Preview Geelong. Grand Final. You know when. You know where.

Who would you pick for the grand final?

The highlight of my day is going to be seeing Fagan give his medal to Bez.
A half fit Neale and Levi in the middle don't fill me with confidence. We were exposed for lack of defensive running against Geelong. If Neale plays, Levi should be sub or vice versa. WithBerry out, to put Bruce or Marshall sub will unbalance the side and reduce our spread from contest (remember how badly we were smashed around the contest against Geelong last time).

Oscar is either going to produce something we didn't expect or it's going to cost us to a reasonably significant degree.

Maybe this is a bigger risk than Neale. With Stanley in it throws another element into the mix.
I think he’s being underestimated. Against Collingwood at times he took their best defender out of the contest.
IMG_4551.png
Goal Gallop.

More interesting was this play in the third quarter. Oscar contested a stoppage just forward of the centre, where Ah Chee gets a holding free kick. Oscar then runs forward and stands on the 50 arc, with a nice bit of space behind him. Cameron is miles off him and Oscar is not manned up, which means he is a scoring option short, because he would have no trouble with the distance from about 50 out.
IMG_4552.png
The ball gets kicked over Oscar’s head and he immediately runs forward into the space and as BT mentioned in the call, becomes an unlikely ‘front and square’.

IMG_4553.png
He creates a mismatch with Josh Daicos, impacts the contest and forces the ball forward to Gallop. GOAL GALLOP!

I love the idea of Oscar being unpredictable. Standing in the goal square to draw a man and on other occasions presenting as a high option on the 50, with a bit of space behind him. Perfectly placed to then run forward and impact the contest or gobble up a hack kick out of defence.

We need to realise that Oscar can actually be a big of an unconventional ‘wild card’.

Everyone thought Lachie was done for the year, including most of the people around the club. Like he said, they only gave him a 1% chance to even make himself available. Let alone being picked. If we get up this saturday and Lachie ends up being one of the best players on the ground, it would probably be the greatest story ever from a player point of view.

And if he gets subbed out in the first quarter and we lose, it will look like a dumb decision. It looks like no one has learned from Longmire's mistake last year and many more before that. Neale shouldn't be playing and this is a decision the club will regret

An 80% Neale v 100% Tunstill. I know who I’m taking, and his name starts with 2 Brownlows.

We won’t regret it if we win!

Ultimately at this stage you have to back in the club - selection committee, medicos and Lachie himself. They are making the decision based on the best information they have so we move forward (or at least those of us who live with no regrets move forward!).
We will never know if bringing in Tunstall or whoever was next in line would be the better choice because it’s not going to happen.

I think he’s being underestimated. Against Collingwood at times he took their best defender out of the contest.
View attachment 2437494
Goal Gallop.

More interesting was this play in the third quarter. Oscar contested a stoppage just forward of the centre, where Ah Chee gets a holding free kick. Oscar then runs forward and stands on the 50 arc, with a nice bit of space behind him. He’s not manned up, which means he is a scoring option short, because he would have no trouble with the distance from about 50 out.
View attachment 2437505
The ball gets kicked over Oscar’s head and he immediately runs forward into the space and as BT mentioned in the call, becomes an unlikely ‘front and square’.

View attachment 2437507
He creates a mismatch with Josh Daicos, impacts the contest and forces the ball forward to Gallop. GOAL GALLOP!

I love the idea of Oscar being unpredictable. Standing in the goal square to draw a man and on other occasions presenting as a high option on the 50, with a bit of space behind him. Perfectly placed to then run forward and impact the contest or gobble up a hack kick out of defence.

We need to realise that Oscar can actually be a big of an unconventional ‘wild card’.
Good work 3KZ.

Btw I reckon Oscar threw that one out to Gallop. Something else for the Pies to have a sook about.

All legitimate concerns, but I’m sure the club medical staff feel he’s good to go. More importantly, he’s a Club Captain and he says he’s good. Backing him in.

Good work 3KZ.

Btw I reckon Oscar threw that one out to Gallop. Something else for the Pies to have a sook about.
Not as egregious as Gary Ablett Jnr at the Gabba in a final.

If he gets subbed out, then the sub comes in. Exactly what it’s used for.

We lost Berry early last weekend and it didn't seem to effect us. I know it's a risk, but we have a sub so the risk is worth taking.

Normally I’d agree. But we’re running on fumes right now so I think it’s the best of a bad bunch of risks we have been forced to pick from. Hopefully they play him to suit his capacity.

Now the future was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the clubs.

And the Spirit of The Footy Gods was hovering over the surface of the MCG.

And The Footy Gods said,

Let there be Neale.

The book of 3KZ. 1.1-1
IMG_4447.jpeg
The Footy Gods said, “Let There Be Neale” and there was Neale and it was good.

Also, blessed be the Hyperbaric Chamber Makers, for they shall resurrect Neale and the Lions shall inherit the Premiership.

Playing Lachie is a calculated gamble which could go either way. Yes, it's a risk based on best medical advice. There is no crystal ball (or of they are using one is Dom and Mike's and is crap)

Your post is a gamble that only goes one way. Hope you are wrong and it isn't a post you regret.

View attachment 2437532
The Footy Gods said, “Let There Be Neale” and there was Neale and it was good.

Also, blessed be the Hyperbaric Chamber Makers, for they shall resurrect Neale and the Lions shall inherit the Premiership.

Is your inspiration source The Gruffalo, "All was quiet in the deep dark wood, the Mouse found a nut, and the nut was good"?

“So I lit the fire, isn’t it good Norwegian wood?”

I just want to share something from last year's grand final that made me chuckle from the 3AW call featuring Tim Lane, Anthony Hudson, Matthew Lloyd, Jimmy Bartel and Jacqui Reed on the boundary who supports Essendon. The reason I mentioned who their boundary rider supports is she gave her own club a whack after the game. The 3AW call from last year's glorious grand final is on YouTube.

Just before the song, they crossed down to the rooms where Jacqui mentioned her two years living up here (2016 and 2017) coincided with what she saw as the start of the rebuild that led to last year's flag. In her time living here she never saw us win live. Games were won obviously won in that time but she wasn't at the Gabba to see it. Anyway, the punchline comes when ended her pre song cross by saying ''and this has been a pretty quick rebuild compared to some other clubs hasn't it Llordo''?

Not gonna lie, I’m incredibly concerned about our midfield being torched again, but happy to believe the team were sick as a dog in that first final, and we have bounced back every time something is on the line, so will back them in.

Geelongs forward line is so potent that our midfield needs to at least match theirs.

Go Lions!