving for, get back to the last day in september. Champion data analysis also pointed out we step up when the size of the challenge grew all season. Hawks at MCG, Geelong at GMHBA, Pies at MCG - list goes on.

I expect the team to find their superman cape in their kit bag and go ballistic now. They'll play their heart out on saturday, guaranteed and we'll have some unlikely / unexpected heroes who will step up to hopefully win it for us.

I'm the opposite actually. this is what the entire squad has been craving for, get back to the last day in september. Champion data analysis also pointed out we step up when the size of the challenge grew all season. Hawks at MCG, Geelong at GMHBA, Pies at MCG - list goes on.

I expect the team to find their superman cape in their kit bag and go ballistic now. They'll play their heart out on saturday, guaranteed and we'll have some unlikely / unexpected heroes who will step up to hopefully win it for us.

My pessimism is rooted in how good Geelong were 3 weeks ago (no certainty they'll replicate that), their gentle run into the grand final and an overcorrection on my part for being borderline certain we'd win 2 years ago. Last year, I was hopeful that the momentum from the semi and the prelim would continue on for another week and I felt we were the best team post the mid season bye last year. My heart wants a Lions of course with Cam kicking the goal to put the game beyond doubt but my head sees a Lions win as a surprise, a very pleasant surprise.

I'm going in with no fear. I honestly didn't expect us to get here, but bloody proud and impressed that we are.
I don't want to lose, and I have full faith we can do it. Totally agree, Geelong look prime and are rightly favourites, but the belief and will to win that our boys have shown time and time again this season is our superpower. I 100% believe the game could go either way.

My pessimism is rooted in how good Geelong were 3 weeks ago (no certainty they'll replicate that), their gentle run into the grand final and an overcorrection on my part for being borderline certain we'd win 2 years ago. Last year, I was hopeful that the momentum from the semi and the prelim would continue on for another week and I felt we were the best team post the mid season bye last year. My heart wants a Lions of course with Cam kicking the goal to put the game beyond doubt but my head sees a Lions win as a surprise, a very pleasant surprise.

We play the 100% commited work rate style (that we have shown in few games this year), it'll be hard to get close to that level. I believe Geelong were switched on to pick off our 45 degree corridor kick in qualifying final - I can't wait to see what we are going to try to get around it. It's always a puzzle solving exercise for Fagan and team, they are pretty good at it.

Not just Neale, but clearly a few of our players aren't 100%.
I have no doubt we'll be switched on given our experience but very worried as we fatigue.

Coaches will be aware of the Cats red time scoring and hopefully we can nail our uncontested mark game on Saturday!!

I can't get out of mind the game at Geelong,the wheels fell of the cats,there was space every where for the lions!!

So could that happen again!!!
Especially in a Grand Final. This was on the AFL App.

GRAND FINAL DEBUTANTS

Geelong (10): Connor O'Sullivan, Oisin Mullin, Max Holmes, Ollie Dempsey, Shaun Mannagh, Shannon Neale, Lawson Humphries, Jack Martin, Jack Bowes, Jhye Clark
Brisbane (4): Sam Marshall, Levi Ashcroft, Ty Gallop, Bruce Reville

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1429232

Geelong have ten players who have never been in a Grand Final before. That is a lot of potential for players to be nervous and overawed by the occasion. The Lions on the other hand have 19 players who have previous Grand Final experience and 17 who are Premiership Players. We have a massive edge in this department. I think this is really going to count.

And if he gets subbed out in the first quarter and we lose, it will look like a dumb decision. It looks like no one has learned from Longmire's mistake last year and many more before that. Neale shouldn't be playing and this is a decision the club will regret
So I’ve come down to Victoria and came down to have dinner with friends in the Mornington Peninsula and who sits at the next table, none other than Caroline Wilson with her partner and a couple of friends, who my friends are on a hello basis with and the restaurant wasn’t that busy and whilst I wasn’t eavesdropping I did hear three things; one, Fagan told her on Tuesday that Lachie was playing in the GF, two, she thinks it’s mad that Lachie is even playing and three; the Lions will win the GF.

Will be watching intently the tagging role Mullins is playing on Hugh. The other week on AFL 360 they showed snippets of Hugh's game where out of 3 of the packages that were showed, Mullins had his arms around Hugh's waist on one of them at a ball up and in the other one it showed Mullins holding onto Hugh's arm when trying to run through the congestion.Nothing payed. The AFL 360 guys never mentioned anything of Mullins tactics. Im sure the taggers try and hold on purpose and the feeling is if the umpires dont pick up on it, well i will keep doing it. Lets hope all the umpires are focussing on this stuff on Saturday.

Freo in Perth.

So I’ve come down to Victoria and came down to have dinner with friends in the Mornington Peninsula and who sits at the next table, none other than Caroline Wilson with her partner and a couple of friends, who my friends are on a hello basis with and the restaurant wasn’t that busy and whilst I wasn’t eavesdropping I did hear three things; one, Fagan told her on Tuesday that Lachie was playing in the GF, two, she thinks it’s mad that Lachie is even playing and three; the Lions will win the GF.

Caroline Wilson has a partner?

Especially in a Grand Final. This was on the AFL App.

Geelong have ten players who have never been in a Grand Final before. That is a lot of potential for players to be nervous and overawed by the occasion. The Lions on the other hand have 19 players who have previous Grand Final experience and 17 who are Premiership Players. We have a massive edge in this department. I think this is really going to count.
Love your work 3KZ. Telling data this.