Goals that broke your heart

I think Rehn was caught (controversally of course) holding the ball in the forward pocket (1 minute remaining) and they kicked the goal to put North in front for the first time. But that was a day game so we could be thinking of different ones.

That was 1998 IIRC.

It was either Goldstink or Derrick Humphrey smith?

It wasn’t 1995 cuz Rhen did he knee in 1995

I think Rehn was caught (controversally of course) holding the ball in the forward pocket (1 minute remaining) and they kicked the goal to put North in front for the first time. But that was a day game so we could be thinking of different ones.
different one, anthony rock kicked the goal in 95, the one in 98 was daylight robbery!!

i'm still mad at john harvey for paying that free kick!! :mad:

Are you serious? You actually expected Thompson to go down the corridor at that stage of the game? While his kick was disgusting at best, if he went down the corridor and turned it over I would be even more disappointed at him. Going to the boundary was the right idea, just execution was disgraceful!
I guess ur right but I hate when we always go out to the wing and not through the corridor.

Lance Franklin's is still fresh and still hurts, but the goal that broke my heart was Hodges goal against Norwood in a prelim in late 90's, 99 maybe 98? I was at footy park to watch us get screwed over by the umpire, and this just topped it off. Devastation. God I hate you Port.

this is the first goal i thought of when i saw the thread. same pocket as fevola 04.

1996 prelim.

but its ok.. we got them back in 97 gf... then there was 99 gf where i think tom carr laid the most heart breaking spoil.. hmmm

I remember that Rehn ducked his head and was gone for holding the ball as he was tackled over his back. Poor decision, however if our players had manned up the player (King i think) wouldnt have been able to chip kick in to Bell and kick the winner. Poor manning up hurt us there.

I was thinking of the same one actually I believe it was when my haterd for Goldspink arose I have no Idea how on earth that free was given and Corey .M. (bid girls blouse) put it through on the tightest of angles!

and it wasn't holding the ball it was dilebrate he handballed to is side so he wouldn't be caught holding the ball and it dribbled out.

i remember 2 goals from the top of my head that hurt me the most.

Franklins goal last year and his arrogance really pissed me off.

& Michael Longs goal in the 93 Prelim, firstly i was just a little kid but i knew we should have won with that lead at half time. Then Michael Long decided to take on everyone and kick a freak goal on the run.

Another goal I always hated was Justin Maddens goal in the 93 Semi Final with young Rehn trying to catch him. It wasn't the goal or Maddens arrogant arm waving that pissed me off it was more so the biased Vic commentary in that game.

this is the first goal i thought of when i saw the thread. same pocket as fevola 04.

1996 prelim.

but its ok.. we got them back in 97 gf... then there was 99 gf where i think tom carr laid the most heart breaking spoil.. hmmm
Yep was at 97 gf, nice belting. I had to stop watching 99 last quarter or I would have started breaking stuff. Couldn't handle watching another heartbreaking loss against Port.

Tim Watson goals late in the last quarter against Essendon. 1993 preliminary final.

Wayne Carey kicked a few on Rodney Maynard in a Friday game at the MCG in the last quarter in 1992. We were leading all-night and then be bobbed up by grabbing the game by the throat. Fading memory now.

I remember that 92 game, Maynard came off and Alan Barlett went on him near the end and yeah the roos won on almost the last kick of the game, I think that was the end of Alan Barlett after that game.

As far as the Crows go, I think all of them have been listed that I would have said. I think I remember crying after one of them (come on, I was <10)!!!

As far as other games....the 04 Port-Saints Prelim. The goal that Guerra DIDNT get late in the last quarter to level the scores (I think that would have been the case)...God I hate Port. :mad:

Gee some of these bring back some bad memories..

It's hard to recall some (probably cos you'd rather forget) but for me its Long's goals in the 93 prelim, Tarrant after the siren at footy park, Fevola's, and of course Franklin.. A bad point was last year against Freo at subiaco when they kicked a point with no time left to win.. Freo have stolen a lot of last second wins against us

I was set to make $2000 on a $100 multi bet that I laid.

Then Tarrant scored an unbelievable goal for the Pies at AAMI in a night game I think that was in 03.

That broke my heart and should have made my wallet "fat", mother"*&(*&$". :thumbsd:

Then Tarrant scored an unbelievable goal for the Pies at AAMI in a night game I think that was in 03.

That broke my heart and should have made my wallet "fat", mother"*&(*&$". :thumbsd:

I still to this day belive it wasnt a goal, judging by the Pie's cheersquad, and the trajectory of the ball. I was sitting right behind Tazz as he kicked.

It was definitely '03. I had a bet with my Year 12 Literature teacher on that game. I was to get out of writing an entire essay that everyone else had to do if the Crows won. If the Pies won I had to turn up to school on Monday with that essay and an additional "bet" essay that he had given me.

That hurt.

One that people have seemed to have forgotten now I think it was in 1995, but it was when that dodgy holding the ball decision happened on Rehn at the end of the game and North kicked the winning goal from it. Rehn was sitting on the boundary line mind you he didnt do anything with the ball, but was basically crashed into by the North player and the ump awarded holding the ball to North with about 1 minute to go with us having a 2 point lead (I think).

omg lol, yep thats right up there as well.

If I remember correctly shouldnt Rehn have gotten the free kick???

I do remember the game you are alluding too.

Oh dear.

This thread is good but very depressing. :thumbsu::thumbsd:

Does Tony Liberatore's (spelling?) "almost goal"/famous point in the 97 prelim final count? It would have been the goal we would be discussing here as it came the closest to breaking the hearts of all Crows fans forever, had it been a goal???

Oh dear I remember that day so vividly I think I almost passed out when Tony kicked it and he started celebrating it with his team mates. But he started celebrating it with his team mates prematurely!

http://nl.youtube.com/watch?v=jqMQlvtmnBU

Interesting lol watching this on youtube that the commentator started talking about the Bulldogs V Saints 1997 Grand Final !!!!!!!!!!!!

In 2004, the goal that Fevola kicked 50m out from the boundry line to help them win the game. I think it was the game that lead to the sacking or walking out of Gary Ayres. It was one of the lowest points I have had as a supporter.

Pity it should never have been payed a mark :mad:
My guernsey went in the bin that day :(

Chris Tarrant's in R7 2003. This was a massive game in 2003, particually for our premiership hopes and we went in as underdogs and played so hard that night and to lose that game it really stinks. I remember from the ballup Bucks kick went inside 50, Tarrant took an easy mark from right in front but his goal barely went through. It cost us top 4 and gave the Pies a huge advantage that year. It ruined this club big time and they havent been able to win a close game (by 3 points or less) since! -

Oh you mean the night CHRIS LADHAMS thought he'd be a hero by trying to bust through the pack instead of going to ground ????
( Watch the tape !!! )

Soon as REHNNY ducked his head , we were cactus :(

Just on that FARMER goal......i was 2000 KM'S away and even I knew he was gonna run around :mad:

As far as other games....the 04 Port-Saints Prelim. The goal that Guerra DIDNT get late in the last quarter to level the scores (I think that would have been the case)...God I hate Port. :mad:

I'm STILL filthy on him :mad:

Ashley Hansen's goal after Stengliens soft free kick in the dying seconds of the 06 prelim.
If remember Goodwin was bursting out the centre ready to kick it inside 50 and the ump paid a shite decision which then led to Hansen sealing the game with a goal.

I hate WCE :mad::thumbsd:

I remember the game you are on about. It wasnt the ducking the head game. I remember the Umps favoured North all night and Mckernan got some ultra dodgy free about 60 out from goal. He booted it in long and either Matt Armstrong or Anthony Rock kicked a snap from the crumbs to win the game with 30 seconds left.

Also, that Carey game where he kicked two goals in the last 3 minutes to win the game was in 1991, not 1992.

I remember the game you are on about. It wasnt the ducking the head game. I remember the Umps favoured North all night and Mckernan got some ultra dodgy free about 60 out from goal. He booted it in long and either Matt Armstrong or Anthony Rock kicked a snap from the crumbs to win the game with 30 seconds left.

Round 1, 1995. The week before was the disastrous Ansett Cup final against North with Martyn blanketing Mods completely, so it was assumed nothing much would change in six or seven days.

Instead the side played really well - except Mods, who still got owned by Shrek - and had its nose in front all night, only for the bullshit free you speak of (I think it was a buttersoft boundary throw-in ruck infringement against Rehn from memory), and yeah McKernan punts it long to the square where a North player sharked it and goaled.

Might have even been Mark Roberts who got the winner. For some reason I remember a fat ambler getting the crumbs and goaling from point blank range and not a small type.

Round 1, 1995. The week before was the disastrous Ansett Cup final against North with Martyn blanketing Mods completely, so it was assumed nothing much would change in six or seven days.

Instead the side played really well - except Mods, who still got owned by Shrek - and had its nose in front all night, only for the bullshit free you speak of (I think it was a buttersoft boundary throw-in ruck infringement against Rehn from memory), and yeah McKernan punts it long to the square where a North player sharked it and goaled.

Might have even been Mark Roberts who got the winner. For some reason I remember a fat ambler getting the crumbs and goaling from point blank range and not a small type.

Anthony Rock. Round 1 1995. I reckon I cried after that.